Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Another victim of MACC’s ‘racism’?

Another victim of MACC’s ‘racism’? PDF Print
Saturday, 18 July 2009 14:07

By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani, The Malaysian Insider

Is the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) racist?

DAP member Dariff Din is buttressing that claim, saying today he was a victim of racial remarks by the body’s interrogators looking into alleged misappropriation of state allocations by DAP state lawmakers.

Dariff, who is assistant to Kampung Tunku assemblyman Lau Weng San, is the second person to make the claim after Kajang municipal councillor Tan Boon Wah who made the same allegation yesterday.

“They asked me if I was Chinese or Malay and I told them that I was Malaysian but they kept insisting on my race,” Dariff told reporters at the DAP Paramount service centre when relating details of his interrogation by on July 15 by MACC officials.

He said they were mainly interested in his ethnicity rather than the case itself, adding the officer was curious because he looked Chinese but had a Malay name. He told them his father was Malay and mother was Chinese.

“Everything went smoothly after they learned that I was a Malay Muslim,” Dariff said, adding he was questioned about his background for another hour before they asked him how Lau’s office spent the state allocations.

The investigator went through all the files they seized from Lau’s office, Dariff said, adding he was surprised the officer even asked if anybody had attended the programme even though there was photos to prove the event was not a hoax.

written by SamSan, July 18, 2009 14:17:47
I am appealing to the chinese based BN component parties in Sabah and Sarawak. Please join Pakatan Rakyat and fight for whetever little sanity, democracy, justice and truth that still exists in Malaysia. I am praying that we all accept Islamic Hudud be applied to such serious criminal acts of those in power and massive corruption. Hudud law is compassionate to petty crimes done by the poor who want to coexist in this greedy, dark and dangerous world where only might and power counts.
written by Oscar Winner, July 18, 2009 14:33:08
Of course, they are all racist. The want, if possible, to wipe out all non-malays. But on the other hand, they want to give non-malays a slow death. Not so fast, they say. You are still slaves to us. Work your as-s off, we still have to suck you dry
written by varvoom, July 18, 2009 14:33:22
A predominately one race organisation in a multi-racial country will lead to racist behaviour, couple with law of the jungle and a racist murderer on the helm....we have a FAIL STATE call Malaysiastan!
written by Richfyf, July 18, 2009 14:40:59
varoom You mean "Malaysia-saitan"?
written by wongnoball, July 18, 2009 14:50:27
Stuff Sabah Sarawak....Dissolve Selangor and send a Clear message to Sabah Sarawak as well!!

Don't attend MACC interview anymore...they are no police no arrest warrant...Do not Co-operate..until they own up to WHO KILLED TEOH. Open your Stupid eyes Barisan Rakyat they are Racist Murderers and Gangsters....Revolutionary Guards and tools of UMNO....stand aside if you don't know when War is declared on your Turf!!
written by Ocassey, July 18, 2009 14:57:29
Only immaculate persons from the component parties can join PR without fearing to face horrendous repercussions that led to the highly questionable style of death that TBH met. What SADDAM did to silenced all his opponents in his government... executing all but leaving only one alive to tell the tale has slowly begun here on 16 July 2009. All those who have so long being under threat for directly or indirectly having committed even a smallest punishable criminal act should free themselves from such torture and make the ultimate sacrifice by immediately resigning as ADUN /MP. This move should be done by those in the peninsular and those in Sabah and Sarawak concertedly to instantly paralyse the Fed. Govt. Like before NOC rule may be installed.... Let the waiting game begin after that ! Nothing else will work. All available avenues are pro Fed. Govt., have been so since 1969.
written by Kuku Burung, July 18, 2009 15:22:49
Not only MCA, Gerakan, and Sabah & Sarawak Chinese based parties lick UMNO's bottom, how about the Chinese Associations. Recently its president praise Najis 100-day glorification. It's time to wake up people.
written by gwc, July 18, 2009 15:48:38
RM2400 bendera siasat smp orng mati....Toyol punya kes RM24mil kentut pun tidak
written by storm62, July 18, 2009 15:52:26
Not only MACC is RACIST...PDRM, Customs, Immigration,..bla bla bla.

since when did the Malaysian government treat it's people as MALAYSIANS?
written by mowadoha, July 18, 2009 16:56:31
written by thirdeye, July 18, 2009 17:07:37
Are MT contributors naive or do they all live outside the country. I am shocked that many comments posted suggest that "people are surprised" there is racism.

Jeez, let me spell it out for you out there who are surprised by the bigotry. The Malaysian Government aka UMNO is 100% racist. They "tolerate" MCA, MIC, all the Sabah/Sarawak non-Muslim ppl because it makes political sense to hold their hands just before elections. Grudgingly also during CNY, Deepavali etc etc. Just for the newspapers.

The component parties ie MCA, MIC etc etc "are subservient Chinese and Indians" who sell their souls (and their mother's as well, if need be) for personal gain. Pure and simple as that. Surprised ? If you are, then you are beyond help !! Open your eyes.
written by allmenarebrothers, July 18, 2009 18:03:42
MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP, SUPP, LDP, PBS, PRS, UPKO, PBRS etc sell not just their mothers but their grandmothers & great grandmothers too!
written by IceOnFire, July 18, 2009 18:33:20
Our goverment make we hate each other.They want to make Indian hate chinese&malay,Malay hate chinese&indian.And chinese hate malay indian.
Is it we the msian feel happy when the other race in our country died in such a cruel way?I do not agree!!
I got angry if anyone died under BN cruelty regardless the victim is indian,chinese or malay or even mongolian!!!!
Lets all msia unite as one fight for justice for Mr Teoh and also for all the msian once and for all!!
written by Kathy, July 18, 2009 22:11:29
I second the call by SamSan. I would also extend the call to MCA, Gerakan and the splinter Indian groups. Please join forces with Pakatan Rakyat to oust UMNO from power. Malaysia needs more than ever before the return of a clean govt. and the rule of law. We can't afford to let things slide any further. If we do we will end up in the same heap as Zimbabwe. smilies/angry.gif
written by Davy McChester, July 19, 2009 00:46:14
It is a conspiracy and it works pretty well when Govt departments and investigators like the ACA and the police force do not reflect the composition of the population.And a leak within the group by a whistle blower may end up being tortured like what happened to Annuar Ibrahim.You have a kangaroo court and the rest is history. I wonder the old good "people" who had strong and powerful positions at the time when a decision was made disalllowing privy council appeals regret supporting it. Today we have a Govt. that has become the enemy of the people.They fear the police & the ACA more each day