Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The mark of proud and principled Malays

The mark of proud and principled Malays PDF Print
Thursday, 30 July 2009 03:19

The bottom line is, Malays are the ones disgracing their race. This makes a mockery of the so-called dignity and pride of Malays. How can Malays continue talking about dignity and pride when those of their own kind are acting disgracefully?

The Malays know the word amok, said Umno during its annual general assembly. Don’t push the Malays too far, warned Umno. Push the Malays too far and watch the keris come out of its sheath, screamed Umno. “Now that the keris has been unsheathed when are you going to use it?” Umno challenged its Youth Leader.

No, this is not mere rhetoric. These are not idle threats. They meant what they said. But why do they talk like that? Why are the Malays giving an impression that they are so confrontational and constantly on ‘war alert’?

It all has to do with maruah (dignity) and Malay pride. They do not like to be criticised. Criticism is seen as a challenge. Pantang Melayu di cabar, Malays would say. This could probably be translated to mean: It is taboo to challenge the Malays. Pantang could also mean prohibited or something to be avoided.

So, if you say anything not nice about the Malays, this would be perceived as a challenge or an invitation to a fight. That is why Malays go berserk when criticised. And they would not hesitate to run amok and take out their keris in defence of their dignity and pride.

I have no problems with that. After all, I too am what the Chinese would call a fighter-cock. And if anyone were to mock me I too would retaliate. Many readers have commented that I too am not open to criticism, just like any ‘normal’ Malay. Actually I can take criticism. It is mocking that I detest. And if you mock me then I hit back hard. You mock me at your own peril. And there has been many an occasion when he who mocked me suffered my fist on his face.

Okay, call me violent if you wish. Even label me uncivilised if that pleases you. But no one mocks me and gets away with it. Criticism is acceptable. But when you mock me be prepared for a violent and physical reaction. And my response is exactly how any Malay would respond when mocked.

As I said, Malays place dignity and pride about all else, sometimes even above religion. Biar mati anak, jangan mati adat. Better the child dies than tradition dies. Malays would rather see the death of an offspring than the death of their traditions. This is the Malay psyche and there is very little you can do to change this. Malays are born this way. And they will die this way if necessary.

I am not making excuses for the conduct of Malays. And I even accept the fact that this is what it means to be Malay. Take it or leave it. You don’t have to love Malays. Just stay clear of them if you do not, that is all. Avoid Malays if you feel that they are irrational creatures. But never mock them to their face. They will never walk away from such an episode. And they will never allow you to walk away either.

Okay, after saying all that, what I can’t understand about Malays is how they can tolerate their own kind disgracing their race. How come they do not demonstrate outrage that their race is being disgraced by their own kind? Why is it when you mock them to their face they go ballistic but when their own kind bring shame to their race they keep their silence?

I mean, when we hear about a detainee being killed in custody it would most likely be Malays who are behind the act. When we hear about a government officer being arrested and charged for corruption it is most times Malays who are the culprits. When someone upholds racism and asks that it be institutionalised chances are this someone would be a Malay. And the list goes one.

The bottom line is, Malays are the ones disgracing their race. This makes a mockery of the so-called dignity and pride of Malays. How can Malays continue talking about dignity and pride when those of their own kind are acting disgracefully? Why do Malays not retaliate against fellow Malays who are disgracing their race? Should not Malays rise in anger and lynch fellow Malays who are giving their race a bad name?

It appears like Malays only become outraged when non-Malays criticise them. And they will take this criticism as a challenge to their dignity and pride. And don’t even begin to mock them. Mocking will be met with bloodshed. But when their own kind bring shame to the Malay race they remain tight-lipped.

I have been labelled as a Chinese ass-kisser because I criticise the Malays. If, on the other hand, I criticise the non-Malays then I would be called a patriot and a Malay nationalist. That is how they think. But they would never say that Malays who disgrace their race are traitors to their race. I mean, just see who wins the Umno party elections. Most are corrupt to the core. But the Malays love these people. The Malays choose these people as their leaders. But people like Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah who refuses to bribe the delegates or buy their votes can’t even get one nomination other than from his own division.

The sad thing about the Tengku Razaleigh episode is that it proves corruption calls the shots and those who refuse to indulge in corruption can’t even get near the starting line of the race. Is this what Malay dignity and pride is all about? You mean to tell me that Malay dignity and pride is only important when it comes to the non-Malays but when it comes to their own race they can put aside dignity and pride in exchange for money?

And we are talking about so-called proud and principled Malays.

Comments (71)Add Comment
written by rajaphillips, July 30, 2009 04:42:53
RPK, I agree with you on what they have become. But the fact is the Malays are simple hearted, face-giving, polite, quick to trust, quick to forgive (maaf zahir batin) and generally nice people. Even today there is a sizeable number like that - just go to their house/mix with them a little deeper and you will know what I am talking about. BUT this lovely people have been taught, brainwahed, officially educated, indoctrinated and brought up to do despicable things, appreciate corruption, adore corrupt leaders by Umno through its propaganda machinery esp since 1981 by the Indian-Muslim masquerading as Malay Mahathir a/l Mohamed Iskandar Kutty. It has been going on for the last 30 years or so (since he became Education Minister in 1976)and the Malay today is the end result of those unfortunate Maha shitty years and to undo that damage done to their psyche it will take another at least 20 to 30 years or more. Maybe now onwards you should focus on those Mahashitty years, write about them, examine and reexamine those years and condemn them in your series of articles so that we can undo the damage done and help create a new bangsa.
agree 553
written by OilMan, July 30, 2009 04:47:22
Malays are only humans and all races have the good and bad types. The only difference with Malays is that the majority thinks that Malaysia belongs to them. With this mindset the Malays wants all other races to bow to them. The majority of Malays that has this mentality are the diehard supporters of UMNO.
agree 404
written by Chivas, July 30, 2009 04:58:54
Generally, i think malays are good people. They are very well natured and helpful. But i guess this is what happens when you have poisonous leaders in helm that lead you astray.
agree 484
written by Taufique, July 30, 2009 04:59:23
well i guess the fact that he keeps quiet when his own kind is disgracing his race, is part and parcel of being Malay as well? Double standards if you ask me.

Depa orang kita apa, apa salahnya? Luckily I still know some principled Malay chaps, makes me proud to be their peer.

agree 144
written by Proarte, July 30, 2009 06:33:12
The fundamental issue which explains Malay behaviour in all its glory and contradictions is the role of Islam which has been forced into their lives. The Malays are not a free people. Islam has been unhealthily and inextricably linked to Malay identity. When a system of belief is forced it breeds hypocrisy and division. The purpose was clear and part of the colonial strategy of keeping the races strictly apart. The State control of Islam and the constitutional provisions which give this legitimacy, makes Islam an ideal political tool to control the Malays.

Malays have had their religion defined for them without having to go through a process of self study, self examination and spiritual reflection. Malays do not pay for their Mosques, the Imams are financed by the State, the Khutbahs have to follow strict guidelines which are consonant with UMNOs political aims, there are Islamic bodies such as JAIS which regulate Muslim personal behaviour.

In short what is left of Islam is merely the rituals which Malays have brought to a fine art. Prayers are uttered in Arabic which they often do not understand and clearly this does not foster a meaningful relationship with your Maker. But then the powers that be want Islam to be ritualistic bereft of any intellectual reflection. Islam is what the powers that be, define it to be. They want to control the Malays and contradicting the State and its armamentarium of Islamic agencies is contradicting Allah they would have us believe.

When you have the Royalty who constitutionally are the defenders of Islam behaving like the Sultan of Perak, when you have Muftis who tell lies like Hasurani of Perak, when you have an Islamic party like UMNO ( and the Hadi faction of PAS which wants to 'unite' with UMNO in the name of Islam) which claims to run an Islamic state but governs in a fascist, brutish manner, when all the institutions of governance which are Malay run , the Police, the Judiciary, the Malay media, the civil service which are morally rotten but ritualistically very 'Islamic', this really is indicative that 'Malay' Islam is without Allah.

The problem with the Malays as talked about by RPK in his article is that they are worshipping a religion without a God. Allah is present when there is Truth , Justice, Kindness, Trust, Equality, Freedom of Thought, Freedom of Worship and Forgiveness. It is only when Malay Islam recognises these values will they begin to discover Allah.
disagree 25
agree 464
written by Navigator, July 30, 2009 07:15:38
UMNO has taught the Malays it is proud to demand rights, to take what they do not work for, to demand compensation for not working hard, to see their failings as no fault of theirs but are caused by non-Malays. They are backward because the non-Malays are more competitive and hardworking. They blame others but do not make an effort to succeed on their own. They must be given places in universities without having to compete and once in, they must be passed by the lecturers.

They are different from the Malays in Sri Lanka or South Africa. These are proud and independent. They do not blame others for their backwardness as they realise it is their own fault.

This attitude is destroying the Malays in Malaysia. Mahathir is one of those who support this attitude, claiming rights for the Malays and benefitting from it. Removing competition to get rich is easy for those in power but one day, they have to face competition amongst othe Malays who also want such riches and do not get it because they are shut out by politics.
agree 211
written by Watchdog, July 30, 2009 07:18:37
Well said PROARTE!!
written by Kampong, July 30, 2009 07:28:00
Pete, you are completely wrong when you say you are called a Chinesee ass-kisser when you criticise the Malays. You are called a Chinese ass-kisser because you have no money and no power.

Mama-hathir suggested not so subtlely the Malays are genetically and culturally flawed, but those bastards worship him like a god. But he has had contracts and APs to hand out, and he still pulls strings. You don't. That's the race values to you.
written by Bigjoe99, July 30, 2009 07:32:50
The point is not so much what is or was, but what should and must be i.e. the future. If Malays truly want to be self-reliant, then they must come to some realisation that cathartic pain is inevitable. There really IS NO free-lunch, easy ways to something meaningful.

They must come to realise that all that have been achieved under the NEP came at a big price - bigger than they realise. Its not just the Chinese, Indian and wasted resources that was used to paid for it BUT wasted opportunities for THEIR CHILDREN too. At some point the way UMNO is going, their children will have to battle the presumption of untrust-worthy Malay leadership - a social stigma NOT that easyly burnished and price could be very high. Not to mention the crime, culture of corruption, poor judicial system, etc - their children and grandchildren will pay for it just as much as anyone else in this country, if not more. Karma, in political ideology, is real..

The issue is do Malays decide to take their cathartic pain, NOW but less or DO they postphone that pain to the FUTURE and pay a greater price. The pain will be paid, its just a question of choice.. It always is...
written by Richfyf, July 30, 2009 07:54:06

You did mention it before. How else could the British take this country and rule it without having to fire a single gun shot? History have proven what you said.
written by Aria, July 30, 2009 08:09:42
This is very interesting topic. Why? …because the Malay, Chinese and Indian Malaysian never put their feet into the person’s shoe. Imagine this…. Let’s say the Chinese held the government and they have imposed the same rules we have currently to suppress the Malay and Indian Malaysians. Would the Malay people like it? NO!. Then why impose rules to suppress Indian and Chinese Malaysians? The Malay people must look deep into their hearts and they will find the truth. This rift is killing the country. In every race there are the strong, cleaver, lazy, crook, corrupt, weak, stupid, sickly etc. people ; so some people need help and some people don’t.
UMNO is feeding the Malay with hate because the more hate the Malay people have against the Indian and Chinese the more powerful UMNO becomes. UMNO is a corrupt evil group and people like Tengku Razaleigh who is good have no place in it.
agree 178
written by TwilightYears, July 30, 2009 08:25:42
Malaysia, the country where the Almighty has showed increasing good blessings - with its huge natural resources (tin - depleted, forest deforested, oil palm, rubber, minerals), and all of us, Malay and Non Malay enjoyed so much camaraderie until Che Dat took over the country and under his leadership, where the Malay culture evolved into the present mindset of corruption. The Almighty has given the Malay the greatest blessing ever by ensuring that Malays are Muslim who follow the Sharia', traverse the straight path towards his Glory. And yet , Malays are never thankful to the Almighty's Mercy and Love. The Malays have never expressed shukur to Him who has been so Generous. Instead, they crave for more material wealth, thanks to Che Dat and instead of using the wealth to spend on charity such wealth was used to create more wealth, even if it is from haram sources.

Of course, the Chinese is no better as the Ali Baba business enriched their lives and some become super rich by obtaining their wealth on the expense of the poor (from Gambling - Genting Casino, Toto, Magnum etc), and to continue to enrich the rich Malay who threw crumbs to them. (these crumbs of course are worth millions). The Chinese are also blessed with many glorious teachings of the imported Indian Teaching from the Buddha and its own philosophy from Lao Tze and Confucius. But their focus is only on "cari makan" and the middle way of the Buddha has been forgotten, and they have become so materialistic that they cannot grasp the "way" that cannot be named.

Maybe there is a pattern that the Almighty has created for Malaysians. But if all the rich cultural and religious heritage cannot save the multi racial communities in Malaysia, then Malaysia is heading towards its doom.

wa haw la wa laa quwata illah billah.
written by Counterpointer, July 30, 2009 08:30:58
“Now that the crutch has been unsheathed when are they going to stop using it?”

agree 234
written by Susanna, July 30, 2009 08:51:11
To me there are two types of Malays. The Modern or the Conservatives. There are two types in the Modern type. They are either Modern with broad outlook but still retaining old fashion good values OR they are ultra ultra modern aping anything the West and don't really give two hoots about old fashion values. For the Conservatives, there are also two types. Either the Conservatives who choose to stay true to their religion and God and therefore understand their choices are their own but loving others as how they understand God will love them or give them understanding hin His time. The other type of Conservative is ultra ultra Conservative who think they, and they are the only true Muslims and they and they are the only ones who understand God perfectly and everyone else is Gentile somewhat like how the old Pharasee and Sadducee Jews consider others. They are the onees holier than others and therefore they become ultra defender of their faith and their self righteous values. In UMNO, there is only one type. Greed and $$$ is their God. So whatever they do is preserving their position and $$$. Whatever sensititives they feel against others are cloaked in dubious reasons to deflect from their real intentions. Basically Malays are wonderful people. Gentle and kind. It is those who are flocking with the greedy people and people who use people types are the ones sucked into the corrupt system. May God have mercy for our nation.
written by neutralsite, July 30, 2009 09:00:51
Generally, i think most all malays are good people polite and very helpful. i have lot of malay friends all them are very nice and i tell u that the malay are more helpful then chinese.the problem is the UMNO that play the racist issue now, they want the malay n non malay to hate each other by this the UMNO can control the malay and can used tis racist 2 stay power that is what the UMNO think, but now younger genaration of malay which more educated not buying UMNO tactic anymore that is why BN lost 2/3 is last GE. If Umno still play by racist i sure they will lose in next GE.
written by cruzeiro, July 30, 2009 09:12:04
I heard somewhere along the line, that next years Umno rallying call would be:-

"Biar mati bini,
Jangan mati Kroni"
agree 114
written by kc respect, July 30, 2009 09:17:28
PERHAPS now we shoukd distinguish Bangsa Melayu, the honorable Malays, from Bangsa UMNO, the corrupted race. This is up to the Malays to identify themselves, I respect the Malays, their Sultans, their culture, traditions. PERHAPS, the future is up to the Malays to disengage themselves from UMNO, only then will there be HARMONY.
written by KHAIRUL HISHAM HASSAN, July 30, 2009 09:18:36
UMNO leaders know about this Malays sentiment and they really exploited this sentiment. The product selling point to the Malays is very easy: 'To safeguard the Malay polical power supremacy". Thus, UMNO leaders have a jolly good time cashing out from this Malays natural problem since the era of Hang Tuah. Being a Malay, I am extremely fed-up every time I ("Khairul-Today" Blog, http://khairul-today.********.com) read about this UMNO leaders without shame would immediately talk about the needs to defend the so-called diginity and supremacy of Malay power in Malaysia ONLY when their personal position is under threat. This is pure hypocracy on the part of UMNO leaders.

This Umno leader will scream to the Malays about the needs to protect the so-called Malays power supremacy. They will go to the grassroot Malays who are unfortunately still blind and talk about this sacred fight for the Malays power supremacy each time this Umno leaders fear they would loose their political power grip. But my question is whenever they steal our taxpayers money through questionable government contracts and tenders, where do they put the Malay's interest at that time? The truth is this Umno leaders actually never give a damn about the Malay interest. The most important thing for them is for their business empire to prosper by using the so-called sacred fight for Malays political struggle and supremacy. For this UMNO leaders including their Youth level leaders they never bother to learn marketing strategy or marketing skills to make their business venture succesful. Instead it is already embedded in their brain that to succeed in business they have to go and get as many government projects or tenders as possible. And to do this they only have to ensure they have got enough 'Orang Dalam' or 'Cable' to secure the contract, and to do that they will play the sentiment on the needs to safeguard the Malay supremacy. Don't ever talk to them about prospecting, market segmentation, handling customer objections and fulfilling customers needs. These big words never exist in their dictionary. What they know is 'connection', 'orang dalam', 'cable' and all the other race sentiment word "yang sewaktu dengannya". Do you ever think at the time when this UMNO leaders negotiate with the Chinese big towkay to sub-contract those multimillion or multibillion questionable government tenders and projects, this Umno leader really give a damn about the Malay interest as their highest list of their priority? Only in your dream. Nope, in fact never. Yet this same Malay leaders who would run as fast as Tom Hank in "Forrest Gump" movie to their branch grassroot supporters to shout and to scream about the need to safeguard the Malay interest (Read: their own interest) and to play the race card whenever they see there are certain group of educated or new breed generation of smart Malays who have chosen not to be naive and stupid forever.

Like I always wrote that I always challenged my friends in UMNO to show just one UMNO Ketua Bahagian who is very rich through his own retail-business and own marketing skills and not because of government tenders or projects that they got through their relatives or proxy. Just one is enough. This UMNO supporters in village have got eyes but they are sometimes blind to see the obvious, they have got ears but they refuse to listen to the truth, they have got nose but they unable to smell the corrupt dubious practice committed by their UMNO leaders. But they still choose to be naive. What more can I say.

The UMNO leaders who are very worry if the Malays really and truly become a succesful race in term of education and economic achievement because when this level ever achieved by the Malays, they will realize that they no longer want to blindly support UMNO leaders just for the sake of those leaders political struggle, not so much about the Malays as the whole political struggle.

Long time ago the Malays (to be precise the Javanese actually) in Johor were so blind in rendering their poltical support to the extend they will support anybody from UMNO in the name of preserving the Malay power supremacy in Malaysia. To the UMNO leaders, let me tell you this era already gone. You see it has already gone when two educated Malay men, Dr Taslim and Dr Sheikh Ibrahim won the two seats in Johor State Assembly through ballot box in the recent General Election. To the UMNO leaders who always use the so-called Malay political struggle as your false battle cry, let me also tell you that just a matter of time your poltical power (yes YOUR political power not the Malay political power) will be clompletely eroded. The more educated the Malays, the more they will open their mind and not going to support leaders like you. To the UMNO leaders I ("Khairul-Today" Blog, http://khairul-today.********.com) would like to say that the era all the Javanese only eat 'Lempeng' as their breakfast is over, they now eat Pizza instead!
agree 126
written by truthbespoken, July 30, 2009 09:40:45
This topic, so far, through the many wonderful comments above, really makes many Malays and non-Malays to look at the mirror and view themselves in a most truthful manner.. and it's done in an unusually rational way...makes the morning feels good! It's the way forward, fellow Malaysians!
written by Dominic, July 30, 2009 09:52:29
How true what rajaphillips had observed. Yes,I too mixed a lot with the Malays and I noticed the ordinary Malays especially those from the Kampung are the most sincer people you can find ! They are in some cases better off than my own race. Materialism ,greed and so called Maha Shitty years have erored them especially those urban Malays that distant them from their villiage folks even among them their own kind. It is their leader themselves who are to blame . Irony,these leaders like TDM ,Hisham and Najis are out to destory what their past leaders are trying to achieve through the same vehicle that propel our indepence from the Imperial power. They are a disgrace to their own race !
written by mountainking, July 30, 2009 09:58:15
must reword...UMNO Malays are the ones disgracing their own race. Same thing with MCA chinese disgracing chinese and the malaysians in large.

UMNO does not represet all Malays, so does MCA does not represent all chinese. UMNO and MCA should cuddle and cucuk each other.

Both parties are disgrace to their ancestors, family members, race and malaysians.
written by malgal, July 30, 2009 09:58:29
to avoid `mocking', we have to live with mocking the very fundamentals of human rights,systems and statutes.
the fine line between criticism and mockery can be misinterpreted even deliberately misconstrued when a desperate need for justification arises.

we will be forever traipsing on egg shells because we haven't quite grown up to know the difference.
written by teo siew chin, July 30, 2009 10:07:43
I have no doubt there are many many proud and principled Malays.
I am only waiting for them to speak up, voice out, do something !
written by drpolitic, July 30, 2009 10:10:31

Not all the Malays are like what you have mentioned above. Generally such a problem arises in all the races. The problem is Malays are the majority population here and that is why it very clear to see this.

Basically you cannot comment on the people that being selected as UMNO leaders are corrupt because the whole UMNO is corrupt. The whole system of UMNO only works if you are corrupted. If you want to be clean than you should choose PAS. Comes to corruption in UMNO it is not a new problem but existed since the NEP was introduced and this was exploited during the Mahathir period.

written by Democrats, July 30, 2009 10:21:20
The day the Malay stop thinking the world owes them a unrepayable debt, the race of Malay will finally progress.

Alternatively, the demise of UMNO would have the same effect.
written by Admiral Tojo, July 30, 2009 10:28:02
I hear you Teo Siew Chin. Although I have my doubt that I qualify as a Malay. I am a Javanese, Bugis, Chinese hybrid that once adhered to the Arab Religion. I am now a free thinker as thinking is free. I got to this liberated state strangely from studying the Quran (mentalbondageinthenameofgod.*********.com).

I will do something this 1st August by joining the peaceful walk to my Kings Palace to tell him that I am against the ISA, an UnIslamic Act as per Quran. I will also fight for the abolishment of the Emergency Ordinance, another act that is repressive and unconstitutional and UNISLAMIC. I believe there are about 2000 detainees under this act today. I will also speak out loudly against death under detention of which Malaysia has about 1800 deaths to date. A very very high figure indeed.

There are many issues to address to undo the damage UMNO and its cohorts have done, to not only the Malays but everyone of us. The Judiciary, Police and just about every Government Department needs to be rid of CORRUPTION, another disease that UMNO has incalcated.

So Teo and ALL others out there, walk with me this Saturday. My whole family will be walking as it is not often that we get to visit the King.

written by teo siew chin, July 30, 2009 10:54:38
Admiral Tojo - SALUTE !
written by ohuat, July 30, 2009 11:52:46
The REAL danger is that Malays in general are so simple minded & trusting persons that they can easily be brainwashed by these corruptted Umnoputras. One day they may raise they keris cause bloodshed against non-malays. This is what i scare of..
written by noornm, July 30, 2009 11:58:15
I am a Malay and this is what I think.
The NEP is one of the main reasons why the Malays are dependent on paltry political handouts from people who expect to be thanked for doing their duties. The mindset that Malays are weak and stupid and therefore should stick together through thick and thin is perpetuated by these politicians. It's a psychological bond that is very difficult to break. Sure, under the NEP many Malays get to be educated in universities but not before they go through the mind-numbing indoctrination process during primary and secondary school years resulting in many of them believing that the present system in the country is THE one and only system we should all follow, that is truth. In order to change this, the Malay mind needs to be first deconstructed and deschooled from the old indoctrinated beliefs so that those would no longer be viewed as TRUTH, that they may start to reclaim their self-esteem, that they may no longer equate the amok mentality with strength, that they may want to break from the corrupt feeding hands. Depoliticise the education system. Let NEP remain but open it up to every body based on meritocracy. Kick the crutch away and let them walk on their own. They may stumble and fall at first but the human spirit is such that it is not easily breakable. They will find ways to stand tall again. They will then realise that they can make it on their own.
written by Alice, July 30, 2009 11:58:22
The real Malays are real nice people. Simple,hospitable,sensitive,very forgiving people who rarely lose their temper. The UMNO created 'Malays' are highly materialistic and too much into forms than substance. A shallow lot of people. smilies/sad.gif
written by hellosunshine, July 30, 2009 12:35:37
'Biar mati anak, jangan mati adat.'
I am sorry, RPK. I disagree with you on this as it doesn't apply to all Malays nowadays. Look around us and notice some Malays are morphing into 'Arabs' or some other hybrid wearing turbans, robes, scrawny beards, abandoning their culture like dressing, dances, music etc and this group of Malays are growing by the day. smilies/grin.gif
written by Davy McChester, July 30, 2009 12:41:10
An honest assessment. But one group called the UMNOputras is doing a great disservice to its own people by removing a very important ingredient,called self reliant in their discourses,without which any amount of help is really useless as they will not be able to sustain for the next generation. In fact ,UMNOputras have moved backwards the thinking process of their support base by harping ,in the 21st century in a globalised era,about birth rights. It is no longer the work mentality,but entitlement. That mentality is displayed in all aspects and violently demanded. UMNO has created an inner group that would not hesitate to resort any means to remain in power. Hope it would not end up as what is said here,which has weakened the people. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related
written by mikewang, July 30, 2009 13:04:43
You said....

"They will never walk away from such an episode. And they will never allow you to walk away either."

Compare the statement above with what Sir Winston Churchill spoke about "fanatic."

"A fanatic is one who can't change his mind and won't change the subject." smilies/smiley.gif
written by malsia1206, July 30, 2009 13:15:55
Naturally we have many good Malays in as much as bad corrupted Malays. The same goes for the Chinese and Indians. Just like good Malaysians and bad corrupted Malaysians. The problem is, in Malaysia, the bad and corrupted Malays, Chinese and Indians call the shots. They are the ones with the political and big $$$ who manipulated the rakyat and this Nation to bleed everyone else high and dry. So we have to get strip them from their posts and bare them all in ridicule. March 2008 was a starting process.
written by KotaDamansara73, July 30, 2009 13:28:28
apiapi,

If the Malays in Singapore is feeling so bad and surpressed, why don't they just migrate back to Malaysia?

They don't, because they feel much better than their Malay counterparts in Malaysia.
written by madfive, July 30, 2009 13:45:33
well defined Proarte. please write more. from open minded melayu
written by DontPlayGod, July 30, 2009 13:55:20
Yes, the Malays have learned, through politics(read UMNO) how to get rich the easy(get rich quick scheme) way. Quite a good number of my Chinese, and non-Malay friends, who converted to Islam through marrying Muslim Malays and used Muslim names, have become multi-millionaires through share applications alloted to Malays, decades ago. And needless to mention, many cronies of UMNO bigwigs have mounted the bandwagon to get rich Government contracts, subcontracting them out and making easy millions, without having to fork out a single cent, or lifting even their little finger.

Is this how UMNO is trying to wean the Malays away from becoming leeches? Is this how UMNO is trying to make the Malays "towering"? Is this how UMNO is trying to make the Malays independent and able to remove their crutches? Let me put it simply to you, UMNO has no intentions of removing such "special" rights, nor is UMNO desirous of turning the Malays into "towering" people, able to compete with anyone from any part of the world.

UMNO wants the Malays to continue to depend on UMNO to feed them, and thus UMNO will be able to depend on them for power and wealth. The Malays being independent and towering is not to UMNO's liking. Sorry to say this, UMNO has brainwashed the Malays into becoming racists, and believing only UMNO can save and feed them. That is why you see UiTM students protesting when the MB of Selangor said UiTM should take in 10% of non-Malays. That is why you see Malay students and graduates gathering together in cloisters and avoiding the non-Malays. Can you find UiTM students employed in non-Government or non-GLC's companies?

As I have often written, the Government departments and GLC's are one big welfare department. Soon the total number of employees in these entities will exceed 1.2 million, and more in the coming years. And we all know the frustrations in dealing with Government or GLC's, despite their huge, or over staffed manpower.

I am sorry to say this, but the Malays will never ever be strong enough to compete with the other races if UMNO continues this way of wanting to control the minds of the Malays, and all signs point to the Malays succumbing to UMNO's proganda.
written by densemy, July 30, 2009 14:08:15
RPK... thank you for addressing two observations that I have made over recent weeks. First, the reluctance of the powers-that-be in Islam to criticise even the worst unislamic excesses of the BN government. And today the reluctance of the good people of Islam to speak out against those same excesses.

In this latter case I think your explanation for this situation doesnt go quite far enough into exposing the real cause of the problem.

Firstly, you talk as though being a Malay means you are a member of an extremely homogenous group of people. That is not so. As a group ( and they arent a race) Malays are probabaly more genetically diverse than many other racial groups on earth, as well they come from a diverse range of economic and educational backgrounds so to lump them all into one category... malays is to deny the facts

However, there is one overwhelmingly uniting factor that makes Malays malay.

You say "It all has to do with maruah (dignity) and Malay pride.". And I ask what makes them so dignified and proud? I once quizzed a group of young Malays as to why they were so proud to be Malay. After much irrelevant discussion they resorted to the realisation their pride was a result of the fact that Malaysia was the country that raised and nutured them.

This is a really sad situation, because there should be much that Malaysians of all races should be proud of, but unfortunately there is very little to be proud of in this country. Give Malaysians something to be proud of and I suspect that unity will cease to be an issue

What actually makes Malays dignified and proud is their insecurity. Dignity and Pride are just covers for insecurity, as is a tendency to violence and their resorting to tradition to cover their insecurities

"Malays would rather see the death of an offspring than the death of their traditions." ...because tradition is all they have to fall back on to mask their insecurities.

And where does this widespread insecurity come from? From the same source that makes Malays malay... of course

But dont be too distressed by this situation, because the Chinese and the Indians as a group also suffer from serious insecurity issues albeit insecurity from a different source. And like Malays their insecurities largely colour their actions and behaviour
written by lampard, July 30, 2009 14:29:58
I would not comment what a Malay
should be or should not,
is or was,
suppose to be or not,
religious or not,
pious or not,
correct or not,
corrupt or not,

Without EQUALITY, all are loss!
written by Cash Money, July 30, 2009 14:39:02
The Malays know the word amok, said Umno during its annual general assembly. Don’t push the Malays too far, warned Umno. Push the Malays too far and watch the keris come out of its sheath, screamed Umno. “Now that the keris has been unsheathed when are you going to use it?” Umno challenged its Youth Leader.
-------------------------------
The Amok bit only happens when the Malays are in numbers.
But when you confront a malay one to one without his peers around the adat and all rest of the bullshit flee like fleas.That is why the melayu disgrace themselves to the extend they end up kissing mamak MahaTahi's hand.
I believe the orang puteh half accepts criticism but the babi-buta part must be from the melayu bit.
written by Admiral Tojo, July 30, 2009 15:02:44
written by hellosunshine, July 30, 2009 12:35:37
>>>'Biar mati anak, jangan mati adat.'
>>>I am sorry, RPK. I disagree with you on this as it doesn't apply to all Malays nowadays. Look around us and notice some Malays are morphing into 'Arabs' or some other hybrid wearing turbans, robes, scrawny beards, abandoning their culture like dressing, dances, music etc and this group of Malays are growing by the day. smilies/grin.gif

Excellent observation Hellosunshine. Look at the mufti man of Perak, that Harunsainy fellow, and guess whose culture is he practising? Yes. the Arab culture. The Malay Culture has been almost destroyed by this Arab Culture. No more song and dance, no more literature, no more art, no more joy. It has been replaced by the Arab culture predorminantly based on revenge, anger, wrath and inequality.

Oh by the way, this Arab Culture has NOTHING to do with ISLAM as per Quran. For these Arabwannabes to free themselves from this mental slavery do visit mentalbondageinthenameofgod.*********.com

That is why this class of people like Harunsainy, they will never speak up against wrong as they themselves are the biggest disbelievers and hypocrites Quran 9:97-100.

written by Loh, July 30, 2009 16:13:26
The late Tun Dr. Ismail talked about pride of Malays, and clearly he cared because he belongs. But by the grace of Article 160, Malays today include Malays who knew who they are as Malays, and others who are admitted to the club by clearing the three-criteria. The latter might be better known as NEWMalays. Since they belong to Malays emotionally for the benefits Malays enjoy, but cared not for the pride of the race, which they could not empathise. Mamak Mahathir is clearly a Malayali, rather than a Malay, and he still claims now that Malays are inferior to others, against the wishes of Tun Ismail who wanted Article 153 to remain only when necessary; Mahathir wants it to stay so that he could manipulate, at the expense of the pride of the race that clearly he did not belong.
written by Angela Ooi, July 30, 2009 16:35:57
This is a country with a LARGE MAJORITY of MALAYS, why then are they forever INSECURE n SHOUTING about UNITING AGAINST the MINORITIES? Tell me, how do the minorities go about fighting them when they are practically 100% in every aspect of governance in this country???
written by VVijay, July 30, 2009 16:51:24
Having witnessed the abuse of power, corruption, racist discrimination, facist policies, feudalistic bigotry and all the uncontrolled squandering of our national resources over the last 50 years by the political leadership of our country, it is understandable if our perception gets clouded. But we must make a clear distinction between Malays and the bandit umnoputras! The Malays are one of the nicest people on this earth. They are God fearing, religious, cultured, well mannered and traditionally have upheld the best of human values and virtues. Crime and corruption was virtually non-exisitant in Malay society. It is the greedy, corrupt, abusive, racist and fascist unmoputras who have brought shame and disgrace to Malay society. It is this small minority which has plundered the wealth of our nation and has brought all the despicable traits of corruption, cronyism, feudalism, racism, bigotry and institutionalised human rights violations and the suppression of universal democratic rights. Don't blame the Malays - they are also victims of the same facists!
written by johntyc, July 30, 2009 17:05:54
Ada sesiapa yang layak/mampu terjemahkan artikel ini kepada Bahasa Melayu?

Anyone qualify/able to translate this article to Malay?
written by joejoe, July 30, 2009 17:11:53
You mean to tell me that Malay dignity and pride is only important when it comes to the non-Malays but when it comes to their own race they can put aside dignity and pride in exchange for money?

RPK ... you have made an assumption that UMNO has not redefined what "dignity" and "pride" mean. Isn't it very dignified to be seen driving the latest Merc S500 or Ferrari and living in a RM20m house obtained through illegal means?

The fact that others less "dignified" come kow-towing to you and kiss your hand because you have the connections to get the big contracts should count for a lot of "pride", don't you think so?

For one thing -- someone as learned and well-read as you should understand what this social paradigm means. So, if that is the new paradigm, then dignity and pride means other things. As they say, "Corruption lies in the eyes of the Beholder".
written by A MI, July 30, 2009 17:43:22
Being principled has got nothing to do with any race. Sometimes it is a result of proper upbringing. But I know of individuals who may have been dismissed as pariah in slums and gangster-infested areas who have grown up to become very principled people.

What is also sad, besides that the holier than thou attitude of the race in discussion, they have been fed an overdoze of ethnocenttism and as a result they have no respect for fellow humans of another enthinicty. Most of those who grew up in the post TARazak era are a bunch of egotistical, rude, self-centred lot. Has anyone noticed how the have-gots from this racial group treat the have-nots from their own racial group? smilies/wink.gif
written by johnT, July 30, 2009 21:18:25
Very very honest speaking, I have malay and chinese friend, I have malay and chinese customer, But I like Malay more than Chinese. But It doesn't mean I like UMNO. And I don't like UMNO leader. Most of them come up because thay are good enough to raise racist issue. Example: Mahathir.
written by penang53, July 30, 2009 21:35:23
RPK, you certainly calls it like it is. But most commentators missed the point especially those who blamed the "powers that be".
Wake up, you are the "power that be". The power is in your hand. Don't excuse yourselves by blaming the "powers that be" or even Mahathir. You all voted for him when he gave you $ and you did not complain.

Why don't you all rebel? And don't me me that about Malays not rebelling. That's just crap fed to you to keep you in your place
written by vox populi, July 30, 2009 21:58:10
This talk about Malays has set me on an emotional roller coaster.

When I was growing up and in primary and secondary school (in the 50's and 60's), some of my best friends were Malays. A Malay family I got to know then became like family to me and the three surviving brothers are still like brothers to me until today. Their father was a warm, unprejudiced, generous soul who never spoke an unkind word of anyone, whether Malay, Chinese or Indian. In life he was colour blind, in death he was mourned by his friends from all races and all walks of life. He was a father figure and he treated me like his own son.

I remember those days. My hero was Sargeant Hassan. I took to Malay culture and customs with gusto. I was teasingly called Abdullah and I did not mind that one bit. I really thought the Malays back then were all like my father figure or at least like the late P Ramlee and Saloma in the movies. Watch a P Ramlee movie and you would have a delightful insight into the Malays of that generation. How different the Malays look now. They look more and more Arab to me. Behind the Arab garb, I hope there is still enough Malayness in them.

After May 13 (when I went off to university overseas), I lost the fondness for things Malay. I could not fathom the change. Perhaps, psychologically, the injustices and unfairness, the denial of opportunities because of my race, the corruption and real life racial segregation has something to do with it. In working life, I often had a sense of trepidation, even apprehension, when interacting with Malays. Deep down I felt they were the perpetrators of all my misgivings. I felt utterly hopeless and uppermost in my mind was that things could not change for the better if the Malays did not want to do anythng about it.

Of course, I never became anti-Malay. I could not because my relationship with Malays was anchored around my Malay friends.

Then came 308, the blogs and the flourish of Malay opinions that acknowledged the injustices and what was terribly wrong in the country. In a word there is hope yet.

I promise myself when I meet a Malay now, I will be more discerning and not let my emotions get the better of me.
written by miwaki, July 30, 2009 22:21:27
Actually I can understand why malays do not rise against those malays who are corrupt and immaoral,this is becuase Malaysia is made up of multi-racial and not only malays.If Malaysia is 100% malays,then malays would not tolerate corruption and immoral of their people.

written by latihanQ, July 30, 2009 22:31:08
I am completely unconvinced Malays in general are the ones disgracing their race. I am however adamantly sure there specifically are some oppartunists exploiting to the hilt the trusting nature of the Malays to their selfish personal advantage. This has been prevalent for more than 50years and I think a good many Malays enlightened with an unadulterated education is beginning to see the truth.
That is the main reason why people like Tengku Razaleigh and Tok Guru Nik Aziz have been trying so hard to inform those misled.
Time will tell if Malaysia will survive or destruct if honest people are not voted into office any time soon!
written by asiana888, July 31, 2009 00:15:32
I loved Malays especially those in kebayas! How I missed those nice shapely dresses.Sorry I can't thinking of those nostalgia years. Generally, I think Malays are 50:50 those nice and sopan-santun ones and nasty UMNO thugs (who behaved like as if their fathers own the land - even though they are 2nd generation Indonesia migrants!)So, I still friend-friend Malays only stayed away from UMNOputras!
written by Ho Lee Man, July 31, 2009 00:47:51
Growing up in the 70s, some of my best friends are Malays.
They are well mannered,polite,nice people with pride and principles.
I can testify these values, as my Malay friends remain close to me to this day.
The politicians from UMNO had changed ,corrupt and confused the Malays.
Proarte ,DontPlayGod and Rajaphillips explain these points, so well.
UMNO has made the Malays insecure, dependent ,racist and religious bigots.
Whenever I asked my teenage son ,why he doesn't have one single Malay friend?
His replies were: they dislike us, useless ,no principles and not trustworthy.
These negative points were not found in my Malay friends during my school days.
Sadly, UMNO has successfully social engineered the Malays for its motive and agendas.
written by AlwaysFair, July 31, 2009 08:05:18
"""The bottom line is, Malays are the ones disgracing their race. This makes a mockery of the so-called dignity and pride of Malays. How can Malays continue talking about dignity and pride when those of their own kind are acting disgracefully.""""

Dear RPK, Just one GOOD Malay like you fighting very hard against all odds just to bring justice to this land as well as speak for the oppressed and marginalised is GOOD ENOUGH.

The quality of your life and courage SHINES ever so brightly in this GLOOMY land and outshines all the other voices which are not to be trusted because most are too corrupted to speak straight and think straight.

In conclusion irregardless how many malays there are most of them esp the leaders have lost their credibility long ago.

You are the most trusted Malay in this land, I think!!! I am not trying to carry your balls.
written by AlwaysFair, July 31, 2009 08:07:20
Just to add a bit more, the ones the govt. hate the most are to be trusted the most.
written by CPY, July 31, 2009 09:27:30
Mahathir should be lynched because he claimed the Malays are totaly inferior towards the chinese in the Malay Dilemma, which justify NEP which benefits the UMNOputra and their Alibaba partners.
written by skc, July 31, 2009 15:43:48
Just one word can sum up everything above :- racist
If and when we can throw away above word and all feeling associated with it, then and only then will we be free.
written by Running Sardines, July 31, 2009 16:57:48
When I was a student, I have many Malay friends. Of course, there existed certain pressures then on the Malays to 'distance' themselves from the non-Malays. However, in courses like Medicine and Engineering, we become more colour blind as the years progressed because our objective was to pass the yearly exams until we graduated. For those opted to be colour sensitive, they will be lagging behind as it is impossible to be a lone ranger in such courses.

What concerned me now is that the younger generations of Malays are keeping more towards their own kind. At this rate, probably the passing marks have to be lowered to 30 (out of 100. It was 40 at my time) and I dare not imagine the quality of professionals from this group then.

And I think all of us must change our mindset on what it meant to be Malaysian (equality, respect, meritocracy etc.) if we care for our future generations to survive in Malaysia. Otherwise, Malaysia will be lagging behind.
written by pakasia, July 31, 2009 20:52:08
Blame Tun Mahathir's NEP policy and the main stream medias under the control of UMNO for making their people uncompetitive.

Kill the policy, open up and have a strong leader for united Malaysia and I guarantee we all will see a strong race in the making!

written by tan_eng, August 01, 2009 02:08:10

Unlike what you would like to think RPK, i believe any group or society or race would get angry , provoked and will retaliate irrespective of their differences within the group.

Its all in the brain washing / propaganda. You got to throw your "I Am A Malay" attitude to be able to look beyond race game. Else you will tend to justify your anger with your race and what not.

Look at your self as a human being and it would be easier to understand.

Malaysian Fighting For Malaysia.
written by Panca Indera, August 01, 2009 11:45:11
To All
for all the hype and hogwash written on this, the only one who who is truly wise is Master Tan_Eng who wrote the article below.
note: RPK wrote well as the agent provocateur. An everybody else took the bait and showed how we all missed the most important point!

written by tan_eng, August 01,

Unlike what you would like to think RPK, i believe any group or society or race would get angry , provoked and will retaliate irrespective of their differences within the group.......

Look at your self as a human being
and it would be easier to understand.

Malaysian Fighting For Malaysia. (well said)

Malaysian fighting for ISlam smilies/grin.gif
written by Fart Fart Wah, August 01, 2009 12:41:33
Very sorry...historically there is no such thing as a Malay race. Every Malay in Malaysia has some roots to his loving brother or sister somewhere in the Indonesian Islands or the Archipelago.. There is no such race as a pure Malay race.
You do not have an original language..nor do you have any original writings. From the GREAT TOYOL OF SELANGOR TO THE 22 YEARS OF CLOUDING THE EYES OF THE "MALAYS'MAHATHIR WAS NOT ONE. Even ANWAR IS NOT ONE ..nor is the Sultan of PERAK.
The kingdom of the Malacca Sultanate was over run by converted Indians to Islam with the famous Parameswara changing his name to Iskandar Shah. There are some who claim to come from the Arabic bloodline..who cares ..you are not Malay.
Most of the root words are borrowed from Indian words and Sanskrit..
WHO THEN IS A "MALAY" MALAY???? How far back can you find any Malay writings??/

AND SO WE HAVE A MYTH.. Politically the Chinese and Indians in this country have created a supposed "Malay race" indirectly for differentiation in order for the Malays to live on crutches.

It is because of politics and religion we are in this quagmire. The "Malays" I believe in Malaysia are never a free people. They are slaves to an institution of manipulation and a make believe world of "ketuanan Melayu." It is actually a farce...when you think you have something but actually you do not have it and want to claim it..and all that you have today is a borrowed or modified culture or lifestyle....forgetting that once you were thought to be living on trees...
..and that is history..
written by SamBall, August 01, 2009 20:31:07
Any article that has a specfic race mentioned such as the above makes me want to puke; sorry that's just me

Like as if they all are....
Like as if the others aren't...
please la; theer are a billion of the others bro....

these things assume the status quo; why not exclude race, religion from your all articles; yeah I know it will be difficult especially if you are branded at birth like cattle...oh well thats Msia for you. What a fcuked up country...
written by R020998, August 02, 2009 20:24:04
ANTI ISA RALLY

438 people arrested.
435 were Malay.
ONLY 3 NON-MALAYS???????????
And I thought the non-malays in MT got balls..............................
The reality is......I was mislead through your comments to believe that you people got balls when you have none.......

Rupa-rupanya MT Readers falls in category Talk Only No Action....
Bila didepan komputer, wahhhhhhh...bukan main garang! Bila komen, wahhhhhh....dia lah pendekar!
Sadly you people have no balls.

Non-malays yang pergi dua-tiga ekor ni pon tak berani nak pakai baju hitam atau merah... talk so much... Poooooorahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!
written by Panca Indera, August 04, 2009 09:50:30
Salam
written by R020998, August 02, 2009 20:24:04
ANTI ISA RALLY
438 people arrested.
435 were Malay.
ONLY 3 NON-MALAYS???????????

Salam
Dear Proate,FartTwoWah and others who likes to play on the racial issues or against Islam.
Please answer the question and give intelligent reasons on why only 3 NON-MALAYs were arrested compared to 435 Malays as pointed out by R020998( ratio of 1 :100)while the populaion ratio is :

Malay 50.4%, Chinese 23.7%, indigenous 11%, Indian 7.1%, others 7.8% (2004 est.)
Religion:Muslim 60.4%, Buddhist 19.2%, Christian 9.1%, Hindu 6.3%,

If the demonstration is to reflect a trully Malaysian ISSUEor CONCERN then the ratio of the demonstrators and those arrested should reflected across the population and religious spectrum.

But sadly it doesnt.
Please, those who are vocal against Islam and Malay please explain the discrepancy.

Maybe Admin can add his/her two cents worth
smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by AstralQueen, August 04, 2009 18:55:31
You speak the truth, my heart rejoices with every word I read. I will forever keep you in my thoughts, prayers until my dying day for you are a true fighter.

And criticism is ok yeah, but mockery is just retarded, and usually I ignore it because I refuse to stoop to their level; I know I'm better than them.