Home arrow Letters/Surat arrow Minister Caught Lying

Minister Caught Lying PDF Print
Sunday, 23 December 2007 13:33

By The Truth

I read the article published in the Sun, “Non Bumis not keen to be diplomats” (p.10, 18th Dec) in which the deputy Foreign Minister Joseph Salang, said “the lack of non-bumiputeras in Malaysian missions has absoluteldy nothing to do with race quota”.

This statement is an absolute lie and the deputy minister knows it. In her famous book, Mavis Puthucheary’s The Politics of Administration: The Malaysian Experience (Kuala Lumpur: Oxford University Press, 1978. p 54) and the recent ASLI report, “Towards A More Representative And World Class Malaysian Civil Service”, it is stated clearly that there is a racial quota in place since independence.

This quota applies to The Perkhidmatan Tadbir dan Diplomatik (PTD) to which all Malaysian diplomats belong. At the time of independence the quota was four Malays to one non-Malays.  Because of the zealous implementation of this quota, today the PTD is is 85 percent Malay, or has six Malays for each non-Malay (ASLI report pg.1)So how can the deputy Minister said there is no racial quota and the non-Malays are not interested in becoming a diplomat? Who does not want to live in a foreign city like New York of London and get all your expenses paid by the government?

The response by Salang is even more surprising given that he is an Iban from Sarawak and last year, only 1 Iban were selected for the PTD. It became a big political issue in Sarawak.

When you have ministers lying through with a straight face, you know that this country is in deep trouble. Salang is a typical minister who is both stupid and ignorant. They think they can lie and the people are stupid enough to believe them. Unlike the rural uneducated Ibans who voted for him, the non-Malays knows the truth- the Malaysian civil service practices
apartheid!

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by BennyG, December 23, 2007 15:00:14
So what else is new? All BN MP (regardless of race or intelligence) lied through their teeth due to if anyone did not toe the line, they're out. What is worse that majority of M'sian still vote for them!
agree 153
written by billyong, December 23, 2007 15:05:51
I fully agree with BennyG - so what else is new? From the top to the bottom, everyone is lying to save his own skin. Spin after spin is being spewed to the public and the most affected ones are the ignorants who are gullible enough to believe everything coming out from the lips of these people. They lie so much that they themselves began to believe in them too. What an irony!smilies/angry.gif
written by caxyz, December 23, 2007 15:34:36
It can be said that any statement in recent year by BN are considered skeptical by most rakyat and they should know it. Wonder why they don't!!!
written by Hope4all, December 23, 2007 15:48:50
The Ibans in Sarawak better wake up before a similar Project IC happens there like in Sabah. Do not take your current majority for granted.
agree 121
written by Shyetan, December 23, 2007 16:18:20
Yes he told a blatant lie - no one believed what he said - at least I didn't - they have been in power for too long - taking the other 40% of the population for granted - as if we don't know that they are big liars
written by alternatif2007, December 23, 2007 17:22:31
Under oath we swear to tell "the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. " The spirit of the law can be followed; the literal letter cannot: there is no way to convey the "whole truth." This poetic phrasing is an encouragement to full disclosure, not a statement of an attainable reality.

written by omarkhayyam, December 23, 2007 20:57:45
salang is right, maybe non-bumi's are too embarrased to represent this corrupted regime in the international diplomatical scene .... and only UMNO bumi's are willing to do it ...soon we may need to employ foreigners to take up the job .... just like the maid hiring scheme smilies/smiley.gif

written by thegodfather, December 23, 2007 21:21:40
Lies, lies and more lies. Isn't this what BN is all about??? Carry on !!!
written by anon, December 23, 2007 21:30:21
While I applaud The Truth for bringing this to the surface, I have to say that this is something that is pervasive. It's nothing new really. This Salang believes Malaysians are as stupid as him.

We all know about the quota system. No point lying about it. I can give you the quota system for Universities.

Let's briefly talk about one University. Hey Lalang, how many Sarawakians are there in the Matriculation course? I shall tell you. Just one - read this s_l_o_w_l_y .... just one. One out of about 800 students. That was in a certain year, not many years ago. I know this Sarawakian girl personally.

Are you telling us that Sarawakians are so stupid that they are not eligible to qualify for the Matric programme?

I know the academic standard of the local Malays who were there at that time. To be very honest with you, this Sarawakian girl spoke fluent English and was one of the better all-round students there - we had talks about other Sarawakians. She was always alone - the others were probably staying away from her as they probably believe that it should be 100% - no, not bumi - but Malays only.

Now, I admit that a handful of Malays were good and deserve to be there but the rest were a disgrace to the University.

If this idiot salang doesn't know this then he should step down and if he knows this as is the case, he is a total disgrace to the Sarawakian community.

To make matters worse, he trots the globe and says that there is no discrimination? The people abroad will laugh at this ignorant, nah, not ignorant but a damn liar.

Ask any Sarawakian and they will confirm what I stated. Ask any Sabahan too and they too will concur.
written by educationist, December 23, 2007 22:14:55
What is so surprising? Leadership by example!! When even the PM lies outright to the public, it is understandable though still unforgivable that a Minister lies to the public as well.
written by feleaz, December 23, 2007 22:20:34
telling lies is already a norm for all these BN people, nothing suprising
written by Brandon, December 24, 2007 00:06:26
I find it very amusing that the Cabinet talks to the country as though all of its members (from the Prime Minister downwards) that they hold the keys to wisdom and virtue and that they alone know what is best for the country.

Being a politician does not make you purer. So, to pretend to be one is the highest irony. Sometimes, I think Ministers treat the country like children and talk accordingly.
written by kzso, December 24, 2007 06:07:45
nah... who wants to work
in a hp6 government?
with low pay salary?
with gov with no economics policy?
and affiliated nadzri, rafidah, jasin close one eye, bung mokhtar?
non-conducive environment?
written by Ken Liew, December 24, 2007 12:10:30
Lies, more lies and nothing but lies. Those brain powerless mini-sir, talks BIG but do less. 1 bag of rice for 600 flood victims in Pahang. Thats Semi-Value got Booed!! Otak Kurang Thinking: i've did my best for chinese (i mean me as chinese)

As the media are controlled by those BNs, WE should BOYCOTT the press, to show respect to the press freedom
written by joeawk, December 24, 2007 14:07:17
Just as non malays are not keen on govt jobs. That is wjhat they will tellus but we know too well that they weant to put themselves in positions to manipulate everything. Exam results, jobs, scholarships, promotions and you name it they would want to manupulate. What to expect from thieves and robbers.
written by C360, December 24, 2007 16:07:19
Oooo .. caught lying .. looks like he/she will need to be given an award .. like the broom (to sweep things under the carpet) or the boot (to kick someone else to do so) ..
written by beijing, December 26, 2007 11:07:16
what is the chances for BN in next general election even they lie for 50 year? what the people said then ....? smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by panca, December 26, 2007 18:35:57
Not a quota system?! As far as we have been since 1945 and as far as we know, the system by umno has been governing the nation through a state of apathy, yet have failed to alleviate the malay by having NEP and ketuanan melayu status. Not that the minority races are hard-up for such positions but time and again, in almost all sectors of high civil positions, there are talented brains that merits such endeavour but they were being drained otherwise would have brought a more balanced representation of the malaysian race with multitude of socio-econonomic-political contribution to the nation. smilies/cool.gif
written by panca, December 26, 2007 18:38:34
Not a quota system?! As far as we have been since 1957.....CORRECTION:typo error, sorry. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by merchant222, December 26, 2007 23:18:23
Which Minister does not lie? When the PM can lie, especially TUN...TUN...aah...TUN what already his name? I can't remember, sorry. You know, the one with the big nose in LAT's cartoon? That fella was the biggest liar in the country mah! When can lie and escape the gallows, all Ministers follow lah. They think all Malaysians stupid, but they forgot that people in Malaysia 2day different.
written by gen ji, December 27, 2007 02:47:45
He wasn't lying, he just didn't told the truth, or he just telling about something else, hih hih hih.... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Nautilus, December 27, 2007 21:45:18

The top BN guy who created Islam Hadhari is telling lies all the time what can you say abt the people below him? You can blend into the BN leadership easily if you've acquired this special skill.

written by anon, December 28, 2007 02:29:19
Come on, ministers do not lie - they just do not tell the truth.
written by malaysianohope, December 29, 2007 10:34:00
The whole administration is filled with cartoon characters with pinocchio PM topping the list, the Lying King, compulsive liars and what not.

Well, the voters shall remember!
written by notsosmart, December 29, 2007 15:54:14
Our BN gomen live in the culture of lies. They have no guilt, no shame, no moral, no integrity, no dignity......To the BN gomen, it's okay to lie and cheat the rakyat. No wrong done.

If the gomen is sincere in serving the rakyat and country with honesty and integrity. The PM could have sacked ( instead, some should go to jail )more than half of his men by now. That's the reason as why the rakyat now is very upset. And they want changes.
written by tuan tanah kedaung, January 10, 2008 19:44:44
dia sik bohong tu. dia temberang je....kah kah kah..
written by myke, January 14, 2008 23:12:28
Its a norm with this BN gang.
written by sataysticks, January 20, 2008 23:41:12
The truth has never been the strength of BN - Bohong till the cows come home.
written by mara koman, January 29, 2008 06:20:23

Welcome to BN,, Badawi the head started by Mahathir.

To be in BN, no problems. BN college is known as ''Univercity of Stupidous'CorrupLies and Dodohss''

Every minister will have to go to uni. How do you think, its an absolute coincidence,, that all the ministers / no exception are so without commonsense. The moment they open their mouth. lie,, lie..lie..

Now that the govt that we have now.. had reality.
written by TeohSC, February 03, 2008 10:42:33
Aiyah, what can he say. He is a Minister and do you think he will tell the truth and get the sack. He is not that stupid.
written by tuanlokong, February 05, 2008 13:54:29
Even lying for years, well still come out the winner smilies/grin.gif Haiyaaa smilies/tongue.gif
written by cheekhiaw, February 15, 2008 18:19:47
It is easier to catch a Malaysian minister lying than to catch one not lying.

The best they can offer from the 2nd group was Chua Soi Lek...

written by Kopi37, February 17, 2008 11:13:46
Lying is a culture in the Malaysian political arena! The supremo is the tip top No.1 lier evidenced by his denial that the Parliament would not be resolved on the 13th and it turned out true as speculated! He has a habit of lying and dozing and only idiots will continue to support his speech that his administration has done a lot for the betterment of the Country and the welfares of the peoples!

Trust me, the ad hoc snap election is to make way for the increase of petrol price since it is no longer sustainable by the hopeless administration! Any one vote for BN means voting for the hike of petrol price and the inflation rates will kill every hoi-polloi whom they have been tying their belts under the pressure of more retrenchments and competition from the employment of the increasing illegal migrant workers!......................... smilies/cry.gif