Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Graft Witness’s Fatal Plunge Sours Malaysia Premier’s Honeymoon

Graft Witness’s Fatal Plunge Sours Malaysia Premier’s Honeymoon PDF Print
Wednesday, 22 July 2009 16:30

The anti-corruption commission “is just another tool of UMNO,” said Haris Ibrahim, a Kuala Lumpur-based human rights lawyer. “Short of completely overhauling the composition and the makeup of this body, this perception will not change.”

By Ranjeetha Pakiam, Bloomberg

An opposition aide’s death last week after plunging from the 14th floor of Malaysia’s anti-corruption agency may have ended Prime Minister Najib Razak’s honeymoon with the electorate.

Teoh Beng Hock, 30, died after being grilled by the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission as a witness to the alleged misuse of public funds by the opposition-run state of Selangor. The government today may accede to demands from its own coalition partners and the opposition for an independent commission of inquiry after the death sparked public protests.

“This is a reminder to the Malaysian public that the institutions of the state have been compromised,” said James Chin, a professor of political science at the Malaysian campus of Australia’s Monash University outside Kuala Lumpur. “There is no check and balance within the police and the other law enforcement agencies. They’re not accountable to anyone save for the” government.

The police account of the circumstances of Teoh’s death, as reported by the New Straits Times, is that he was questioned for nearly 11 hours in a probe into misuse of public funds by opposition politicians and released at 3:45 a.m. on July 16. Police said his body was found on the 5th floor podium of the commission’s building at 1:30 p.m. and that he died between 8 a.m. and 9 a.m., the newspaper said.

Additional Questions

Abu Kassim Mohammad, the deputy commissioner of the anti- graft agency, said Teoh wanted to rest for a while on a couch after he was discharged and several officers saw him sleeping there at 6 a.m., the New Straits Times reported. The police have not concluded investigations and will bring in another 40 people for questioning in addition to the 33 already queried, Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein said yesterday.

Najib, whose National Front has ruled since Malaysia’s independence from Britain in 1957, had seen his public approval ratings jump before Teoh’s death. The prime minister recaptured political ground lost at last year’s election by adopting opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim’s mantle as a reformer, dismantling preferences in business for ethnic Malays.

Anwar’s People’s Alliance says Najib’s ruling United Malays National Organisation, or UMNO, uses the police to stamp out dissent. Anwar himself is on trial for sodomy, a crime in Malaysia, and says the charges are politically motivated and that he doesn’t expect a fair hearing.

The anti-corruption commission “is just another tool of UMNO,” said Haris Ibrahim, a Kuala Lumpur-based human rights lawyer. “Short of completely overhauling the composition and the makeup of this body, this perception will not change.”

Lack of Faith

The latest survey by the Merdeka Center, an independent research institute based outside Kuala Lumpur, showed that while Najib had a 65 percent approval rating, the public’s confidence in the police stood at 46 percent, and at 41 percent for the anti-corruption body.

The opposition will set up an independent police complaints commission, a recommendation by an earlier Royal Commission in 2005 that the government has not fully implemented, Anwar says.

Hishammuddin said yesterday the police investigation into Teoh’s death would be carried out “without fear or favor.”

“There are many questions asked that need to be answered,” he told reporters. “If the questions raised are not answered, we might have to look at other options, including the possibility of setting up a royal or independent commission.”

Funeral Protest

About 2,000 people, including Anwar, attended Teoh’s funeral on July 20, the New Straits Times reported. The procession following the body carried banners and posters demanding justice. Seven people were arrested when protesters scuffled with police at a July 17 demonstration, the Star said.

Local councilor Tan Boon Wah, 39, was one of the suspects called in for interrogation on July 15, after the anti- corruption agency accused him of pocketing 2,400 ringgit ($677) he was given to supply flags for the Malaysian National Day celebrations on Aug. 31 last year.

“They made me stand still, at attention, for four hours, during which they made as if they were going to hit me, and called me ‘stupid Chinese’ repeatedly,” Tan said in a telephone interview. Tan said he was released at 2:30 a.m. after promising to show the receipts for the flags.

“Public confidence has disappeared and a lot of rebuilding has to be done,” said Tunku Abdul Aziz Ibrahim, a former president of Transparency International and vice-president of the opposition Democratic Action Party. “The prime minister has to take the lead. There should be no cover-up.”

To contact the reporter on this story: Ranjeetha Pakiam in Kuala Lumpur at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Comments (50)Add Comment
written by garuda, July 22, 2009 16:36:08
MACC seems uninterested in Toyo, only god and UMNO can answer that i suppose, if this isnt double standards than what is?
Hauling up someone for so long and finding him dead seems dubious and Toyo seems to be not even hauled up with so much incriminating evidence against him
UMNO and MACC are both useless as they favor only one section of the people and denomination, we are doomed unless UMNO is no more
agree 492
written by KotaDamansara73, July 22, 2009 16:39:17
MACC the tool of UMNO. The evils of UMNO manifest itself in MACC.
agree 315
written by Wisdom above, July 22, 2009 16:48:39
Why "Due Diligence" in ACA Law was never exercised to ensure a "Color Blind Malaysian " Teoh's safety ?
His Death has deeply disturbed the " Spiritual Realm " !
It is not Wise to disturb the SPIRITUAL Dimension !
written by Mirage, July 22, 2009 16:53:42
MACC are what we call "Brainless, Stupid and without BAckbone" I cannot think of anything worse to call them if they already carry this tag.
agree 140
written by hellosunshine, July 22, 2009 16:54:34
The ruling party knows very well their game is up and they are doing everything in their power to stop PR by doing a coup ala Perak style in Selangor. Come GE13 they will lose big time to PR and they are very afraid all of them including the ex-PM, ministers, families and cronies will be hauled up to answer for their billions of ill gotten gains. We are now witnessing the blatant and open abuse of power, by the institutions that were supposed to protect the rakyat, against the rakyat on behalf of umno/bn. smilies/angry.gif
agree 183
written by Mirage, July 22, 2009 16:56:20
If Najib is serious of his 1Malaysia for Unity statement, then the MACC's head gotto roll. There is no 2 ways abt it.
agree 194
written by chin, July 22, 2009 17:03:34
Teoh will not get his honeymoon.

The PM should have and could have done this and that.

Let see if Teoh will be remembered for the good he brought with his death or the evil that the government continues to perpetuate.
written by malgal, July 22, 2009 17:19:23
the speck which would be proven by receipts was enough for MACC to cari pasal and eventually led to a death. the planks in their eye in billions of deals, multi millions in mansions were waived.

we live in an upside down world. time to tilt us back to order no?
written by sandokan, July 22, 2009 17:23:25
Hisamudin, to save Malaysia you should resign. Racist!!!
agree 133
written by Oscar Winner, July 22, 2009 17:39:06
Bolehland's PM belongs to the warlords. Rakyat did not democratically elect him. His power base cannot be shaken. He can't afford that or he will lose his premiership. It takes political will to truly achieve 1Malaysia, without which it's just hogwash. Bodohwi didn't have it, that's why he's now saying that he would have abolished ISA. He knew he couldn't since the warlords call the shots. You can expect Bodohwi to say one day that had he remained the PM, Teoh would not have died. Najis' honeymoon is over. His ratings will plunge below 40, just you wait and see. There will be no justice for Teoh as long as Najis is still PM, or for that matter, if UMNO is still ruling this land. The tools are in place to make sure they remain in power. How can they dismantle or punish these tools when they are needed so badly?? If ever MACC is found responsible for Teoh's death, you can bet a scapegoat is handpicked just to take the heat for everyone, and appears in court fully covered from head to toe, like in the case of SB officers in "that Woman" court case. Thereafter it will all be sandiwara only
written by Vivarium, July 22, 2009 17:54:14
Najib surely has a handful of homework to do to rebuild his approval rating, no thanks to MACC.

He could jumpstart the damage control by hauling in a big fish like Khir Toyo who had been at the centrestage of this big mess. He could be the silent instigator all these while.
Najib, you just could not be wrong if you nab Khir Toyo. I assure you your approval rating will jump to 80% or even more.
written by Vivarium, July 22, 2009 18:03:41
Najib, there is no reason why you should spare Khir Toyo for he is worth nothing to UMNO and the government. The civil servants hate him, the general public sees devil in him and perhaps his God disowns him.
If there is indeed a reason for you to spare him, the reason must be that you need that dirty Khir Toyo to do the dirty work for UMNO.
agree 135
written by Oscar Winner, July 22, 2009 18:10:29
Vivarium,

It will never happen. If Najis touches Toyol, the later will become prosecution's witness in a trial againt the former. See, that's the deal. Leave me alone, I leave you alone. You scratch my back, I will scratch yours. Everyone is happy. Fcuk the pendatangs, they all nod in unison
written by novrising, July 22, 2009 18:13:49
Funeral Protest

About 2,000 people, including Anwar, attended Teoh’s funeral on July 20, the New Straits Times reported. The procession following the body carried banners and posters demanding justice
written by lynn, July 22, 2009 18:15:12
He was seen "sleeping" on a couch at 6.00am. Was he asleep or was he already dead?
How can you trust the reported version of him being killed between 8.00 to 9.00am?
Autopsy of his body to determine time of death shld have been conducted in Spore or Hong Kong if u want the truth.
Why interrogate him for 11 hours straight? What is the fcuking hurry?
Why absolutely no urgency to interrogate khir toyol abt his multi-million bungalow, balinese style?
(Bali is Indonesian, isn't it? So is this pendatang MB - he never forgot his roots.)
Why is NONE OF THE BN MINISTERS interrogated abt PKFZ?
RM12 billion is nothing, isn't it?
But RM2,400 for 1,500 flags is a major crime.
agree 179
written by lynn, July 22, 2009 18:17:43
You want to know how braindead many msians are?
The bonds sold out. those morons with their hard-earned (or maybe not) money queueing up
to buy - i was told the govt needs more cash. so it borrows from the morons via issuance
of bonds or whatever u wanna call that 5% return thingy.
You see, some 50 over percent of morons TRUST THE BN GOVERNMENT.
written by arazak, July 22, 2009 18:35:30
Hishammuddin said yesterday the police investigation into Teoh’s death would be carried out “without fear or favor.”
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Without fear or favor"? What's that?

I have heard this many times before from the many UMNO regime's goon appointed as the Home Minister. Previously it was Al Blur's favourite tagline. . ., and now this Kris waving goon is repeating it! In order not to repeat this hollow rhetoric, I suggest he stamped or tatooed this tagline parmanently on his forehead for people to see. Maybe too, when he sees his face in the mirror every morning it will remind him what he is supposed to do on the first place!

"Without fear or favor", my foot!
written by Fuminari, July 22, 2009 18:41:41
they can spent millions n billions on submarines,jet fighters until even hav to c4 altantuya,but they couldn't even afford to install CCTV system for the enforcing body??no,it is not they can't afford!!becos with CCTV,they can't go hanky panky!!!jus as simple as that.
i hav come across so many hawker centers with no less than 15 cctv cameras for an area of jus a shop lot!!!
written by StevenMax, July 22, 2009 18:50:28
My observation. I maybe wrong. MACC is a secured area meaning no one can come in and go out as they please. According to reports. TBH "released" at 3.45am. "6 am" was still "seen" in MACC office "sleeping". TBH found dead at 1.30pm. Post-mortem says he died at 8-9am. Police says CCTV recording shows TBH did not leave building. Police also says TBH has fragments from the 14th floor window of the MACC office. So between 3.45am-8/9am, TBH is still in MACC office. The "alleged underworld job" is ruled out unless MACC says its secured office allows gangsters to walk in-walk out as they suka-suka. So for 4-5 hours, TBH is in MACC office. Investigation would have to determine what happen to TBH in this crucial 4-5 hours. Since MACC office is a secured area, only MACC staff has access to TBH. Since TBH is getting married the next day (on the same day he died) and going to be a father, logically, commiting suicide is highly improbable for a mere allegation of graft of RM2,400. Even if it is graft, no one would commit suicide for a mere RM2,400! So, please tell me MACC, what happened to TBH during the 4-5 hours since only you have access to TBH????
written by hiro, July 22, 2009 19:00:28
Malaysiakini just reported that the Government has set out RCI on "standard operating procedure" of MACC!! And by the exclamation, I mean it's ridiculous, not estatic.

The RCI will not investigate the death of Teoh, but how MACC conducts its interrogations! Instead, Teoh's death will only be investigated through an inquest, by a low ranking judicial officer, opening up potential risk of being pressured into submission by those who wants the truth hidden! Jibby has the gall to say in the same press conference that life is sacrosanct!

Worse still, Malaysian Insider has misreported - the RCI is not to investigate the death, and second, MACC officers aren't suspended. Only the head has been confined to desk job!!

If there's someone, anyone out there who hasn't been outraged by Teoh's death thinking someone, somewhere would finally do something right for once, you're so wrong. NOW is time to be OUTRAGED!!
written by Stupid me, July 22, 2009 19:04:39
Where is that Toyol guy. He seems to have gone into hiding or ????? don't tell me.
written by my2cents, July 22, 2009 19:24:40
Najis - Devious
Hisham - Racist
Macc - Stooges
PDRM - Crooks
BN - Corrupted
This is how we perceive you'll. For the moment, be glad we are limited in our efforts to teach you a lesson. Come next election my "friends", you will all know what we mean and how we feel.
written by Mirage, July 22, 2009 19:33:19
Hmmm A lot of Rosmah to go around......more like "Nightmare in Jeddah Street"
written by budakindia, July 22, 2009 20:14:51
Khir Toyo, Ali Rustam however has not gained any interest from MACC! They are more concern on bribery that was supposed to happen in getting Malaysian flags? smilies/angry.gif
written by miwaki, July 22, 2009 20:33:33
In Malaysia,only opposition members and people who are against the government are subject to all kinds of suppression and MACC is just one of the institutions they have to contend with.However,the ruling elites,no matter how ridiculous they are,whether scandals,corruption and murder,no action would be taken by the authority.

We had seen politicians committing rape,molest,corruption and whatnot but without being prosecuted whereas those in the opposition had been dragged to police,MACC and courts for crimes they had not yet committed.This is Malaysia, a counrty rules by people without moral values.It is amzing that the ruling party can last 50 over years in this country without being overthrown by the opposition and the people.
written by Mirage, July 22, 2009 20:54:32
NOTE: Repeat posting removed
written by Oscar Winner, July 22, 2009 20:55:56
miwaki,

Pls reads my comments above. To me, that's the whole picture
written by by2020, July 22, 2009 21:57:27
If the one laying on the roof top is Khir Toyo, I guessed more prople may believe he committed suicide! (I say IF).

The rakyat may need to start asking the following questions:

1. If the foul play can be established, how to deal with those guilty officers? Are they merely negligence in carrying out their duties? Or they are murders?

2. What should be their punishment?

I believed most Malaysian would like to send them to the GALLOWS!
written by pakasia, July 22, 2009 22:09:19
Najib is the most unluckiest PM in the history of the world. Anyone disagree?

When he was DPM, Altantuya was murdered by two UTK (PDRM).
Before 100 days after PM, Kugan died in the police station (PDRM).
After 100 days, TBH was thrown out of 14th floor (MACC).

If I am Najib, I'd clean up PDRM first by getting a new IGP to restore public confidence. However, this is not the case, WHY?

Musa must have kept the X-Files under his mattress.
written by Highway16, July 22, 2009 22:24:31
I don't believe the Police have not concluded their investigation.

What the Police have Not Concluded is how to Conclude the Report so that it can be NFA (No Further Action) - Familiar with the MAS-Ramli case?

Liwat Malaysia
written by Sabahfan, July 23, 2009 00:54:40
[font size= 1}How can the perception ever change?

just like the police, MACC, army, EC, judiciary, etc are all running dogs for the UMNO rascist regime .....
written by Sabahfan, July 23, 2009 00:55:19
[font size= 1}Rascist regime
written by Sabahfan, July 23, 2009 00:55:58
[font size = 1}UMNO a bloody rascist regime
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 23, 2009 01:16:53
When we have an alleged murderer as a prime minster and the wife as the key planner...this country will have many more murders....for the path has been set to be followed....it is just a matter of time...when bodies of people might disappear and bodies found apparently falling off buildings...

you may have a drowning and a burning just to change the excitement...
written by freerpk, July 23, 2009 08:31:37
When you join the Barisan, you are automatically impossible to be corruptible!!! Remember the 2 ADUN in Perak who crossed over to BN what happened to the allegations esp when one of them even admitted to having sexual favours with a woman. Why the MACC don't investigate??? as i said MACC seemed to think that it is impossible for BN to be corrupted lah!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Everbright, July 23, 2009 09:48:31
Teoh was stranggled by his interrogators and died in their office. The guilty officers cook up a scheme to throw his body from the 14th floor so that it looks like suicide. Usually this type of murder is straight forward. Only the Police think otherwise because they now have to cover up the trail. The more poeple they question, the more theories and this will bring more confusion. The end result "unnatural death". Yes, only in Bolehland run by the corrupt despot and evil men will such things happen. I don't see any difference between M'sia and Myanmar. There they use guns to silent you. Here we use torture and "unnatural death" excuse.
written by ohuat, July 23, 2009 10:35:31
Why Teoh BH pant was torn? Was it because he was held over the edge by the pant to scare him to admit something but instead the pants torn and lead to his fall?
written by nincumpoop, July 23, 2009 10:38:05
The anti-corruption commission “is just another tool of UMNO,” said Haris Ibrahim, a Kuala Lumpur-based human rights lawyer.
I totally agrees ....For a mere RM2400.00...the case shot skyhigh...What about those that embezzelled with the millions.....like the new MB of Selangor predessor....clear-cut biased. If the govt want to be fair, those big fishes head must roll....and I don't think they care too much....
written by Lipanbara, July 23, 2009 11:59:35
There should be no cover-up.”
Police & MACC has to cover for Najib, how can the PM to ensure that??
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 23, 2009 15:44:11
Hishammuddin said yesterday the police investigation into Teoh’s death would be carried out “without fear or favor

KERISM, WE KNOW YOU B*ST*RDS NEVER HD ANY FEAR OR FAVOUR. WHY?? BECAUSE YOU BLOKES CONTROL ALL THE OTHER INSTITUTIONS OF POWER. AND WE KNOW WHAT THE DAMNED OUTCOME OF THIS INVESTIGATION WILL BE. ALREADY YR MSM PROPANGANDA ARE PLAYING THE RACIAL ISSUE TO DIVERT ATTENTION.
written by Susanna, July 23, 2009 18:49:41
Hey Khir Toyo, why suddenly so quiet? For mere, no proof nonsense RM2000 issue, Teoh died as a witness not even a suspect! Imagine Khir Toyo in his many ways such huge suspect wouldn't he be subject to 1000 times over the interrogations?
written by Mirage, July 24, 2009 00:11:53
MACC = Mesti Ada Campak Commission
written by Mirage, July 24, 2009 00:12:54
Khir is the one who ordered for this
written by Running Sardines, July 24, 2009 09:04:30
Definitely somebody knows what happened to the late Mr. Teoh. I just hope he /she still has conscience and let the whole Malaysia knows the truth. This is about death of a human and should not be covered up for whatever reasons.

As for MACC, I think it need to be revamp (even abolish) as it can never earn the trust and respect of the public anymore as gross double standards are seen in this RM2400 case vs RM24 million mansion, PKFZ and many others.
written by Jit Dharma, July 24, 2009 12:02:00
What is difficult? Have them all take a lie detector test, and
while we are at it ask Najib and Razak Baginda to take one too.
I am sure the FBI or Scotland Yard or even Interpol would be very
happy to oblige. No takers? Of course.Then ask them to go to the
National Mosque to swear on a copy of the Holy Koran.Guess which one
they will choose.
written by Jit Dharma, July 24, 2009 12:06:02
They will call Abang Haris a traitor to the Malays or as one
eloquent educated racist( you've got to love the educated racist!)
said, a 'chinese ass-licker'.
written by razzwill, July 24, 2009 12:34:49
"the public’s confidence in the police stood at 46 percent, and at 41 percent for the anti-corruption body". Considering their dismal performances, these percentages represent amazingly high values. I would've thought that less than 10 percent for each of these bodies would be more reflective of the rakyat's present state of awareness.
written by PresleyP, July 27, 2009 00:44:11
What is RM 2400 compared to the Toyol palace that is worth RM 24 million (even if Tan really took the money) ? You don't a nuclear scientist to work this out. And MACC (Malaysia Association of Corrupted Crony) is investigating Tan instead of Toyol. What about the properties that Toyol has in the Holy land (Mekah) ?

Toyol gets away with his millions and billions, MACC gets away with the murder and police get away with the murder of Kugan. It is very obvious that what is this new PM up to, despite of what he is preaching.

I had mentioned long ago that his entire career is politic. Human life and others including the country are just his seeds to be used to win the game. He does not mind to sacrifice some lives, shed some blood just to win the game.
A person who can C4 a woman who is carrying his own DNA can do anything for his own interest.

Those who believe in the candy that he gives, those who believe that PR is eroding the Malay's right and those who thinks that he is okay, go ahead and vote for him. I am preparing to pack my bag and get the freak out of this beloved country before my children shed their blood here.
written by jeevy, July 27, 2009 17:04:39
The opposition must get a court injuction,as soon as possible, to prevent the law-enforcement agencies to stop all interrogation unless and untill a lawyer is present if we dont want anymore "Teohs" and "Kugans" to die....