MACC PDF Print
Wednesday, 22 July 2009 15:06

The corruption inquest into Norza — as with the investigation into Selangor executive councillor Ean Yong, whom Teoh was an aide to — is widely believed to have been politically motivated.

The Nut Graph

THE Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) has come under considerable flak this past week, most severely with the death of Selangor state government aide Teoh Beng Hock. On 16 July 2009, Teoh was discovered dead on the fifth floor of Plaza Masalam, Shah Alam, after a gruelling interrogation lasting more than 10 hours until 3.45am at the Selangor MACC premises.

How did his death occur? This is still unknown, though police are not ruling out foul play. While theories as to the cause of Teoh's death abound, it is perhaps prudent not to jump to conclusions, but remain focused on a solid principle: the MACC's lack of procedural parameters or its non-adherence to standard operating procedures, should they exist.

Why was there not greater security at the MACC's office? Why was the welfare of those under the commission's custody treated in such a cavalier way, to the extent that a death occurred under its watch?

Is the MACC empowered to conduct interrogations — whether with witnesses or suspects — way past 3am, and for such a long duration? Even in police lockups, there is the 6am-to-6pm rule, the stipulated timeframe for suspects to be questioned.

What about the allegations made by Kajang municipal councillor Tan Boon Wah, who had also been interrogated by the anti-graft agency? On 17 July, Tan revealed that investigating MACC officers forced him to stand for four hours, threatened to "take away my wife", and called him "Cina bodoh".

written by technoboy, July 22, 2009 15:11:02
TAAB, what have you got to say about your baby, MACC, your so called reformed ACA with so much fanfare, apa sudah jadi sekarang?
written by ganbing, July 22, 2009 15:16:01
People fear the Police
Now they also fear the MACC
What's next?
Fear the JPJ and IRS?
written by Bujang79, July 22, 2009 15:38:41
People You can cry, feel miserable or angry, but it all comeback to square one.who is the government? Till the federal government change hands to PR and all these crooks are put in jail. it will never change.this will keep on happening. and its just like seasonal.last time it was Kugan, now Teoh.next? Anwar? Only God knows that.

Change the government for good, forget all the problems in PR, its small compared to all these conspiracy against the Rakyat.
written by krising1, July 22, 2009 16:12:01
The bar council should help the public on their rights.

If the officers come to take you away, they are arresting you. Then there must be charge. Ask for the charge if they are arresting you. If they are not arresting you, tell them to F.O. Ask them the time, date, place and reason to be present and you will be present. If you are a witness, they cannot search you or take away any of your property without your consent. The best answer to give to their questions, "I cannot remember". Dont sign anything unless you can read and understand what has been written.
written by amberamer, July 22, 2009 16:16:43
ha nasarudin.. kerajaan perpaduan konon.. how do u feel? stil xcited.. UMNO nie puk'mak n yg ko nak bawak PAS join tu buat apa? no brain to think huh? only nampak those RM n jawatan? go n join them now.. n u also can protect the bleddy MACC..
written by Mirage, July 22, 2009 16:57:43
If Najib is serious of his 1Malaysia for Unity statement, then the MACC's head gotto roll. There is no 2 ways abt it.
written by AlwaysFair, July 22, 2009 22:04:05
They are guity of shedding innocent blood. He was definitely still in their custody when he died.

At last I finally understood what 1Malaysia is about.

1Malaysia means only One Party for Malaysia is to be tolerated, any opposition must be exterminated at all cost, even to killing an innocent young man.

1Malaysia has two faces. I saw the Good face fleetingly but very soon the TRUE SINISTER face start to surface to my horror and disgust!!
written by pakasia, July 22, 2009 22:55:31
The officer in question of TBH's case attract the ghosts from hell to knock on his door every night until he breakdown and lose his mind. The ghosts from hell will not stop there to clean up the entire MACC.... just prepare to get more surprises as this revenge will be very sweet and last for very long time....

written by Mirage, July 22, 2009 22:58:53
MACC is now a "dirty 4 letter word".

When you say "MACC YOU"...what you really mean is "Fck YOU"

MACC is also good for ""Nothing.....What I mean is when you ask them MACC staff what did you do to that person and the answer from MACC is "Nothing" once again but someone actually died for that statement

MACC is also "Racist" ie :race to be first to pls the master"

MACC is finally "Corrupted"...... ie easily infected but hard to recover
written by lynn, July 22, 2009 23:11:36
krising1,

It's not so simple. If teoh had co-operated & backstabbed his boss, he would still be alive today.

These 3 critical institutions are under the control of umno - PDRM, MACC & the Judiciary. We are in a lose-lose situation. We are living in a very dangerous country, and the men in power will not hesitate to kill ... anything that stands in their way, will be eliminated fast, no pausing to consider consequences. Bcos there are no consequences for all of them. From now onwards, or earlier on, they will do as they so please.

There is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING you or anyone in bodohland can do to stop them. There is no stopping them. For this, we must once again, thank bn voters, profusely.
written by Wakeupmsia, July 23, 2009 02:20:16
MACC may have watched the 24 series. The difference is Jack Bauer uses his technique on terrorists whereas here, they use it on State Law Makers.
written by DontPlayGod, July 24, 2009 11:15:21
Tun AAB seems pleased as Punch that he formed MACC and the Judicial commission. But we all know that all these will come to nought. They will come back to haunt AAB and make him a laughing stock.
written by Stupid me, July 24, 2009 19:40:45
Are MACC & PDRM officers human beings or not. Do they ever sit and ponder over things. No, no, no i suppose. It is actually very difficult for a human being to kill or to see a stray dog or cat get killed.
written by Path Fighter To truth, July 24, 2009 21:45:49
A few years back my friend was arrested for buying stolen items.
He was given two choices. (A) To tell all such as the middle man and to set a trap for the seller or (B) They would sent some indonesion to rape his 15 years Daughter. My friend gave in to protect his daughter.
DIRTY BASTARD THEY WERE/////////
written by cheekhiaw, July 24, 2009 23:24:48
MACC - Murderers' and Criminals' Commission.