Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow It is not the fault of Mahathir, it is our own making

It is not the fault of Mahathir, it is our own making PDF Print
Thursday, 23 July 2009 11:28

By R. Shan  (Human Being)

Sure, condemn me with, "What can I do? I am just one person and everything is controlled by the government" although it is the public that put them in power. 

Imagine, I just counted the number of “agree’ on the comments on Mahathir’s article in MT’s website and it was on or about 3,700. It is fascinating how much hatred and deep rooted frustration lies within the so called educated commentors. Well, I am sure many more would have read the article and not leave a comment. Anything on Mahathir tops even RPK’s article sometimes.

I found this to be the most intriguing comment

written by Admiral Tojo, July 21, 2009 10:59:46

Mahathir's rambling could be due to excessive heart medication. Malaysia is NOT suffering from a race issue but a CLASS issue. The poor and downtrodden against the corrupt and those who abuse their powers to steal and cheat the common people. THe state of the majority of the Malays are due to the failure of UMNO. The Chinese due to the failure of the MCA and Indians the failure of MIC. The class of people whom I call thieves cut across the race divide. They however will use the race issue to continue to divide the people so that they can assert control and continue to assert control.

As the people wake up and becomes more aware of issues and information is available, the ranting of these thieves sound more and more shallow and irrelevant. The people will have to decide what is best for them and not the politicians (those whom the people select and entrust). Treat them as who they really are, the people's servants rather than the people's bosses.

It was the freedom fighters, the common people, who led the drive for Independence from the Brits and NOT UMNO. Mahathirs twisted history is full of lies. UMNO was not even created yet when the first cry for independence from the Brits was heard.

Mahathir, go die peacefully and soon, so that I can piss on your grave. Bollocks

Don’t you think it is so true? Actually there is no race issue between Malaysians but more a class issue. Admiral Tojo can be an ordinary man, but wise in his perception. Whether he is an elite, middle class or poor does not matter, his heart is in place to fight a Malaysian cause for all, I presume. You see, a poor man can’t afford to rant because he has no time except for his survival. The middle class person is always caught up with material issues but rants in the little time he/she finds - in frustration with the system and way of life in Malaysia. But someone like Admiral Tojo has been through the gravy route and realizes that commoners have been short changed by the elites due to our own inaction.

Mahathir’s innuendo on the Chinese is completely choreographed and stereotyped for we are so predictable in our nature, bogged down in our own quagmire. Mahathir speaks the truth now, not then because it served his own purpose to divide and rule based on race and in the process created a class of the elite, middle class and poor. That has been his modus operandi. He fails to understand this, but seeing the commentary on his article on MT, I understand why he is still a dark force to be reckoned with for those who have no outlet to voice their frustration except through MT. The disparity is so obvious these days similar to America where 300 million people live but 1% owns 40% of the wealth.        

Now, how do we change this? Yes it can be only be if we are humane enough to forego some aspects of our ego and selfishness to enhance the society with direct and open discussion of the class reality of the Malaysian society. We all know Mahathir created this, why cry over spilt milk, let’s move on and do what is necessary to create a truly Malaysian state if every individual can do what it takes.    

It does not matter whether BN is in power or the opposition is in power, but we need to feel humane enough to do the right thing and put it to action, rather than polticking. A simple example that just strung into my mind, you have 3,700 agree commentors in Malaysia Today for Mahathir’s article. Such ranting, such frustration!!!! Is it possible for these people to actually talk to 10 other people individually and convince them that we should register to vote if they could influence these 10 people to change the government in the GE13. Imagine, if these 10 good friends of yours are convinced, don’t you think that it can multiple, similar to a MLM scheme only that it serves for the betterment of our society rather than making money.

Do we have the time, is it fruitful, or would it be a futile attempt? If you have to ask all these questions, then better to stick with Mahathir. I can’t answer that as it is one’s own truthful effort to make the change. I guess the less political you become for a human cause, the more you will realize how desperately the political system responds - in the pretext of concern for the public. Its responses are superficial and don't address the needs of the needy and aspirations of the working people.           

People may think I sound cynical and critical, but I speak the truth for humanity in Malaysia. Only when we chose to act without any expectation, will Malaysia be what it should be. We, the people, are a force to be reckoned with. With the right thoughts and momentum, we should not let it slip by, not for our own needs but the need of the community. If the community is well, we will all be well.    

Our efforts, irrespective of our race, religion, color or class, to find truth will pave the way for us - only if we chose to act with a tinge of socialism. Do find some time to enhance this. I am not asking to sacrifice your life, but be truthful and make the effort by action if we want to see the change. You have been shown the path through RPK, HINDRAF, and it is up to us to act and educate those around us. It is a class war, not one that concerns race, in Malaysia.  

Dear commentors, what is your take on this. Be constructive and contribute, not the typical me, me and me. We all face the same problem of “me” as a community. That was the past, now let’s evolve for the revolution of the people, for the community on the basis of humanity that we live in rather than being such egoist pricks. Couldn’t help it with “egoist pricks” because we fail to see humanity for own needs and not of the humanity for the community as a whole.        

People Power is Powerless, Power to the People! Just imagine and act upon it and you will see the change that you seek for the community that you live in.

written by yy88, July 23, 2009 11:44:11
The dark hands of Tun Mamak Kerala will not stop and will continue to instigate disharmony until he put his precious son on the "throne'. He is in a "kill" or "be kill" dilemma to protect his stolen loots,before his imminent death.
What many cannot stomach is his hipocrates claim to be a malay which in actual fact an indian. What a shame for him to adamantly deny his blood line.
written by densemy, July 23, 2009 11:45:32
Everything is an issue in Malaysia.. race, class, sex, religion, age, hair style, clothing... etc etc. You name it and Malaysians will use it to discriminate against each other.. The reason???. If you are looking for the reason try insecurity as a starting point... and the many reasons that Malaysians are so insecure

But you are right, the fault is of your own making. All Mahathir and Co do is recognise your insecurities and use them to divide you from your true role as Malaysians
written by ibabonma, July 23, 2009 11:46:51
It is not the fault of Mahathir, it is our own making.

NO, IT WAS THE FAULT OF HUSSEIN ONN FOR APPOINTING DR M AS HIS NO. 2 and I am not wrong as proven now.

written by jayenjr, July 23, 2009 11:48:40

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Jayenjr : Hello Matthias, any comment ah? Mahathir say you are in control of the economy la. Old man say you shd be grateful cos Malay kasi chan sama you...apamacam?

Matthias: Garble....Gobble....gulp...gulp....garble...garble...

Jayenjr: What's that Matthias, can't make out what you're saying? You got something stuck in your throat?

Matthias: Garble....Gobble....gulp...gulp..!!..garble.."^@@!!.garble...%*@@!

Jayenjr: Oh ok, I get it. Told ya not to speak with your mouth full. Now, get Mahathir's balls out of of your mouth....
written by slash n burn, July 23, 2009 12:15:48
Shan,
Admiral Tojo is genius and you are crap!
written by Jan, July 23, 2009 12:26:38
I don't know about you guys but I find it hard to comprehend what this guy (Shan) is rambling about.
written by MSIABOLEH, July 23, 2009 12:31:25
Hey human being, I find your article condescending and boring. So we are at fault for the past 22 years Mahathir in power? We are at fault because of others corrupt practices? Please write objectively, it such a waste of time going through this maze.
written by gorshan, July 23, 2009 12:51:37
most Malaysian will agree that the system is rotten to the core. problem is that each Malaysian waits for the other Malaysian to take the initiative to do something about the rot. if some Malaysian(eg RPK) took the initiative to do something and something good comes out of it the rest of the Malaysians will pat and high five each others and the Malaysians who took the initiative . but if the initiative actions backfire the rest of the Malaysians instantly vaporises into thin air. this is the major issues here. race,religion,language,color or class plays the minor roles here. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by AzizKadir2u, July 23, 2009 12:52:36
Tun, continue to do the same thing over and over again and expect different result is "gila". the NEp already 39 years old. lagi pun, Najib sudah cakap, majority of the 52 billions shares yang allocated bagi Bumiputra sudah jual, tinggal 2 billion shares saja. ini maksudnya, IPO share allocated for Bumiputra sudah jadi cepat kaya skim. mana ada dunia lain yang ada program dan policy begitu ? ini skim cepat kaya, ini short cut, ini quota quota, ini clutch culture, kebudayaan ber tongkat, ini lesen, lesen monopoly adalah legacy Tun Dr Mahathir, dia pandai, dia buat banyak jutawan orang melayu,
tetapi, kalau orang juta wan tulis buku, publish book about their success ?
we are successful, because I am Ananda Krisnan, I got Astro license, I got Maxis license,
I am Naza, I am millionaire, I got AP, lots of AP
I am Daim, I got lots of quota and lots of license, I got lots of $
I am Khir Toyo, I got lots of $, because I am MB of selangor,
I am Mohamed2 Taib, I got lots of $, because I am MB of selangor,
I am Zakaria, I got lots of $, because I got lots of kick back
I am son of PM, I got lots of $, i got contract, i got concession,
I am umno putra, I got lots of $, because I got tol concession,
I am umno kroni, i got lots of $, because I got contract.
when we bumiputra not successful, we blame other people,
blame the jew, blame the orang putih, blame the orang kuning, blame every one.
we review our self ?
we point the finger outside.
we got integriti ? kita cepat kaya, kita contract, kita
tengok Jew, mereka orang minority, mereka berjaya successful ? why ? not because they got contract or quota.....

think about it.
itu balloon naik langit, the balloon go up into the sky,
not because of the color of the balloon, but because what kind of air is inside the balloon. begitu juga, tak kira bangsa, kulit anda, kamu mahu berjaya, kita mesti berusaha, rajin, dan memang tak ada short cut,
bila ada budaya tongkat, memang selalu pakai tongkat,
macam mana kita boleh competitive di global ini.
kita bumiputra mesti fikir, dan terus berjuang tanpa tongkat. short cut macam ganja....
written by malaysian, July 23, 2009 13:06:55
I will never refer to Mahathir as 'Tun' or 'Dr' anymore.

From now on, I will refer to him with the more appropriate title, "Racist" Mahathir!
written by panca, July 23, 2009 14:45:14
Those titles were awards to honourary people with extraordinary personalities, if there were such people, were there such in the first place?

But it is obvious that too many of those given such awards are having below average simple basic humanity in them and such people with awards are merely creating an illusion of ego, have never been consistent with what the awards were for except to glorify their thick skull shameless schizophrenic personality and worst to the most of them, create animosity between two common people. The hell with these type of personalities with awards, not only is meaningless but imbecilic and retarded. The more they have of award of 'this group of people' and the highest the awards the more their membrane of brains got overlapped with toxic chemicals and made them immuned to investigations. Yes you can bet all your money that you are in fact in the right but you lose all of them just the same when comes to this people with highest awards who have nothing but immunity, spewing nonsense and create disunity while putting their hands in everyone else pockets.

Life to them is meaningless!
written by jason, July 23, 2009 16:40:48
I just registered 4 family and friends this past 4 days because of TEOH BENG HOCK's death.
Register at any Pos office, it's simple, just give your IC and 1 minute you're registered. Please go register now for GE13!.
written by budakindia, July 23, 2009 17:43:04
What should we do now? Storm into the MACC office and drag that murderer out ? smilies/angry.gif
written by lynn, July 23, 2009 21:37:59
R Shan,

Can't understand what is the gist of your long-winded rant. Wasted our time.
Something is wrong with you. You better get down on your knees and pray.
"THE MOST POWERFUL POSITION: on your knees"... hahahahaha
written by malgal, July 24, 2009 23:38:54
r shan you found an incisive mind in admiral toyol. he seems to speak for the right thinking 21st century malaysians who find clinging on to a crutch silly and pathetic. if we have many many more admiral toyols we might yet have a chance to build an equal opportunity country. what irks me is that so many scholarships actually were awarded to scholars with more than an equal chance to compete - yes they are smart and above average, but many are wealthy with access to tuition classes,chauffeur driven cars,etc. they need not accept the scholarships because they would have deprived those who are equally smart with nothing like they enjoy. and that sadly should be embraced in the NEP.