Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Revealed, the grand Umno plot: All eyes on PM, MACC chief

Revealed, the grand Umno plot: All eyes on PM, MACC chief PDF Print
Monday, 27 July 2009 16:22

The MACC itself is directly responsible to Najib, the current prime minister and Umno president. Warfare is already out in the open.

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

In a clear sign that he has not learnt his lesson, Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission chief Ahmad Said Hamdan defended his commission’s practice of prolonged interrogation, even into the wee hours of the morning.

At no time did he show any remorse that such practice could have resulted in the untimely death of Selangor political officer Teoh Beng Hock, although the entire nation has been in an uproar over it.

Perhaps this is because the MACC chief is feeling secure that come what may, he and his agency will be protected by the man they answer directly to – prime minister of the day and Umno president Najib Razak.

“It is not by choice that we choose to stay on until the wee hours of the morning to record statements from witnesses and suspects,” Ahmad was reported as saying on Sunday.

“But in certain cases we need to act fast to check attempts to wipe out evidence and tracks.”

He was responding to the storm of criticism over the MACC’s interrogation techniques that have been widely blamed for causing Teoh’s death.

Beng Hock, an aide to Selangor executive councillor Ean Yong, was taken in for questioning on July 15 at 5pm and according to the MACC, he was released at 3.45am on July 16.

Prolonged hours of interrogation by any standards, especially since Beng Hock was being questioned as a witness and not a suspect into alleged misuse of funds by several Selangor Pakatan Rakyat assemblymen, including Ean.

Sadly though, the 30-year never got to leave the MACC 14th floor office alive again. His body was found sprawled on the 5th floor podium of an adjoining building at 1.30pm.

But rubbing salt to the wound, Ahmad defiantly said the lead investigator of the probe was reassigned not because of Beng Hock’s death but because of death threats to himself.

“As there was a threat on his life, we took him off the case and reassigned him elsewhere. We are doing this for his own security,” Ahmad said. The MACC itself too has received several threats demanding it stopped the probe, he added.

Revealed – the grand Umno plot

It is clear Ahmad knows which side his bread is buttered.

This is not the first time and it will definitely not be last – unless he is removed – that he has deliberately forsaken the ethical just to stand on the side of his political masters – the Umno top brass.

The MACC itself is directly responsible to Najib, the current prime minister and Umno president. Warfare is already out in the open.

Selangor Umno – which Najib also heads – has declared an all-out assault on the Pakatan state government.

It plans to topple Menteri Besar Khalid Ibrahim through all ways and means, including using all the tools of the federal machinery at its disposal.

And thanks to Najib’s control of the federal government, these include the MACC, the police and even the courts.

The grand plot revealed in a black blog “Truth for Beng Hock” was to begin by targeting seven Chinese assemblymen in Selangor Pakatan by accusing them of working hand-in-glove with the Chinese triads and underworld.

Pressure would be piled on the aides, associates and even the peers of these assemblymen. They would be coerced until breaking point and perhaps even bribed to turn against the seven.

Kajang municipal councillor Tan Boon Wah – interrogated around the same time as Beng Hock – has already lodged a police and filed a law suit against the MACC. Tan has accused the agency of using illegal means to detain and force false confessions from him to implicate Ean.

As it stands, Pakatan leaders have made no bones about being harassed by the MACC. For weeks, they have openly condemned the agency for discrimination and when its actions finally resulted in Beng Hock’s death, there were numerous calls for it to immediately stop.

These calls came not just from the Pakatan but all-round from civil society and the Malaysian public. And the calls were not aimed at stopping the probe but getting the MACC to come clean on what it was trying to do with its mysterious and and eventually fatal fishing expedition.

The MACC has wide powers. But it cannot simply detain, it cannot simply interrogate, it cannot simply accuse without properly stating why.

And this why Najib must heed the growing calls from Malaysians to hold a Royal Commission of Inquiry into Beng Hock’s suspicious death. He should not be allowed to get away with an RCI that only looks into the interrogative methods of the MACC.

There is no reason at all for Najib not to empower the RCI to investigate Beng Hock’s death. There is no reason at all to hold a separate inquest UNLESS Najib has reason to do some covering up of his own.

It is time for the nation ask the PM, does he?

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by RBJ, July 27, 2009 16:29:13
ahmad..you umno dog!
agree 200
written by budaktapah, July 27, 2009 16:30:37
Why can't we simply detain? Why can't we simply interrogate? Why can't we simply accuse without properly stating why?
written by joeawk, July 27, 2009 16:46:36
They are not very clever people. One truth, many lies. There will be others who will believe their lies, of course, because they are also not just not very clever but plain stupid.

Malaysians know who works with the triads, not just now, but since a long time ago. Perhaps, the IGP has help us elaborate. Or perhaps the MACC's chief son was caught smuggling smut to Australia on behalf of the triad.

Yes, sometimes, they have to work overtime, not just for the overtime pay but to beat the Friday deadline.
written by Iliyas, July 27, 2009 16:47:58
This is the Malaysia we now live in..!!An interesting read http://advocateviews.********.com
written by MAMR, July 27, 2009 17:02:23
"There is no reason at all for Najib not to empower the RCI to investigate Beng Hock’s death. There is no reason at all to hold a separate inquest UNLESS Najib has reason to do some covering up of his own".

Based on the above statement I strongly believed that the writer is CORRECT AND SPOT ON with his opinion and reasoning.Kick out UMNO/BN by next election.
written by Oscar Winner, July 27, 2009 17:03:08
Those respondents in the recent poll on Najis’ 100 days resulting in his rating to break the 60% mark must be fools. They are either illiterate or UMNO members. Fat Mama’s black magic at work, no doubt about it.

Perak - Mission accomplished
Selangor - work in progress despite some hiccups
Penang - work in progress though a bit slow
Kedah - work in progress. In the pocket once unity govt is achieved
written by JJays, July 27, 2009 17:35:44
The Power are with BN. If you talk much or try reveal the truth. Believe me, you will dissapear. That's the Concept of 1M'SIA.
written by BennyG, July 27, 2009 17:40:45
You must get rid of the head dog if you want the MACC to take extra caution to prevent further deaths. No more compromise especially when the head dog is defiant in its existing practice.

Either the PM resign or the MACC head resign!
written by InEffective, July 27, 2009 17:45:24
orchestrated false-incrimination, torture, intimidation, and killing by our state institutions is terrorism.

that's what happens when the very top of leadership is of criminal and filthy mind. all the others down below will soon become or be forced to become criminals themselves.

and we allowed it to happen....
written by alpha100, July 27, 2009 17:50:10
Come next election, rakyat must show their maturity in making the right choice! Forgive me for my comments but I can only c BN burying themself and the nation even if they can remain in power through dubious means. If its true that they using MACC to intimidate, harass, persecute the opposition, it only means that they are encouraging corruption and unetical practises within their party and also the nation. This will make thing worst and it will cause hardship to rakyat. Rakyat must be smart in making right choice for future of nation. PR assemblyman and parliamentarian must be patience and persevere during this difficult time. Rakyat must be God fearing and pray that Almighty God will hear our prayer for a righteous leader to arise in future. A leader who care for the nation and its rakyat!
written by smeagrooo, July 27, 2009 17:55:31
in the end these scums will continue to rule the country with an iron fists no thanks to those kampung fellas who are blinded by money as they will continue to vote them into power to destroy and to plunder.
written by Richfyf, July 27, 2009 18:10:18
Its Time for PR to focus on their weakness if they were to take Putra Jaya by next GE. Its not about votes but seats in parliament. We know very well that PR managed to get only 2 seats in east malaysia.

Its time that PR do something in east malaysia if they have any dream of taking over the federal government.

East malaysian do not accept political parties from west malaysia easily. PR will need to work with some local east malaysian parties and make them a partner.

UMNO knows this long time ago and thats why they are not in sarawak and yet the get all the seats there. I hope PR will work with some east malaysian leaders there. Yong Teck Lee was a good start but somehow or rather PR seems to leave him out lately.

SO PR please work closer with east malaysian asap and you will be able to kick BN by next GE
written by onnetline, July 27, 2009 18:11:07
The bloody scum of the earth, corrupted racist, 1Malaysia liar and Altantuya's murderer .......... Najis C4 ! !
written by The Hammer, July 27, 2009 18:20:54
Correction: “But in certain cases we need to act fast to check attempts to wipe out evidence and tracks.” smilies/grin.gif
SubtleSublime message from the 2 fork snake!

written by educationist, July 27, 2009 18:38:50
Before I continue with my opinion I wish to state for the record I'm saddened by Beng Hock's death, the picture of his poor mother and fiance crying etched in my mind.
But I wish to ask A question of Beng Hock's lawyer - why did he not insist on his client's rights?
It is easy now to say the MACC should not have done this or that - but when it mattered , where was his lAWyer?
If even he can be cowed into leaving the MACC premises and not do anything after that, I can only say he's a lawyer of not much substance!!
What was his boss doing the morning before his body was found?
Why were no alarm bells sounded?
His subordinate had been called to the MACC and had not been in touch since 5pm the previous day. Why was no effort made to find out his well being from the MACC until almost 4 pm?
At the end of day it is still the mACC that must be brought to account.
Justice for Beng Hock
written by KotaDamansara73, July 27, 2009 18:47:58
Najib is guilty of murder. That guy his a spoilt brat.Useless and good for nothing Malay leader.
written by Bandit, July 27, 2009 19:16:46
Mad dogs have to put to sleep. How long do you think people will remain silent. The final institution for justice ie the Courts have balless Judges and those with balls are silenced. When all fair means fail it is righteous to pick up the sword. The day is coming.....let them keep on provoking the rakyat. BUT for how long.
written by zanie, July 27, 2009 20:56:56
I can't believe it, the most wicked guy of the country becomes our prime minister!! Is this the true sign that we are heading to the dooms day?

"Beware!When the worst among you is appointed as your leader..." That was what the prophet said to his people some 1400 years ago.
written by merchant222, July 27, 2009 21:37:08
Oh yeah!, "it's not by choice that we choose to stay on until the wee hours of the morning...", it is because our officers have gotten used to claiming overtime under the pretext of work but pass their time there playing table-tennis, carrom or perhaps futsal in the office while sucking the tax-payers money.

Well, they sometimes use this overtime excuse to tell their wives while they also have sex on call in the office. Perhaps they too claim overtime until 1AM in the morning while they visit prostitutes or their Indon girlfriends and MIC girlfriends (Made-In-China) and go home in the WEE hours of their morning.

Well, perhaps the rakyat would need to engage ICAC of Hong Kong to come investigate MACC of Malaysia of corruption. We'd rather pay ICAC of Hong Kong 10 times more than to let those scum-bags suck our money through fictitious overtime claims. BN - Babisan Natural! Corrupted to the CORE!
written by merchant222, July 27, 2009 21:43:51
Hey!, only naive people don't know that these things happen in government departments. Tax-payers not only pay for their life-style, but their entertainment, their 5 times a day tea-break on pretext of site visits and so on and so forth.

Is the Rakyat so NAIVE? Well, as a tax-payer I hope the day will come when we tax-payers can choose whom to pay our taxes to! Selangor government, Penang government or the ARROGANT Federal Government? The day will come!
written by Caretaker_y, July 27, 2009 21:44:40
He may be UMNO Chairman & Malaysian PM, when blood of the innocent are on his hands & his cronies, he is definitely cursed.

A tooth for a tooth, an eye for an eye, this what was the payment in the days of old.

Yes, he has been implicated by SD & dare not answer truthfully regarding the shooting & C4 of the Mongolian model, Altantuya Shaariibuu, his cronies for the death of A. KUGAN & many others under polis detention & now the murder of TEOH BENG HOCK under the custody of MACC(Murder And Cover-Up Commission).

Now both the chief of murderer of the innocent is agreeing for RCI (a half baked one), knowing that the end result would be to their advantage & at the same time appeasing the Rakyats who may not know that the allowing of the formation of RCI for the MACC's conduct & the Inquest into the death of TBH is actually of no big deal but just an eyewash to deceive those Malaysian Rakyats who are not fluent in these area of investigations.

You may think you are powerful & great but remember there is One that is even Greater & All powerful than you & cronies, GOD the Creator. Hellfire awaits those who cheat, murder & abuse their power.

Remember the so-called powerful Sukarno, Suharto, Sadam Hussein, Hitler, etc etc. Where are they now?

written by AlwaysFair, July 27, 2009 22:36:47
Shame on these legalised gangsters pretending to be upholders of justice.

Do you know the STENCH of your CORRUPTION and EVIL is enveloping the land.
It is very clear as daylight what you are doing.
What you cannot get by votes you grab by DECEIT.

Your day of judgement is coming soon when you start to shed INNOCENT BLOOD!!
The BLOOD of Teoh @ MACC premises is crying out for JUSTICE and the cry is reaching heaven.
written by Jbao, July 27, 2009 22:40:29
It is all very clear now that Najis is behind the Altantuya's murder and TBH's murder. He is also the beneficiary of all the major defence corruption. There is not point beating round the bush. See the filipinos - they go straight for the President. We should all start protesting and demanding Najis to step down fro suspicion of murder and corruption. Go straight for the point and the head. The rest will fall inline once we get the head. Otherwise we will be just chasing our tail.
written by AlwaysFair, July 27, 2009 23:15:48
"""The MACC itself is directly responsible to Najib, the current prime minister and Umno president. Warfare is already out in the open. """

With hands tainted by innocent blood they dare to point the finger at DAP and insinuate they want to cover their corruption. I hope the blind PAS leaders (the 2 *******s) can see what their potential marriage partner is like by now.

written by Beng, July 27, 2009 23:36:24
It is time for boycott.

Please read and support the following articles in MT :
- Is Hartal Perak on the horizon? 8/8/09 is D-Day and
- My appeal to all Malaysians.

See also "First they came - Malaysian Version"

If we remain silent, we loose. Unite my brothers show your displeasure.

written by mowadoha, July 27, 2009 23:54:19
written by bluesky, July 28, 2009 10:04:47
UMNO Babi...haram jadah...Worse than Yahudi Zionis and Gestapo!!! All those who join UMNO have no brains and are sickeningly stupid..especially those who have degrees, masters and PHD's.....UMNO is sick....full of shit lies
written by Susanna, July 28, 2009 19:23:15
Those willing to work for murderer speaks for themselves they have sold their souls to the devils. God is on the side of the righteous. These people who fabricate lies will meet a bad ending for sure. Can mock people but cannot mock God
written by ultraman, July 28, 2009 19:48:25
Is this guy whose son was caught with pornography?
Aiya, Ahmad Said, you are a damn idiot!!