Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow The Parent Action Group for Education (PAGE)

The Parent Action Group for Education (PAGE) PDF Print
Tuesday, 21 July 2009 19:30

By Datin Noor Azimah Abdul Rahim, Chair
Parent Action Group for Education (PAGE)

The Parent Action Group for Education (PAGE) met with several key PTA Chairmen or their representatives today at a closed-door session to brainstorm its next course of action.

Earlier, the Prime Minister had expressly stated that due consideration may be given to schools that desire to maintain the teaching of science and math in English (SMI) in their schools, either primary or secondary.

All schools that want to do so are advised to urge its PTA to convene an Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) to agree to maintain the policy and to convert the status of the school from Sekolah Kebangsaan (SK) or Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan (SMK) to SK(SMI) or SMK(SMI). Failing that, parents are to initiate a signature drive to garner support for the cause indicating the name of the school, the name of the parent and the age of the child.

Meanwhile, PAGE urges the Ministry of Education to conduct its own studies as to which schools have benefited from the policy and which desire to maintain it.

Parents and stakeholders are also strongly urged to write to the Malay press (Berita Harian , Utusan Malaysia) seeking for the fourth option, that is, to maintain the policy in your school.

For secondary schools that want to retain the English option, you are encouraged to work with your primary feeder schools, to do likewise, to ensure the continuity of learning and to maintain the standards already proudly upheld by your school.

It is most important that

PAGE needs to know the names of the schools interested. We need the numbers to succeed. Let us help each other out.

Copies of all EGM resolutions or signatures will be sent to PAGE for compilation and which will be forwarded to the Prime Minister in due course. PAGE may be contacted via email at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit our blog at PAGE Malaysia .

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by *********, July 21, 2009 21:07:55
Earlier, the Prime Minister had expressly stated that due consideration may be given to schools that desire to maintain the teaching of science and math in English (SMI) in their schools, either primary or secondary.

How can anyone trust Najib of his BN/Umno regime...More http://*********.********.com

written by Oscar Winner, July 21, 2009 21:37:35
No need to change name of schools. Just have both languages as the medium in the same school and let the parents decide which medium they want their kids to attend, like how it used to be before.
written by onnetline, July 21, 2009 21:47:40
Parents and stakeholders are also strongly urged to write to the Malay press (Berita Harian , Utusan Malaysia) seeking for the fourth option, that is, to maintain the policy in your school.

.............. writing to UMNOs toilet paper companies and have the statistics distorted to mislead the public ? ? ?
written by onnetline, July 21, 2009 22:58:22
Racist UMNOs corrupted bastards !
written by ATSaari, July 21, 2009 23:38:48
Did you hear what I hear?.........................flip..........................flop.....................flip.............................flop.......flip.....flip..flip..flop..flip..flop..flip..flop
written by Beng, July 21, 2009 23:48:59
Don't those goons in gomen know that they are turning this country backwards? They send their children for overseas education on taxpayers money and leave us poor rakyat to suffer. Those goons don't care at all what happens to this country.

I have many words to say concerning those goons, but admin will probably censor my comments.
written by farah, July 21, 2009 23:50:59
THE LATEST TACTICS BY POWER CRAZY MALAYSIAN PM NAJIP "POLITICISING" THE MALAYSIAN EDUCATION SYSTEM.
written by Apache3, July 22, 2009 02:21:59
My personal appeal to PAGE...

PLEASE TELL THE GOVT ESP MUHIDIN TO REVERT THE EDUCATION SYSTEM TO PRE 1970 THAT IS TO HAVE SCHOOLS (PRIMARY AND SECONDARY) IN ALL MEDIUMS (ENGLISH, MALAY, CHINESE AND TAMIL) AND LET THE PARENTS CHOOSE WHICH MEDIUM THEY WANT THEIR CHILDREN TO ATTEND. ANYTHING SHORT OF THIS AMOUNTS TO SHORTCHANGING THE RAKYAT AS TO THE FUTURE OF THEIR CHILDREN. I AM SURE MANY OF THE READERS HERE WOULD AGREE TO THIS SYSTEM OF EDUCATION.
TQ