Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Of Teoh’s tragic death and 1 Malaysia

Of Teoh’s tragic death and 1 Malaysia PDF Print
Friday, 24 July 2009 16:07

Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad, The Malaysian Insider

The announcement of instituting two separate inquiries into the death of Teoh Beng Hock has indeed make a huge mockery of the public outrage, despondency and quest for justice, accountability and transparency.

The decision of the Cabinet for two separate bodies, namely a royal commission of inquiry (RCI) to investigate the MACC’s standard operating procedure (SOP) on interrogation-cum-investigation and the inquest to determine the cause of Teoh’s death, is at best puzzling and at worst smacks of bad faith.

Given the already very dented image of the judiciary, any attempt at delegating responsibility to the magistrate (especially if he/she is a junior one, as is usually the case in an inquest) who, while acting as a coroner, has to be assisted by the deputy public prosecutor from the A-G’s office is surely very much unwelcomed by the discerning public.

To make it worse, they have to rely on the investigation of the police, an enforcement agency currently very much wanting in integrity and transparency. Going by the many inquest proceedings of the recent past of deaths in custody, no police officials have been found culpable. Most deaths inevitably were classified “natural causes” or “sudden deaths”. So, will the rakyat be again shortchanged?

It should have dawned on Premier Datuk Seri Najib Razak by now that gone are the days when the rakyat is easily mesmerised by big slogans and rhetoric. It was over with Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Pak Lah. As for now it is sensible for Najib to understand that if he still insists and bent on shouting slogans, he has just got to live up to them immediately. The rakyat wants to see it in Teoh’s tragic death investigation.

Wouldn’t it be in the best interest of “1 Malaysia, People First, Performance Now” that the Cabinet orders the immediate establishment of a royal commission of inquiry to comprehensively undertake the entire investigation of the SOP of the MACC and the cause of Teoh’s death as the two are, for all intents and purposes, related?

written by ibabonma, July 24, 2009 16:11:04
See, how serious they are in treating the Chinese .... Cina Bodoh!

written by kkselvam, July 24, 2009 16:14:59
Justice under the moron UMNO goons government?? Wait LONG LONG la!!
I rest my case. Waiting for PRU 13 to settle the score.
written by Bigjoe99, July 24, 2009 16:21:20
Teach you Malay friends a new Chinese word - BN Mow tak Gau - tidak boleh diselamatkan. Ingat Anwar, Jangan tunggu sampai Khalid Ibrahim or peminmpin Melayu lain dibunuh sebelum bertindak. Jaga Maruah orang Melayu!
written by Wisdom above, July 24, 2009 16:30:06
Inquest rely heavily on " evidences gathered " under Police Investigation ?
So no new independence second investigation at all by RCI to gather impartial evidences ?
A Mockery will remain as a Mockery ?
written by uxzee, July 24, 2009 16:38:52
The misleading decision of the government to have a royal commission of inquiry (RCI) and an inquest is an endorsement and a protection given by the government to MACC for the TBH murder.

This must be a very arrogant and desperate move by Najib to protect MACC and the BN.

Will MCA and Gerakan have the guts to protest ??
written by StevenO, July 24, 2009 17:43:17
That's the best Najib can do. We don't expect him to put a rope around his own neck and go hang himself, do we?

Ultimately all clues will lead toward Putrajaya. So, you think he want a real independent probe into Teoh's death?
written by educationist, July 24, 2009 17:57:41
I bet your pardon, Dr Dzukefly, I do remember reading a number of your pieces in the past and found them refreshing, yet I know not who you really are.
This piece is another gem, let those scums at the Berita Harian and Utusan Malaysia show the racialism involved here!!
You have joined a growing chorus of thinking Malaysians to question the motives of the limited RCI announced by our PM.
"1 Malaysia, People First, Performance Now"-yes on account of the People first slogan, no stone should be left unturned to get to the bottom of Beng Hock's death. And, why subject the poor deceased family and fiance the torture of going through two 'half past six' investigations!
Come on, Mr PM, come clean if your government has nothing to hide!
Form ONE ( 1 ) all encompassing Royal Commission of Inquiry.
Let there be justice for Beng Hock.
The MACC must be brought to account.
written by Liberace, July 24, 2009 17:59:28
Up until now, I have no idea what 1 Malaysia is about. Since the day Najib launched it, I've deemed it unworthy of the 10 minutes I had to spend to read just to get the gist of it. I always knew that it would come to this, nothing. Malaysian politicians love slogans, catchy phrases about some grand illusion that nobody actually understands. It sounds lofty and it remains stays that way with lots of hot air. Realities are much more down to earth and require hard work and intelligence, qualities not found in BN. So stop talking about it. Just shove it where there's no daylight.
written by jason, July 24, 2009 18:19:27
Don't you all get sick of UMNO/BN MSM propaganda and misinformation(Beng Hock assasinated by DAP etc.). Frankly I am sick and my family have already decided right now to vote PR whenever 13GE is announce.No regrets!!!.
written by Thian, July 24, 2009 21:26:05
Isn't it obvious, the decision by Najib and the cabinet, smell GUILTY absolutely that TBH death is one of political.Whenever it touches, the PDRM, MACC, the BN (UMNO), be sure there is cover-up.It is not whether the government is protecting MACC or PRDRM or UMNO. It is about protecting themselves because these institutions are the same, headed by the same person.On a macro view, the truth is stated clearly that UMNO was in the midst of doing a power grap with Selangor by engineering a corrupt charges against PKR.That is why if real RCI, the shit will reveal that all points to UMNO and the head. Simple but the truth.The rest is a tragic death. Nothing racial nothing personal. It is all about power and greed again.
written by lamakawan, July 24, 2009 21:43:39
You are absolutely right, Dr, DZulkefly. We have had so many inquests before and ALL of them had resulted in sudden deaths. We have had many high profile investigations by the police and the anti corruption agency ( it's now MACC ), and they had all rsulted in NFA's ( No Further Action ). Take the case of Tajuddin in the MAS scandal during Mahathirs' time? The Scorpion submarine scandal alleging Najib's involvement, also during Mahathir's time? and on and on. When are we going to stop these cheating of the rakyat's concerns? The rakyat are being treated as fools in all these investigations.
written by AlwaysFair, July 24, 2009 21:49:24
Why Najib dare not let the Royal Commission investigate everything??
Sounds very very FISHY!!!
The fact a royal commission was demanded was because nobody trust the police.

Having the RC without full powers is like giving us a present, wrapped so beautifully but EMPTY INSIDE.

How would you like to receive an ANG POW with nothing inside??? This is DECEIT!!

It is better you keep the ANG POW for yourself then at least you are not deceitful.
SHAME ON YOU!!!
written by educationist, July 24, 2009 21:54:48
Why has the PM ruled out a more all encompassing Royal Commission of Inquiry?
Is there something to hide?
Is the government afraid unpleasant truths will emerge from a Commission empowered to investigate and get to the bottom of Beng Hock's death?
The PM also claims he wants the truth, so why is he not open to ensuring the truth emerges?
Talk is cheap, walk the talk!!
written by cheekhiaw, July 24, 2009 23:23:40
Another 1murder by the many thieves, liars and murderers that run 1Malaysia.
written by Mirage, July 27, 2009 00:13:06
They have not come up with the One Malaysia song yet? I am surprise....maybe the melody should sound like "We are the World"...