Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Raja Petra Interview: Mahathir is man of many facets

Raja Petra Interview: Mahathir is man of many facets PDF Print
Sunday, 02 August 2009 14:38

But we shall make them all pay for this. When the government falls we shall see a lynching a la the French, Bolshevik, Iranian, etc., revolutions. This revolution may yet turn bloody. We never know. But Umno is certainly pushing its luck and one day it will push too far and blood will flow on the streets like it did once in 1969.

Written by Ali Cordoba, WFOL.com

Ali Cordoba: Riau Islands, Indonesia. Wfol.tv, 2 August 2009:-  Exclusive - No Holds Barred and Straight Forward...this is the very first interview of World Future Online TV with Raja Petra Kamarudin, the famous Editor of the most popular blog on the Malaysian webscene.  This interview is brought to our many, many readers in a bid to get a better understanding of the Malaysian political scene and more interviews of Malaysian figure heads (opposition or government) will follow.  (Note: Interview was carried via email exchanges with RPK)

Wfol.tv: The Teoh case: What is your personal opinion on this matter? We have read your articles on the issue yet we feel that it is better to ask you directly what you think of the whole thing? We do not want to ask if its murder or suicide. What we want to hear from you is do you think this will influence local politics? In what way?

RPK: It would certainly have a great impact on Malaysian politics. Teoh’s death epitomises what the non-Malays have to endure at the hands of the enforcement agencies. Indians and Chinese suffer the most when it comes to detention and other matters related to the Malaysian authorities. They treat Malays gentler compared to the non-Malays.

The fact that Umno says the Chinese opposition to what the MACC did to Teoh translates to the Chinese challenging Malay political power strengthens this argument. The MACC and all other agencies of its ilk are perceived as Malay agencies and this is supported by Umno’s own argument. To challenge the MACC means you are challenging the Malays. Therefore, what happened to Teoh can also be translated as the Malays oppressing the Chinese. Even Umno agrees with this.

Teoh’s death may have been the thing needed to really turn the stomachs of the Chinese. His death is most unfortunate. But his death woke up the Chinese like never before. Now the Chinese realise that their lives are cheap.

Wfol.tv: The racial issue: What should the government do to put an end to the race problems that has arisen in Malaysia after the 2008 elections? We are asking you due to the fact that you are known to be a person who do not put race ahead in your political, citizen and journalistic concerns. In short, do you think this current government can end the race problems in Malaysia?

RPK: Certainly not. Barisan Nasional is perpetuating racism. The very foundation of Umno, MCA and MIC, the three leading component members of Barisan Nasional, is race. They need race to remain relevant. Minus race, who needs Umno, MCA and MIC?

See what happened on March 2008. When the races united, Barisan Nasional suffered a beating. Only when the races are divided can Barisan Nasional excel.

The only way to eliminate racism would be to eliminate Barisan Nasional. You end the plague by burning the rats.

Wfol.tv: The Malays are being blamed for the 'race' troubles in the country. However, we see little done by the non-Malaysia in particular to try to cement the races. We are thinking of the rich and loaded Chinese citizens of Malaysia who were given the opportunity to make it and reap the benefits of the years of economic boom. Today they are filthy rich, so to say, but yet they want more and they are not helping the country in any ways. What we mean is they are taking and asking more but they are giving much less to the country. Think of the list of 40 top richest people in Malaysia for example.

RPK: You are of course talking about the Barisan Nasional Chinese and Indians. They are as corrupt and racist as the Umno Malays. Umno, MCA and MIC are cut from the same cloth. Yes, not only are the Malays to blame. The ‘running dogs’ of the Malays are equally guilty.

You are right. The Chinese and Indians are no less guilty, in particular the Chinese who put money before all else. These people would sell their daughters for money. They know what Umno stands for. Yet they support Umno because of money. They are traitors to their own race.

Wfol.tv: Tun Mahathir has turned the 'race' issue as his horse battle. Is he really gunning for 'Malay' power or is he simply trying to gain attention once again in the already competitive political landscape in Malaysia? What would be your advise to local politicians who are outright playing the race card to win support, votes and attention?

RPK: Many Chinese and Indians became super-rich during the time of Dr Mahathir. Mahathir is a racist when it comes to politics but not when it comes to money. He uses race to garner Malay support but works with the Chinese and Indians when it comes to business.

Mahathir is man of many facets. And he can switch from one to the other whenever the situation demands it. That makes Mahathir a good politician. Good politicians must know how to play to the gallery and how to change colours like a chameleon. And Mahathir can do this.  

Take that as a positive statement on my part.

Wfol.tv: The sodomy II case: Do you think the case is already lost by the Anwar Ibrahim camp?

RPK:
That depends on whether you are talking about the legal system or the court of public opinion. Anwar would probably lose his battle in court. That would not be a surprise to most of us. And we would not be too worried about that. Anwar is, after all, collateral damage.

I know this sounds very cold; but maybe the best thing for Pakatan Rakyat is for the government to send Anwar to jail, yet again, on trumped up charges. Teoh’s death was a boost to the opposition, as much as this may sound insensitive and cold-blooded of me to say so.

In a revolution we can’t avoid victims. People get hurt. And let’s face it; what we are seeing in Malaysia today is a revolution of sorts. So we will see victims. Teoh was a victim. Anwar is also a victim. We shall be seeing many more victims before this revolution is over.

But we shall make them all pay for this. When the government falls we shall see a lynching a la the French, Bolshevik, Iranian, etc., revolutions. This revolution may yet turn bloody. We never know. But Umno is certainly pushing its luck and one day it will push too far and blood will flow on the streets like it did once in 1969.

Wfol.tv:
The rise of pro-Umno blogs: Will this phenomena be an additional plus to the Umno and the BN or will it sink them further due to the nature of these blogs, which borders on pure racism with an extreme right nature? Would you qualify yourself as a 'left-wing' political activist?

RPK: Ummo admitted it did badly in March 2008 because it lost the Internet war. So, if you can't beat them, join them. And Umno too wants to fight in the Internet arena. But it is causing more damage than helping it cause. It is like giving a man a gun and he shoots his own side.

Starting a Blog is one thing. But the popularity of your Blog depends on its content. And this is what Umno can’t understand. It has no content worth reading.

Wfol.tv: The authorities are curbing on the Internet, attempting at collecting all information possible on anti-government bloggers and so on. Will this affect websites like Malaysia Today? Or do you feel the authorities are actually fighting against the windmills?

RPK: I suppose when the ‘committee’ made the decision that I should go underground and avoid being sent back to Kamunting this is exactly the reason why. I was in fact preparing myself for a long stint under ISA. The ‘committee’, however, felt that my two months under ISA from September to November 2008 did not do Malaysia Today any good.

No, Malaysia Today will continue, in spite of what they are trying to do to silence us. We shall continue hitting Barisan Nasional and Umno until it is forced out of office. That is my mission and vision. And there is very little Barisan Nasional and Umno can do short of sending an assassin to put a bullet in my head.

http://wfol.tv/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1242&Itemid=9

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by tmf, August 02, 2009 14:46:35
Thank God you are still alive!
agree 150
written by malsia1206, August 02, 2009 14:50:22
The PM specifically mentioned RPK as being one of the key men instrumental for the Anti-ISA march yesterday. This Government would never admit they have always been so slow to respond to widespread public sentiments on many negative public issues. So they use their main ammunition and fodder to call out the Polis, riot squad, tear gas and water cannon trucks to intimidate the citizens. And making scores of arrests, including women who marched with their decent conscience. So it's now basically the will of the overall rakyat versus the Barisan Government. We had done it on the streets many times. The crucial final act is the Ballot to bring down the curtains. Time for change. Time to cast out a Government that has become a dinosaur.
agree 141
written by SamSan, August 02, 2009 15:10:42
Playing up the race card will not work anymore for the sodomist and rapist AMENO, MCA, MIC and other race based BN component parties that exist to engender wealth and power for a selected few. All rakyat of Malaysia have come to truly understand, accept and glorify the undivided love and compassion of Universal Love of ISLAM that does not divide humanity by creed, race, wealth status, etc. True Islam as potrayed by our Tok Guru Nik Aziz, who in all his ways and lifestyle bordering on Ghandian humility, very simplistic and basic life style which is an exact replica of all our noble Nabi Muhammad's way, had endeared all Malaysians on the true compassionate Islam which is purely based on undivided love for all humanity and things on earth. The evil syaitan BN / AMENO regime will crumble under the force of this true ISLAM practised by PAS / Pakatan Rakyat and endorsed by all peace and truth seeking rakyat. Allahu Akhbar! Long live our Tok Guru ! May The All Compassionate and Undivided Love Based True Universal Islam of PAS show us the way forward in to the glorious Golden Age of the Light of Allah Allmight!
written by pelukis, August 02, 2009 15:31:01
Yes...there is no other way to vanish those bustards Umno Government...except for a real revolution.

But we shall make them all pay for this. When the government falls we shall see a lynching a la the French, Bolshevik, Iranian, etc., revolutions. Oh yes...oh yes...i can't wait for this moment.

written by taishan, August 02, 2009 15:32:24
PAS didn't do too well with the supposedly pious crowd in Manek Urai.
We'll see soon enough if the money god of UMNO would trump the Allah of PAS in Permatang Pasir.
written by Nick V, August 02, 2009 15:41:12
Hitler did not mind taking from the Jews even when he hated them with so much disdain. Mahathir knows that by allowing a few Chinese and Indian business magnates to succeed, the Malay Malaysia will prosper from their greed. He may be racist but he knows how to tolerate them and use them. It's very much like the children's Aesop fable of the "The Ant and the Grasshopper" but this is the case of the willing Ants.

The truth is, Mahathir and all of them don't give a damn about us as long as their personal agendas are fulfilled even at the expense of peace between all regular Malay, Chinese or Indians. They do not give a damn about what we think of them or how we critique them. Mahathir makes it clear what he is and that is why we need to reject him and forget about him. We should not tolerate those Chinese, Indian and Malay magnates who help to build the UMNO-BN regime to what it is today and pretend to be like one of us.

So our only way is to boycott, demonstrate, vote in the next General Election and pray for peaceful change.
written by onnetline, August 02, 2009 15:47:15
MamakTahi a/l Kutty is a corrupted racist politician who should be put behind bars !
written by JJFoo, August 02, 2009 15:56:22
Mahathir is digging his own grave, just let him. Make sure to stay away and be aware not to be buried together with him which is part of this serpent’s plan.

written by JJFoo, August 02, 2009 16:08:54
When the government falls we shall see a lynching a la the French

UMNO won’t relinquish their hold onto power voluntary through the ballot box. They know they will be lynched. They will fight tooth and nail to stay in power even through illegal and subversive means. The stake has risen. RAKYAT be prepared for the rough road ahead. The need to stay focus and united is paramount for our future generations.
written by NSTPravda, August 02, 2009 16:19:00
wah! and yet you sat there quietly in Taman Tun eating your sup kambing last night. Are you crazy?? smilies/cry.gif

Are you Semua-nya OK?
written by malgal, August 02, 2009 16:27:07
how many teohs, anwars do we need before we can march together on the streets?
those who say enough is enough and still stayed home, may still have room in their stomachs to take the nonsense.
we need you people - to make the numbers. if we lock ourselves in our homes, we let our brothers and sisters who make the smaller number get locked in prisons. the more we are out there, the less risk we carry.

written by Fart Fart Wah, August 02, 2009 16:35:41
WELL nk.of MALAYSIA TODAY.you have it all here. All the while I was attacking the roOT and source our problems of this nation.as for mahathir I won't lynch him.that is murder.i will put him behind bars and feed him his own faeces.take it whcih ever you want nk.

NOTE: If you refrain from shouting, maybe your words will be heard. - nk
written by JaguhKampung, August 02, 2009 16:58:45
One man against a 'nation'. One man with just a notebook computer and the internet against a government with the police force, army and all the instruments of power. One man with only the opressed and those who choose to stand on the right side behind him. RPK we salute you.
written by MAMR, August 02, 2009 17:06:35
To sum up all of the above all RAKYAT dont vote for UMNO/BN in any coming byelections, because they are racist,corrupt, they protect killers,they will do anything to cling to power.In order to get JUSTICE Rakyat had to kick UMNO/BN out by the next General Election. By then the new Govt can bring to justice the misussage of power by all UMNO/BN and their dogs who helped them.
written by seethinkact, August 02, 2009 17:21:27
You know?..Sometimes its so hard to figure out these guys (The G). Baffling really.

When something like this demo is being planned, they respond the way they always do. So predictable. They whack the demonstrators like they've been doing all this while..ala police, judiciary etc.

The result??...Serupa i.e. same...It never works!!

Only bloody fools would expect different results by doing the same thing each time they are confronted with a problem.
written by Dreamlander, August 02, 2009 17:30:33
RPK, you mentioned a 'committee"
Like the "Comintern"?
written by truthbespoken, August 02, 2009 17:54:05
This is a good interview. RPK spoke his mind without mincing his words! The political situation Malaysians are in now is indeed foreboding but Malaysians will still have to, MUST, continue to tread on it to effect positive changes for a better Malaysia!

Come what may, many are now more prepared and conditioned than in 1969. The scenario is different! Then, it was Malays against Chinese, now, it is majority Malaysians against UMNOputras! Go for it, Malaysians, GO! Together we shall overcome the challenges! Thank you once again, RPK, for firing another good shot!
written by Mirage, August 02, 2009 18:22:21
Good or Bad, Mahathir is a dictator. A good point is during his tenure, nobody really challenged him. For those who did, their political carreer were short live.....case in point Anwar. The rest were judges, police, and key personnels. Of course even a dictator, they have different degrees of morals and regards for their enemy. Mahathir's dictatorship was to eliminate the enemy by means of legal ammendment, influence on the judicial, the police and political setup to discredit his opponent or enemy. .....BUT never murder
Now fastforward 6 years later since his retirement, we are seeing a new dictator.

A dictator when democracy in Malaysia is supposed to matured, a dictator when human rights are suppose to perpetuate and a dictator when babrbaric laws are suppose to be abolish and a dictator when globalise world no longer see a country dictator. This dictator is not like Mahathir where political carreers are destroyed and a immaculate and proficient planner, however this dictator is one who does not really need to plan nor really bothered with what the public thinks of him. He only cares abt his agenda and those who oppose him to be eliminated. How else do you explain his actions in Altantuya's case.......did he call for an emergency investigation since C4 was so easilly obtain and someone was blown to pieces. This only reinforce his involvement. Subsequently the Customs checking on the entry of Altantuya and her cousins were erase from the database.....How? Together with fact that C4 was accessible and information of the ppls movement in and out of the country was easily erase is a making of a good target for terrorist with links in Malaysia. This reminds me of the few instances where US and UK reported terrorist activities in Malaysia but were refuted. Could this be it?

He Nazi Najib also showed openly how he influence the judicial in the court case with the prove of SMS. Isnt this blatant disregard for rule of law? THis means that during the court case, a few parties are already influnced to say otherwise of the case. This is also the same case in Perak, where democracy has failed. Peoples power were thrown out in favor of influenced judicial.

Whatever the interview is or was, the focus should not be on Mahathir or anyone else anymore even though all the leaders that failed were picked by HIM. It should be abt Najib and what he will do to this country and in evidently us the citizens of Malaysia. The country will crumble not becoz of his lack of leadership but becoz of his murderers way to get there.
written by abbey, August 02, 2009 19:24:30
" Mahathir is man of many facets. And he can switch from one to the other whenever the situation demands it. That makes Mahathir a good politician. Good politicians must know how to play to the gallery and how to change colours like a chameleon. And Mahathir can do this ".

RPK, do you think Mahathir will one day become Islamist and use this religion card when the situation demands it?
written by Fairminded, August 02, 2009 19:52:32
I really wonder whether the interview really knows the Malaysian Chinese enough to comment that most of them are filthy rich. I can tell you I am dirt poor and work my ass of to put myself throught the University of Malaya. I cycled from Petaling Street (A Chinese Harlem or slum in the 1960's) to UM every moringing at 6 am so that I can attend lectures at 8am. Then I cycled to Bukit Bintang or back to Petaling street to give tuitions everyday from 6pm till 10pm. My normal days starts from 6am to 11 pm. By the time I finished my homework it will be around 2 am before I go to bed. I worked in a truck and bus fabricating company for 80 ringgit a month during holidays on top of giving tuition. I can assure you that many of my contemporaries living in the Petaling street are not shop owners but are the room tennants of these shop houses. Very often, like my family, the whole family lives in a single rented room. We only return to the room to sleep. The rest of the time all the family members are out scurrying for a living or else sitting outside the backlanes resting or doing our home work. We do not have any MARAH scholarships. There are also friends of mine who are in the "New Villages" in the same predicament. You see some high UMNO linked Chinese and conclude that all Chinese are filthy rich. I suggest that you do more research on the majority of the poor silent Malaysian Chinese rather than jump to the conclusion that all Malaysian Chinese are filthy rich. We worked our way out of the slumps and not by the graciousness or the generosity of the UMNO war lords or the generosity of our fellow Malay Malaysians.
written by Old Man, August 02, 2009 20:48:30
Filthy rich Chinese? I'm one of those 'filthy' POOR Chinese out there!
My eldest brother got a heart attack and then in coma before he kicked the bucket on the way to work as an odd job labourer. He worked as a labourer since the age of 14! At last he was able to rest in peace! All my other brothers are labourers too! Most of us have to work at least 10hours per day for piece meals just to survive... Surely they are many poor Malaysians out there ... Regardless of one's status, each and everyone of us is only on TRANSIT in this world for NOTHING is permanent...
written by Jilo, August 02, 2009 21:56:00
Today I happen to talk to one of the contractor doing a little bit of renovation on my house when the subject of racism is brought up.He was the typical chinese that are conditioned to have a bias attitude towards the malays.At the end of the disscussion,we agreed that the main cause of racial divide is trace back to a single cause which is UMNO.He told me that during this morning kopitiam talk,one 86 years old elderly man aspiration before final reality take over him is to see a new government taking place.For this to happen, Anwar is the hope of taking the lead on this battle to which I also mention the Kelantan Menteri Besar.Of this,I remind him that the chinese teenager must not only register now but to convince others to do so.We both agreed that under this present climate,the rakyat chances of a new goverment is very high.
written by sydput, August 02, 2009 22:50:28
isn't there any politicians/political parties out there who fights for humanity, rightiousness and justice and ignore race and religion altogether?
written by rams609, August 02, 2009 23:14:17
Wfol.tv: The rise of pro-Umno blogs: Will this phenomena be an additional plus to the Umno and the BN or will it sink them further due to the nature of these blogs, which borders on pure racism with an extreme right nature?...

If I may add, bring on all them pro-UMNO blogs as you like. Only they themselves read them. It's like reading the daily papers or watching the TV channels. No differentiation. We've got enough propagandas to date since Independence.

Now we only seek the truth without fear and/or favor. Need we tell you where we can get this?
written by ilovepakatan, August 02, 2009 23:16:41

Now we should understand why Tun came out with Malaysia Boleh. Apa pun boleh! Got selective prosecution against protesters, got ISA, got law for UMNO people only, got roti canai segi tiga, got sambal belacan, got automatic, panasonic, etc etc. LOL! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif BOLEH!

Read: http://bolehjokes.********.com/
written by Admiral Tojo, August 02, 2009 23:49:41
You know, I was so amazed at the discipline showed by the ANTI ISA MARCHERS yesterday. No tyres burned, no shop windows broken, no damage to public property at all. On the other hand, the UMNO running dogs, the police caused damages to vehicles from their gas canisters, acid water and what have you. The numbers of the Anti Isa marchers were anytime more than the UNO running dogs. If they had wanted to overrun the UMNO running dogs (the police) they could have easily done so. I am amazed at their discipline.

So, you UMNO running dogs (the police) be warned, you push the Rakyat too far, you will be at the end of the lynch. The time will be very very near.

written by Fart Fart Wah, August 02, 2009 23:52:39
well nk have it your way...define shouting.. ..there are many who use foul language..that is even worse...and you put up with it..there are others whose comments run into bigotry... and you also put up racist writings linked to other blogs....but I notice you become extremely sensitive if I attack Mahathir...
..even the quotes I put down from RPK you sensored...is that shouting????
I can only conclude you are an "ass kisser" of Mahathir...sorry..but I think you are biased..........hey I did shout..I am just commenting quietly...
written by mowadoha, August 03, 2009 02:44:29
written by Just Gan, August 03, 2009 22:46:27
Mahathir, the man with many faces, not facets. Mahathir is the greatest actor to have emerged in Malaysia. He can put on different faces for different people and audience - socialist (in the beginning), capitalist, anti-Jew, Soros's best friend, anti-USA, USA's ally, clown, cry-baby, emotional, senile, "apa nama", "can't remember", true-blue Malay, Islamist, etc.
written by Just Gan, August 03, 2009 22:48:44
oops, forgot. Mahathir is also the Anti-Chinese and the (rich) Chinese's best friend.