Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Royal probe a waste of time

Royal probe a waste of time PDF Print
Saturday, 25 July 2009 00:45

To hand an immense problem to a small court, and a secondary, less urgent matter to an important organization seems like an extreme waste of time and risk of reputation. It appears that we have put the horse before the cart.

By TAY TIAN YAN translated by Chang Yee Chien Sin Chew Daily

The Royal Commission of Inquiry (RIC) has finally been decided. At the same time, the coroner’s court was ordered to carry out an inquest. We do not yet know whether the two organisations will be complementary, overlapping or, possibly, contradictory.

The differing views of the legal sector, the political sector and the civilians on this matter are worth examining. After all, everyone is hoping for a comprehensive panel of investigators to look into Teoh Beng Hock’s suspicious death case.

The cabinet has decided to allow the coroner’s court to investigate the cause of his death. The RIC, on the other hand, was assigned to inspect whether the interrogation procedures of the Malaysia Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) violated human rights.

Najib explained that the RIC is not equipped to carry out a thorough investigation of the cause of Teoh’s death therefore the matter should go to the coroner’s court.

However, the legal sector holds a different opinion. They believe that the responsibility and authority to investigate the cause of death should lie solely with the RIC.

Of course, this leads us to the question of whether the investigation into Teoh’s cause of death or the MACC’s interrogation procedure is more important.

At this point in time, what people really want to find out is the genuine reason for Teoh’s death. It is an absolute necessity that we solve this mystery before other intricately related issues can be disentangled. These issues include the MACC’s motives, practices and interrogation procedures.

Therefore, in theory, the RIC’s most crucial task at hand is to carry out a thorough investigation on Teoh’s cause of death. Matters such as whether the MACC’s interrogation procedures have violated human rights or not should be second or even third on their priority list.

The legal sector does not deem it wise to hand such a complicated case to the coroner’s court.

They have two reasons for this view:
(1) The coroner’s court is led by a magistrate. Will he have sufficient authority to summon trials, interrogate or to pass judgements for such a convoluted case?
(2) The coroner’s court has a past record of indecisiveness and inconclusive judgements. They have numerous unsettled cases with unknown causes of deaths.

Therefore, the legal sector remains suspicious of the cabinet’s decision to order an inquest by the coroner’s court.

To hand an immense problem to a small court, and a secondary, less urgent matter to an important organization seems like an extreme waste of time and risk of reputation. It appears that we have put the horse before the cart.

Now that the RIC has lost its true value and purpose it gives the impression of a panel which was assembled for the sake of assembling.

The family of Teoh Beng Hock and the community were earnestly anticipating the formation of the RIC. This is because only a team of council members with such high rank can regain the confidence of the public that something can done.

The terms of reference of the RIC have not been fixed. Therefore, there are still chances for the government, the legal sector and the political parties to further their discussions, and to reach a common consensus. Most importantly, they should not pass over this opportunity and they should not fail the people.

written by malsia1206, July 25, 2009 00:49:18
To put it succinctly, what this Government had done is to get the cart to pull the horse.
written by mendela, July 25, 2009 01:17:16
To tell UMNO leaders a fact, if you are still sleeping:

Malaysians are extremely angry now on the death of TBH; especially the Chinese!

In any other countries in this world, a big riot would have exploded immediately after the death of TBH was exposed!
written by Trigem, July 25, 2009 01:35:41
It is Najib's ploy. Anyway, investigating MACC is equivalent to slapping them in the face by Najib. It would be most humiliating. MACC might retaliate as a result. Furthermore, Najib is probably the mastermind of getting MACC to investigate the PR's assemblymen and women. How could he point his gun to the agency now?

Why would any of you think that Najib would be doing justice to Teoh Beng Huat? No way, Jose. The next step would be to turn Teoh's murder to just...sudden death. Non-event; case closed. Corruption investigations on PR's reps continue.

The relevant question is what should we the public and the PR be doing now.
written by Semut Jantan, July 25, 2009 03:42:08
Now that is what had happened when the top brass harbors the murderers, rapist, etc. When one murderer gets away with a murder, we will see a dozen more gets emboldened (e.g. polis anjing or MACC wolves). They also breed more rapists this way (e.g. ex Melaka CM). Who ever are responsible in aiding, shielding the culprits, their turns will come where they or their family members will suffer the consequences of their own doing.

I am not too anxious to see those responsible going down now. The longer it takes the better; the journey itself is already a small token of punishment (e.g. sleeplessness). But ultimately, they will go down big.

We don't play with God. By going to Mecca or doing good deeds to redeem oneself is also working insults to God. God is not easily fooled.

I have yet to see a real killer, a real rapist from the 'authority' who would come out volunterily and admit publicly that he or she had killed someone, or had raped someone and he or she is willing to receive punishment of the law and apologize to the bereaved family. No, they all hide behind a mosque, hide behind Mecca, hide behind Qoran, hide behind UMNO politicians, hide behind IGP ...

And now, they can even hide behind the Royal Commission. The Royal Commission of deception is not supposed to investigate the way how TBH was killed.

There is always a place for the shielded culprits to hide.

Who is responsible in making Malaysia unsafe? The authority.

Malaysia is going to the dogs.
written by raven1958, July 25, 2009 03:46:10
Did anyone really think that this country will get better with a PM who was not elected by this country, a murder suspect of Altantunya and son of an ex PM who started May 13 1969......

It only gets worse because Malaysians have no balls...

written by rpremkumar2u, July 25, 2009 06:05:43
So we are expected to believe that the police will carry out a fine tooth comb investigation with no stone left unturned. Then we are also to believe that the evidence procured will be transparently and professionally be brought to the coroner's schema. Is it not possible, the police track record for investigating the crime scene will be up for scrutiny in a coroner's premise, and to get to the bottom of the matter, various personalities in the probe will ask relevant questions to which the police investigation will become a laughing stock? This is already becoming a tragicomedy of ridiculous proportions. WE have a CPO who is an expert stats who can keeping briefing us the probe is being completed in terms of percentage. Quantity surveying? How about assuring us quality? We know how good the cops are in solving crimes and how ridiculous they become when it comes to tendering proof/evidence.
written by hiro, July 25, 2009 06:15:29
As it appears that neither the RCI or Inquest is designed to discover the truth, let's have public opinion determine the cause of death then. Please see survey at:

http://hiroblog2007.********.com/
written by Krepot, July 25, 2009 06:25:51
To the Chinese rakyat out there:

1. I know you did not come out in full force for the Bersih Rally.
2. You have a chance to redeem yourself on the 1st August 2009 in the Say NO to ISA Rally. Full Force!

FYI. It could be your son/daughter next at the PDRM/MACC office, and what will you do then?

Stand up and be counted!
Send a Strong Message to Najib!
written by educationist, July 25, 2009 06:36:43
"Therefore, there are still chances for the government, the legal sector and the political parties to further their discussions, and to reach a common consensus. Most importantly, they should not pass over this opportunity and they should not fail the people." - more distinguished groups and leaders have come out to point to the need for an all encompassing RCI.
They and all of us concerned rakyat are interested in one thing: pray tell us how a healthy young man walk into the MACC office building and gets carried out a corpse?
This is not politicking! This is not about racialism!
This is about mistrust in the normal institution of state , the police and now a coroner's court to determine the cause of death!
The PM claims 'we are interested in the truth'!
Then, walk the talk!!
Don't restrict the terms of reference of the RCI to, as this writer puts it something secondary and of less urgency!
The MACC must be brought to account.
Justice for Beng Hock!
written by Catharsis, July 25, 2009 08:04:48
DO you think the BN Govt is serious about getting to the TRUTH? You all can't be that naive-
written by freerpk, July 25, 2009 08:06:20
Many of the comments seemed to imply that Malaysians are "cowards" (no balls as mentioned by Raven). I beg to differ. The Government is the one that has no balls(sorry for being crude) since it has all sorts of repressive laws & murderous agencies to deal with the rakyat. If the government throws away all these laws you will see millions of rakyat on the streets. The demonstrations that can be seen now is only the tip of the iceberg because the rest of it is hidden under all these repressive laws that I have just mention. That is precisely the reason why the government of the day insists on having those laws to keep it in power.
written by NSTPravda, July 25, 2009 08:08:10
we are an advance nation, we don't use horse and cart anyone.
Second, we agree it is a waste of time lah, we already know that TBH committed suicide.
Third, who better than us in UMNO in manufacturing the truth. So the RCI might be a waste of time, but not a wast of money as the taxpayer is going to paid for our purchase of the RCI members.
Fourth, it is good for Najib because it will also pay for his birthday expenditure and makes him looks good and democratic.
Last it is semua-nya OK and rasuah sayang eh as usual.

What we worry?
written by Catharsis, July 25, 2009 08:24:30
this will give the public an opportunity to judge which RCI is more transparent and living up to the core reason for its function
written by lamakawan, July 25, 2009 09:19:40
Let me express my views. The coroner's inquest investigations are not done by the magistrate himself. The magistrate merely signs and endorses the findings of the experts employed to do the actual scrutinisation. Likewise, if it were to be conducted by the RCI, it will be the experts that verify all the investigations and examinations. But..... the difference is the RCI comprises a team of respectable and well recognised people to oversee all these investigations . A wider cross section of views and opinions will be able to achieve a more transparent and reliable outcome. Najib, you dictate for the coroner's inquest to asceertain the causes of death.
written by lamakawan, July 25, 2009 09:25:05
The procedures are already there to be applied even before they start working.
Do not lie blatantly to we Malaysians.
written by Mr Smith, July 25, 2009 09:44:35
Najibs response is like this. "You all want a RCI so I give you one".
It's like a child asking for a car and you get him a toy car.
Now the UMNO papers can go to town that a responsible government has give us a RCI.

Today the entire country, except UMNO, is asking for the RCI to inquire into the death of Teoh Hock Boon.
This is the arrogance at its highest.
written by hopman, July 25, 2009 10:10:03
You want to know the truth:? I dare to bet with anyone that the truth will never be found with the current way establishing the RC and Inquest proceeding. Even when the outcome is established there will be cover up and cover up. Let not put to high hopes on the outcome. We probably have a hunch on how all this will turn up. Give it 4 months all will be swept under the carpet. Congrats BN, we can read your plan very well. See you in the next election..
written by miwaki, July 25, 2009 11:37:56
Now you believe me that there are plenty of people in malaysia,especially those in the government are without brains or with brains atteched to their knees and not in the heads.

These people are playing the fool while in government because they are incompetent and that's no way they can do something which is meaningful.That is the government we Malaysians have voted in since merdeka !
written by rams609, July 25, 2009 12:23:30
What a bunch of whatever we all are! When YB Gobind suggested that the Royal Commission of Inquiry was needed, I wrote" what's the point. It's gonna be a waste of money and time." Majority supported the YB's idea, and needless to say many disagreed with what I wrote. And now that the Gomen has agreed, many are saying what's the point, it's a waste of time. Real jokers, a good start to the weekend!
Can you now imagine what's gonna happen in PRU13?

written by latihanQ, July 25, 2009 13:24:05
Stuff it, UMNO/BN. Save the money. No one will believe the findings anyway cos we already know wat your findings will be. It is already smelling like wat it is gonna be already. We dun trust the MACC, we dun trust the Police, we dun trust the judiciary, and we dun trust you Nageeb.
written by Mirage, July 25, 2009 13:59:00
So all the UMNO Machinery is running......EC Check, PDRM Check, MACC Check, Media Check.....Opps forgot to lace oil on the finer parts of the machinery. However these screw up in all this machinery is nothing new......all these while they have been screwing up but becoz Malaysia all along was close to a dictatorship regime during Mahathir's time, all this were silenced. Hence when Badawi first took over, (new broom sweeps clean) everyone was so excited and the encitement slowly dwindled. In the case of Najib, he came in as PM with loads of bagage and scandals. TO ensure he became the PM , a lot of underhand tatctics were use. Worst is for him to stay as a PM a lot more ruthless tactics will be employed. Teoh would be least of our concern becoz the next person to go will be someone prominent. Just watch this space!!

It started with a foreigner murdered, and went on to an aide of the opposition murdered and next will be I believe someone more prominent in DAP first. He will not touch PAS becoz they need the Malay votes to stay afloat and morever they are negotiating.
written by Mirage, July 25, 2009 14:09:49
Someone once told me "if you are not a good worker, create confusion in you working place. Becoz by doing so you can clear the confusion and the work still may not get done but yet you can show as if you know the problem" Isnt this great?? This is what UMNO and BN (what is left) stand for. Look at Khir, look at Hishamudin, etc. Dont need to work just make comments. Hishamudin by default is already protected becoz he is cousin to Najib.

So if you are voting for BN or are BN fan, no change will happen, more corruption and murder and you are as monotonous as what you support......
written by Hakim Joe, July 25, 2009 14:26:13
The title should read...."Royal probe a [bloody fcuking] waste of time".
written by mob1900, July 25, 2009 19:15:00
written by AlwaysFair, July 26, 2009 01:36:02
This is a Royal Ommission not a Royal Commission.

It's intention is clearly to COVER-UP and not expose the truth!!
It Is a Royal Commission to CON the people just like giving us an EMPTY CHRISTMAS PRESENT!!! It is utterly DECEITFUL!!

How do you like to receive a beautifully wrapped present, to find it EMPTY upon opening it?? You definitely feel cheated. It is more honest not to have the RC.
written by Tom n Jerry, July 26, 2009 08:52:10
Syabas Trigem!You posed the best question;What should we conscientious Malaysians be doing now?Food for thought!
written by 1st2stay, July 26, 2009 10:15:12
"It only gets worse because Malaysians have no balls"

Not true. They have.
But most of all, they have something hanging to the left and to the right of their balls, called 'pockets'. And they mostly care more about those pockets to be filled to the maximum. And in the end, prosperity is closer to their heart than abstract constructs like 'liberty', 'equality', 'brotherhood'.
Contrary to the French in 1789.
written by born2reign, July 27, 2009 09:35:12
Will the Agong of the day please speak up? Najis and UMNO is robbing your states and yet you keep quiet. Let the Agong decides the scope of RIC, why is our Agong allowing the Najis and his machai (PDRM) limit the scope of RIC?

What is the purpose of having these institutions like MACC and monarchy, pray tell? Another shiok-sendiri institutions, that's all.