Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Sisters in Islam slams whipping of women

Sisters in Islam slams whipping of women PDF Print
Friday, 24 July 2009 05:57

Sisters In Islam (SIS) urges the government to review whipping of women as a form of judicial punishment by the Syariah Courts. It constitutes further discrimination against Muslim women in Malaysia and violates Constitutional guarantees of equality and non-discrimination.

Whipping of women under Syariah Criminal Offences legislation also contradicts civil law where women are not punishable by whipping under Section 289 of the Criminal Procedure Code. Whipping of men too are limited by age. Under state Syariah Criminal Offences Codes, only Pahang, Perlis and Kelantan provide whipping of women.

Whipping as a form of punishment also violates human rights principles, in particular the right to be free from cruel, inhuman, degrading treatment or punishment. Nor is whipping for consuming alcohol considered proportional to the gravity of the offence.

There is no consensus among Muslim scholars on the range of crimes for which whipping is prescribed, nor on whether women should be whipped. Many countries have already abolished the judicial punishment of whipping or corporal punishment as research has shown that it is not an effective deterrent, even to violent or sexual crimes. Research since abolition also showed that this did not result in an increase in the offences for which whipping was previously imposed.

Given that whipping does not lead to reform nor act as a deterrent, and that it constitutes a form of cruel and degrading treatment that, it is unfortunate that many Muslim countries such as Malaysia, Indonesia, Iran, Afghanistan and Nigeria, have resorted to introducing whipping to more and more offences, in the name of Islam or the mistaken belief that it acts as an effective deterrent.

SIS believes that Islam as a religion of compassion calls people to the way of God with wisdom, as expressed in Surah An-Nahl,16:125, “Invite all to the way of the Lord with wisdom and beautiful preaching, and reason with them in the ways that are best and most gracious.”

The goal of Islamic authorities is to prevent crime in the first place, not to inflict severe punishment as a first resort. Promoting and protecting the human rights of the ummah, ensuring socio-economic justice, educating the ummah about God’s teachings and laws in order that they become responsible for abiding by them out of faith are prerequisites before any punishment can be implemented.

SIS, therefore, urges the government to conduct a review of severe forms of punishments, which violate human rights principles and where evidence have shown that they fail to deter or to reform the offenders.

Dr Hamidah Marican
Executive Director
Sisters In Islam

written by 1351, July 24, 2009 08:24:54
This sentence MUST BE protested vehemently.

Let me say it out loud - even if the sentence were to be carried out symbolically with the lightest of feather touch - such a sentence would be the height of hypocrisy when we consider that UMNO has a monopoly over all evil that plagues M'sians society, Muslim or otherwise.

Question, is this a growing testament to the influence of an emerging clergy class ? Call me naive but further down the road, would this give rise to a moral police squad that exist in Saudi Arabia and Iran where state appointed mullah's spend their time policing dress codes of women ! And horror of horrors, there was a case in Saudi Arabia of a young girl, a victim of a gang rape being sentenced while she was in the company of her boyfriend(that was deemed an illicit relation) but the gang of rapist were accorded a negligible sentence(if it was reported correctly, the boyfriend was also raped). In one short breath let me just say, it would be a folly for Malay society to adopt this Arab tribal fetish approach to Islam.

Of late, on home shore am I wrong to suggest there is a direct co-relation ie. as UMNO gets more rotten in all its ways, a stricter code of Islam that mimics that of the Wahabist is being imposed on lay Malays while UMNO seeks refuge in Badawi's Islam Hadrari ?

Cynicism aside, let's lay out the important fact that we are a secular state as prescribed by the Constitution while UMNO and its herd of Mullah's are just about the last people who should prescribe judgment, cures or remedies which relates to Islam.

written by loosecannon, July 24, 2009 08:30:34
SIS have shown again that they are more compassionate and caring than the busybody mullahs who love to snatch dead bodies and peek into other people's bedroom.
written by novrising, July 24, 2009 09:26:37
Hi cabearth,

Why didn't SIS complain about the canning punishment in our penal code?
Well, SIS is a women's NGO ( as in Sisters In Islam). Never was a time women sentenced to canning by civil court, thus no issue was raised, that is until now, a women was sentenced to canning by the Syariah Court.

Peace,
NovRising
written by 1351, July 24, 2009 09:36:42
In Saudi Arabia, executions are held as public spectacles to serve as reminder to attendees what not to do. Once a sentence is meted out, the punishment is swiftly carried out asap so as not to antagonise the accused.

Mr.apiapi, tell me what you make of a recent report from the msm.

A husband in Marang, suspecting his wife was having an affair, set out to lay a trap. He left home at 8.00am, informing the wife he was headed for KL but made a turn for home at 8.30am and sure enough, wife and boyfriend were playing 'jolok-jolok'.

According to Hukum Hudud, the couple engaged in this illicit affair must be stoned(to death). As a Muslim, why are you not adhering to the letter of the law ? It is cast in stone, the adulterer must be made an example of with no prejudice - betul tak ?

How now brown cow ? What about that child molester Rahim Thamby Chik (please arrange for this stoning, I won't partake but I know of many sponsors who would gladly supply you the stone for the occasion)? Why is it 'arak'(a sweet anise seed liquor) is customarily served with/after meals in Turkey with no hang up's in consensus amongst its Muslim citizens ?

I could go on but have to run, but how again brown cow ?

written by sydput, July 24, 2009 09:38:50
There is no caning of women in civil court you bums. Only men get the cane.
As for syariah court, there is no fun caning a women with her butts covered. You can cane her in public but her butt should be allowed to be projected outwards so that everyone can see the evil affect of drinking in public. definitely worse than the hangover.
A day will come when people can see the truth and ignore religion altogether.
written by mountainking, July 24, 2009 09:56:17
syariah court talk only.

ask the syariah judges and syariah lawyers how many of themselves consuming alcohols?

how about the ministers who fondled a GRO's butt? How about the umno leaders and ministers enjoying liquor?

this malaysia is a land full with hipocrisy. Thankfully i am not a Muslim. If i am, i rather be in other country than in malaysia.

i think the syariah court should mete out punishment for those committed bribery. Whip them too.
written by temenggong, July 24, 2009 10:01:49
The Sisters are wasting their time.

It is only a matter of time that the Sisters themselves are caned.

All muslim Sisters should threaten to apostate as an act of defiance against cruelty. That is nahi mungkar, the essence and true import of the teachings of the koran. Anything less and you are yourselves a kafir, for standing with the unjust and the oppressor.
written by tanwi, July 24, 2009 10:20:44
EVERY weekend, if you go to certain WELL KNOWN spots in Malaysia, you see Muslims consuming alcohol ALL THE TIME. Why are they not caught? How about the pictures surfacing CLEARLY showing the sons of politicians indulging in alcohol? Shouldnt they be whipped?

I am 100% unreligious person but my view is that religious persecution should not exist. If people want to be unreligious or be a bad Muslim/Chrisitan etc, its up to them.
written by oneofthesedays, July 24, 2009 13:13:07
cabearth get a life you stupid dick!

I was raised to only ever get involved fights if coming to the aid of defenseless women.

This got my ass kicked bad in New Orleans once but most of the time I did the kicking.

How were the rest of my muslim bros raised?

written by mawi, July 24, 2009 15:12:05
if leave it to SIS to decide, the women should be showered with flowers and fragrancesand should be upheld as a women with modern thoughts and an examole for all women to follow. Afterall, , through their logic, what is so wrong abount being a little bit drunk to celebrate a joyous occasion? Nobody got hurt when she was drunk and in fact her husband was there and he did not even mind?

This is what I love about SIS, they are a good example of how a munafiq should behave.
written by mawi, July 24, 2009 16:40:04
Bandit.

Better still, you should stop being a human being and live in the jungle like a monkey since you now have to pay your tax or gets fined if you don't while the Mar Rempit and corrupt go scot free.

By the way, to be Muslim , no one is inviting you and no one is chasing you away.
written by mawi, July 24, 2009 17:05:07
By the way, I don't give two hoots if SIS slams it as most Muslims here disregards SIS. Unless, its PUM or ABIM protest or the least Pak Nik, then it is something that is worth pondering.
written by BUTEK, July 24, 2009 21:19:38
SIS IS TRULY GROUP SPONSORED BY CHRISTIAN AND UMNO... THEY DARE TO FALSIFY THE WORDS OF ALLAH... THIS GROUP ONLY EXIST DUE TO UMNO PERMISSION..

COZ THEY AND UMNO ARE THE SAME... DARE TO FALSIFY THE WORDS OF ALLAH AND EVEN DARE TO KILL CIVILIAN JUST LIKE IN TEOH CASE...

SIS AND UMNO CILAKER...
written by Bandit, July 25, 2009 12:40:52
Mawi, I noticed that Malaysia today doesnt practice what they originally intended to. My post was deleted. Your posting suggest you do indeed agree that canning a women for consuming alcohol is just by your brand of Islam. My personal view is that it is wrong and inhumane. There are other ways of punishing. Why do malaysian Muslims practice double standard? Now you tell me a muslim sanatch thief is punished by a slap on the wrist but a women consuming alcohol is punished by canning and a jail sentence. Where is the logic. Its hypocrites like you who should live in the jungle. I still thank god everyday that I am not a muslim. Jai Ho...