Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Teoh’s death: Mysteries abound, RCI without delay

Teoh’s death: Mysteries abound, RCI without delay PDF Print
Monday, 20 July 2009 10:27

By Kim Quek

Teoh Beng Hock’s tragic death seems to have jolted this country from the euphoric daze induced by the media blitz that has glorified Najib Razak’s premiership. Staring starkly at the people now is the image of a rotten state of depraved institutions, of which the obnoxious Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) represents but the tip of the iceberg.

This rotten state was mercilessly exposed during the entire infamy known as the Perak power grab where none of the government institutions were spared from political manipulations to engage in unconstitutional and unlawful activities to satiate UMNO’s obsession to seize and preserve power at all costs.

In this context, none should be so naïve as not to recognise that Teoh is the victim of political persecution, the latest in a series of hardly concealed acts of subversion and sabotage against Pakatan Rakyat (PR) since the Mar 8, 2008 election exposed UMNO’s precarious political future. In the present incident, MACC is in the midst of an operation to destabilise the Pakatan-controlled Selangor state government through endeavours to prosecute PR assemblymen, for which it has been busy fabricating the necessary evidence through threats and coercion of potential witnesses. And Teoh Beng Hock is clearly a victim of physical intimidation and mental torture under such a process.

That this was the case was indicated by Kajang municipal councilor and businessman Tan Boon Wah, who was interrogated at the same time (though separately) as Teoh Beng Hock was interrogated (both of them were called in as witnesses, not suspects). Tan described in graphic details how he was physically abused and mentally tortured to falsely admit (which he refused) that he did not supply the 1,500 flags at the price of RM 2,400 to the constituency (Seri Kembangan) of assemblyman Ean Yong Hian Wah (whose political secretary was Teoh Beng Hock), implying that Ean Yong had corruptly pocketed the money. Teoh Beng Hock was understood to have been worked on to yield the result against Ean Yong.

Tan Boon Wah also disclosed racial insults thrown at him during the interrogation, thus reinforcing an earlier allegation of racially biased persecution as all the seven assemblymen presently under investigation by MACC for suspicion of misappropriation of state allocations are ethnic Chinese. This view was further collaborated by Dariff Din (a Malay assistant to assemblyman Lau Weng San), who was also interrogated at the same time as Teoh and Tan. Dariff said the interrogators were obsessed with his racial identity as he looked like a Chinese; and spent the bulk of the interrogation time just to make sure that he was as claimed – a Malay.  Dariff said: “everything went smoothly after they learned that I was a Malay Muslim”. He added that from what he observed, MACC was merely “fishing for evidence against Pakatan assemblymen” without any specific clue of corruption.

Against such background, the various authorities’ calls to the public not to hurl accusations but to trust the police to conduct a “professional and thorough” investigation is taken by many as an insult to their intelligence, as if the public is unaware that these two law enforcers - MACC and police - have long been perceived as routinely playing a game of “you scratch my back, I scratch yours”, the latest being the MACC’s recent exoneration of the Inspector General of Police Musa Hassan of alleged fabrication of evidence in the Anwar “black eye” probe, despite the presentation of incontrovertible evidence to the contrary by Anwar Ibrahim. So, can anyone be blamed for being skeptical, thinking that it is now pay-back time for the police to return MACC the favour?

SERIOUS DOUBTS

Now that the police has said the initial pathologists’ report indicated Teoh died of injury due to a fall from a high place, the mystery is zeroed in on the circumstances surrounding Teoh’s fall from the building. It is here that serious doubts have surfaced over MACC’s version of what happened to Teoh.

Issue 1: Was Teoh ever released by MACC?

MACC chief commissioner Said Hamdan has disclaimed responsibility for Teoh’s death on the ground that Teoh was released before he met his death.

His director of investigations Shukri Abdul had earlier claimed that Teoh was released at 3:30 am on July 16, and was last seen at 6 am sleeping on a couch in the MACC office after been given permission to rest there. The next MACC heard of Teoh was when a cleaner in the building shouted that he discovered a body lying on the 5th storey balcony of the building (Plaza Masalam in Shah Alam) where Teoh was interrogated on the 14th floor. 

This story implies that Teoh walked out of the office on his own without being seen, sometime after 6 am. But Teoh couldn’t have done that as he did not have the electronic card to open the door to either leave or enter the office. 

If Teoh was released, surely his handphone must have been returned to him. How come his handphone was not with him when his body was found?

Besides, there was no credibility that Teoh had chosen to linger in the same office where he must have been subjected to many hours of traumatic roughing-up in the hands of the interrogators. Any reasonable person would have rushed home at the first instance to escape the dreadful place, considering that his car was conveniently parked in the same building and that he was scheduled to register his marriage with his loved one on the same day.

If indeed Teoh was in custody all the time, why should MACC have concealed this fact if it did no wrong to cause Teoh’s death?

Issue 2: What happened between 1:30 pm and 5:00 pm?

Though Teoh’s body was discovered at 1:30, it was not until after 5 pm that MACC disclosed the news to assemblymen Ean Yong and Ronnie Liu who had been waiting for over an hour in the MACC office insisting to meet Teoh Beng Hock. Why should MACC have hidden the news for so long unless there were compelling reasons which in all probability might not be guilt-free?

Issue 3: Why was the outer timber door of the MACC office unprecedentedly closed for some half an hour at the time when someone discovered Teoh’s body?

The Chinese section of Malaysiakini.com reported on July 17 that its reporter Rahmah Ghazali observed an inexplicable happening at the MACC office at the 14th floor, where the outer timber door was mysteriously shut between 1:15 pm and 1:35 pm, and re-opened shortly before 1:50 pm on July 16.

Rahmah explained that she first arrived at the MACC’s 14th floor office at 1:15 to attend a press conference to be given by assemblyman Lau Weng San. Seeing that no one was around, she went down to the 4th floor to wait at the reception hall. When other reporters arrived at 1:30, she followed them to the 14th floor again, but was surprised to find the outer timber door of the MACC office closed; it was then about 1:35. Thinking that the staff could have closed the door to go for lunch, she and other reporters went down for food. She then called Lau Weng San who expressed disbelief that the timber door was closed, as MACC was supposed to operate around the clock. Knowing that Lau was already on the way, she decided to skip lunch and went back to 14th floor, and found the timber door re-opened this time; the time was about 1:50. Lau arrived at 2 pm. After talking to reporters for about 20 minutes outside the MACC office, he went in to make a report. Of course, none of them knew that Teoh Beng Hock was already dead then.

1:30 was the time when someone discovered Teoh’s body. Why did MACC take the unprecedented step to shut down the office briefly, closing the door between 1:15 and 1:35, and re-opening the door shortly before 1:50? What did the staff do behind that timber door at that crucial moment that they would not want outsiders to see? The mystery seems to deepen.

ROYAL COMMISSION THE ONLY OPTION

In summary, it is apparent that MACC is holding far too many secrets that it has not shared with the public over this tragedy, which is aptly defined by Lim Kit Siang as “how a healthy, vibrant and idealistic young political worker could enter the MACC hqrs as a witness in its investigation only to end up as a corpse in a plunge from the 14th floor of the building”.

Entrusting the full responsibility on any of the existing law-enforcing agencies to unlock these secrets would not do, as none enjoys public confidence.

There is no option but to appoint a royal commission of inquiry comprised of competent individuals whom the public trusts to handle the present mess, if Najib does not want the mistrust of his leadership to deepen. And not a minute is to be wasted for this commission to spring into action, if vital clues needed to establish the truth is not to be lost for ever.

written by Ken Liew, July 20, 2009 10:32:55
So... Tips to the CID (Cheap Internal Directly) Question urself.. who will benifit most for the death of teoh??

Just like the C4 case... Who benifit most of the Murder... thats "where" you should start!! But logicly this is not the proper procedure of Polis... They need to wait for their Head to tell them what to do... as if they have no brains... Polis squard without brains, thats Malaysia Boleh~!
written by KotaDamansara73, July 20, 2009 10:33:44
UMNO cultivates the evil of Malays in MACC, PDRM, BTN, AG, Utusan Melayu, Berita Harian and all the local universities in Malaysia. These institutions are the incubators of the Malay evils.

Just like the Nazis of Germany, Talibans and Al - Qaedas, whom are the evils of the Islam and entire humananity.
written by Running Sardines, July 20, 2009 10:36:11
Even with a Royal Commission, we might not get the full justice. For those who caused the late Mr. Teoh death, you might escaped human's justice but you will be answerable to God in Judgement Day. Panas panas ini dunia, panas lagi neraka.
written by asguard, July 20, 2009 10:36:49
It raise more questions than answer that public is asking for... and yet all blaming should rests on UMNO link institution MACC! Coming elections ...they will pay for the price dearly!
written by Mark C, July 20, 2009 10:42:17
whatever it is, July 16th 2009 is the defining moment in the history of Malaysia. It's when the rakyat declared D-day to the tyranny of the BeeEnd.
written by fireduck, July 20, 2009 10:47:53
Just like Altantuya, the name of Teoh Beng Hock may soon be banned from being uttered in public. Will we allow our human rights to be curtailed further?
written by by2020, July 20, 2009 10:53:36
Someone dead in MACC, and the name for those last with him shall be easily known. Yet no body is detained up to now! This by itself will have indiacated something terribly wrong with the police investigation!

Royal Commission is the only way to find out the truth!
written by fknajib, July 20, 2009 10:53:39
Don't bother about a Royal Commission, its just a waste of taxpayer money. What happened to the last one? The Lingham tapes? The Kugan investigation? PKFTZ? We have been demanding a fair and just royal commission for far too long and too many times. It always resulted in NFA, No Further Action, that doesn't go anywhere. Just save your strength and vote out BN. That would wield a better result then all this call for a royal commission that is just a smoke screen to "appease" the public.
http"//fakenajib.********.com
written by ibabonma, July 20, 2009 11:01:07
Why Teoh Beng Hock should decides to commit suicide soon after being interrogated between 5.00 pm to 3.45 am (almost 11hrs) and after having a good rest and sleep, at least, till 6.00 am? Was he that depressed and committed suicide? No, it is an irrational proposition, totally absurd.

You think it’s that easy for a normal human to take away his own life after having a good sleep???

written by NSTPravda, July 20, 2009 11:03:38
Teoh’s death: Mysteries abound, RCI without delay

Aiyah, what mysteries are these.... our MACC manufactured fairy tales are the best that your money can buy lah!

We at MACC provide valuable serbis to our tuans in UMNO and the government...

Our truth will be the best that your tax money can buy.
written by Counterpointer, July 20, 2009 11:09:05
I used to think that RCIs would be an absolutely waste of time and tax payer's monies as they will all just be NFA-ed.(No Further Action-ed).

Then again, they would ultimately be good for the Pakatan gomen when they take over. There would be no need to do all the RCIs again from scratch - they would just take the necessary actions from where RCIs were left off.

Yes, We need an RCI without delay for Teoh's death.
written by Navigator, July 20, 2009 11:09:24
It is a fact thaty we have a facist government and with all the agencies under its control. These agencies only serve UMNO. Though it claims to protect Malay interests, Malays who oppose UMNO are treated the same way as non-Malays.

To this day, neither MIC, MCA or Gerakan has issued any statement on the morality of the matter. We know them for what they are. They dare not speak out on issues of human rights when it offends UMNO.

The Malays have to realise that, under their name and rights, UMNOputras are stealing from them as well. UMNO robs Malays of their rights.
written by technoboy, July 20, 2009 11:13:38
Najis, THE ROT STARTS FROM THE HEAD, always remember this from LL SHIT, your fellow corrupted comrades.
written by Liberace, July 20, 2009 11:17:02
Enough pussy-footing with the Royal Commission. If we're lucky, it will confirm what we already know. And then what? Nothing. Zilch. NFA. No change will come except by the hands of the people. Unfortunately, we a nation of people fat on hope and lean on courage.
written by lamakawan, July 20, 2009 11:17:28
The opposition Pakatan Rakyat must call for an emergency session of Parliament to convene a meeting to demand a Royal Commission of Enquiry to investigate the real causes of the death of Teoh Beng Hock while under MACC probe.
***** AGREE or DISAGREE
written by tenang, July 20, 2009 11:28:15

You think it’s that easy for a normal human to take away his own life after having a good sleep???

ibabonma,

That is very good one. Someone wakes up, feels fresher than before he slept, and then feels ready to kill himself.

All Malaysians' brains are insulted!
written by JJays, July 20, 2009 11:38:48
Dear Kim Quek,

I think you are helping MACC with your question's which needed to answered by them. They may not any idea of such raised question! Now, they can get prepared. I think we should wait until the RCI setup. Then, we can throw thousand question. At least, RCI will note some question's from it.However, your questions are real fact. Good point's.

Anyway, It's my views only.
written by *********, July 20, 2009 11:44:56
How to trust a Royal Commission when the impartiality of the Royals are in doubt...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by SamSan, July 20, 2009 12:10:51
We need to cooperate and upload on the net and youtube, photographs,video,etc including name, addresses,etc of all these AMENO / BN warlords and their family members in Malaysia and overseas enjoying their ill gotten loot. This is exactly what Che Det did to bring down Badawi and Family members by getting his covert group of bloggers to upload private photographs of Badawi and Family private functions and activities to embarass Tun Badawi and family. We the rakyat need to learn from Che Det on how to effectively use the same blooger technique to bring down these pariah scumbag evil syaitan AMENO / BN warlords who are bent on misusing to the hilt all the law enforcement agencies and the pariah BN media to further protect the own interests and interests of their family, friends and cronies. We can start the ball rolling with exposure of Khir Toyo and his family members, friends and cronies for a start, then extend it to other scumbag and slimeball AMENO / BN warlords, their families and cronies. We all should learn to play the same game as Che Det played and is still playing to level the playing field.
written by storm62, July 20, 2009 12:16:19
"You think it’s that easy for a normal human to take away his own life after having a good sleep???" - ibabonma

right on, ibabonma...i guess some people can have a good sleep after the killed someone!!! maybe najis and big mama can explain this!!!
written by Msian Idol3, July 20, 2009 13:12:25
Its time we call on the "Hell's Angels" to intervene on behalf of the Msian rakyat. I mean not the ones riding on cool bikes with tattoos all over & a fat beer belly kind, but the real ones to send crooks in power to HELL. This would be my prayers.
written by Dominic, July 20, 2009 13:19:06
Though Teoh Beng Hock may have left us,his tragic death will open up a new chapter in the annuals of Malaysia. Najis can very well forget about his 1Malaysia concept. UMNO led component parties must wake up to realities. Too many wrong should at least equate one right ! Leave the coaliation and join PR like those few brave leaders. We must bring justice not only to our children but that of all Malaysians who subscribed to Bangsa Malaysia of equality and fairness. This sad country of ours is heading for doom.
written by rocky, July 20, 2009 13:30:21
MACC has too many skeletons in this case and looks like they are trying to cover up. I hope there good people in MACC who will leak the truth cos the guilty ones need to face the full force of the law. if not all in MACC will be seen in bad light and even called killers. if you work for MACC, please do not tell people, cause malu la. people will spit when they here you are from MACC.

we will seek justice for teoh and all the double standard of MACC's prosecution
written by joeawk, July 20, 2009 13:34:47
Teoh was killed, no doubt. It was a matter of how he was killed? One truth, many lies. Truth are remembered, lies are easily forgotten.

Noi wonder rthere are so many holes aboiut what the police and MACC said about the circumstances of teoh's death.
written by eagle22, July 20, 2009 14:10:45
We don't trust PDRM and MACC they manipulate and twist the truth always.But to understand the chain events death of TEOH. These people must speak. So now why PKR (Wangsa Maju ) MP Wee Choo Keong and (Gombak) MP Azmin Ali keeping mouth shut. Please tell us the underworld links that you all claim been happening in Selangor EXCO. We want to know!

and to (Sri Kembangan ADUN) Ean Yong Hian Wah, you reported you went to MACC Shah Alam on Wed late night 12am but denied permission to meet Teoh and you left the MACC building at 1.30 am. What were you doing for 1.5 hours in MACC building that night ? But surprisingly you only return to MACC at 2pm Thursday to meet Teoh again. Why such a long delay
written by Mirage, July 20, 2009 14:27:59
To those who support BN and UMNO, this is what you are supporting.....murderers. They are Not GOD fearing ppl and will stop at nothing to gain and maintain their political esteem.

I hope US and UN to have a look at this bastards again. US has asked Malaysia to share how we develop our racial harmony. WTF what harmony are they talking abt when majority of the key controlling stakes and position of the govt are all Malays. The Chinese for one are no longer supporting BN in light of the failure by MCA (BIG TIME) To those Chinese running dogs, you have nothing to convince me of ......except that you are supporting a murderer and you are an accomplice. Chua Jui Meng was a smart man to leave with the very least his dignity still intact.
written by Taikohtai, July 20, 2009 16:24:23
Any RCI will be quite useless if every component party of BN gang up together, unless full powers are given to the RCI which is highly unlikely.
I rather Malaysians redirect more energy into registering more voters and educating them about the future. MACC is what it is today because they are protected 100% by BN. If BN is weak, then only can real reforms be implemented. We already have Penang, Selangor, Kelantan and Kedah leading the way. Yes, Malaysia can do it but not the 1NajisMalaysia way.
written by educationist, July 20, 2009 17:39:23
If nothing else comes out of it, a Royal Commission of Inquiry ought to be able to provide answers to the mysteries surrounding Beng Hock's death.
The MACC must be brought to account.
Justice for Beng Hock!
written by jumpingjack, July 21, 2009 14:31:11
Have I missed something along the line or so far there isn't any report on the cause of death? Was he beaten or drugged? What does the post mortem says besides the time of death?