Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow DEATH OF TEOH BENG HOCK: A mystery waiting to be solved

DEATH OF TEOH BENG HOCK: A mystery waiting to be solved PDF Print
Friday, 17 July 2009 14:20

Victim's injuries consistent with a fall, say police. Suhakam says duration of questioning 'inhumane and cruel' 

EVENTS leading to the death of political aide Teoh Beng Hock, 30, remain a mystery in the absence of a CCTV system at the high security area of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission's (MACC) Selangor headquarters in Shah Alam.

While police have said the injuries suffered by Teoh were consistent with that caused by a fall, questions have been raised on what had transpired between the time he was last seen sleeping on a sofa at the 14th floor of the MACC building at 6am, slightly more than two hours after he was released from questioning, and when his body was spotted lying in a pool of blood on the fifth floor, around 1.30pm.

It is learnt that police have in their custody Teoh's handphone, which would be sent for forensics checks.

Sources said police hoped to glean information from people he might have called or texted between 6am and 1.30pm.

His family, however, has ruled out suicide as a cause as Teoh, who was supposed to have registered his marriage today, did not have any problems.

It is learnt that police recorded statements from several Selangor MACC officers late last night to shed light into the incident.

The death of the former political secretary of DAP Seri Kembangan assemblyman and State exco member Ean Yong Hian Wah, the first while under MACC investigation, had also sparked a debate on why he was required to undergo almost 11 hours of questioning from 5pm on Wednesday until 3.45am, since the MACC had questioned him as a witness and not as a suspect.

Teoh was a witness in a case being investigated by the Selangor MACC in relation to financial allocations for Selangor State representatives.

Lawyers Malay Mail spoke to pointed out that while the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission Act 2009 gives an MACC officer the discretionary power to conduct questioning for any duration and time period he sees fit, this should not apply to witnesses as they are deemed to be volunteering information and therefore, should not be treated as suspects. 

Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (Suhakam) commissioner Datuk N. Siva Subramaniam described the duration of Teoh's questioning as "inhumane and cruel".

Siva said Suhakam would push for the streamlining of interrogation procedures for the MACC so that it would be in compliance with international standards of human rights.

"The Criminal Procedure Code (CPC) and the MACC Act should be coordinated in this matter. It doesn't mean that the MACC cannot investigate anyone, but it has to follow the norms as stated in the CPC."

Siva said Suhakam would wait for police to complete the investigation before starting its own with the intention of recommending to the government a standard policy governing interrogation procedures, including the timeframe and duration, to deter a recurrence of yesterday'sincident.

"If our inquiry reveals that there are violations of human rights, then we would suggest to the government
to make amendments to the law," he said.

"This is not about an individual, this concerns everyone. We should look at the big picture, and not just this case."

Suhakam, however, needs to study the provisions under the MACC Act to determine if the MACC has immunity over the matter.

"At the present moment, I can say that it is inhumane and cruel (to question Teoh until 3.45am). They (the MACC) must be able to justify their action."

Parents dismiss suicide rumours

THE parents of Teoh Beng Hock have ruled out any possibility that their son may have committed suicide, claiming that he was always happy.

His mother Chong Sau Huay, 56, who spoke to China Press at the family's home in Malacca, said he possessed an optimistic personality and had never once complained while working for Seri Kembangan assemblyman Ean Yong Hian Wah.

She said her son had made it a habit to call the family twice a day and had never mentioned anything about being unhappy.

Chong, however, remarked that the phone calls were more frequent, especially on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, his father Teoh Liang Fai, a taxi driver, said his son was always looking out for the less fortunate.

He said Teoh last returned to Alor Gajah two weeks ago, when he happily announced his wedding date to friends and family.

120 protest at MACC office

Demonstration

SUPPORT: About 120 demonstrators protest over the death of Teoh Beng Hock during the candlelight vigil at MACC office at Masalam Plaza in Shah Alam yesterday. - Pic by Khairull Azry Bidin

ABOUT 120 people gathered outside the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission Selangor branch office at Plaza Masalam, Section 9, Shah Alam, yesterday for a candlelight vigil following the death of Teoh Beng Hock.

The demonstration began at 8.30pm and was attended by several Selangor DAP Members of Parliament and State assemblymen.

Among those present were State exco member Ronnie Liu, Puchong MP Gobind Singh Deo, Klang MP Charles Santiago, Teratai State assemblyman Jenice Lee Ying Ha and Seputeh MP and Kinrara State assemblyman Teresa Kok.

The crowd was infuriated with Teoh's death. Banners condemning the MACC were held aloft.

The crowd shouted in unison over their discontentment towards the current administration.

Officers from both the Selangor police contingent headquarters and Shah Alam district headquarters were seen patrolling and cordoning the area.

Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim arrived at the scene at 9pm to show support.

The demonstration ended about 10.30pm. - The Malay Mail

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by Flex65, July 17, 2009 14:27:19
Victim's injuries consistent with a fall, say police. Suhakam says duration of questioning 'inhumane and cruel'

Injuries maybe consistent with a fall, but the question is how he fall not if he had fall?
written by Taikohtai, July 17, 2009 14:27:58
Maybe, just maybe Teoh was given some drugs, hence explaining why he did not go straight home but had to sleep off the effects. Drugs are often administered in interrogations to 'loosen' up the tongue.
MACC = Mati Anda Cukup Cukup.
written by educationist, July 17, 2009 14:33:39
A young life snuffed out by unseen, immoral and visous hands.
Parents and fiance left to wonder the injustice of it all.
The MACC in damage control mode, trying to pin the responsibility on Beng Hock himself.
But the fact remains that he was in MACC's custody before his death.
Let there be justice.
written by Flex65, July 17, 2009 14:34:27
We can afford to buy submarines and multi billion dollar mega projects but cannot afford CCTV? Or no CCTV on purpose so that they can do what ever they want? I dare the government to implement all interrogation to be on CCTV and all the time witness is in the building accounted for. I think I am day dreaming. No way our present government can be transparent in what they are doing.
written by smeagrooo, July 17, 2009 14:37:54
when they interrogate ppl it shld hv some form of recordings, rite?

SUhakam talking ah? No bite la. LIke pussy cat. Wasting taxpayers' money. Suhakam shld join MACC n PDRM la.

All the evidence police sapu back to check. You trust them? MACC investigate PDRm, PDRM investigate MACC. Joke isnt it?
written by soulsberry, July 17, 2009 14:38:55
if you look at the death scene photo carefully, we can notice that Teoh was lying on the floor with his back and head exactly side by side with pavement. how can this possible for something that fell from 14 floors? it is not logic at all!
written by ATSaari, July 17, 2009 14:42:22
Mana lagi pemimpin-pemimpin PAS dan PKR Selangor?
Adakah mereka akur dengan kejadian ini? Atau adakah DAP sahaja yang memperjuangkan Demokrasi dan keadilan di negara ini?
written by Nunudada, July 17, 2009 14:46:28
One question that bugs me is why was he sleeping on the couch after he was apparently released.Was he drugged?A fall can be easily staged.His post-mortem should include a thorough toxicological investigation,preferably with vital specimens sent abroad.I small a rat here!
written by Hanuman, July 17, 2009 14:51:29
First of all, my condenlences to Teoh's family. I really feel the loss for them although this is the first time I heard of him.

I honestly say I am SHOCKED and SAD this has happened again in our country. Short of calling for a revolution, I suggest the government take immediate steps to dismiss those who were responsible and those involved (MACC Chief included). The minister or ministers responsible for MACC should also step down for failing to ensure proper procedures and human rights are observed.

Accusing MACC for the death of this poor boy is very simple and straight forward. How could this poor chap jumped when the picture showed there was no pool of blood? Any fifth grader will tell u that blood will spill when u have a cut! Obviously, he was tortured and killed before his body was placed or thrown out of the window.

I can only hope the soul of Teoh will rest in peace. He can only do so if he knows the Rakyat is seeking justice. Lets all seek the truth before another innocent guy becomes victim again.

To those that were responsible for Teoh's death, may u rot in hell.
written by Delima25, July 17, 2009 14:52:38
Given the vague and evasive answers we had so far, it is not a matter of a mystery waiting to be solved but a possible murder waiting to be covered up.
While I am not accusing anybody at this juncture, I feel it is only right that the officer handling the interogation of Teoh and all those still on duty during those unearthly hours should be questioned by an independent body. Please don't give us the crap that mata-mata are investigating cos they already have a reputation of only coming up with findings that their masters want.
written by budaktapah, July 17, 2009 14:52:45
PAKATAN RAKYAT!!

NOW IS THE TIME TO GO INTO 7TH GEAR. NO MORE JUST TALKING (IN WHICH YOU ARE GOOD AT). ACTION IS NEEDED RIGHT NOW. PR GOR REPS IN PARLIAMENT, REPS IN STATES, PR HAVE THE SUPPORT FROM A LOT OF MALAYSIANS..PLEASE ACT NOW...

P/S - NEED I TO REMIND AGAIN THAT ONE OF OUR COMRadE DIED SUSPICIOUSLY YESTERDAY?? OR YOU WAITING ONLY YOUR WIFE , HUSBAND, SONS, DAUGHTERS ETC TO BE BEATEN OLNLY YOU WILL ACT? HAAA DSAI, LKS, KS, TGAH, TGNA, LGE ??? WHAT KIND OF LEadERS ARE YOU ALL? LETTING DOWN YOUR FOLLOWERS....PLEASE DON'T JUST TALK...ACT NOW. FOR GODSAKE THE GUY IS ABOUT TO GET MARRIED....

AND DSAI, PLEASE REMEMBER HOW THE RAKYAT STOOD UP FOR YOU DURING THE REFORMASI TIME. ARE YOU UP TO IT TO RE-PAY THE RAKYAT AND STAND UP FOR THE LATE TEOH. IF NOT, PTUIIII..PLEASE RESIGN AND GO BACK TO YOUR LECTURING IN THE U.S.

ACT NOW!
written by asguard, July 17, 2009 14:56:05
I believe MACC is lie as they are in same as the evil master UMNO whom tentacles is spreading every corner of malaysian institution and make play to their whims!
written by Everbright, July 17, 2009 15:07:34
If after 10 hours of questioning by one interrogator, when they released him, I am sure Teoh would wish to get out of the building by any means. Why did he said he wanted to sleep on the couch? Something does not gel here. I smell shit.
written by Zym Zym, July 17, 2009 16:03:37
OK, this is what we will get in the next few days:

"He committed suicide because his fiance called off the marriage." Case closed. Jagan tuduh siapa siapa, warns Nazri, joker of the year 2009! FCUK FCUK FCUK!
written by bknight, July 17, 2009 16:33:25
of course it is consistent with injuries from fall, if he is being thrown, it is also a fall..you moron!

what needs to be investigated if, he had died before the body was found on the floor and any other injuries which is not related to the fall and what about the claim of his pants being torn? did he hooked himself up to the window so he dont fall that hard? morons!
written by Jutawan, July 17, 2009 16:44:01
WHERE ARE WEE CHEE KIONG AND OUR NEXT SELANGOR MB AZMIN ALI??
ANYTHING TO SAY???
WHO'S NEXT??
written by mrbean, July 17, 2009 16:45:44
FUC PAS.. they won't even turn up to demonstrate.. because they cannot stand side by side with the infidels....
Shameless race and religion..
written by mountainking, July 17, 2009 16:58:00
where are the dogs from Gerakan, MCA and MIC when it involves life.

and also where is PAS when it involves life?

don't just talk about religion and savor on how good is religion and rhetoric. get into the real world.
written by Kathy, July 17, 2009 17:13:47
Victim's injuries consistent with a fall, say police.

Stating the obvious. We know he fell, but was he pushed or did he jump? Or, as RPK put it, was it a threat gone wrong? Why the tear in the seat of his trousers? Forensic science today can tell whether this tear was caused by frantic officers trying to pull Teoh in after the threat of throwing him out went horribly wrong. smilies/angry.gif
written by Jutawan, July 17, 2009 17:16:22
DONT FORGET ABOUT WEE CHOO KEONG AND AZMIN ALI (THE NEXT SELANGOR MB)
THEY ARE THE ONE WHO ROLL THE BALL...
written by cocomomo, July 17, 2009 17:25:00
what the macc says is not logical. Why would anyone in his right mind want to linger in a place where he had the unpleasant experience of being questioned by the macc?
First thing anyone would want to do is go home or maybe go to a pub for a drink!
Would the macc in the first place allow someone they had just questioned, roam around unsupervised.
Whichever way you look at it, the macc is responsible for the Teon 's death - whether:
he fell down, or
he felt guity about whta he told the macc and he jumped out, or
he was pushed out, or
he had a heart attack and somebody in a panic decided to throw his body out

Wharever it be there there has to be justice!
written by SCOng, July 17, 2009 18:03:40
What a big joke, MACC left somebody unattended in their office for hours!!!
Somebody, please disqualify all the document and evident collected by MACC.
They must have been tampered with freely by many time, anybody could have done that since people (Non MACC staff can roam freely in their office)

Auditors, shut down MACC operations, they are not fit to carry out their task !!!
written by Sutha, July 17, 2009 22:18:10
Malaysian Agency for Corrupt Culture
written by Caretaker_y, July 17, 2009 23:59:54
Yes, it is very easy when one who has covered-up the murder of Darrel, the budding lawyer, now is saying "Jangan tuduh siapa siapa" you know who murdered Darrel and now you should know who murdered Teoh Beng Hock.

You may escape from human law & judgement BUT you cannot escape from God. You are a muslim, you should know.

God knows who is behind the murder of Altantuya, Kugan & those documented dead under police custody & now Teoh Beng Hock (MACC - the dogs who caused the death).

MACC is now officially "Murder And Cover-Up Commission" So be ready for payback time.

God is no sucker. He can destroy both the soul & body in Hell. You can only destroy the body.

written by 60t5, July 18, 2009 10:50:29
just ask for the predicted time of death then we can work out from there.

is pretty direct and why the forensic report is taking so damn long?????? are they planning for something?????????????????????????????????????

another stupid act of MACC....

written by Mirage, July 18, 2009 15:02:29
If someone pushes him off the ledge of the building, it will still be consistent of a fall. "MORON" What are they trying to say is that he fell off without any proof of struggle hence its suicide. Well if I point a gun at you and I ask you to stand by the ledge of a building without grabbing you (there will never be any marks or signs of struggle would there?, and push you off just as you are at the edge would they still find any proof of struggle??? Of course NOT.
written by jangantipu, July 18, 2009 15:31:56
I do not believe a word from the Malaysia Accredited Crooks & Criminals (MACC).
Liar! Liar!

Please Pakatan do something for your member who died fighting your cause and all
God fearing Malaysians. We cannot be oppressed anymore by a killer gomen.
written by thirdeye, July 18, 2009 16:54:10
MACC is a joke. Just like PDRM it's an extension of UMNO. Khir's castle NO INVESTIGATION but Selangor allocation follow sooo very closely and call in ppl all the time to verify. Abdullah's legacy just like Abdullah is pathetic. Now more than ever ppl must NOT ACCEPT bullshit from the investigation. The investigation must be open, transparent and with an end answer. No more Malaysia boleh 'wool over the eye". May Teoh's death NOT be in vain.
written by Caesar, July 19, 2009 08:27:10
Why is MACC not investigating the various arms scandals worth hundreds of millions which has also resulted in a death (it was murder in the earlier case not suicide because you cannot 'buy' C4 to 'kill' yourself). As nobody believes a about to be married man will kill himself (i.e. he was killed), this mysterious death is MACC's biggest blunder. Or was its shock impact meant for other more sinister motives.

What is the amount of alleged corruption in Teoh's investigation?

Muhyidin, if u do not want speculation GET REPORT OUT IN 7 DAYS!
If Polis want to do something quick they can like when they finished off the Indon gang in JB who had harassed & robbed an UMNO Youth bigshot's house?

written by lynn, July 19, 2009 10:29:45
KUGAN was murdered. Of course, Altantuya was murdered too. Teoh was murdered, 100% and for what? He was only a witness but interrogated by those racist bastards & mentally tortured endlessly. Undertaker said, his injuries were consistent with being punched, kicked, with bruises on his abdomen. Position of corpse when found is suspicious against theory of him being killed by the fall. Who killed him? Why? Is it because some men in MACC were on a power trip and they hate Chinese? Is it because they know they can get away with murder... after all they were instructed by higher-up to carry out this exercise?

My gawd. What kind of PM did you umno creeps put into power? Look at the quality of the DPM. No need to condemn further. One look at his black face, it tells the hole story.

We have in place, a murderous government. To all of you bn voters, look what you have done. You all have blood on your hands. May your family members as well as yourselves all suffer a painful & bloodied deaths too!
written by Mirage, July 19, 2009 17:33:41
This will be covered up many levels. The truth will be far off just watch. You can already see from Altantuyas case, Bala's case, Kugan's case, not to mentioned those SDs, Anwars case himself and NTV7 Florence ooi.
written by Caretaker_y, July 19, 2009 20:34:53
Read this from YM RPK & you will understand who is/are the murderers, (Extracted, Part 1)

The writing was already on the wall so long ago
Thursday, 16 July 2009 23:49

This has been going on for far too long. The MACC acts like God. They kidnap families and torture those they arrest. They threaten those they interrogate with death if they refuse to talk.

The writing was already on the wall very much earlier. Alarm bells were wailing like banshees. But this was largely ignored. It was ignored because it was Malaysia Today that had triggered the alarm bells. Malaysia Today is not the most reliable source. It does not offer the best of information. What Malaysia Today dabbles in are rumours and innuendoes.

When the Anti-Corruption Agency, now called the MACC, kidnapped the family of a police inspector, Malaysia Today raised the alarm. They had kidnapped the wife and child of a police inspector who had investigated a Chinese underworld boss on the instructions of a higher-up with the rank of ASP.

The inspector was just doing what his boss had ordered him to do, and that was to open a file and launch an investigation into the activities of the Chinese prostitution, loan shark, drugs and gambling syndicate. And this resulted in the detention of three syndicate bosses.

What the MACC wanted the police inspector to do was quite simple. They wanted him to change his report so that the three underworld bosses can be freed from detention. And he would have to do that if he wants to secure the release of his family.

The police inspector refused to do that. Instead, he made a police report. And so did his wife. But nothing was done about the matter. The MACC officers were not arrested and dragged to court on kidnapping charges.

The MACC then leaked information to the media that they are investigating a very senior police officer, the Director of the CCD, for the crime of not declaring RM27 million worth of assets. The fact that MACC investigations come under the Official Secrets Act was not a hindrance. After all, the OSA is only used against opposition supporters and not against those who serve those who walk in the corridors of power.

Nevertheless, the Director of the CCD was finally not charged for not declaring RM27 million in assets. He was charged for using police property for his personal reasons, something that all government officers, ministers and politicians do blatantly every day of the week. But his real crime is that he detained several Chinese underworld bosses who control the prostitution, loan shark, drugs and gambling business all over Malaysia.

Then they arrested the lawyer who acted for the CCD Director. The MACC officers came to his office on the eve of Hari Raya and handcuffed him after roughing him up like one would do to an armed bank robber. To ensure that the lawyer suffered the greatest embarrassment this Hollywood-style arrest was done in full view of the entire office.

Malaysia Today wrote about all this. Malaysia Today not only wrote about all this but Malaysia Today repeated the stories again and again to make sure no one would say they somehow missed the story. But still nothing was done. No one denied the story. More importantly, no one did anything about what Malaysia Today revealed.

The MACC has been a tool of those who walk in the corridors of power for a long, long time. Officially, Barisan Nasional has 14 component members with Umno as the lead partner. Unofficially, Barisan Nasional has seventeen component members. The Election Commission is the fifteenth component member of Barisan Nasional, the Malaysian police the sixteenth, and the MACC the seventeenth. They all serve the interests of Umno and the Prime Minister.

The writing was already on the wall very much earlier. Alarm bells were wailing like banshees. But this was largely ignored. It was ignored because it was Malaysia Today that had triggered the alarm bells. Malaysia Today is not the most reliable source. It does not offer the best of information. What Malaysia Today dabbles in are rumours and innuendoes.

written by Caretaker_y, July 19, 2009 20:37:35
Continuation, Part 2 (Extracted)

“Where is the smoking gun?” they ask. “Show me the body!” they demand. No gun, no body, then no crime has been committed.

Well, today, there is a body. It is the body of a most unfortunate Chinese opposition member who was arrested and tortured by the MACC officers. Yes, he was tortured. And he was tortured because the MACC wanted him to talk.

But he could not talk. He could not talk because there was nothing to talk about. The MACC wanted him to finger his comrades in the opposition. They wanted him to implicate his friends in the opposition for various crimes that the MACC alleges had been committed by those in the opposition.

He tried to explain that he is not being stubborn. He tried to explain that no crime had been committed. He tried to explain that he could not possibly implicate his comrades in the opposition for various crimes if these crimes are merely a figment of the MACC’s imagination.

So they continued to torture him. And he could no longer stand the torture. After all, he is not the macho type of man. He is but a gentle man who only wanted to get married this weekend. That was all that he wanted.

They threatened to kill him if he refuses to talk. With tears running down his cheeks he begged for mercy and pleaded with them not to harm him. They threatened to throw him off the top floor if he refuses to talk. Sobbing like a baby he went down on his knees and begged for his life.

They dragged him across the room and opened the window. Then something went terribly wrong. It was supposed to be just a threat. They just wanted to put fear in him. They did not really want to throw him off the top floor. They just wanted him to see what the ground floor looks like from the top floor.

The unfortunate young man panicked. He went ballistic when he saw the distance he would have to travel before hitting the ground floor. He struggled. They could not hold onto him. Gravity took over and the life of this young man was prematurely snuffed out.

The MACC then announced that they had released him the night before. They failed to announce that they had not released him from custody but released him from this world. Then they suddenly found his body the day after. He jumped. He committed suicide. He took his own life. He was never tortured. He was not dragged to the window with the threat that they would teach him how to fly.

This has been going on for far too long. The MACC acts like God. They kidnap families and torture those they arrest. They threaten those they interrogate with death if they refuse to talk.

And now one young man has really died. But no one will be punished. No one will be punished because they will say the young man took his own life. Why he took his own life no one knows. He was never tortured. He was never threatened with death. He was not made to look how far down the ground floor is. He was not accidentally dropped when he panicked and struggled and they could not get a good grip on him.

That is what they will be telling you and me later today."

written by Caretaker_y, July 19, 2009 20:38:44
Let me repeat this to MACC (or new name Murder And Cover-Up Commission), how far can you ALL, liars, inhuman human with no respect for lives & your conscion seered & damned forHellfire.

Dear Bunga Pakma

How would one expect the 'dogs' that hounded(tortured) Teoh Beng Hock" and finally caused the murder of him ever show TBH where the kitchen was? Not to say even give TBH a cup of water or even call the ambulance because what the dogs did to him would be later reported & announced to the Malaysian Rakyats.

So the innocent TBH is is better dead than alive because TBH is the very threat to the dogs who hounded(tortured) him. The dogs knew that being a political secretary & also a former SinChew journalist, TBH would never let them off after he is being released.

If TBH was just a witness, why/what on earth do the dogs need eleven(11)hours, I stressed, eleven(11) hours to record his statement. TBH was tortured & threatened, threatened & tortured, tortured & threatened by the dogs who took turns using different tactics & force on TBH. (These murderers will reap their sinful wages soon).

Instead of carry out their investigations professionally & humane, the dogs became inhuman & acted agressively likened to the samsengs & gangsters or what one would them call, mafia dogs style.

The murderers have deprived an unborn child of a father, a mother-to-be of a husband & Malaysia of a honest & hardworking Rakyat.

The MACC is the tool of those who walk in the corridors of power, UMNO & the Prime Minister, therefore Najib & his crooks are to be held responsible for the death/murder.

The PM still had the cheek to convey condolences to the family of the murdered, when it is committed by his hunchmen.

Remember, God is All knowing & Holy, the guilty will be judged & burn in Hellfire when the day is come. So Najib & your cronies, repent before it is too late!

May the All Mighty God, Creator of the Universe have mercy on you & your cronies.
written by pakasia, July 19, 2009 21:59:01
after the ex-MB bungalow story was exposed, now TBH is dead. is the MACC of Selangor doing a personal favor for the dentist?