Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Betrayal & treachery: The RCI & the quizzing of Teoh’s family

Betrayal & treachery: The RCI & the quizzing of Teoh’s family PDF Print
Thursday, 23 July 2009 03:08

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

benghock33

If fair-minded Malaysians wondered if perhaps there was too much finger-pointing in the suspicious death of DAP political aide Teoh Beng Hock, they need only look at the Royal Commission of Inquiry proposed by Prime Minister Najib Razak for a good and telling answer.

It was nothing short of daylight robbery – of the country’s intelligence.

And indeed, there has not been enough finger-pointing, not by a fair bit. Another long and arduous struggle has only just begun.

If Malaysians wondered if critics have been too harsh in castigating Najib for being high on packaging and low on substance and performance, then again his latest sham solution for Beng Hock’s family should provide the answer.

When Malaysians called for a Royal Commission of Inquiry into what caused his death, Najib magnanimously agreed to one. But with the catch – his RCI will not inquire into what caused Beng Hock’s death.

Then what is this RCI for, what will it do? Well, Najib’s RCI will perform the rather secondary task of reviewing the MACC’s investigative procedures to determine if there were any human rights violations during Beng Hock’s interrogation.

This could include questions as inane as, did they feed him, give water, allowed him to use the toilets, etc. All important in their own right no doubt. But not vital as in  -  HOW DID HE DIE?

Then who will investigate what caused Beng Hock to fall nine floors to his death – from the 14th floor MACC office to the the 5th floor roof of the adjoining building?

An inquest will.

An inquest conducted by a magistrate – a member of one of Najib’s famed federal institutions – the judiciary. Yes, the judiciary as associated with the Lingam Tape, judge-fixing, Mahathir Mohamad, the extraordinary judgments in the Perak crisis, the Sujatha-Vell Paari paraquat-drinking inquest, the Altantuya-Razak Baginda C4 explosives trial.

Can Beng Hock and his family expect the same standard of impartiality and justice? Well, Najib says he will speak to Beng Hock’s parents personally.

The mind-blowing treachery

Against this sort of bare-faced hypocrisy rivaling even the thickness of China’s great wall, is it any wonder then that the police decided to spring a quick one of their own.

Quick to learn from their head honcho, they charmed Beng Hock’s family with outward shows of courtesy during questioning at the Kajang police station.

Yet in the same breath, they displayed the greatest treachery possible. They actually had the temerity to ask his father, siblings and fiancee questions aimed at whitewashing the blame from their sister agency – the MACC – and throwing it back on Beng Hock!

Said Segambut MP Lim Lip Eng, one of the lawyers representing the family: “It is clear from the line of questioning that the police were trying to ascertain Teoh’s state of mind in the days leading up to the time he died. Their aim was to absolve the MACC officers’ from liability.

“But I think he contacted no one immediately before the incident because the fiancee, being the closest person to Teoh, said that she received no phone calls from him.

“The police also wanted to question more family members but after we protested, they stuck to the original four they had summoned.”

Said Eric Tan, another of the family’s lawyers: “For example, they asked about Teoh’s characters, or if he was suicidal or had complained about work before he died in trying to make a connection with his work and the possibility that he may taken his own life as a result.

“The police also asked if Teoh was a smoker perhaps insinuating that he might have gone to a window to smoke and then fell off.”

But what goes around comes around. And the most interesting revelation to surface during questioning unwittingly came from the police. They told his fiancee that his shoes were torn when his body was found.

Now how could that have happened? As one sharp commentator has pointed out, the seat of his pants were also badly torn. Would the inquest which begins next week be able to find out why?

Lastly, like lamb led to slaughter, Beng Hock’s family was asked by the press if they appreciated Najib’s RCI. They actually replied in the positive. But that was before they found out about Najib’s sleight of hand.

It remains to be seen if they will still be as satisfied once they find out that an inquest will investigate what caused their son/brother/fiancé to die.

And not an independent and eminent panel of royal commissioners as they and the rest of Malaysia were given to think.

written by apasalahku, July 23, 2009 03:40:36
the malaysian peasants are just like stupid pigs. They are looking for the farmer who slaughers them for meat to come up with some sort of system to not slaughter them.
written by steve, July 23, 2009 04:40:25
I am sorry - but the Govt. of Malaysia beginning with the civil service right up to the office of Najib is ROTTEN to the core. Malaysia now has a dirty prime minister. What can you expect with the rest of the administrative system. An extremely DIRTY JUDICIARY and CORRUPTED POLICE FORCE. The rot started with mahathir (may he and his family forever rot in hell) and has progressively grown. The UMNO lackeys have no conscience or feeling of compassion. Even animals have a code of conduct. These bastards are pigs - feeding themselves without ANY concern for the rest, just as long as their bellies and the bellies of their offspring are filled. I am really angry at this senseless death.
agree 188
written by educationist, July 23, 2009 07:13:02
If the implications of the terms of reference of the RCI is so detrimental to finding JUstice for Beng Hock, then the DAP must lead the campaign for a more inquisitory and all encompassing RCI.
This much, the DAP leadership owes to Beng Hock and his family and fiance.
The MACC must be brought to account.
Justice for Beng Hock!!
written by arazak, July 23, 2009 07:51:06
Najis is a sly fox trying to hoodwink the Teoh's family and the public!
written by Hakim Joe, July 23, 2009 08:16:02
The purpose of the RCI from the very beginning is to ascertain ways and methods that MACC will not be caught again. Procedures will now be reviewed and re-implemented that will absolve MACC for all further liabilities in the future. It is basically a sham in the attempt to portray an impartial government whilst exonerating MACC.

The reason this has to be accomplished is owing to the fact that someone high up in the UMNO hierarchy has ordered a crackdown on Opposition Chinese politicians in order to bring about the downfall of the Selangor State Government. When the attempts to intimidate the Opposition leaders failed, they had to work on the Opposition leaders' assistants to bring about this downfall by means of threats and supplanted "evidences" and through "revelations" of these assistants. The authorities' plans came to a screeching halt when one of them died. Here the dilemma starts.

The gomen cannot possibly hold the MACC investigators responsible as the orders came from way above. Any attempts to bring justice for the death of Teoh would backfire as the guilty party might reveal all in a court and could possibly implicate those in positions of power. Doing nothing however will incur the wrath of the public.

So now comes the waiting game. As illustrated in the Lingam case, they will drag and drag and drag this issue until it loses public attention. (That is why this investigation is always stuck on the 60% mark since Sunday.) Then it will be conveniently disregarded. Same old modus operandi.

What the public has to do is to keep up the constant pressure until the gomen breaks. Only then will the truth be partially revealed.

written by lynn, July 23, 2009 09:03:40
After reading the above, I turn around and look at some of the non-Malays around me who still insist on voting bn.

I can "understand" why Malays would support a racist murderous regime that is absolutely & utterly corrupt because they are bombarded with rhetorics such as ketuanan melayu... but non-Malays, what is wrong with you people?

You love discrimination, isn't it? How abt the Indians? Until the khir tempe toyol demolished your temples, you are still in La-La land supporting MIC.

Again, I say, if you as$holes keep voting for MCA, MIC, Gerakan, etc. you are SUPPORTING UMNO to remain in power.
written by Wisdom above, July 23, 2009 09:23:36
BeEnd 's MCA,GERAKAN,MIC,PPP,etc & SABAH BN, Sarawak BN are vicariously liable for Teoh BH's death. Please wake up !
The best solution is for all BN's component MPs to declare themselves as Independence MPs friendly to PAKATAN RAKYAT .
JUST let UMNO BN FADE away like an Old Soldier !
Please address yourself as a Color Blind Malaysians !
written by born2reign, July 23, 2009 09:29:01
I can't understand the structure of independance here.

1) MACC reports to the Prime Minister, this is already perceived as biased. MACC should report to no one or to the Parliament. Thanks to Bodowi and Khairy we have such stupid "rebranding" of no substance.

2) RCI is initiated and the scope of investigations decided by the Prime Minister? This is already an abuse of power by PM to coerce or limit the powers of RCI. RCI is ROYAL isn't it? Isn't supposed to be reporting to the Agong and not the PM?

If I hire a private investigator to investigate on my maid, why is my private investigator taking orders from my maid? Najis should have no say whether RCI is to limit or expand its scope of investigation, because RCI must not even be seen to be part of UMNO regime.

Another BODOH exercise.
written by DreamLady, July 23, 2009 09:57:08
My dear born2reign, why report to Agong? His royal highness was the one who went against public's wish to crown his as the PM, inspite of the fact that he knows the PM is grossly tainted with scandals. In short, both of them are in the same boat!!!

At this rate the venum is spewing from the devils all over the nation, I am very afraid all Malaysians will be dragged into hell's hole in no time!!
written by CL Lee, July 23, 2009 10:14:22
To put it simply, it's a ROYAL FARCE
written by Mirage, July 23, 2009 10:18:34
MACC is now a "dirty 4 letter word".

When you say "MACC YOU"...what you really mean is "Fck YOU"

MACC is also good for ""Nothing.....What I mean is when you ask them MACC staff what did you do to that person and the answer from MACC is "Nothing" once again but someone actually died for that statement

MACC is also "Racist" ie :race to be first to pls the master"

MACC is finally "Corrupted"...... ie easily infected but hard to recover
written by SCOng, July 23, 2009 10:29:42
Gee, just hope that these dogs won't release a report which is trying to proof that:
1) TBH was under great stress because of corruption, hence full with guilty conscious and suicidal
2) TBH been having sleeping disorder problem and living on sleeping pills etc
3) TBH had sleep walking problem
4) TBH had families problem that been haunting him all the while...
written by latihanQ, July 23, 2009 10:39:09
No, I was not confident of a fair hearing when they announced the RCI. To my horror and dismay, it turned out exactly as I had expected of them. The terms of reference of the RCI says it all.
They have absolutely no sincerity or intention to determine the real cause of TBH's death.
It smacks of betrayal and treachery. It is a sham! I may be a legal ignoramus but the hypocrisy and unwillingness to search for the truth is written all over the terms of reference of the RCI.
It is truly an insult to the intelligence of all Malaysians and a betrayal of their duty as the government to guarantee fairness and justice for all.
I am truly and deeply disappointed.
written by malgal, July 23, 2009 11:15:51
tie up their hands and legs and ask them to join the olympics ka ? I meant the perimeters painted in for the RCI.
oh now its about human rights. if macc had violated human rights, their knuckles will be rapped for crossing the boundaries of human rights, like too harsh tactics. how about murder? no ka?
written by netmiser88, July 23, 2009 11:22:35
The whole gov and their agencies have shit in their hands and there is no doubt about it as far as I am concerned!
You can almost say that I judged them guilty even before Teoh's body got cold!
Thats what I think....sue me!
written by MsiaCTzen, July 23, 2009 11:33:35
Mother F@#KER... Altantuya Najis...he thinks Malaysian are stupid and Maybe he think the Teoh family are idiots and stupid too...

I hope that the Teoh Family will give a piece of mind to Altantuya Najis...

Like father like son ===== Murderer and Killer of Rakyat Malaysia.
written by joeawk, July 23, 2009 13:20:03
The inquest wiol come to a decision that Teoh died of misadventure. The murderer get away. he next get promoted and one day be MACC chief. Only in UMNO's malaysia.
written by hellosunshine, July 23, 2009 14:17:35
The umnoputras being the devils that they are, can be counted on to twist and turn every promise they make to the people but I cannot ever comprehend why the fark these goons in MCA, MIC, Gerakan and all the bn lapdog parties from Sabah and Sarawak are keeping silent on this sudden and open sham. You running dogs had better speak up now or forever hold your peace and be kicked out in GE13 by the people. God have mercy on your souls! smilies/angry.gif
written by nafis, July 23, 2009 15:06:47
The sheer audacity of pdrm and macc hauling up 40 people for questioning, and so-called ten forensics expert to investigate, hauling up Teoh's family members for questioning, the nerve of them !!! Kurang ajar these police and macc bastards trying to steer us away from the real murderers of Teoh!

And most sickening is the superficial RCI announced by si-lembik lakirosmah himself.

i never buy the story that Teoh died because of a fall....so where's the blood, macc? on your hands, right???
written by SocratesI, July 23, 2009 15:23:20

You know what ?? I don't think Pakatan Rakyat has to work hard for the Rakyat's votes any more. I think all the Pakatan Rakyat reps should take a holiday till the next GE13 in 2013.

Why ?? Because Najis Rosak and the Utterly Moronic Nazi Org. and their minions need no help at all in losing the GE13 election, and they are doing very, very well on their own, and will continue to do well in their blustering, blundering, inhuman way !!! Even if an animal were to stand against a Barisan Najis candidate, the animal would win hands down ! Even if we put up a dead person, he would beat any Barisan Najis candidate being fielded !! That is how much we Rakyat love the Barisan Najis !!!

written by Lipanbara, July 23, 2009 18:02:42
Teoh's family should throw their shoes when Najib appears at their door-step..
written by mrbean, July 23, 2009 19:23:48
if this is happening in india, someone would have been assassinated or bombed... but it's a pity this is malaysia.. where nobody has the balls.
written by Ron, July 23, 2009 19:49:33
Najis has to now coverup two murders.
written by Caretaker_y, July 23, 2009 21:26:46
Don't you think it is just like after a female victim under interrogation by MACC(Murder And Cover-Up Commssion -new name)was found raped & murdered after the detention within the vicinity of MACC. Suddenly ALL the Najib cronies & crooks started visiting (including the Chinese Assistant Commissioner) & calling the family members to balai to ask if the daughter have any sexual inclination, ever had any sexual intercourse with her boyfriend/men, ever smoked ganja, ever had any mental or emotional problems & a long strings of stupid bodoh questions.

What is their aim, to throw a red herring, from the real culprit & murderers.

This is exactly what Najib & his cronies & crooks are trying to do. To the extend of even talking about visiting the late Murdered Teoh Beng Hock's family, which one, his parents or his wife's.

Trying to put up a show, don't forget, your keris have gotten one Chinese blood already. Your 100 days in office is now tarnished beyond repair.

God have mercy upon you & your cronies & crooks from UMNO & Barisan.

Remember, GOD the All Mighty knows who the real murderers are, Altantuya, Kugan, Teoh Beng Hock and the many others who died under PDRM(Polis Derhaka Raja Malaysia) interrogation while under detention.
written by Mirage, July 23, 2009 23:24:08
Part 2: Najib and his Dogs

Muhiddin: Datuk Seri...Since you left the country, there has been an uproar on the Teoh Beng Hock's (TBH) case. Everyday "Malaysia Today (MT)" publish so many stories.

Najib: Din ...what did you do in my abscense?

Muhiddin: I couldnt even respond to any of the stories in MT, before a new topic is put in on TBH..... so many ppl angry lah boss.

Najib: I expected you to say something soothing to calm the situation. I have to sent Dr Oh to the funeral myself. What good are you Din ......?? You are my rep when I am away.

Muhiddin: But...but boss, I did come out to ask them to stay calm and say its probably a misunderstanding

Najib: Din...how can you say all this....somebody died and they want blood. My rating was UP before I left for Jeddah and now **Grumble grumble**

Muhiddin: **Angry** How can they keep harping on the same issue everyday.!!

Najib: I will have to clean up this again myself. Arghh now SMS also cannot use. Stupid ppl use my last SMS to Razak Baginda as proof. Looks like I have to sound genuine. OK if they want RCI ....RCI it will be but we put a spinlah and make them think we are investigating on the death

Muhiddin: Aiya, no wonder you are the boss. Good idea. Who shall we pick to head the commission.

Najib: Din ...Din....You are still wet behind your ears and a lot to learn. This time we cannot take someone BIG. Everytime I use Justice Paul....Anwar object and everybody laugh and say I fix them all up. Lets use someone unknown....low rank officer lah. In that way we can say we didnt groom him to be on ourside and no pass record also like what RPK claim.

Muhiddin: I still have a lot to learn BOSS. Dont need sms to your counterpart. You just announce and I will carry the message physically ....so no trace....I will get the appt of that person for you.

Najib: If I have it my way, just like Mahathir's time I will eliminate them nicely....all ISA them. Now with this blog and that blog and also all this stupid email and tracking of my sms, we have to do the long way. C4 pun baik jugak ha DIN.

Muhiddin: **lol** haha yalah boss no evidence...everything pieces and can blame low ranking office.

Najib: Nowadays I cannot use any high ranking officer...each time always sure screw up.....including you Din

Muhiddin: Low level also got low level good!! They dont know anything and just carry out the order. When kena tangkap also they cannot reveal toomuch ...hahaha becoz dunno....hahaha

Najib: Hahah you learn fast Din. So you want ot be high level or low level officer

Muhiddin: High level lah boss......not so dangerous.

Najib: OK then you go and physically send this message.....very high level of work for you to do.

Muhiddin: Ai Ai BOSS......we go for the KILLLL!!. Sorry boss we go for the kill....
written by asiana888, July 24, 2009 00:06:38
Aiyoh! What nonsense?

1. I think it is totall unforgivable of PDRM in trying to 'harass' Teoh's family in their time of grieve. BN will pay dearly come GE13!!!

2. Why waste money and deflect attention on the real cause of death with RCI only trying to verify MACC's method? Stupid move ... we are not interested to know MACC's interogation methods.

3. Inquest by magistrate ... we already know the outcome. "Sudden death". Nothing will come out of this.

Don;t think rakyat bodoh!!! We will repay BN when GE13 comes.

written by Beng, July 24, 2009 00:38:38
My condolences to TBH's family and fiance.

Spread the word. Don't let Beng Hock die in vain. Remove this fxxxxxx gomen in the next election.

Remember Alantula, Remember Kugan, Remember Beng Hock.
written by rpremkumar2u, July 25, 2009 07:08:16
Public sentiment is understood in its right context, but the insult comes in the form of officialdom pronouncement of the law being made to take its course, i.e. let PDRM investigate its sister institution and procure remnants and surface them before a junior court official whilst everybody knows a case of this gravity needs nothing short of RCI with the highest caliber of untainted cow sense. We are expected to believe that a finding will be made in its truest form is it? Malaysians are not stupid. But we have a tendency to let matters blow over. This is not a storm. This is a human life lost. Let there be awareness gained and a spade be called just that.
written by Pakyeh, July 26, 2009 13:58:33
Lets vote of no confidence on Najip.
If that does not work, lets have a Revolution.
Read more "Revolution pt1,2&3 " at..

http://warongpakyeh.********.com