Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Zhao Mingfu & the MACC Death Question

Zhao Mingfu & the MACC Death Question PDF Print
Monday, 20 July 2009 21:46

In Malaysia, the question is finally asked: Are you Chinese?

By Shuzheng

It has been said that Thomas Mann, the German novelist (Felix Krull, Death in Venice) arriving in New York from escaping Nazism, was asked the question about his cultural heritage since he had fled his homeland. His reply: “Wherever I am, I’m German (culture).” 

While being subjected to ridicule, “Cina bodoh” (stupid Chinese), Tan Boon Wah, the Kajang municipal councillor, was asked by an MACC interrogator if he was from China. But Tan’s disclosure leaves out a critical piece of another information: What was his answer?

Almost routinely, it appears, MACC interrogators asked the same sort of question or related questions. To Dariff Din, an assistant to the Selangor state legislator Lau Weng San, the interrogator asked him if he was Malay or Chinese.

Both men were not the subjects of an ongoing MACC investigations, supposedly for corruption; rather, they were called in to offer evidences. So was Teoh Beng Hock, accurately Zhao Mingfu (赵明福). What might the MACC officers have asked him? More pertinently, what had they said to him? Or, how had they insulted him?

The picture drawn by Tan and Dariff is uniformly clear: the MACC do not expend niceties on citizenship assistance in an investigation or to prefer questions pertinent to the same. Instead, they were more interested and eager to insult, to ridicule and to harangue the Chinese (or Chinese-looking) politicians that challenge the Umno government. This is not new; in Parliament, the Chinese is told to leave the country. A Chinese, especially if political, in front of immigration, police, the road transport office, or the anti-corruption agency, MACC, is always a liability.

More than anybody else, the former premier Mahathir Mohamad must bear responsibility for this racism, promoted in his pseudo social commentary, The Malay Dilemma where he virtually invented Malay grievances and directed them to the Chinese as the primary cause. This is racism par excellence because it mirrors the way Nazism pinned the problems of the entire German nation on the Jews.

written by Hakim Joe, July 20, 2009 21:56:28
This is purely hypothetical and have nothing to do with the above article but could Teoh had been secretly recording part of the interrogation on his handphone and was discovered? Makes one wonder just exactly why his handphone was missing and turned up three days later in the hands of the MACC investigator.

agree 124
written by Mirage, July 20, 2009 22:07:49
Firstly Mahathir only sees what he want to see.
1. Did he comment on the injustice on Teoh?
2. He commented on Khir becoz Khir had openly critise him
3. He commented on the bridge becoz his idea was sideline. Was the bridge that important?
4. He commented on Badawi becoz the latter did not listen to him
5. He commented on negatively on ISA though he was using it happily when he was the PM
written by lampard, July 20, 2009 22:18:42
Hakim Joe,
I agree with you! Spot on! That has to be the reason why he was tossed out of the window!
written by onnetline, July 20, 2009 23:15:11
We hope and pray that the Almighty ALLAH will punish these corrupted UMNOs Muslim racists and ' murderers ' !
written by Kuku Burung, July 20, 2009 23:27:41
Racism among the government officers (mostly UMNO connected) is not uncommon. It is a deep-rooted sick mentality.
written by malsia1206, July 20, 2009 23:31:38
And maybe 'are you a muslim' as well? The reality has to sink in.
written by HamChak, July 20, 2009 23:42:09
Yes, you are koret Shuzheng.
It was Mahathir that started all those Racism Culture.
He must be very HAPPY to see TBH was murdered by the RACIST MACC.
May the father of Racism be cursed to Hell.
By the way, where is his Racist Dog, that Maddias? Should'nt that dog
be barking?
written by johanssm, July 20, 2009 23:58:43
I agree 100% with the writer " Shuzheng ".
I am always asked "Eh , you ni melayu ke ? nama Melayu " or " Encik , you ni muslim ?,
at nearly all my encounters with govt dept be it the immigration , national registration , business registration , the polis , dewan bandaraya and former (malay) teachers.
Normally , i will say Yes, datuk saya melayu and will get a service with a smile! I know the tricks well.

The only occasion i experience saying "No , saya ni Cina" was to the polis who stopped me twice for nothing. And guess what?
They ( the polis ) examined my MyKad and driving license for more than 12 minutes as if i am an illegal foreigner .
Just because i said i am a Cina. Is it because they (polis_ expects Cina will pay Kopi-O money?

you see , our merdeka have no meaning even after half a century.
1Malaysia is just a pretty name and just an empty slogan.
Umno/bn with the helps from some incompetent royal families , medias , ulamaks completely destroyed meaningful integration in a multiracial society that we had during the Malaya or British era.
written by James Loh, July 21, 2009 01:03:39
I look like Chinese and talk like a Chinese. Also, culturally I may be practicing Chinese culture till I work in mainland and Taiwan Chinese. After working at Chinese, I realized that I'm a Malaysian. The culture that I've been practicing is rojak. It's a mixture of Malay, Indian and Chinese culture. Saya bukan Melayu, India, Cina, Iban, Kadazan, etc tetapi orang Malaysia.
written by lynn, July 21, 2009 01:11:55
Malaysia is truly Bodohland cum Bolehland.

Bodoh because GE after GE, these morons called bn voters vote stupidly to give absolute power to the very people who robbed them blind. Now, how stupid can they get? They got maggots wriggling inside their craniums.

Boleh because all crimes by the so-called elite go unpunished. Look at that indon dentist, big bungalow of RM24 million but for these men at MACC, it's business as usual. These men at MACC are Muslims who pray 5 times a day, yet no action against corrupt politicians.

So is bribery & ill-gotten wealth halal or what?

Only in this highly corrupt nation can we see so many thousands of major corruption cases "unsolved" in the sense that the culprits are all walking around scot-free, openly flaunting their wealth with palaces in Klang, Shah Alam, Damansara Heights, etc. Their garage full of Mercedes, BMW Sports, 4WDs, Harley Davidson, Ferraris.

Just this afternoon, I saw a small fleet of cars that looked like Ferraris or Lamborghinis heavily escorted by police as they flew down the highway heading south. Dats what we pay our taxes for - to serve only a certain group of people. Our taxes are paid - taxation without representation, that aptly describes the majority of us, esp. we non-malays. No bumi status, being insulted repeatedly as cina babi, cina bodoh, lu balek Cina, lu pendatang... lu infidel.
written by Hello Keithy, July 21, 2009 01:13:18
Is this what Najib's 1Malaysia is all about ? Still bothered by the Chinese community ? Can't even tolerate after all these years ? I understand tolerance is part of your believe and what your religion preaches. Today, I decided not to emigrate and stay put to continue bothering you bastards if that's the case. I will stay in this country and fight for justice. I will use my ballot wisely and preciously to make sure this kind of nonsense stops.
written by technoboy, July 21, 2009 08:31:16
Hakim Joe, you are spot on, these MACC bustards must have discovered something very detrimental to them to indulge in such extreme action or alternatively they were trying to scare the hell out of Teoh BH by dangling him at the window and in the process the mishap happened and poor Teoh paid for this life in the hands of MACC crooks.
written by Bigjoe99, July 21, 2009 09:05:56
Mahathir and the goons who was breast-fed is philosophy are fanning the race card at this time the same way UMNO Youth in May 13, 1969. Old dogs don't learn new tricks. They become too full of themselves to learn anything new.

One thing that has to be remembered. When PR takes over and it will because BN can't change, they need an answer to control the army and police.
written by Rhan, July 21, 2009 09:17:50
Shuzheng,

I find that your articles are not easy to digest, perhaps due to my comprehension capability and your very vague stand. I think it is not wrong for some Malaysian Chinese that wanted to be more Malaysian and we should respect their choice. Btw, Nathaniels is just a kid and don’t you think we should praise him for his courage to speak his mind and do what he is doing now? Why keeps on ridicule his eagerness to be more Malaysian? I still think to create the balance is our priority. To achieve this, we need the support of every diverse mind. EVERYONE.
written by bikerzon, July 21, 2009 09:58:24
Now I'm thinking of arm struggle like what Che Guevara did for Cuba...

Only this way, we can achieve freedom and justice for Malaysia...
written by Apache3, July 22, 2009 03:30:49
To the many skeptics here be informed that Dr.M holds an invisible magic wand which is very powerful that AAB and KJ got skewered as a result his son the looser got to become a deputy minister.