Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow WHY ROYAL COMMISSION OF INQUIRY A MUST

WHY ROYAL COMMISSION OF INQUIRY A MUST PDF Print
Sunday, 19 July 2009 15:14

By Gobind Singh

There are two ways in which a public inquiry may be held over the circumstances leading to the death of Teoh Beng Hock.

As already suggested, the setting up of a Royal Commission of Inquiry would go a long way in finding ways and means by which incidents like these are no more in future. Its terms and reference should be cast wide. It should look into things like the interrogation techniques used, the time and conditions under which a person may be interrogated.

Second, we should be looking the places where interrogations take place. There should be CCTV camera’s placed there and the footage of these recordings must be made available to those interrogated upon request.

I have done a case in which a restaurant owner was taken to a police station in Johor where he was beaten whilst tied up and then he was hung upside down from an iron bar, his pants removed and chemical liquid poured onto his private parts in the course of interrogations. The defendants denied it. We won the case. The prosecution did not appeal. A video would have helped indeed.

I am currently doing a case in which a young girl was allegedly raped in an interrogation room in a police station early one morning by a policeman in uniform. Again the defendant denies it. He claims it was consensual. A 17 year old girl. In a police station. At 5am. Consensual. A video would help.

And of course, we have the case of A.Kugan where a suspect was beaten to death in police custody. Gani Patail is not very sure of what to do. A video would help him.

READ MORE HERE: http://gobindsinghdeo.blog.com/2009/7/

written by miwaki, July 19, 2009 15:32:48
Our police are country pumkins with very little education and mentally unstable.These people are dangerous animals but they are allowed to carry fire-arms and worse,their superiors are equally dangerous and mentally unstable and carry bigger fire-arms such as C4 and fukcking guns.

Human are being menaced by these dangerous animals and our leaders are still talking about 2020 when we are better off under the rule of Mongolia.At least there,nobody would throw us from 14 floor of a building
written by jchew, July 19, 2009 15:38:04
Those officers watched too much of the Holloywood and Hong Kong style of interrogation tactics on movies and videos! They did not realize that it is all movie magic when they use wire to cling onto actor/s to prevent them from falling down from the building. These bunch of brainless goons think that the are some sorts of special agents and can do the same. They have a role model to follow..the c4 gang!
written by Richfyf, July 19, 2009 15:38:19
Mr Gobind,

If you know and plan to do something that is wrong and illegal would you want it on video???

So now you will understand why some people refuse to have CCTV installed. Even Newspaper stand and 7 eleven store have CCTV installed.

written by Heaven8402, July 19, 2009 15:39:35
The Royal Commission of Inquiry will consists Najib Razak, Gani Patail, Musa Hitam and MACC Director.
MAY GOD HELP THESE GUYS!
written by StevenMax, July 19, 2009 15:45:38
Dear Gobind. I am no trained lawyer but I do follow what is going on. It is futile to have both Royal Commission or Inquest. What if the outcome points to abuse of powers or even a manslaughter or even a murder??? Whilst having the Royal Commission or Inquest may determine what causes the death, the wrongdoer usually go scot-free. Remember Mr. "Corect, Correct, Correct"??? Sound like me, look like me, but not me??? It would be a waste of your talent. I suggest you and your fellow PR YBs push for a change of the law (and even the Federal Constitution) to make it compulsory for all outcomes of the Royal Commission or Inquest to be prosecuted should a wrongdoer be identified in the outcomes. Make it a main PR agenda, not forgetting the Human Rights Commission. Give them teeth and not make them toothless tigers. Act now!!! This is the time. Dear Pete, you were right on the dot.
written by red1, July 19, 2009 15:57:52
Transparency! The video tape recordings of the interrogation is the basis of truth. Hand them over sealed to an NGO trusted by the public right away. That will be a right step forward.
written by NSTPravda, July 19, 2009 16:00:49
WHY ROYAL COMMISSION OF INQUIRY A MUST
for really whitewashing the MACC, polis, AG, EC, Arssy Paul, Najis, etc.

by the time this commission finishes the whitewash we will be another couple of Umno-illions further down the drain...

Meanwhile.. semua-nya OK, rasuah sayang eh!

Support your local polis, OR else!
written by rams609, July 19, 2009 16:07:37
YB,

We've been talking about Royal Commission all the time. When have they ever form one?

NEVER.
written by cheekhiaw, July 19, 2009 16:53:20
Asking a bunch of thieves, liars and murderers to setup a royal commission of inquiry? Cute.

May be now bodies will be landing on istana rooftops?

written by educationist, July 19, 2009 18:16:21
The good lawyer has explained the legal reasons why a royal commission is necessary.
Whatever.
Just make sure the UMNOputras will not be able to wriggle their way out of it.
The MACC must be brought to account.
We must make sure Beng Hock's death does not go the way of countless custodial deaths in police custody.
Justice for Beng Hock!
written by Sudahlah tu, July 19, 2009 18:42:10
tidak memberi sebarang keberkesanan sebab semua yang terlibat merupakan anjing umno yang dibeli .....bagaikan kes lingam .
selagi kera kacukan hitam itu menjadi peguam VVIP ...
nasib rakyat Malaysia tidak akan terlepas daripada keputusan kezaliman ...
kita berdoa agar hukuman Allah yang dijatuhkan terhadap kera kacukan hitam ini ..
kezaliman umno amat bergantung kepada daya fungsi otak kera kacukan hitam ini ...
salah satu cara untuk menghentikan kemaraan kezaliman umn ialah berdoa kepada kuasa Allah .......................
written by bexe, July 19, 2009 21:20:54
The culture of lawlessness and abuse has crept into our culture. When the head is known to practice power-hungry and criminal abuse, then the subjects also adopt all the immoral attitude. Clear criminal acts are let to pass and not investigated. Clear abuse of powers are ignored. Selective prosecution is practiced. Terror investigative techniques are used. Coupled this with racial supremacist feelings that is rampant in UMNO, we have an insidious society full of hatred. Tensions are high at the moment. If left unchecked and we continue with this suppressive policies, people will soon take to the streets. Maybe sooner rather than later?
written by pakasia, July 19, 2009 21:30:54
TO THE EVIL OF PDRM AND MACC OFFICERS,

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC SHOULD DO A DOCUMENTARY ABOUT "LIVING HELL" RIGHT ON YOUR BACKYARD. THERE IS NO NEED TO GO TO HELL AFTER A PERSON IS DEAD, JUST SEND THEM TO YOU WHILE THE PERSON IS ALIVE!

MAY THE BAD KARMA HIT THE ENTIRE ILL-FATED OFFICERS OF THE POLICE DEPT AND MACC WHO RAPE, TORTURE AND MURDER THE INNOCENT CITIZENS OF MALAYSIA.

I BELIEVE IN KARMA, IF IT DIDN'T HIT YOU BAD EVIL NOW, BAD KARMA WILL KNOCK ON YOUR DOOR DIRECTLY AND INDIRECTLY. JUST GET PREPARED TO RECEIVE THE SURPRISES.

TO THE GOOD OFFICERS OF PDRM AND MACC. I BEG YOU TO BE BRAVE TO EXPOSE THOSE EVIL IN YOUR DEPT. PLEASE DO THE RIGHT THING!!!

THANKS.
written by Prem, July 19, 2009 21:58:11
Mr.Gobind,tell me one incident where any action has been taken after your so called Royal Comedy[oops,sorry]commission inquiry?Only the taxpayers' money will have gone down the drain.Remember,we are in Malaysia Bolehland where murderers rule,not in UK or USA where JUSTICE rules irrespective of colour or race.Ironic,that we boast of having the tallest,biggest infrastructures,sent our man as a space traveller[so called astronaut],yet we do not have cctv in the MACC and Polce stations esp.in interrogation rooms!!!!!Hiding their guilt????
written by joeawk, July 19, 2009 23:34:01
The cctv has been dismantled to protect their ass. If the Royal Commission cannoit prosecute, what is the use when the Ag, the dog, works for UMNO, paid by us.
written by aplus, July 20, 2009 00:06:03
Let's see now, the Home Minister was the rightful (would have been the first if not for the buffoon) person to say about the matter, Wow, it was fiery and no nonsense. But what happened a day after? It was something to do with the RCI, but in a whimperish and sheepish tone with caveats.

What's next? The DPM? Correct me since I didn't hear anything.

The PM is still abroad, and he should be the focus of the nation when he comes back. That should be most interesting since MACC reports to no one except the PM. Is it going to be fiery no nonsense tone, but whimperish lil' sheep akin to his cousin? Observe the body language and what he says because it will give you some idea what's the long drawn final is going to be and how this intriguing mystery is going to end.
written by Apache3, July 20, 2009 01:00:33
What another Royal Commission??? I think it would be a waste of time and money. Just take a cue from Lingam's Royal Commission results. Nothing acted upon. It will be the same here...swept under the carpet at level 5 Putrajaya.
written by rpremkumar2u, July 20, 2009 01:55:03
Consensual sex in a police station? His grand father's house ah? How utterly absurd & sicko must a person be? a cop to top it all. Makes me puke.