Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Time for a hartal

Time for a hartal PDF Print
Tuesday, 28 July 2009 15:59

Are we truly independent? Or did we just switch the white British colonialists with brown colonialists? Did we merely kick out one dictator, ten thousand miles away, and replace it with ten thousand dictators one mile away?

The federal government is sending each of us a $600 rebate.
If we spend that money at Wal-Mart, the money goes to China.
If we spend it on gasoline, it goes to the Arabs.
If we buy a computer, it will go to India.
If we purchase fruits and vegetables, it will go to Mexico, Honduras and Guatemala.
If we purchase a good car, it will go to Germany and Japan.
If we purchase useless crap, it will go to Taiwan.
In short, none of it will help the American economy.
The only way to keep that money here at home is to spend it on prostitutes and beer, since these are the only products still produced in the US.

Dr. Marc Faber

Dr. Marc Faber's company, Marc Faber Limited, acts as an investment advisor company concentrating on value investments with tremendous upside often based on contrarian investment philosophies. Faber also invests and acts as a fund manager to private wealthy clients. Faber is a regular speaker on the investment circuit, often quoted in the financial press for his non-conformist viewpoint and alternative investment philosophies. His current — if eccentric — tagline is: 'buy a $100 US bond and frame it to teach your children about inflation by watching the US bond value diminish to almost nothing over the next 20 years'. Faber is famous for advising his clients to get out of the stock market one week before the October 1987 crash. - Wikipedia

Hartal is a term in many Indian languages for strike action, used often during the Indian Independence Movement. It is mass protest often involving a total shutdown of workplaces, offices, shops, courts of law, etc., as a form of civil disobedience. In addition to being a general strike, it involves the voluntary closing of schools and places of business. It is a mode of appealing to the sympathies of a government to change an unpopular or unacceptable decision.

Hartal was originally a Gujarati expression signifying the closing down of shops and warehouses with the object of realising a demand. MK Gandhi, the Indian national leader from Gujarat, organised a series of anti-British general strikes, which he called hartals, thereby institutionalising it.

In Bangladesh a hartal is a constitutionally recognised political method for articulating any political demand.

In Sri Lanka, it is often used to refer specifically to the 1953 hartal of Ceylon. Hartals are still common in India, Bangladesh and in northern and eastern Sri Lanka.

In Malaysia, the word "hartal" was used to refer to various general strikes in the 1940s, 50s and 60s, such as the All-Malaya hartal of 1947 and the Penang hartal of 1967.

The word hartal in India is also used in humorous sense to mean abstaining from work. Another variant, which is common in Hindi-speaking regions, is the bhukh hartal, which translates as hunger strike. - Wikipedia

The recent Manik Urai by-election proved even more that Barisan Nasional, in particular Umno, depends on money for its survival. RM1,000 in cash was paid to every voter in Manik Uria, resulting in Pakatan Rakyat almost losing the by-election. One just can’t ignore the power of money. And money is one thing that Barisan Nasional has plenty of. Plenty of money would translate to plenty of power as well.

To cut Barisan Nasional and Umno down to size, we have to hit them where it hurts most. And it hurts most when the pocket is hit. So, to hurt Barisan Nasional and Umno, we must hit them in the pocket. And this means hitting the source of that money, the companies that are paying Barisan Nasional and Umno huge sums of money to help them stay in power.

Who are these crony companies? Which are the companies that are paying Barisan Nasional and Umno huge sums of money? Where did all this money come from? How much of that money actually belongs to you and me, the rakyat?

Companies are in the business of making money. You do not set up a company to do charity. Companies have only one philosophy in mind and it can be summed up in just three words: profit, profit, profit.

So we need to reduce the profit of these companies. We need to cut into their war chest so that they have very little left to give to Barisan Nasional and Umno. Companies depend on licences, permits, quotas, government contracts, political patronage and whatnot to survive. And to procure these licences, permits, quotas, government contracts, political patronage and whatnot, they need to pay ‘under the table’ money to those who walk in the corridors of power. Bribery makes the world go round in corporate Malaysia. Bribery fuels the government machinery. Business empires are built on bribery, corruption, political patronage and cronyism.

Look for alternatives. Buy products and services from those that are not crony companies. Deny yourself whatever it is you normally indulge yourself in so that these companies do not earn your money, which in the end ends up in the pockets of Barisan Nasional and Umno.

Another way to hurt them financially would be to launch a hartal. On 8 August 2009, a few NGOs and civil society movements are organising a hartal in Perak. They want to turn Perak into a ‘ghost town’. Stay home on 8 August 2009. Don’t leave your house. Empty the streets, shops and restaurants. Do what you need to do the day before. And on 8 August 2009 stay behind the locked doors of your home.

On 31 August 2009 we shall, again, be celebrating Merdeka or Independence Day. Independence was declared on midnight of 30 August 1957. On that day the Union Jack was lowered and proudly replaced with the Malayan flag.

But are we truly independent? Or did we just switch the white British colonialists with brown colonialists? Did we merely kick out one dictator, ten thousand miles away, and replace it with ten thousand dictators one mile away?

No, we are not yet Merdeka. What we have done is merely to replace one colonial government with another. The present government is continuing the oppression and discrimination of the previous government. We need to be truly Merdeka by ending the dictatorial rule of the present government.

There is no reason to celebrate Merdeka. There is no justification to raise the flag this 31 August 2009. Merdeka has not been achieved yet. It will only be achieved when we see a change in government or at least a change in government policy. Only then would it be feasible to celebrate Merdeka.

We need a hartal. We need many hartals. The rakyat need to vote with their feet. They rig the ballot box. Voting with our ballot paper is an uphill task. We must use our feet to vote. And the way to vote with our feet would be to launch and participate in many hartals and boycotts.

Civil disobedience is the order of the day. If we stay home and refuse to buy the products and services of those who are propping up the illegitimate regime the government will eventually crumble. Without our participation the government can do very little. Without our money we will starve them.

If we come out and protest they can use the police against us. If we demonstrate they will brutalise us. But they can’t do anything to us if we launch a hartal. No government can clamp down on civil disobedience.

So do nothing. No one can harm you if you do nothing. And doing nothing involves staying home and not allowing your money to leave your pocket. And if you still need to buy products and services make sure it is not from one of the crony companies.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by mob1900, July 28, 2009 16:03:45
agree 134
written by shamadz72, July 28, 2009 16:08:13
In support of 8th of August Hartal in Perak, I & m family will also observed a Hartal here in Selangor as a show of solidarity with my Perakian brothers.
agree 177
written by OilMan, July 28, 2009 16:15:14
This is a great opportunity for Perakians to be in the history books as the starting point of the actual independence for Malaysia. From Perak, the independence drive may be a tsunami of sorts that can be emulated by other states.
written by Democrats, July 28, 2009 16:17:11
First boycott the carrefour, giant, and tesco, the three biggest contributors to the mainstream media, paying for adverts over 2 pages, (colored too!) to fill the pockets of those who feed us with bullshit, racial crap and lousy command of english or malay.

Start there......
agree 136
written by Msiasky, July 28, 2009 16:18:36
I'm a bit slow......Can you show me the list of companies I need to avoid?

I stop celebrating 31Aug for few years already

Some of the reasons are
I love my country but my country doesn't love me. I only see discrimination; because if you are BN supporter, you get the business; if not, forget about it. Already very disappointed with BN, now with Beng Hock issue, I'm even more disappointed with BN.
dissapointed with BN.

agree 140
written by hiiijack, July 28, 2009 16:25:53
Yes,you're rigth YM RPK,since last year 2008 me & family have stop flying on MAS.I rather fly on SA than MAS,better service & cheaper and most importantly my money won't go to Umno & its cronies.Change,yes we can.yes we need many hartals..
written by Wisdom above, July 28, 2009 16:27:14
...And if you still need to buy products and services make sure it is not from one of the crony companies.

I have started my HARTAL ever since 8-3-2008 !
Simply do not do business with companies linked with those BN cronies ?
Just STARVED these BN cronies economically !
Let the DOMINO effect take its course !
written by Ken Liew, July 28, 2009 16:28:31
WE MUST MAKE MALAYSIA, Free and secure to live in...

I've suffer alot from Merdeka... Why?? most of the school with marching band will join this event.. But wat we get in return?? No matter how good u are matching, how sweet the music play... the price money are always BEEN POLITICISE~! The headmasters are making their name by sending the kids to suffer.!!

trust me, I long forget the feeling of merdeka....
written by Pakyeh, July 28, 2009 16:31:54
I support the hartal. I shall raise the hartal flag with an article at..

http://warongpakyeh.blogspo.com
written by miwaki, July 28, 2009 16:34:45
First thing to do is to stop going to SPAs,stop using your hard-earned money and spend on TOTO,Magnum and Kuda.Let's starve them before they starve us !
written by InEffective, July 28, 2009 16:38:17
If only people can comprehend the power that they wield if they act together in concert. (but it requires some sacrifice - are we selfish ?)

One can easily identify the nation's embezzlers and expropriators enabled via the politician's use of conditional recurring license and permits chokehold.

just review your monthly budget expenses - you'll figure out where you are being raped.

- All the MSM newpapers
- sole TV provider
- gambling and gaming operators
- sole source of petro dollars
- toll-road operators
- auto vendors with unfair market advantage

written by StevenO, July 28, 2009 16:38:56
Boycott Sports TOTO and Berjaya Corporation. Don't let Vicent Tan with hikacking democracy in Perak! Don't let him prop up the government of those UMNo racist goons using money that he made from us.
written by sactyr, July 28, 2009 16:41:39
Lets start with a list of companies that directly pays BN. Here is the list of companies that Vincent Tan owns:

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/21594/84/

All these companies are owned by one person. What about the other hundreds or thousands that pays BN as well?? Lets boycott all of them!!

HARTAL!!!
written by eeyaw, July 28, 2009 16:41:39
Pete, this is my hartal!
On Sat the 8th I will stay at home, no newspapers, no TV, no Astro, no eating out, no buy anything from the Supermart, no beer, no 4 digits or Toto and stay naked reading a book title 'How to screw back Umno'. If it works shall extent to every Sat. and so on until the scumbags cry 'Ma Ma'.
written by blogsmith, July 28, 2009 16:42:01
Give a a list of crony companies. There must be more other than just Vincent Tan.
written by smeagrooo, July 28, 2009 16:43:35
Can we list down companies, products of which we can boycott of at least reduce usage or dependence on?
written by malgal, July 28, 2009 16:51:51
Also very good for pocket and waistline. Berjaya Sports toto curtails gambling habit, don't munch krispy kremes good for weight reduction, save money on Starbucks, The Organic Shop in BVillage1, Digi,Borders.
i will cut down on unnecessaries and buy from mom&pop shops, the small fishes ones lah.

Let's pool together a list of the rogues and avoid them. Whoever knows, share the news.
written by hellosunshine, July 28, 2009 17:09:59
This is lifted from lookchart.********.com - http://lookchart.********.com/...anies.html
Avoid these companies like the plaque and watch these worms squirm. Hee hee hee!

These are some of the companies listed by TA Research house and some of it are from my memory. These are the United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) linked companies, Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA), Selangor State Government, and others related.

No. - Stock Code - Short Name - Company Name

UMNO

7078 - AZRB - AHMAD ZAKI RESOURCES BHD
8125 - DAIMAN - DAIMAN DEVELOPMENT BHD
1619 - DRBHCOM - DRB-HICOM BHD
2143 - ECM - ECM LIBRA FINANCIAL GRP BHD
1368 - FABER - FABER GROUP BHD
6874 - KUB - KUB MALAYSIA BHD
3174 - L&G - LAND & GENERAL BHD
9628 - LDAUN - LEBAR DAUN BHD
1651 - MRCB - MALAYSIAN RESOURCES CORPORATION BHD
4502 - MEDIA - MEDIA PRIMA BHD
2194 - MMCCORP - MMC CORPORATION BHD
9032 - MTD - CAPITAL BHD
3999 - NSTP - NEW STRAITS TIMES PRESS (M) BHD
5093 - PECD - PECD BHD
7081 - PHARMA - PHARMANIAGA BHD
2895 - PUTERA - PUTERA CAPITAL BHD
5030 - RANHILL - RANHILL BHD
5050 - RUBHD - RANHILL UTILITIES BHD
7158 - SCOMI - SCOMI GROUP BHD
7366 - SCOMIEN - SCOMI ENGINEERING BHD
7045 - SCOMIMR - SCOMI MARINE BHD
4421 - TWS - TRADEWINDS (M) BHD
4804 - TWSCORP - TRADEWINDS CORPORATION BHD
6327 - TWSPLNT - TRADEWINDS PLANTATION BHD
5054 - TRC - TRC SYNERGY BHD
5042 - TSRCAP - TSR CAPITAL BHD
4855 - UEMBLDR - UEM BUILDERS BHD
1775 - UEMWRLD - UEM WORLD BHD
5754 - UTUSAN - UTUSAN MELAYU (M) BHD
8958 - WELLI - WELLI MULTI CORPORATION BHD smilies/grin.gif
written by Yew Loke, July 28, 2009 17:23:30
One of the company RPK wrote before in an article (forget when was it) is BERJAYA SDN BHD. AVOID GOING TO ANY COMPANY OWNED BY BERJAYA!!!!!!!
written by Taiping60, July 28, 2009 17:27:06
I am against doing anything to harm Malaysian companies. You have to know there are many innocent Malaysians working in those companies. They are there to just earn a living to support their family. So let not get emotional about this.

If we are serious about doing good for the country, do the following;

1) Register yourself as voters as soon as possible if you have not.
2) Make sure you vote regardless of what.
3) Dont accept bribe or if you accept, donate the full among to Charity,
4) Vote the party/parties whom you think can unite the country,
5) Vote the party/parties whom you think will implement massive reform to our public services with the objective of making Malaysia competitive,
6) Regardless of their parties, those who are corrupted, should not be voted in.
7) Vote for independent media,
8] Vote for multi-racial
disagree 30
written by unomalaysia, July 28, 2009 17:55:23
hellosunshine, the selangor state government is controlled by Pakatan Rakyat and so are the companies owned by the selangor state. If you want to do your bit to kick umno thru Vincent Tan's Berjaya, stop going to McDonalds, Wendy, Krispy Kreme, Kenny Rodgers.... these are Vincent Tan's owned companies. If you want good burgers, get a Ramly burger from those enterprising Malays boys operating by the roadside. Those Ramly burgers are great tasting stuff better than any McD anytime.
written by hellosunshine, July 28, 2009 18:02:21
unomalaysia, like I said, I lifted this from a blog and I guess it was a bit out of date then and I don't know which companies belong to Selangor in the list. Do you? If yes, please give correction lor. Everyone and his dog also knows about Vincent Tan's companies as they are mentioned in all posts here, there and everywhere. Give me some names of BN linked companies lah. smilies/wink.gif
written by educationist, July 28, 2009 18:10:53
Thank you, my dear RPK for spearheading a Hartal!
It is time the rakyat are empowered to work towards the change so many of us have voiced here.
And, those thugs and samsengs cannot use any pretence of violence to use the brute force they have armed themselves with the rakyat's money.
Come one, come all.
Let who cared the direction our country is moving heed RPK's call, let us make our disgust of the UMNOputras and their institutions of state under their control known!!
Let us all do what we can to make the Hartal an eyeopener to the UMNOputras!!
written by densemy, July 28, 2009 18:34:11
I cant help but point out that I suggested similar action over 12 months ago

Now, i'll make another suggestion. Instead of Merdeka Day being an opportunity for overweight politicians to strut their egos, why not turn it into CLEAN UP MALAYSIA DAY... and really do something patriotic and independent
written by oneofthesedays, July 28, 2009 18:53:29
Why not a nationwide Hartal on the 8th of August? smilies/grin.gif
written by AtanSian, July 28, 2009 19:12:26
Would a knowledgeable reader suggest 3 Companies which are most representative of the evil business empire. Then all readers of this Blog focus their Hartal action on these 3. The effects will be devastating and it will represent just a first shot across their bows, a warning that if they continue to support those corrupt anti-Malaysian elements, we Malaysians can cause much greater collateral damage by withholding our spending ringgit.
written by Hakim Joe, July 28, 2009 19:19:57
I'll try to post as many as possible cos THERE ARE A LOT!!!

Under Berjaya Group:
Prime Credit Leasing, Berjaya Sompo Insurance, Inter Pacific Capital, Inter Pacific Securities, Inter Pacific Asset Management, Cosway, Country Farms, Berjaya Books, Singer, Berjaya HVN, Direct Vision, Amat Muhibah, Desa Water Park, Berjaya Resorts, Kelab Darul Ehsan, Bukit Banang Golf Club, Staffield Country Resort, Bukit Kiara Resort, Bukit Pinang Leisure, Kota Raya Kompleks, Plaza Berjaya, KL Plaza, Menara Berjaya, Securiservices, Petaling Indah Condos, Sri Indah Court, Arena Green Apartments, Greenfields Apartments, Savanna Condos, Green Avenue Condos, Kim’s Park Biz Center, Sri Pelangi Condos, Kuantan Perdana, Berjaya Megamall, Seputeh Heights, Subang Heights, Taman Kinrara IV, Sports Toto, Starbucks, Papa John’s Pizza, Kenny Rogers, Informatics Group, SecureXpress, Inter Pacific Trading, KUB-Berjaya, Kimia Suchi and Finewood Forest Products.

I'll get to Genting Group, Binariang, and all the BN cronies as fast as possible.

written by lynn, July 28, 2009 22:29:26
Anyone noticed crowds at sports toto outlets reduced?
Anyone knows where we can get turnover figures of Berjaya Sports Toto?
VT is coming out with a new game 6/55; they said they are in the midst of developing the game's software. This announcement struck an alarm in my heart. Can they fix the game since they fix the software themselves?
Who will audit them? Can the external auditors be trusted? How do you know the games are not fixed?
Remember this is Bolehland, everything can also be fixed & remember, most people are just plain dumbshit like sheep - just look at the enthusiastic crowd queuing up, to buy the new saham issued by pmnb, isn't that lending money to the govt? Can people get any more stupider?

written by temanmu, July 28, 2009 23:07:56
How about UMNO cash cow, PLUS ?

In fact, nearly all listed companies have "sleeping" directors (I mean literally sleeping) who have a company car, driver, come to office 2 - 3 days a week for one hour only. And when you need them to sign a cheque urgently, they can't be found!

Must be sleeping during working hours ... but with whom?
written by fan73, July 28, 2009 23:13:37
my boss just received a letter from LHDN stating fron Sep onwards they have instructed the company we work for to automatically deduct the outstanding amount from his monthly salary...

I think it is about 5~10% from his salary

After getting pay-cuts 10~20% due to the economic downturn, now LHDN top-up the pain. Life is so painful nowadays...

Gomen no money already kaa?, now start to korek from what ever sources available.

written by Wisdom above, July 29, 2009 00:40:36
Civil disobedience is the order of the day.
If we stay home and refuse to buy the products and services of those who are propping up the illegitimate regime, the government will eventually crumble. Without our participation ,the government can do very little.
Without our money we will starve them.

Old Town Coffee belongs to Vincent Tan now ?
Should stop eating there immediately ?

Someone please Compile a up todate list of all BN cronies companies so that all Color Blind Malaysians will stop doing business with them immediately.
Let the DOMINO effect spread fast within MALAYSIA !
written by Rasputin, July 29, 2009 02:37:01
We should adopt this song for inspiration while sipping Old Town Coffee

Perahu Retak
Artist: Franky Sahilatua

Perahu negeriku, perahu bangsaku
menyusuri gelombang
semangat rakyatku, kibar benderaku
menyeruak lautan

langit membentang cakrawala di depan
melambaikan tantangan

di atas tanahku, dari dalam airku
tumbuh kebahagiaan
di sawah kampungku, di jalan kotaku
terbit kesejahteraan

tapi kuheran di tengah perjalanan
muncullah ketimpangan

aku heran, aku heran
yang salah dipertahankan
aku heran, aku heran
yang benar disingkirkan

perahu negeriku, perahu bangsaku
jangan retak dindingmu
semangat rakyatku, derap kaki tekadmu
jangan terantuk batu

tanah pertiwi anugerah ilahi
jangan ambil sendiri
tanah pertiwi anugerah ilahi
jangan makan sendiri

aku heran, aku heran
satu kenyang, seribu kelaparan
aku heran, aku heran
keserakahan diagungkan
written by CheGUvera, July 29, 2009 14:00:09
Yes...boycott...boycott. The passive but xtremely powerful tool we have in people power.As Malaysian want "peaceful" solution & dare not demostrate on the street..then this peaceful method is the very best.
I have written the fate of GIANT EXXON, Nestle etc... during the boycot in 70's & 80's in Europe. It's really easy & effective. I dun touch any of the daily papers as it belong only to the corrupt. You dun buy they dun sell...they dun sell, they dun get Ads.(biggest contributor, just look at star buy one, cut out all the ads & see how much news is left)then & only then you can see how much they are dependent on ads.
also dun forget all the berjaya stuff..we dun need his shit. Pls try it's really easy once you see you walk past it. like smoking for every cigg you skip it's like getting an orgasm.
written by mykantree, July 29, 2009 16:51:02
Yes, I agree on the hartal.

The list of companies provided is great and very helpful.I sure am not going to spend the little that I have on them.

VT owns a lot of shopping complexes too. Other than skipping these complexes, businessmen there should be encouraged to move out from these complexes.
written by born2reign, July 30, 2009 09:31:07
In addition, please get an accountant and do some tax planning to minimise your taxes. Start a business or a part time business, then claim your operating expenses and your capital allowances, and pay zero or lesser tax.

According to Robert Kiyosaki, employees pay the highest taxes in terms of %of their income. And reduce your EPF contribution or don't contribute at all. That's why UMNO is constantly dipping its dirty fingers into EPF in order to "invest" EPF funds. As far as I am concerned investing your savings into PAPER ASSETS is the stupidest thing to do, and should be a very short-term strategy.

There are many other good investments that are more secured, like property or gold and silver. If my retired father converted all his EPF savings since 1970s to gold mints (USD35/oz) today he'd not be a victim of inflation with pathetic purchasing power (Gold today is USD950/0z).

In 1997 a fresh grad pay (RM1500) is equiv to 1.67 oz of gold (USD250/oz) but
in 2009 fresh grad pay is (RM2000) only 0.58 oz of gold (USD950/oz)
a drop of 65% in purchasing power!!!

Property needs maintenance cost and buyers, but previous metals are highly liquid. There are other long-term investments of course, so do some proper research. The less you are part of the banking web of fiat currencies and lending, the more you are protected.

Like any professional investor, be prudent in cutting your losses. EPF is on life support, EPF is broke. And govts all over the world are just interested in controlling the people, politically and economically. So why pay high taxes? Pay your own family and loved ones instead. Don't get sucked in.
written by alan cheong, July 30, 2009 10:03:09
finally ......

To cut Barisan Nasional and Umno down to size, we have to hit them where it hurts most. And it hurts most when the pocket is hit. So, to hurt Barisan Nasional and Umno, we must hit them in the pocket. And this means hitting the source of that money, the companies that are paying Barisan Nasional and Umno huge sums of money to help them stay in power.

took you a good two years, Peter (i may have missed some in between), but finally ... you're saying it like it is ... which brings me to my ongoing challenge to ALL malaysians:

are YOU ready for action?
or are YOU just a buncha cowardly hypocrites?

the so-called upright and fair but silent (majority?) malays/muslims = hypocrites of the worst order

the jaga-my-own rice-bowl chinese = foolish hypocrites, as ever

pandis all.