Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Farewell, my friend

Farewell, my friend PDF Print
Wednesday, 22 July 2009 21:32

"Please teach me what to do in the event you are taken in by MACC too. I do not want to learn of it too late". 

By Hannah Yeoh, Sin Chew Daily

I'M GOING TO share a personal story with all of you here. Back in 1990, when I was still in school, I received news that my favourite uncle (mom's brother) had injured himself from a fall while working. He was admitted to SJMC and hours later, he passed away. My uncle was only 29 when he left us. He was one month away from getting married. He had personally renovated his house and bought new furniture in anticipation of his wedding day. I was told that he cried when his engagement ring was removed from his finger, moments before he passed away.

On the day of his burial, his pre-wedding photographs taken at the studio were delivered to us. His fiancee wept uncontrollably. Their wedding did not materialise. Their dream of beginning their lives together was shattered. Photograph of him in his groom tuxedo adorned his coffin and hearse. His parents (my grandparents) also could not participate in the funeral, just like Beng Hock's parents. According to Chinese culture, the parents should not participate in the funeral of a child.

I can understand how Beng Hock's nieces and nephews feel. I spent so many nights crying, longing for my favourite uncle to return. I can imagine the atmosphere in Beng Hock's home now. My grandparents' home was no different. One night, I shared the room with my uncle's fiancee. I woke up to the sound of her weeping. She told me how my uncle wanted me to teach him English and that it was too late. How she was supposed to prepare soup for him for dinner but he never came home that day, it was too late.

Year after year, at every family gathering, I witnessed my grandmother crying. I saw my grandfather hiding in the kitchen, crying by himself. The loss of their son was too painful, too much for them to bear. Even on the dying bed in 2007, my grandfather was still thinking of his son - my uncle who left so prematurely at the age of 29, a month before his scheduled wedding.

Beng Hock's death has brought painful remembrance of my personal loss. Beng Hock was my friend. I last saw him in the Dewan Annex at the Selangor State Assembly last Wednesday during our lunch break. I never imagined that that would be the last time we chatted. I am 30 years old. Beng Hock was 30 too. He would not be at MACC if he hadn't accepted the call of public service. This race in which I have started to run to bring change in this land is not an easy one. I know some will stop running. Some may be injured running the race. I pray I will complete the race.

My sister who is indifferent to politics (like many other young people in this country) sent me a text message when I was at Nirvana Memorial Park in Semenyih the day Beng Hock was buried. She said : "Please teach me what to do in the event you are taken in by MACC too. I do not want to learn of it too late". She must have seen the agony of Beng Hock's siblings and realised that it could have been her going through it.

I hope my grandmother isn't watching the news of Beng Hock's death. She would be grieving and crying seeing Beng Hock's mom. I hope this article doesn't reach her. Just like how my family still remembers my late uncle some 19 years later, I know Beng Hock too would be remembered many years to come. Farewell, my friend.

(Yeoh is DAP assemblywoman for Subang Jaya and a regular columnist Sin Chew Daily)

written by mendela, July 22, 2009 21:51:31
In other countries, the death of TBH could easily spark a big riot!
Even in developed country like the USA, remember the black man Mr. King whom was beaten by LAPD many years ago? A few areas in LA was like a battle field a few days later!
written by Oscar Winner, July 22, 2009 21:52:27
Very touching indeed. May make people cry after reading it. I lost my favourite younger brother last year. He died after he was run down by a 10-wheeler driven by a reckless S.O.B..So I know how it feels when a loved one died at a young age. UMNO goons have no feelings for others, especailly if you are considered pendatangs. Being greatest hypocrites and pretenders on earth, they cry only croc tears, that also they do for political agenda. Sometimes I wonder what kind of species of the animal kingdom they belong to.

FAREWELL, TEOH. R I P
written by mendela, July 22, 2009 21:55:16
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ssg2IkIhbxU
written by semut, July 22, 2009 21:58:41
esok pakai hitam! smilies/angry.gif
written by semut, July 22, 2009 22:00:46
esok hari jadi najib!
written by Krepot, July 22, 2009 22:03:40
we hear you
we feel the grief
we will NOT stand down, till justice is served!
written by latihanQ, July 22, 2009 22:20:45
monsters and demons are terrorising this country. I weep for this nation of what it could have been but no more.
written by pakasia, July 22, 2009 22:42:33
We should wrap TBH coffin in Jalur Gemilang - our proud national flag.
written by lynn, July 22, 2009 22:46:34
Hannah,

Pls don't forget to give moral support to Ms Soh.
Everyone was so angry with Teoh's death & we all forgot abt her!
written by asguard, July 22, 2009 22:47:17
AS long the crooks and thieves are still at helm of power... they will do anything to cover up their dirty work...
written by Aizad 234, July 22, 2009 22:49:21
rasa mcm hendak menangis juga..

esok pakai HITAM!!!Benghock,satu hari roh anda akan tenang.
written by teohchye, July 22, 2009 23:04:02
I am just so angry that such things can happen in our beautiful country. I also remember what happened to Kugan, Altantuya, thousands of other victims under custody of our law enforcement agencies, and not forgetting our brother Anwar Ibrahim who was fortunate enough to survive the the ordeal some 10 years ago. UMNO/BN has to go. Enough is enough!
written by IbnAbdHalim, July 22, 2009 23:07:37
Malaysiakini:Kira-kira 60 penyokong Umno dan parti komponen BN menyertai demonstrasi di hadapan pusat membeli-belah Ampang Point untuk menyatakan sokongan kepada Suruhanjaya Pencegahan Rasuah Malaysia (SPRM) dan polis untuk meneruskan siasatan terhadap kematian Teoh Beng Hock dan tidak mahu ia dipolitikkan oleh parti pembangkang.

As usual UMNO/BN bigots will demonstrate to make known their feelings towards MACC and PDRM. Why? Because only MACC and PDRM, together with AG (and if in an election EC) will lick their balls. And in this case the thieves are going to investigate the robbers.

The cabinet had agreed to a RCI and of course characters akin to Augustine Paul will be the commission members. Then later we'll come back to a square one. Plus, minus, plus minus equals to zero. Malaysia Boleh.
written by malgal, July 22, 2009 23:13:30
You've made me not not go when there is a memorial service for your friend. Not going becomes an albatross. See lah Hannah, I got to go even more now. Hope to see many more who think the same way.
written by Equal, July 22, 2009 23:35:11
Dear Hannah Yeoh,
Take good care of yourself. It won't be easy. You either continue to fight or just quit. The choice is yours. We will respect your decision.
Please do something for his family, his wife to be and his child. Need any help, please let us know. Thank you
written by Msian Idol3, July 22, 2009 23:52:56
Beng Hock is my hero. He died upholding all Msian's honour. How can such a young educated man with much potential walking to an interview end up dead? Besides I am sure he looks forward to be daddy. Itss a sham that we have such tainted leadership in MACC who does not have a clue as to how interviews are conducted and to top it off why interview people after 5pm. Can't such regular interviews be done within 8-5pm. Besides on such a small case, why 10 hours or more interviews. MACC must have a special SS style terror unit. Heads in MACC must roll for such poor leadership. Hannah, keep up the good work.
written by fireduck, July 23, 2009 00:43:44
Am very touched by YB Hannah's piece here. I feel proud that we have at least this one young lady whose heart and mind are in the right place. We pray for your safe journey in this path that you have taken. We will walk with you as long as you want to walk it. I salute you, YB.
written by Sabahfan, July 23, 2009 00:45:30
Miss Hanna Yeoh, and the rest of you especially the idiot who accused us of not writing under our real names.... Being anonymous may sounds like a coward to you, but this is the only way we can exchange ideas and also inform the rest of malaysians not to support or vote for this regime anymore...

Now this is what I will do if I am taken into custody by the MACC, the Police or ISA dogs..

Under interogation, I will pretend to coorporate but if there are indications I will be tortured or maybe killed or maim, I will find a way to take at least one of the officers to HELL with me... If necessary KILL them in the process of getting killed myself..

There is plenty of ways to do this, just hunt around in the internet for self defence technics.....

thats the only way, at least if I have to die like TBH, one of the culprits will die the same death.

Secondly, if you have money, get some loyal relatives to hire a hit man to revenge on the MACC
written by picadilly, July 23, 2009 00:50:45
The chinese got no balls!!!!

Look at DAP la, risking thier life to sarifice for you and you guys dont even stand up to be counted? all talk Kok only.

Theresa KOk was already targeted and Im fearing her life after what Utusan did..
Teohs death shows anything can happen and
many in Umno are planning for Deaths..

LIm Kit Siang is nearly 70 years old,
still screaming and kicking at the govement, nobody to take over,
look at the klana jaya stadium, all empty..

havaing yam-cha at home is it???
damn...

Go read RPK, its war againts the chinese, stupid!
are you too stupid?????

look at mahatir said, if it was an Indian Hindraf would have screamed like hell.
where are the chinesE???? migrating ah
written by johntyc, July 23, 2009 01:28:26
Don't you all dare stop running (fighting), don't you all dare!

You all are our hopes. You all must not disappoint him!
written by JUST, July 23, 2009 02:56:44
Dear YB,

This race will not be easy fighting all odds and evils!
Please be strong to bring change to this beautiful land.

It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!

GOD spares no evils! The truth will prevail!
Justice will be served...... one way or another!
Evils will subject to eternity of God’s retribution!

GOD Bless All!

< http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related >
written by patlu, July 23, 2009 05:14:55
Pahlawan Volunteers felt duty-bound to initiate a campaign with the public. This is a call to make a better Malaysia for all. We unite and shout out loud, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! We want to EVICT BAD GOVERNANCE! We want the authorities to STOP TERRORIZING THE NATION! All Malaysians Must Vow to Make the System Safe. Full story, http://pahlawanvolunteers.****...stem-safe/

Pahlawan Volunteers
Negara Kita Tanggungjawab Kita
– From Conviction to Action
written by Wisdom above, July 23, 2009 09:07:00
Let's Fast and Pray for the LORD of Hosts to HEAL the LAND.
written by Catharsis, July 23, 2009 09:59:50
Hannah- TRUST GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and fear no man
written by carribeanking7, July 23, 2009 12:49:23
Hanna Yeoh is a rare combination of beauty, intellect and pureness of heart.She is a powerfull communicator, did you read the heartfelt letter she wrote to Pakatan supporters who say that they are fed up with the current situation ?
See post # 30 at this link http://www.facebook.com/topic....topic=9789