Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow What Teoh probe reveals so far...

What Teoh probe reveals so far... PDF Print
Wednesday, 22 July 2009 03:07

Mazlinda Mahmood, New Straits Times

SHAH ALAM: Police have completed 60 per cent of their investigations into Teoh Beng Hock’s death and this is what their probe has revealed so far.

1.Teoh’s handphone was not with him when he died;
  2. He died between 8am and 9am on Thursday; and,
  3. He was believed to have fallen from the 14th floor window.

Selangor police chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar revealed that Teoh’s handphone was in the possession of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission investigating officer who had earlier allowed him to go home. However, Khalid declined to comment when asked why the handphone was with the investigating officer when MACC was already done with questioning Teoh.

Teoh, the political aide to Selangor state executive councillor Ean Yong Hian Wah, was called in to help in investigations at 5pm on Wednesday at the MACC office in Plaza Masalam.

MACC had said he was discharged at 3.45am but was to return with several files later in the day. Teoh was however, found sprawled on the roof of the fifth floor of the building about 1.30pm on Thursday. On the handphone, Khalid said police seized it from the MACC officer on the day of the incident.

He said police were inspecting the SIM card to check who Teoh contacted before he died or who had called him. Khalid said initial findings from pathologists who conducted the postmortem put the time of death at between 8am and 9am on Thursday, some five hours before his body was found by a janitor.

“We believe Teoh may have fallen from the 14th floor of Plaza Masalam as a latch from a window there was found on the fifth floor, where the body was found,” he said after briefing Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan on the progress of the investigations here yesterday.

Closed-circuit television camera recordings showed that Teoh entered the building on the evening of July 15 but there were no footages of him leaving the place.

He said the case had been classified as a sudden death.

No arrests have been made.

Police have recorded statements from 25 MACC officers and 13 others, including janitors and workers at the building.

Police will also call in Ean Yong, Kota Alam Shah assemblyman M. Manoharan, Teoh’s family members and his friends.

Also on the list are two assistants of an assemblyman who were called in for questioning last Wednesday along with Teoh.

Khalid said checks revealed that Teoh had contacted Ean Yong and Manoharan before he turned up at the MACC office.

He was said to be a key witness in MACC’s probe of 12 Selangor Pakatan Rakyat assemblymen for alleged misappropriation of their allocation.

He was also to have registered his marriage to Soh Cher Wei, a teacher, on the day he died.

Soh is two months’ pregnant.

Meanwhile, Kajang municipal council member Tan Boon Wah spent several hours at the district police headquarters in Shah Alam yesterday having his statement recorded. Tan arrived about 8.50pm accompanied by his wife and lawyer. He was assisting police in their investigations into Teoh’s death. Tan is also helping investigations into claims of physical and mental torture that he allegedly suffered while being questioned by MACC officers.

Tan went to the Selangor MACC headquarters on the same day as Teoh and is believed to be the last person to see him alive.

written by storm62, July 22, 2009 03:17:25
anyway, how many per cent have they covered uo so far?
written by wongnoball, July 22, 2009 03:24:50
I Never bought NSTP, Star, BH, Utusan, Nanyang, sin chew...or any MSM for 15 years....

Everyday I am reminded by the same decision why ...ALL MSM are UMNO propoganda, SPIN machine that tells lies....why give you one more cent to help keep your Dispicable, unethical MURDEROUS JOBS. Your reporting for 50 years have Justify and make UMNO believe Murder and Killing is Acceptable. Burn your own printing Press and live with some dignity is the only way to win back repect from Rakyat. Meanwhile.....no one will PAY to read your SH*T!!

It's Murder no matter how you spin it on Teoh.
written by educationist, July 22, 2009 03:26:50
If that's what the police has to report for these few days investigation, I will say it really shows a lack of professionalism on their part.
Which is why a Royal Commission of Inquiry is imperative.
Justice for Beng Hock!
written by edwardh, July 22, 2009 04:31:21
This is the media trick. Just feed you with repeated information that is worthless. But it keeps you reading, tiring you out, let your mind feel that it had absorbed information about this case and is "satisfied".The mind works like an appetite so.People are easily fooled. But we are not stupid here.Why MACC lied?

Before: he wanted to sleep there to save time due to interview in the afternoon.
Friends: NOT POSSIBLE, he had wedding registration to attend.
NOW: He was supposed to go back and return with files
My Question: Shouldn't no one be allowed to loiter around MACC premises unescorted, let alone sleep on the corridor? You want us to believe that? How often do you see homeless people sleeping in MACC? Who will be responsible when documents go missing? This is Official Secret Act is it?
written by mikewang, July 22, 2009 06:54:41
"Tan went to the Selangor MACC headquarters on the same day as Teoh and is believed to be the last person to see him alive."

Nope ... I don't buy this.
Every sane person would believe that the last person to see him alive is the murderer.
written by Hakim Joe, July 22, 2009 08:14:43
Still 60%? The truth is that these people are waiting for Najib to return [today] to make the decision.

written by Ken Liew, July 22, 2009 08:44:47
THINK!! Logicly, falling from 14th floor, and still manage to get his body in 1 piece, WOW! he must have hack of a skull. Easy to think of that. How many cracked skull and bones does the body has??

Remember the community advertisment, when the speed of the motocycle reached 80km/hour, hitting a hard object, is like dalling from 8th floor.

So, 14th floor, what will happen??
written by Richfyf, July 22, 2009 09:56:00
Teoh was ROBBED and killed after he was RELEASED by MACC. He was killed by GANGSTERS. This is what I read from newspaper.

There might be some truth. Police later recovered his personal items, Handphone wallet etc from the ROBBER!! Its an open and shut case. If a person is found dead and his personal belonging is found on another person; That person is the PRIME suspect. FULL STOP

Since the police find Teoh personal belonging with the MACC we can conclude that The MACC is the Gangster that ROBBED and MURDER Teoh.
written by ron46, July 22, 2009 10:12:16
Its a delay thing going on, they trying to fabricate false details clearing MACC
written by supplier, July 22, 2009 11:12:52
From the details revealed so far,imagine Teoh could be pushed half of his body out of the window with someone/s holding on to his legs and/or pants. One of teoh's hand was struggling to hold on to the latch of the window to stop himself from falling. Teoh might be afraid of height and wanted to get back into the building so kicking and struggling occurred.
with Teoh's actions(struggling to get back in) the person/s holding on to him continue to push Teoh's body forward and lost grip causing Teoh to drop holding the latch and his pants torn. This is only an imagination and theory on what had happened.
written by jaz, July 22, 2009 14:11:35
Richfyf,

Not neccessarily so, the murderer could have easily remove his belongings to fake a robbery.
written by Mirage, July 22, 2009 17:06:55
What abt the torn pants of Teoh? What is that .....maybe it was the MACC interogator holding him by the pants and threatening to throw him out of the window ledge and during the struggle the pant tore and he fell....that is why no other bruises.

MACC, ....come clean and fck yourself. You are currently and will be for sometime to come the most hated agency. MAybe you should change back to ACA.....

written by Fart Fart Wah, July 23, 2009 01:11:54
He waz dead...murdered and thrown off the 14th flooor..
..even the bomohs are talking now............
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 24, 2009 14:16:53
He said the case had been classified as a sudden death

WELL I WAS RIGHT ON ABOVE. NEXT, THEY WILL SAY NFA AS
HE REFUSED TEH TARIK OFFER AND SUDDENLY DECIDED TO JUMP.