Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow DPP not willing to give documents to Anwar

DPP not willing to give documents to Anwar PDF Print
Tuesday, 21 July 2009 13:45

(Bernama) - The prosecution Monday filed a motion to postpone the implementation of the High Court order for the provision of the documents sought by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim before the start of hearing on his sodomy trial.

The notice was filed at the High Court's Criminal Division here at 2 pm, signed by Datuk Nordin Hassan, one of the Deputy Public Prosecutors for the sodomy case.

Also filed with the notice was an immediate recommendation that the case be heard as soon as possible. However, the court had yet to fix a date for the hearing.

On July 16, Justice Datuk Mohamad Zabidin Mohd Diah allowed Anwar's application and ordered the prosecution to supply the documents concerned within seven days.

Another Deputy Public Prosecutor, Shamsul Sulaiman, when asked about the postponement in providing the documents, said the court must hear the application before Thursday because the seven-day deadline would end on that day.

Anwar, 62, was charged with sodomising his former aide, Mohd Saiful, 24, at a condominium at Bukit Damansara, here on June 26 last year. The court had fixed July 24 for mention of Anwar's application to set aside the sodomy charge against him and the date for mention of the case.

written by Sword of Justice, July 21, 2009 13:53:13
We all know why. Something to hide? Prosecution by ambush.It does not take a rocket scientist to figure out now that this case is BN s political prosecution.
written by storm62, July 21, 2009 14:10:43
anwar might stand a better chance in the Syariah court.

no way he will survive in a kangaroo court.
written by smalluncle, July 21, 2009 14:35:59
Its a blatant DISRESPECT and contempt of COURT. Who they think they are? Raja di Malaysia? Bodoh punya olang! smilies/shocked.gif
written by Fairminded, July 21, 2009 15:10:42
Isnt it ironically that his Royal Highness of Perak had just mentioned that a fair and just judiciary is the key to the rule of law and the respect of the courts and this DPP had just about thumbing his nose at the judiciary as if he is above the law. He should be thrown out or into jail for contempt of the court. However, since the whole judiciary is under the control of BN/UMNO, it is just a joke. So your highness, save your breath because the new royalty is the UMNOPUTERAS.
written by technoboy, July 21, 2009 15:26:03
This is an OUTRIGHT and BLATANT display of arrogance of UMNO rule and disruption of justice, Malaysia is in a state of anarchy with critical institutions like judiciary, AG, MACC and PDRM so blatantly abused by UMNO.
written by rocky, July 21, 2009 15:43:18
apa nak takut kalau benar? ini dah nampak macam ada udang sebalik batu. Orang yang tak salah selalu dikenakan on BN/UMNO. apa nak jadi?

one is innocent till proven guilty, ask Azalina who was screaming this when she got visited by MACC. so you give him what he needs since you claim have a good case when you wanted to go after him. we all know it is a BS case but hell the judges are in your pocket(lucky not all judges) thus you want to screw Anwar.
written by IbnAbdHalim, July 21, 2009 15:56:38
There is no justice in a kangaroo court!
Go to hell with UMNO!
written by cllim123, July 21, 2009 16:03:22
How can a man defend himself if he does not know what he is faced with? An accused must face his accuser. That is his fundamental right. This prosecution team is playing cloak and dagger prosecution and Anwar has to guess what he is facing to prepare his case. This way the prosecution team can shift the goal posts as and when Anwar comes up with a good defence. They played this game in the 1st episode 11 years ago.
written by rpremkumar2u, July 21, 2009 16:50:05
Another mattress episode?
written by Hello Keithy, July 21, 2009 16:55:19
Everything is fabricated. Come on you limbs of UMNO, have you anything new ? It's the same old trick. But come to think of it, how can one teaches a dead dog to do new tricks ?
written by Wakeupmsia, July 21, 2009 17:20:01
You can't give the documents because THERE IS NONE!
Fabricated documents? You pray 5times a day? RPK is Right!
written by Lipanbara, July 21, 2009 17:32:01
Not suprise...Rakyat knows very well the gameplan of UMNO...ironically, SUltan Azlan just adviced about "free & fair" trial..someone does give a hoot about this...memang DERHAKA
written by tino_chan1988, July 21, 2009 18:45:37
All cocks and bullshit!
written by jasongaust, July 21, 2009 20:33:42
I have just waken up from an induced coma but remembered quite clearly the good Sultan was talking and acting very unfairly on the Perak crisis just before I lapsed into that long sleep.
Has the same good Sultan passed away when I was sleeping and am I just reading the inaugal speech by the new Sultan of Perak?

written by verifunny, July 21, 2009 21:56:22
DPP should just declare that it's his family court. He does what he likes. No need to bother by the book of law. Malay rights but it is not applicable to Malay from opposition party.

I wonder how many of those Malay politician are pure Malays. Aren't Malaysia ruled by Mamak in the past? Why are they talking about protecting Malays rights? I am confused.
written by ganbing, July 21, 2009 23:11:48
Why so scared to give the relevant documents to Anwar as required under the law? If you have a good case, what are you scared of, UMNO DOGS??

You can convict Anwar with your kangaroo court but you'll never convince Malaysians. And next elections we'll show you who's the boss!
written by Kathy, July 22, 2009 01:26:56
If the court has ordered the Prosecution team to provide Anwar's defence team with the documents requested surely there should be no appeal? Why the request for postponement? So that they can tamper with the documents? Where is the free and fair judiciary that the Sultan of Perak was talking about? The govt. hasn't learnt its lesson from the MACC tragedy, has it?