Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Al Islam totally insensitive to Catholics

Al Islam totally insensitive to Catholics PDF Print
Saturday, 18 July 2009 00:22

Such conduct and behaviour is intolerable, inexcusable, unjustifiable, outrageous and, above all, criminal. In such circumstances, justice has to be allowed to take its course, and due process of the law must take place.

Gregory Chan, MySinchew

For too long, the sensitivities of Catholics have been brushed aside by misinformed Muslims acting on the excuse of ferreting out "murtad" cases.

In 2007, the Holy Mass at Our Lady of Lourdes Church in Silibin, Ipoh, was disrupted when a group of Muslims received a controversial SMS that we were "converting" Muslims en masse. This was proved to be unequivocally false. The ceremony which was disrupted was one for first Holy Communicants, young children who are receiving the sacred host, something which the Catholics hold as sacred and sacrosanct, for the first time. At that time, the Muslims stayed outside and staged a protest, and caused a great deal of fear, tension, and anxiety among Catholics.

In 2009, Muslim journalists have come into our church, unannounced and disguised as Catholics. This time, they participated in the Holy Eucharist and even receive Holy Communion, which is reserved for Catholics alone, and have the audacity to spit out and then photograph the expelled communion for all and sundry to see. And they even published it in their magazine. What was their reason for acting in this manner? Again, to ferret out "murtad" cases.

Can we not see a progression in this? They have now entered our churches and participated in our ceremonies. The sensitivities of Catholics have been completely ignored. Indeed, the latest episode is but a blatant act of contempt towards our religion. What does this white communion wafer mean to us?

Joachim Francis Xavier and Sudhagaran Stanley, the two people who have lodged a police report on this matter, subsequently had this to say:

"The 'communion' is held with great reverence and cannot in any way be mishandled or [treated] with a lack of respect. Even Catholics are not allowed to take home the 'communion' but are instructed to consume it immediately during the service. Catholics go through an elaborate process of preparing themselves to receive this 'communion' worthily and those who have not done so are advised to refrain from receiving it."

Xavier and Stanley, in a press statement, said they were "outraged that these Muslim men consumed it [the communion] only to spit it out later, have it photographed, and have its image published".The two Catholics said it was "total disrespect" for what Catholics regard as sacred.

This time it has gone beyond total disrespect. Section 298A of the Penal Code makes it a criminal offence to cause disharmony, or feelings of enmity, hatred or ill-will, or prejudicing, etc the maintenance of harmony or unity on grounds of religion. The fact that the journalists of Al Islam believed that they were ferreting out cases of conversions/apostasy/murtad does not afford them a defence.

Section 298A (7) provides that it shall NOT be a defence to any charge under this section to assert that what the offender is charged with doing was done in any honest belief in, or in any honest interpretation of, any precept, tenet or teaching of any religion.

Such conduct and behaviour is intolerable, inexcusable, unjustifiable, outrageous and, above all, criminal. In such circumstances, justice has to be allowed to take its course, and due process of the law must take place. I want these journalists to know and understand that there are consequences to their actions. I want these people who think they are at liberty to desecrate our rituals, our sacred liturgy, and our most Holy Eucharist on the pretext of ferreting out "murtad cases" to understand that such misguided and unfounded belief does not afford them a defence. Such belief does not give them the licence to commit what Catholics regard as sacrilege, to desecrate what we hold as holy, sacred, reverent and sacrosanct.

Over and above the journalists, I question the judgment of the editor of Al Islam who had allowed this article to be published, completely brushing aside the sensitivities of Catholics. I call on the minister to exercise his powers under section 7(1) of the Printing Presses and Publications Act 1984 to prohibit the publication of Al Islam as being likely to be contrary to any law, i.e. section 298A of the Penal Code, or is otherwise prejudicial to or is likely to be prejudicial to public interest or national interest.

The same must also be said for the printer of the magazine who may have committed an offence under section 4(1)(b) of the same Act by printing a document which is likely to promote feelings of ill-will, hostility, enmity, hatred, disharmony and disunity.

Gregory Chan is a Roman Catholic seminarian

written by bakas, July 18, 2009 00:41:20
The fact that those two Al-Islam reporters, who are themselves Muslims, went into the church and received the communion speaks of blatant disrespect and insulting. How would they feel if a non-Muslim stamped on the Quran, took pictures of it and published it and disrespectfully claim that this book is a whole lot of rubbish? Would they feel good about it? Or how about if someone goes into the temple and pee on the statues of the gods and goddesses, let alone use their names in vain? How would you feel in that situation? Do unto others what you want them to do to you. It is just not right, whether done by a Muslim or a non-Muslim. Desecrating and humiliating other people's religion is just downright wrong.

This is a test for the new government, whether they are really sincere in their 1Malaysia slogan or just paying lip service. The ball is in Najib's government's court to ensure justice will prevail. If the two goes scot-free, there is no sincerity whatsoever from the powers that be in ensuring that people from different religious background can live in harmony with each other.

I am also amazed at the lack of feedback from the PR people. Or is this just a problem for the Catholics to handle? The silence of people like Nik Aziz, Lim Kit Siang, Karpal Singh and Anwar Ibrahim is deafening, never mind that the BN people are really deaf.

1Malaysia? What 1Malaysia?
written by Iliyas, July 18, 2009 00:54:06
Where are the Christian politicians/leaders?Are they so interested in their own welfare that they have abandoned the Christian community?Yes,I also agree with bakas......Pakatan Rakyat,where are you too?Read more http://advocateviews.********.com
written by n2nios, July 18, 2009 02:16:17
1 Malaysia is just a screen saver. NO reality in it. It's just a slogan from our new PM, like all our previous PM's having their own slogan which never materialized i.e Bersih, cekap & amanah, ....cemerlang,gemilang,terbilang...both of these slogans went down the drain... what they're actually saying is "Hei Malaysian Fools,This will never become true...wait and see, i'll prove it to you"....and they all were right.

In the case of the article above, it's a very sad moment for every christian and a very disappointing event in our life. The authorities should just ban this magazine. Simply because it carries the name Islam and it has tarnish the name of peace loving islams. Most of my islam friends finds that Al Islam magazine's article is just wrong. God is watching...nothing more will be said.

"Whoever, therefore, eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty of profaning the body and blood of the Lord." 1 Corinthians 11:27. ...extracted from http://malaysianfirstlast.********.com/

written by Proarte, July 18, 2009 06:11:13
I dont think Christians should get too hot and bothered about this piece of irresponsible 'journalism'. It has UMNO's 'finger-prints' all over it. The aim is to deliberately create a siege mentality in the Malay community , to suggest a sinister motive by Christians to proslytise Muslims.

Malays hardly ever convert to another religion mainly because there is no financial or social advantage to do so. If they fall in love with a person of another faith, it is a legal requirement for the non-Muslim to convert in order for the marriage to be recognised. The converse does not apply but then Islam and Malaysian law does not pretend to be fair or logical.

Furthermore, a recent fail safe mechanism has been intrduced illegally by the Syariah courts in declaring that a Muslim cannot change their faith! So this whole issue of 'converting' Malays is a synthetic charade just to show the majority of gullible Malays that UMNO is there to 'protect' their faith and the Ummmah from evangelical crusading Christians! UMNO is just trying to score 'Islamic points' which we all know in Malay Islam has nothing to do with morality.

Personally I do not feel it is wise for politicians to get involved in this matter. They will be falling into UMNO's trap who will accuse the opposition of being 'anti-Islam'.

I think Malays should worry less of Muslims becoming Christians then of Malays who follow a brand of Islam which wants to 'unite' with UMNO, the epitome of Evil.
written by freerpk, July 18, 2009 08:42:03
Christians have been martyred over the centuries...there is nothing new. Christ said if you want to follow me you have to take up the Cross. As far as these two Muslims who are involved we should be asking their community the question is it right for a Muslim to participate in a practice which they despise. If they answer is it is wrong, then it is up to the Muslim comunnity to punish these two.
written by Admiral Tojo, July 18, 2009 09:49:35
The publication Al Islam is NOT and will never be an Islamic publication. It is a publication for disbelievers and hypocrites. For the real Islam, go to mentalbondageinthenameofgod.*********.com.

These people are followers of the Padan Arab Religion and it is no surprise if their behavior are the least civilised.

written by chastity thedamned, July 18, 2009 09:50:02
freerpk,

" we should be asking their community the question is it right for a Muslim to participate in a practice which they despise"

to answer your question, it is ok for them to do any physical motion as long as their hearts percieve them as meaningless actions.
written by StevenMax, July 18, 2009 09:54:20
To the Muslims who reads MT and also to the 2 from Al Islam and Al-Islam itself, let this be a reminder, which I find interesting. Not sure whether it is true but I guess all true Muslims would be able to shed some light on this. In a letter addressed to the emissary to the religious leaders of Saint Catherine in Mount Sinai-

“This is a message from Muhammad ibn Abdullah, as a covenant to those who adopt Christianity, near and far, we are with them. Verily I, the servants, the helpers, and my followers defend them, because Christians are my citizens; and by God! I hold out against anything that displeases them ... or to carry anything from it ... Should anyone take any of these (from the church), he would spoil God’s covenant and disobey His Prophet. Verily, they are my allies and have my secure charter against all that ... The Muslims are to fight for them ... Their churches are declared to be protected. They are neither to be prevented from repairing them nor the sacredness of their covenants. No one of the nation (Muslims) is to disobey the covenant till the Last Day (end of the world)'.

Al-Islam has breach the covenant?
written by ez24get, July 18, 2009 12:38:11
People, be ever aware of the divide and rule game of the UMNO Government.

Lately, UMNO'S support has been fledging. If this is made into a larger issue, it will be God sent for UMNO to divide the people racially and religiously and regain its strength. It is unfortunate because this devil's strength is derived from only from the in-fighting, mistrust and quarrels of the different communities.
written by MalaysianUnited, July 18, 2009 14:26:51
Pertama, bagaimana pihak gereja boleh membenarkan dua orang muslim menyertai majlis keagamaan Kritian?. Adakah mereka menyamar atau mereka mahu masuk Kristian?

Kedua, kalau saudara sekian mahu supaya agama saudara dihormati, maka saya mengharapkan saudara2 sekian menghormati juga agama saya. Di Malaysia, kes 'tidak menghormati agama2 lain' bukan satu perkara baru.

- menjual ikan keli kepada Muslim Malaysia yang diberi makan daging babi di Perak. Still remember?
- Dakwaan YB Kulim-Bandar Baharu bahawa ada risalah Kritian berbahasa Melayu yang disebarkan ke sekolah2. Saya harap dakwaan ini tidak dipandang sinis oleh kalian semua.
- Restoran2 yang menggunakan tanda HALAL-palsu.
- Roti yang dikeluarkan menggunakan sijil HALAL tapi mencurigakan?-jangan lupa saudara2..

Maka, adakah saudara2 mengatakan hanya minoriti sahaja yang ditindas agamanya?..saya harap saudara2 sekalian boleh mengadili isu ini dengan seadil2nya.

Saya sebagai Muslim pun..merasakan bukan bebas pun menjadi Muslim di negara yang majoritinya Muslim. :s

Adalah tugas kita bersama sebagai rakyat untuk mengekang mereka2 yang menggalakkan kecurigaan antara kita.
written by Pakyeh, July 18, 2009 14:57:06
I agree that the Al Islam editor should have used his brains.Unfortunately he does not. The editor and the 2 journalist should apologise to all Christians.
The new AlIslam editorial appears to be very immature an unIslamic, appearing to prefer profanities rather than real Islamic issues. I suggest that they be replaced. Astora Jabat would make a better editor.

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by imanj, July 18, 2009 16:09:10
I'm sick to my stomach with the people in Malaysia,who choose to call it their country and yet behave inhumanly...!!!!!

Hey people of race and religion,if you think to shout out your race and religion,then do it with pride to bring yourselves a good name.If you have not one bit of honesty,understanding,love or care for your own race and religion teachings or culture/tradition,you certainly would not have any respect or moral values to accept anyone of another race and religion.

I've have had many years as a teenager,as a church-goer in Our Lady of Lourdes Silibin,Ipoh and I bet my bottom dollar that the parishoners there are so staunch in their ways to even consider converting anyone,let alone a muslim.

As a muslim convert now I'm most dissappointed with the preceptions of muslims in this country and around the world.Especially in Malaysia,it's come to a point where no one can peacefully be a person of race and religion.

To muslims and non-muslims alike in the Country especially,if you are young and have no insight on your own morals,race,religion,way of life,the going-ons and even the inability to speak or comprehend any language in it's proper context,then STOP DESTROYING US...!! This also goes for those who think your are matured and old even to give your thoughts that lack totally understanding, respect,honesty and purity..!!!

DON'T PRETEND TO WANT TO BE SOMETHING.DON'T COME TO DEFEND IF YOU HAVE NOT PROVEN TO YOURSELF IF YOU HAVE ANY RESPCT AND THAT YOYU ABIDE BY ALL THE HOLY BOOKS OF ANY RELIGION.

AND FOR GOD's SAKE DON'T USE AN ENTIRE COUMMINTY FOR YOUR SELFISH NEEDS AND SCREWED UP BELIEFS..

One good example,fall-in-love with anyone of a different faith other than your own,if you can't accept the 'local man-made laws' or even the Laws of the religion,then fall out of love for that person.If you still think to convert,do play hide and seek and cause a problem after your death...!!!

The list is endless and it's sickening when you hear of the things people do and are really about.And what's worst we have authorities who don't speak pproperly to run this country and they will never help any situation fairly..!!!!

written by imanj, July 18, 2009 16:16:06
have to correct error..

spelling mistake YOYU..should read YOU

Error in sentence..should read as If you still think to convert,don't play hide and seek and cause a problem after your death..!!!

written by KetamPadang, July 18, 2009 17:07:12
For those who are curious and with a questioning mind.

He married Khadijah a forty-year-old widow in 595, it has been secretly documented and secretly hidden from public knowing that she studied in a convent and that she's an engineered personality and has a Christian cousin, Waraqah ibn Nawfal. Waraqah ibn Nawfal and his wife were among his early Christian contact, that also influence him about God.

It was said that there writting in a hadith of Aisah these line "Do not slander Waraqah ibn Nawfal for I have seen that he will have one or two gardens in Paradise."

You see here, if you can find and read and believe that hadith, a Christian is seen by him has one or two garden in Paradise.

There are many good Christians that bring glory to their God. There are many bad Christians that bring shame to themselves, there are many Christian that have many gods.
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 18, 2009 20:55:40
I met an old priest who said...

"These two journalists in my believe are already dead.
Their days are numbered.
It is a matter of time before they meet their end".

....."remember how God struck the two dead for holding the Ark of the covenant unworthily...."

..lets see.....