A Tale of Two Tuns PDF Print
Thursday, 23 July 2009 14:36

Art Harun

If ever there was a wish which I could be granted  when I grow really old, - this is not to say that I am not already old, it is just that I am not that old, yet  -  that would be a wish that I could be given the wisdom of knowing when to keep my mouth shut.

Because really, people who are pass their "best-before" date could really sound curious and funny, especially when what they are saying now goes against what they have been saying and doing while they were younger.

Amidst all the grief and disbelief caused by the tragic lost of life of an innocent son of Malaysia in the past week, two Tuns were also hogging the headlines over what they said. In a way, these two Tuns had almost connived to provide me - and many others, I believe - with much needed comic relief in times when such relief was really needed.

And so, I should have perhaps thanked both of them but for the fact that their statements were laced with so much irony and insidiousness.

Firstly it was Tun Abdullah. He was apparently conferred an Honorary Doctorate in Democracy by Universiti Utara Malaysia.

It is now of course fashionable within the ruling elite to have the prefix "Dr" somewhere between the array of prefixes preceding their name. Like Tun Tan Seri Datuk Seri Dr Hj So and so. It gives them the comfort of being in possession of something extra. Something which others do not have. Or so they think. Like when they buy a Mercedes, they must buy a Brabus. Things like that. Sorry, I digress.

Anyway, yes, Tun Abdullah was conferred an Honorary Doctorate in Democracy by UUM. I would not go into whether or not such conferment was justifiable - because this article would be too long otherwise - but what he said during his acceptance speech was what, in my opinion, precipitated the saying "silence is golden".

Upon being conferred, our newly minted Doctor in Democracy proceeded to the microphone and, in what was believed to be nothing short of an astounding moment, called for the abolishment of the ISA. I really hope he had read his prepared speech before delivering it. And if he had read it, I hope he understood what he was saying. If anything, I hope he was awake while he was doing so.

That call would have, in the normal course of things, been met with jubilant celebrations  of orgasmic proportion. However, coming from an ex Premier under whose administration there were 82 arrests; 76 new detention orders and 87 renewal of detention orders under the ISA as at the end of 2007 (figures are from the SUARAM's Human Rights  Report 2007), that call was as funny as - if not funnier than - a drunken kangaroo spinning like a top on its tail while shouting "kangaroo boleh!"

Added to that, under his administration, the ISA was abused beyond anything which was thought possible when Raja Petra Kamarudin and Teresa Kok were arrested for apparently "insulting Muslims and Islam". Raja Petra, as we all know, was later detained at Kamunting before a brave Judge, Justice Dato' Syed Helmi of the Shah Alam High Court, released him (the government's appeal against that release is still pending in the Federal Court).

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by NSTPravda, July 23, 2009 14:41:58
So we have Tun Dr Dato Superdemocratic Multidoctor Abdullah, PhD, DSC, PPM, DKS, ISA, OSA, TIDOR, BODO, SNOR, dll....

Impressively nonsensical... but semua-nya OK in UMNOland.
written by eeyaw, July 23, 2009 14:46:35
Art, all these Tuns should be relegated to Disneyland where the Cartoons reside. This country is one big Bodohland run by Car-TUNs!
written by Democrats, July 23, 2009 14:50:31
What all the universities should award Doctorate in the Art of Cock Talking to all our prime ministers and ministers, past and present.
Pak Lah, MM, Najis and Samy should be conferred Super Doctors in this category.
written by AuntyG, July 23, 2009 14:51:18
Dear Art Harun,
May I correct the heading of this article:

spelling error, it should be "A Tale of Two Toons" (as in cartoon)
or
"A Tale of Two NUTs" (reverse TUN)
written by Jan, July 23, 2009 15:14:50
Anyone awarded a PHD in Democracy would have asked for the abolishment of the ISA even if you don't mean it. It's the most logical thing to say.
written by Catharsis, July 23, 2009 15:18:19
ARt HArun we as nephews cannot tell our UNCLES that le- hurt their feelings
written by panca, July 23, 2009 15:18:53

To reproduce what tun are for....TUN for TON$?

written by panca, July 23, 2009 14:45:14
Those titles were awards to honourary people with extraordinary personalities, if there were such people, were there such in the first place?

But it is obvious that too many of those given such awards are having below average simple basic humanity in them and such people with awards are merely creating an illusion of ego, have never been consistent with what the awards were for except to glorify their thick skull shameless schizophrenic personality and worst to the most of them, create animosity between two common people. The hell with these type of personalities with awards, not only is meaningless but imbecilic and retarded. The more they have of award of 'this group of people' and the highest the awards the more their membrane of brains got overlapped with toxic chemicals and made them immuned to investigations. Yes you can bet all your money that you are in fact in the right but you lose all of them just the same when comes to this people with highest awards who have nothing but immunity, spewing nonsense and create disunity while putting their hands in everyone else pockets.

Life to them is meaningless!
written by hellosunshine, July 23, 2009 15:19:15
Art, after 22 years of Toon apanama dari kerala, we can deduce the ratio of wealth amongst the Malays according to Pareto's principle ie 80:20 rule. 80% of wealth held by umnoputras and 20% by their cronies. Sorry, Malays in PAS and PKR not qualified. smilies/grin.gif
written by SocratesI, July 23, 2009 15:30:12

The 2 "car"Toons you are talking about, Art ?? One who sleeps his way through his premiership, and walks in a fog/ dream, and the other who is the father of the Death of democracy and the father of Racial Disharmony of Malaysia, who used the ignorant Malays to further his M@m@k interests, as that was the only way he could wrest power, an Indian camouflaged as a Malay !

Really 'Toons these characters ... luckily Malaysia has people like you & I around to sustain it through these tragically comical times - the 2 "Toons !!

written by panca, July 23, 2009 15:32:14
Art,
That was then when he was - Hadhari

Now he is Dr, a honourary one, new spewing act with dr title without attending Uni - tak hadhiri.

Remember...First World Facility Third Word Mentality! That's him.
written by malgal, July 23, 2009 15:33:58
tweedle dee and tweedle dum at their quixotic best. one went up and couldn't get down, the other went down and couldnt get up or something of the sort. but u get the picture. but thanks art harun for your fine comparison of the 2. put to the test, i wouldn't know who gets the apple.

sigh and double sigh.
written by MSIABOLEH, July 23, 2009 15:46:27
TWO THUMBS UP! Excellent article that in a single punch can kill an elephant!
written by teo siew chin, July 23, 2009 17:06:02
Powerful article!
And why are people like Art Harun not running the country?
written by jason, July 23, 2009 17:22:00
One Tun earns his Dr while the other was gifted.
The one who earns his is smart, he built the IJN. He knows he will need it for his heart attacks and by pass operation.
The other gifted Dr. is a fine example of how the heart and hands do not works together and how to sleep on the job. smilies/smiley.gif
written by cheekymate, July 23, 2009 17:47:03
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this article!
May I add something, please?
When both these Tuns open their mouths to speak, they sound the same when I break wind...
written by Kathy, July 23, 2009 17:52:33
I tell you, all these titles remind me of a woman who has no confidence and therefore needs to dress up in designer clothes, put layers of makeup on to prop her up. A person of confidence can walk tall with or without the aid of crutches like Tun, Tan Sri, etc., etc. That is why I am so opposed to the title system. Look at Singapore - they do alright without silly titles, don't they?
written by krising1, July 23, 2009 19:03:07
Tun Abdullah did not know about the arrests. He was fast asleep all the time and it is Botak Hamid who did all this. By way, we heard Hamid is now selling sand in Kota Tinggi whilst Zam is selling chendol in Sungei Petani.

As for the corporate wealth, the show off factor of the UMNOputras caused their downfall. The richest people on the rich people list are the Chinese and one Indian. How many of them own helicopters and private planes/jets? Did we not have some new rich UMNOputras showing off in their helicopters and private planes? Of course expensive cars in the garage is normal.

All of us should pray that Tun Mahathir should be stricken by a stroke which paralyses him completely. He will eat, sleep and shit on the bed for another 100 years and not be able to say a single word. Punishment for his big mouth!
written by lynn, July 23, 2009 22:08:44
Artie,

I think bodowi was trying to be smartassed cheeky when he said that. Or maybe he really meant it from the depths of his heart. Or maybe the sleeping old beauty was not running the country then. Somebody else was. I often had the nasty feeling, Najib & his fat ass were managing bodohland, long before bodowi woke up, long before anyone of us realised the fact.
written by Sutha, July 23, 2009 23:03:40
The apanama toon was secretly screwing his number two (not deputy, for your info) at Country Heights in Kajang, while the bodor toon was openly screwing his now number two and was once caught by number one and again by doter Nurie. A frontal tail of two dicky donkeys.
written by Sutha, July 23, 2009 23:42:50
Cheekymate,

.... sound the same.... and probably smell the same.
written by DontPlayGod, July 24, 2009 01:19:16
In another couple of years more, you will be writing the story of the 3 Tun's when the present PM will also be "retired" after the next G.E.

I really can't believe, nay almost shocked to death on reading that Tun Abdullah called for the ISA to be abolished. Good God, something must be wrong with this man's brains, if he had any in the first case.

As for the older Tun, I find that the only reason he is still writing and talking is that he is trying to erase from our minds the evil and foley he has done during his rule, by justifying his past actions and taking our minds off his past actions by distracting us by talking about the present Government and present political situation. The non-Malays are the Tuan's? What has the NEP, which was abused to such an extent that the non-Malays have been driven to despair and despondency, achieved then under his rule? As far as we can see, Malaysians have never been so polarised than under his rule. Racism and discrimination was the order of the day. The other BN component parties were reduced to just being coffee boys. And that is why some Malay ultras cried when he decided to resign.

Don't forget he made billionaires and millionaires out of nobodies(Malays), and now he claims that the non-Malays are the Tuan's. Who the hell is he trying to con? There is one burning question that he has not answered until now, and which is, where has all the ten's of billions of ringgit of Petronas money gone to? As far as I am concerned, his rule has been earmarked by the destruction of the judiciary, the running-riot of the Police and the ACA, of which he made use of to rule by fear, and the destruction of democracy(wasn't he the one who introduced the quota system in UMNO in nomination of candidateds?).