Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Shame the advisory panel members of the MACC

Shame the advisory panel members of the MACC PDF Print
Friday, 17 July 2009 22:54

By Huat Koh

The death of Teoh Beng Hock has saddened many Malaysians. 

I think that the advisory panel members of the MACC should share in the responsibility leading to his death as they have a duty to ensure the proper administration of the MACC.

I wish for all caring Malaysians to express their displeasure to these panel members. 

Their names are as follows (categorized according to the 5 panels) :- 

Keanggotaan Lembaga Penasihat Pencegahan Rasuah  

1. Y.A.Bhg Tun Abdul Hamid bin Haji Mohamad  
2. Y.Bhg Tan Sri Datuk Amar Haji Hamid Bugo  
3. Y.Bhg Prof. Tan Sri Dr. Mohd Kamal Hassan  
4. Y. Bhg Tan Sri Mohamed Jawhar Hassan  
5. Y.Bhg Tan Sri Datuk Seri Panglima Simon Sipaun  
6. Y. Bhg Tan Sri Dato' Seri Megat Najmuddin bin Haji Megat Khas  
7. Y. Bhg Puan Sri Zaiton Zawiyah Puteh  
8. Y. Bhg Datuk Rashpal Singh a/l Jeswant Singh  
9. Y. Bhg Tan Sri Yong Poh Kon  
10. Y. Bhg Profesor Dato’ Anwar Fazal  
11. Y.Bhg Profesos Emeritus Tan Sri Dr. Khoo Kay Kim  
12. Y.Brs Encik Chelvarajah Ramasamy Reddiar  

Keanggotaan Jawatankuasa Khas Mengenai Rasuah  

1. Y.B. Dato’ Seri Mohd. Radzi bin Sheikh Ahmad  
2. Y.B. Datuk Razali bin Hj. Ibrahim  
3. Y.B. Dato’ Hj. Abdul Rahman bin Dahlan  
4. Y.B. Dr. Tan Seng Giaw  
5. Y.B. Tuan Salahuddin bin Hj. Ayub  
6. Y.B. Sen. Ir. Hj. Zamri bin Hj. Yusuf  
7. Y.B. Sen. Dato’ Armani bte. Hj. Mahirudin  

Keanggotaan Jawatankuasa Aduan  

1. Y.Bhg Datuk Haji Mohd Nor bin Haji Abdullah  
2. Y.Bhg Datuk Muhammad bin Mohd Noor  
3. Y.Bhg Dato’ Wan Abdul Wahab bin Abdullah  
4. Y.Brs En. Chooi Mun Sau  
5. YBrs Encik Ravindran a/l V. Muthu  

Keanggotaan Panel Penilaian Operasi  

1. Y.Bhg. Tan Sri Datuk Dr. Hadenan bin Abdul Jalil  
2. Y.Bhg. Dato’ Cecil Abraham  
3. Y.Brs Encik Nik Mohd Hasyudeen bin Yusoff  
4. Y.Brs Encik Walter Sandosam  
5. Y. Bhg. Datin Aminah binti Pit Abd Raman  
6. Y.Bhg. Dato’ Md Hamzah bin Md. Kassim  
7. Y.Brs Prof. Dr. Syed Noh Syed Ahmad  

Keanggotaan Panel Perundingan dan Pencegahan Rasuah  

Y.Bhg Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam  
Y.Bhg Prof. Dato’ Dr. Abdul Rahman Hj. Embong  
Y.Bhg Dr. Zainal Abidin Abdul Majid  
Y.Bhg Datuk David Chua  
Y.Bhg Datuk Seri Wong Chun Wai  
Y.Bhg Dato’ Kamaruddin Zakaria  
Y.Bhg Tan Sri Nordin Kardi  
Y.Bhg Dato’ Prof. Dr. Ishak Tambi Kechik  
Y.Bhg Dato’ Sri Azman Ujang  
Y.Brs Encik Anis Yusal Yusoff  
Y.Bhg Tan Sri Robert Phang Miow Sin 

written by hellosunshine, July 17, 2009 22:57:00
Those people in the advisory panel should hang their heads down in shame. Mr Teoh's death shall be in your conscience for the rest of your lives. smilies/angry.gif
written by roadbarra, July 17, 2009 23:00:07
Malaysia a caring society? Scary isn't it?
written by Mr Smith, July 17, 2009 23:00:10
They can hang themselves for all that I care. What the f**k can they do?
written by Badaksumbu, July 17, 2009 23:03:33
By the look of the line up, the above names, sure some I don't believe can carry their work, when they themselves look corrupt!
written by Enforcer, July 17, 2009 23:05:58
To those in the panel. What runs your body is universal. When you bleed, it's also red like the late TBH! Am sure most of you have children about his age. Imagine if he's your child. Do not think that currently you are safe in the GOONS hands cos' YOU and YOU ALONE are answerable to the GREAT ONE whatever you beliefs and religion is! What more with the coming of GE13 the RAKYAT'S wrath will be upon you!So, stand up and do HUMANITY kind!
written by msiaman, July 17, 2009 23:11:22
The questionable characters will run the show or have higher weighting in their say, those who are more proper ones are appointed as decorative items only to make the rest look good. Or give some semblance of a proper panel from the onset. MACC or the Government did it upon themselves. No one else could have done damage unless they themselves are made largely of scumbags rather than people of integrity.

People of integrity suffers as they are made to do dirty jobs until they yield. how sad.....
written by arazak, July 17, 2009 23:20:24
Dear MT Readers,

Please read Terrence Fernandez's article in the Sun today, 17/7/09. The article entitled "Doubts over MACC's Impartiality". You may read it online by cutting and pasting the following on the search engine's window; http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=35877

Read and try to understand the minds of the MACC Advisory Panel Members, especially the conversation between Mr. Fernandez and Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam!

I fully agreed with Fernandez on this; "It seems that their (advisory panel members of the MACC)role is merely cosmetic and if people have to continue writing "complaint letters", one begs the question what are they there for when in fact the panel members are supposed to be the eyes and ears of the people to ensure that the MACC performs its duties judiciously and without fear or favour."

If Pakatan takes over the Federal Government, they will not only have to overhaul the MACC but the Advisory panel as well!

This rot have to be stopped. . .!

written by fireduck, July 17, 2009 23:26:54
One of the very first change they must institute now is that no one can be questioned by the MACC officers UNLESS his/her lawyer is present. Or at the very least someone of the person in question's choice to act as a witness to the proceedings. They are only to investigate, not torture and interrogate, so we must make sure these officers do not act like outlaws with their heavyhandedness.

If the panel cannot even make this change, then they should all resign.
written by Sinewy, July 17, 2009 23:27:33
All these jokers with all the big titles in front of their names can go and fly kite for all we care....we the citizens of this country can only rely on ourselves to protect protect our safety, whether from the criminals or those bastards in the enforcement agencies in this country. This is really a Sorryland...damn.
written by joeawk, July 17, 2009 23:35:57
Talk about dogs, they are.
written by Hakim Joe, July 17, 2009 23:37:29
ALL CURRENT UMNO, MCA AND MIC MEMBERS!!!

written by rams609, July 17, 2009 23:38:31
Power corrupts. I say disband MACC. What's the point of having the above list?
written by expat70, July 17, 2009 23:45:24
No point in putting big names to the list. The trouble is that those appointed take things very lightly, paid well for the lending their names, from public funds.

Time for a total change in the country. Bring in people how are credible, honest, righteous and have high morals. Sack all those dead wood.

Who is that guy incharged of KPI??? He has his work cut out for him, this one.
written by Century Patriot, July 17, 2009 23:48:40
If one judge the MACC according to the names of those in the five panels, one would believed that this unscrupulous organization would be executing their terms of reference beyond any reproach. But unfortunately this is not the case!! Instead, selective investigation is the order of the day!

To prove this point, ALLEGATION AGAINST TAN SRI MUSA, IGP THRO’ SD -- NO INVESTIGATION TO-DATE!!!
ALLEGATION OF ADUN WRONG DOING IN SELANGOR--- IMMEDIATE INVESTIGATION!!

WHY?? This simply shows that the five panels are just WINDOW DRESSING and all those who lend their names should look into their respective mirror and feel GOOD for being SPINELESS!!
written by shissun, July 18, 2009 00:16:31
These guys all Cari Makan one lah. Sama-sama untung. If they really got the righteous mind, they would not join in at the first place. MACC want to emulate HK ICCA, ptuiii.... Malaysia Anjing Corrupt Club... got lah
written by Ron, July 18, 2009 00:43:36
THESE JOKERS JUST MAKE MONEY AT RAKYATS EXPENSE.
written by Just Gan, July 18, 2009 01:00:58
MACC and the PDRM have proven beyond any doubt that they are just government thugs empowered by the UMNO government to terrorize, threaten and, when necessary, kill anyone who is a threat to UMNO. These two government UMNO coolies are funded by the tax payers but exist to do the bidding of UMNO. The Police and Anti-Corruption Agency have totally lost the confidence of the Rakyat. They should be classified as anti-national and disbanded. But unfortunately this is not possible unless martial law is declared.

No amount of lobbying, blogging and even public demonstrations will result in any change in PDRM and MACC. The next GE is still 3 to 4 years away for any possible change in government. After the current anger and protests arising from Teo's death dies down, the MACC and PDRM will go on to initimidate, threaten, arrest, lock up under ISA, terrorize, or even continue their killing of innocent Malaysians. Are we not witnessing exactly this? There was much furore following Kugan's murder, and now we have Teo's murder. We need solid action now to deal with the PDRM and MACC thugs and criminals. Criticisms, blogging, calls, demonstrations and even open protest in the streets will not change the status quo. MACC and PDRM will continue to operate as they have been, as the thugs of UMNO.

I suggest that we appeal to His Majesty, the Agong, to intervene. Pakatan Rakyat, NGOs, civil bodies and the rakyat could appeal to His Majesty to set up an enforcement and protection agency with powers superseding that of the PDRM and MACC. The organization could be called, "Agenci Kawalan Di-Raja Untuk Rakyat" (AKDUR). AKDUR is headed by a multi-racial counsel of respected individuals(honest and clean judges, senior civil servants, academicians, NGO leaders, professionals, community leaders, etc.) appointed by His Majesty and answerable only to His Majesty. The counsel, of say 9 people, is headed by a chairman, elected amongst the 9. The enforcement branch is organised like a typical enforcement agency. Staff are carefully recruited - people who could be considered would be clean and honest serving/retired police men, military personnel and civil servants, and appropriately qualified members of the public with clean record and commitment to the cause. Where there is open abuse of power (such as the current one-sided actions of the police against Pakatan) or when a criminal act (such as the death of Teo) is committed by the PDRM, MACC, etc., the Rakyat can appeal to AKDUR to intervene. AKDUR has to be selective and respond to only major cases of national importance as indicated by the strength and extent of calls from the Rakyat. The AKDUR counsel can be the final judge of when and where AKDUR should act. AKDUR is vested with powers to arrest anyone (the police, MACC officers, civil servants, ministers, etc.) who are found to have abused power or committed a crime and which has not been dealt with by the Police, MACC or other relevant agancy. PDRM and MACC may seek to neutralize or even ignore AKDUR, on the misconception that AKDUR, being much smaller, would be powerless. However, once they realize that His Majesty the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, as the Commander-in-Chief of the Malaysian Armed Forces, can summon the military to deal with any revolt against His Majesty's officially appointed bodies such as AKDUR, these cowards would think twice about ignoring or belittling AKDUR. The mere existence of AKDUR itself will force the police and MACC to operate more responsibily.

Hopefully, YB Anwar, YB Lim, etc. and leaders of civil bodies and NGOs will consider this proposal and explore its feasibility. We can't take to the streets like in Thailand for a change in the government as it would lead to serious consequences for the Rakyat, including it being turned into an inter-racial conflict by UMNO. We need to do something beyond merely talking. If AKDUR is not feasible, let us DO something to stop the reign of crime and terror that we are witnessing. If you agree to the AKDUR idea, vote for it.
written by mowadoha, July 18, 2009 01:34:32
written by Kathy, July 18, 2009 01:43:48
All of us who blog against BN and what it stands for know full well that what we say is not going to influence the powers that be to change for the better. We use blogging to vent our frustration. However, there is one thing we can do and that is to use our vote to oust them at the next GE. Be patient. smilies/angry.gif
written by asiana888, July 18, 2009 01:50:35
I really don;t know if PR can oust BN in GE13 ... but will be praying for that to happen. With Hadi & Nash cosying up to UMNO - a big split in PAS will be inevitable.

Someone said Muhyiddin will take this opportunity to move to no.1 spot. Keep an eye on this fella.
written by StevenMax, July 18, 2009 09:11:03
To the panelists, if there are still any consicence left in you and if you still have a "decent" "soul" in your body, please resign immediately to show that you are against the way the MACC conducts the inhumane treatment and interrogation. Don't pay lip service. A human life is wasted. Whatever religion you professed, when JUDGEMENT DAY comes, you will NOT KNOW what mercy means because that word will be taken away from your brains and soul by GOD. Your continued inaction in this, would show your implied consent and agreement to what is happening. Like they say, you may be high and mighty now, but when you climb the stairs of life going down (as your age progresses) you will feel the heat of the fire at the bottom of the pit. Remember - all religions have one common thing - you will be asked when you meet the Creator - WHAT HAVE YOU DONE? smilies/angry.gif
written by rams609, July 18, 2009 09:57:20
AND WE THOUGHT THEY WANT TO MAKE MALAYSIA A SAFER PLACE???? FROM WHOM??
written by Caretaker_y, July 18, 2009 22:18:19
Message to you ALL who are murderers in MACC, PDRM, AG Chambers, Malaysian Judiciary, remember this, it is time you crooks resign(letak jawatan) including ALL the heads or you will burn in Hell soon. You have been politicised, lopsided & lost your integrity in handling what you have been employed to carry-out.
You are corrupted, abuse your power & covered-up criminal acts together with those who walks in the Corridor of Power.

May God have mercy upon you all.
written by mowadoha, July 18, 2009 23:26:06
The difference is clear. Selective and double standards. Agree?