Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow The absurd conjectures & suppositions in Teoh Beng Hock’s death

The absurd conjectures & suppositions in Teoh Beng Hock’s death PDF Print
Saturday, 18 July 2009 09:59

(NST) THE MOST salient established fact surrounding Teoh Beng Hock is that he is dead, the tragic demise of a young man with the potential of a brilliant political future. Another established fact was that hours before his death, Teoh was intensively interviewed by the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission over investigations into the alleged misuse of state allocations by Pakatan Rakyat assemblymen at the MACC Selangor headquarters in Plaza Masalam, Shah Alam.

Teoh’s timetable with the MACC is well produced - questioning from 5pm on Wednesday to 3.45am on Thursday and then a break at 6am before resumption of questioning at 8am. However, precious little is known from the time he took that 6am break to 1.45pm when his sprawled body was discovered. Hence, the conjectures and suppositions flew in like Molotov cocktails.

What is still being established is how and why, and to a certain extent, where the Seri Kembangan assemblyman Ean Yong Hian Wah’s political secretary died. How he died is now a subject of massive speculations germinating from a very imaginative public roiling in plausibility and probabilities, and aggravated by untrammelled anger, mounting disbelief and involuntary emotionalism, mostly from senior colleagues of Teoh’s DAP to automatically recriminate the MACC, the last people reported to have been in proximity with Teoh.

There are already reports that claimed that Teoh fell to his death although this has not been fully established, merely inference based on how the body was found at the 5th floor of an adjacent building and its consistencies with a fall next the building housing the MACC. There are unsubstantiated claims too that he was either pushed out of the MACC interrogation room on the 14th floor and that was how his body was found sprawled on the adjacent building.

After that came the counter-reports on why Teoh died: he committed suicide because he could not endure the intense questioning. There are also the sub-plots of his “suicide”: he was so full of remorse and could not face his colleagues because he had whistle-blown on everyone involved.

Shoring up the speculation would be this ridiculous conspiracy theory: since Teoh was spilling the beans on his Pakatan colleagues, underworld figures cannot allow this to happen and quickly dispatched an assassin to “silence” him. And he could easily have been killed elsewhere and dumped at where he was found to beef up someone’s or some agency’s culpability.

If MP for Wangsa Maju Wee Choo Keong’s allegation that a certain Selangor Exco member had used his office as a rendezvous point for people connected to the underworld, then the assassination lead is plausible but in all probabibility, could only exist in a fantastic Hollywood movie script.

The crux of the argument is that everything is plausible and probable, but nothing makes sense, at least not in the evidence adduced so far by the forensic team to find out how and why exactly Teoh died. At this point of time, his death cannot yet be truly classified into anything, not murder and not suicide. For all we know, Teoh might have slipped on a banana skin and fell to his death, as absurd as it sounds.

Also, the point of the matter is that while police are investigating Teoh’s death, speculations and inferences help nobody but blabbermouths and rumour-mongers with a very public agenda to succeed. A thorough investigation is mandated, a Royal Commission of Inquiry if necessary, as exhorted by Khairy Jamaluddin, who beat Lim Kit Siang and Anwar Ibrahim to the punch in calling for the RCI.

But Khairy has an addendum to his outrage: he had been shadowing Kit’s Tweeter alerts and has cautioned the DAP strongman that while the truth is desired, Kit should not jump to conclusions. “We want the truth but @limkitsiang should be very careful w/ his tweets & not insinuate anything,” Khairy stated in his Tweeter.

If Kit and gang can form a mob of candlelight vigil outside the Selangor MACC headquarters and rant that the MACC wasted their time by being stubbornly silent on all inquiries, the inverse could also be stated that Teoh’s death, while catastrophic, was also the perfect opportunity to be capitalised upon to distract attention from the investigations into the PR assemblymen’s misuse of state allocations.

Furthermore, can the same MACC officials conducting the misuse of funds probe continue with their arduous task? For now, it looks impossible, seeing that calls for them to be suspended are relentless. And that too, the devil’s advocate would chime, would be very convenient for the suspects in the probe.

Already, the DAP-inspired mob vigil has had a scrape with police and the arrests inevitable. What the police don’t need now is a counter demonstration that will likely escalate into something uglier. But human beings being what they are, especially politicians with testosterones to burn and the choir to appease, altercations like these are the convenient sleight of hand to deflect attention from the real issue, whatever they may be.

There were also premature calls that the MACC review its standard operating procedure for conducting interviews of persons of interest to an ongoing case. This is not helpful because it insinuates that the MACC is at fault when we don’t even know yet how and why Teoh died. The MACC may or may not realise it but the circumstances leading to Teoh’s death could also make the agency look like a textbook patsy.

There are just too many complex questions that can be asked as to how and why Teoh died. If you were to play devil’s advocate, you could conjure leads in all the players involve - MACC, Pakatan Rakyat and the Selangor Government. For now, it’s all too confusing and every demands made now merely inflames already fraught emotions.

Let the authorities probe the death first, scrupulously, meticulously and methodically, so as to check blame from being tactlessly assigned. In the meantime, the best thing to help Teoh, and his family, gain privacy and some measure of closure is to bite your tongue, keep your trap shut and zip it, at least in public, for the stoking of communal flames is far more deadly than the tragic death of a junior politician.

written by Jan, July 18, 2009 10:11:04
Wee Choo Keong, see what you did. Your stupid action indirectly caused the death of a young man.
written by rocky, July 18, 2009 10:18:38
what is the time of death? are there any finger prints around his pants, belt and shirt and if there are who they belong to? he being there till 6am and then found death at 1.30pm sounds just unbelievable. There is more to this

Mr.PM, in most country we can believe when the PM says it will be investigated or the police say they will do their job. Here MACC investigates police and police investigate the MACC and outcome is all is ok. But we know they are not impartial and have double standards. so bascially the outcome is predictable and we do not trust the police or MACC. That is reality. you are leading a country where key institutions are not viewed positively by the rakyat and it is all fault of UMNO/Bn who have used them as tools to hide UMNO/BN faults and pursue your oppositions.
written by thor, July 18, 2009 10:22:13
Teoh’s timetable with the MACC is well produced - questioning from 5pm on Wednesday to 3.45am on Thursday and then a break at 6am before resumption of questioning at 8am. However, precious little is known from the time he took that 6am break to 1.45pm when his sprawled body was discovered. Hence, the conjectures and suppositions flew in like Molotov cocktails.

Is this report by NST? Did they resume questioning him at 8am? So how come precious little is known from the time he took the 6am break? Very confusing??
Hope there is nothing to hide right? No CCTVs showing movements in the building?

Sad a young life is lost, how can this country be great if we loses young lives which could hve contributed to its progress? No news abt Kugan's case ah? Another young life loss.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by rocky, July 18, 2009 10:22:15
BTW did you see how his pants was torn in the pic showing his body while the forensic guy was next to his body. How come his pants is torn? can pants be torn during or after a fall to the 14th floor? or was there struggle and thus he fall?
written by thor, July 18, 2009 10:24:48
And from the TV shots, didn't see any blood where he fell only a the torn pants glaring. Why?
written by 1st2stay, July 18, 2009 10:35:13
Almost cleverly spun, NST.
So MACC is doing the good (R) thing and investigate the presumed embezzlement of a few thousand Ringgit by incidentially opposition politicians? You almost convinced me, except that I wonder how long MACC 'questioned' Khir Toyo about millions presumably embezzled.
So MACC did the good (R) thing and questioned a witness, to be repeated, a witness, in a case of potential embezzlement of public funds. For 10 hours. You you, NST, also need to spin what a witness in a case of a few thousand can be 'questioned' for 10 consecutive hours?
"For all we know, Teoh might have slipped on a banana skin and fell to his death, as absurd as it sounds" gives you away as a lackey, though. Because there is no banana skin on which one can slip, and miraculously end up on the other side of the next wall or window. It needs David Copperfield for such tricks.
written by A MI, July 18, 2009 10:56:57
what can we expect when we have a gov ala gestapo ruling with gangsters heading the top agencies?
Well, I hold Bodohwee responsible..he left this scumbags to rule us.

A question: so how does this compare with good Muslims practices? I am sure those responsbile for the death are all the holier than thou Malay muslims? You know the ones who use derogatory words to demean Muslims of other ethnic origin and ask of other citizens- born and bred here mind you- if they are from China and India? Not realising they themselves are pendatang from Indon?

MCA you are answerable for this death of an innocent young man too- t a fellow country man at that! Shame on you and damn you. Wee I hope u and you kin get what u deserve in this life as I am sure u will go to hell!
written by Raizzen, July 18, 2009 11:12:32
NST, you could've tried harder to sound neutral but your sh*ts still reeks of AMNO, you AMNO lapb*tch.
written by mvivek, July 18, 2009 11:12:50
Spot on, cruzeiro!!
They are WANTING us to do just that, this time using the spin masters, NST.
ONLY, we're smarter than they think!!
written by KHAIRUL HISHAM HASSAN, July 18, 2009 11:14:45

Reading NST above article really made a reasonably patient man like me (http://khairul-today.********.com) feel very angry to the extend that my blood pressure 'went upstairs to the 88th floor' again on this beautiful but sad Saturday morning . The NST writer tried to look intelligent and rationale when everybody else who have analysized the sequence of actions committed by MACC since its inception (even prior to that as BPR) will throw up or vommit with MACC very clear selective prosecution and double standard practice.

Okay. Alright. You got the point when you said that nobody really saw who has killed or murdered Teoh Beng Hock (except the murderer and Teo himself) because not even a lawyer was allowed to accompany the late Teoh during the entire interrogation. I know we cannot accuse people of committing a crime just based on common sense only without hard evidence. Even though there are so many common sense arguments that pointed out it is not possible for Teoh to commit suicide or preferred to stay remain in the MACC building after the interrogation, especially knowing fully well that he has to register his marriage on that day or the day after that which in turn could made a lot people close to him wanted him to be back as soon as possible, we leave that 'common sense-common sense' arguments aside for a while.

However what I am VERY sure and questioning is the undeniable fact that Teoh was interrogated continuously from from 5pm on Wednesday till 3.45am on Thursday morning. He was only allowed to take a break only at 6am. The biggest nonsense part is he has to undergo this long torturous interrogation process, even though he has never been regarded as a suspect by MACC, only a witness.

I honestly never know that a government officers like MACC interrogators are so hard working that they were willing to continuously working practically overnight. Surely these interrogators also were willing not to sleep overnight just to grill Teoh continuously without any mercy. That double-standard-super duper efficiency and hardworking attitude of MACC interrogators ONLY and ONLY can be seen whenever the person interrogated comes from opposition really makes me want to vommit the second time in 7 minutes.

The next thing that I am VERY sure is the answer to my next question will be in the negative. My next question, which is the same question that I wrote in my earling comment is: "Are you going to do the same by interrogating mercilessly if that young man was Khairy Jamaluddin whom even UMNO Disciplinary Board has found him guilty of money politics?" Are you? Just answer "Yes" or "No".

This is the question that are lingering in the mind of any other average Malaysians like me.

The whole world knew the verdict of UMNO Disciplinary Board regarding Khairy money politics case in UMNO election recently. I wish to see Khairy to be grilled in the same manner with the late Teoh, in the name of justice and fairness. I have nothing personal against Khairy Jamaluddin (KJ), in fact sometimes I also call myself "KJ" (albeit referring to the different acronym: "Khairul Jawa"). I do not think this political slaves MACC officers dare to treat Khairy Jamaluddin the same manner they have treated the late Teoh. This political slaves simply do not have the balls to do that when facing UMNO political leaders.

In Malaysia everybody should be treated equally, but it seems that that principle or maxim remains a beautiful principle only to be read in the law book or constitution.

What made me angry is this very crystally clear selective prosecution continuously been practiced without any slightest shame. Anything against the opposition such as Ronnie and Teoh case and also Khalid Ibrahim cow and car case, MACC will run as fast as Forest Gump to investigate the matter. But when come to UMNO political leaders case like Khairy, Ali Rustam and PKZ fiasco they are damn slow, even a baby elephant who just born 7 minutes ago can walk faster than them

I have also got my own VERY SURE answer to this question but let me just ask MACC officers again this very simple question: "Why have you not interrogated Ali Rustam, again whom UMNO Disciplinary Board has also found him guilty of money politics in UMNO recent election with the same degree of intensity that this 'witness' Teoh has to endure? Are you willing to grill Ali Rustam for 12 long hours like this brainless MACC officers did to the late Teoh Beng Hock?" If not, why? Why when come to Teoh who is just a 30 years old man and so novice in politics with practically no connection with anybody in the Federal government all of you MACC officers acted very brave, very 'patriotic', very fierce. Why?

I (http://khairul-today.********.com) actually do not need to ask all the answers to the above questions. Let's give our 'answer' comes next General Election!

written by Arubin, July 18, 2009 11:17:03
thor,

If you think that there's definitely going to be a huge puddle of blood on every death from a fall, than you've been watching too many dramatic Hollywood movies.

That aside, I'm not going to engage in any speculation on how Teoh died. However, the known facts of the case are disturbing enough by itself - at least according to the official info provided so far.

A witness died while he after interrogation at the MACC's office and they have no freaking idea what happened. This is a body that's supposed to be the leading authority on investigating corruption cases in this country. Its their business to know about things, yet they have no idea what happened in their very own office.

Fills one with confidence, doesn't it?
written by Wudan, July 18, 2009 11:24:06
-------------------------------------------------------

This is a Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) source information from an unidentified MACC official like the PDRM haven't got a bloody clue where RPK is.

The rest of the write-up is just pure unadulterated propaganda aiming at damage control. At all material times, Teoh was inside the MACC premises. If he wants to leave, somebody must open the door for him.

He is inside the building and to say "precious little is known from the time he took that 6am break(now is a break)to 1.45pm when his sprawled body was discovered" is BOLLOCKS[/b. and the Rakyat is not having that.

Why not tell us all the officers are sleeping because they too are tired-out from the marathon interrogation session or most of them are in the adjacent room playing ping-pong?
written by Sinewy, July 18, 2009 11:39:34
This NST writer, if he is a muslim, may the Almighty has some mercy for you when you go and see him. You pea brain is very useful tool for the political spin on behalf of your UMNO/BN political master. Don't give me this shit about your intellectuality..for you have none..
written by Wisdom above, July 18, 2009 11:42:28
The Spiritual Realm was very TROUBLED , Thursday morning !

..Tan woke up at about 6am the following day while on the way to the toilet. Was Tan “escorted by MACC officers” or Tan went to toilet alone ?

Between 1.30am to 6 am, Thursday what happened to Teoh ? His ADUN not allowed to see Teoh at 1.30am, Thursday early morning ?

..Kajang Municipal Councillor Tan Boon Hwa,… as saying he saw Teoh in the pantry:…
Did Tan see a ‘ Apparition ‘ ? YES ‘APPARITION’ !

..“He was in the pantry. I greeted him, but he replied only with a ‘Umh’. But when I came out of the toilet, he was gone. He did look a little tired,” said Tan.

Why Teoh in ‘APPARITION’ could not talk to the Living ? Only ‘ Umh’ ? Was this why ‘Teoh’ could not drive home ? Was Teoh’s spirit crying out loud ?

Who were cleaing up “their Tracks” because something unintentional errors occurred ‘after interrogation’ ???

Between 1.30am to 6 am Thursday , was Teoh still ALIVE ?
Many hearts were troubled in the Spiritual Realm ?
written by cruzeiro, July 18, 2009 12:23:02
"Guilt that is concealed seldom stops with the one who harbors that hurt. Sooner or later that pain of fear and guilt is spread to others, particularly to those closest to us. “Victimless” crimes are an illusion, for deceit is a monster that needs constant feeding. It would be foolish for us to think that we can deal with guilt by somehow covering it up.

The moment that we cover our guilt we escalate the tension in our lives by adding the dimension of fear. We may then become people who seem okay on the outside, but inside we are struggling to maintain the facade.......

Carried to a different level, this same tendency underlies all our national preoccupation with one social or economic crisis after another. No one seems willing to admit that at the heart of our malady is a mangled spirituality."

-Ravi Zacharias
written by alarcarte, July 18, 2009 12:46:49
This NST article is really unreadable! There is a block of apartment opposite Plaza Masalam and someone who lives there happen to see a body falling down around 7.30am in the morning.

Teoh did not fall to the roof of adjacent building, he felled onto the roof of the shopping mall which is located at the lower floor of the MACC office.

written by malgal, July 18, 2009 12:59:48
yahhellooa...a malaysian man meets mysterious death and we are NOT allowed to show emotions? the indignation, sorrow and thirst for justice clearly shows we have not been robotised. i thought the writer should be proud that fellow malaysians are united in their deepest depths for this young life, snatched without rhyme or reason. I AM SICK TO MY STOMACH.
written by latihanQ, July 18, 2009 13:03:13
Wee Choo Keong, the mercenary sponsored to destroy the PR.
written by Equal, July 18, 2009 13:41:19
Can someone please tell me why there isn't any CCTV recording ?
MACC and the police don't have money ? The government don't have the money to
buy the CCTV but have lots of money to buy other things ! Why ?
Many lives were lost but no one was punished. How do the deceased's parents,wife, children, siblings, father and mother in laws, relatives, friends, colleagues feel ? What happen if any one of them starts to take the law into their own hands ? Can we blame them for doing that ? Are we going to sit and wait for these things to happen then only starts to act ?
written by jason, July 18, 2009 15:24:56
MACC was on record that Teoh was released at 3.45am and they are not responsible for his safety. Now NST said Teoh interrogation resumed at 8am. Why the contradiction?. MACC is definitely covering the truth.
written by ganbing, July 18, 2009 22:34:06
If MACC had been following the law in interrogating Teoh, why the need to do it under the cover of darkness? Why can't it be done in broad daylight in the presence of his counsel? Why is this case so urgent that it has to be done overnight starting from 5.30pm? Did they need the darkness to cover their evil deeds?

As for the NST writer, hell has a place for you just like the MACC beasts. You're not very good at spinning, so go look for another job. You're a disgrace to your parents. There must be a better way to earn a living than spinning $hit!
written by AsamLaksa, July 19, 2009 01:40:17
Nah, typical disinformation tactics. Notice the negative adjectives used to describe those who protest against the MACC. Damn biased.

Then the cake is the denial of MACC's responsibility. If a corpse of a person I wasn't in good terms with is found outside my house, I would be taken in for questioning already and likely to be the prime suspect. But MACC? Oh... they are not at fault. Porah!

Why up to now no video recordings of interviews? Rather spend money on 3rd bridge. Porah! Typical, civil rights not important, projects more important.