Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow DEATH OF TEOH BENG HOCK: Q&A with Federal MACC director of investigations Datuk Mohd Shukri Abdul

DEATH OF TEOH BENG HOCK: Q&A with Federal MACC director of investigations Datuk Mohd Shukri Abdul PDF Print
Friday, 17 July 2009 14:18

He was to return with more documents

AT a Press conference held at the MACC's office in Plaza Masalam in Shah Alam yesterday, the place where Teoh Beng Hock was last seen before his tragic death, MACC director of investigations Datuk Mohd Shukri Abdul gave the first official statement about the episode.

What happened?

We were alerted to a body discovered at the 5th floor of Plaza Masalam at 1.30pm and our checks later showed that he was actually one of our witnesses in an ongoing investigations into State funds of a State assemblyman.

How was the body discovered?

Because someone was screaming downstairs. We don't know who it was.

Who was this witness?

The deceased was a special assistant to the Seri Kembangan State assemblyman.

How was he questioned?

We took his statements about 5pm on Wednesday and the session ended about 3.45am. He was allowed to go home, he was supposed to bring other documents to assist investigations later.

What happened between then and the fall?

He said that he was tired and wanted to rest at the settee. He was last seen by one of our officers at 6am, still sleeping.

From which floor? From where?

We don't know. The police are investigating. We are not sure if it was from the 14th floor or if he went downstairs. We are not sure.

Is this building monitored through CCTV?

As far as I know there are no CCTV cameras in our office.

How about witnesses?

We have no witnesses in MACC who saw him since 6am. We were only informed at 1.30pm.

When did it happen?

We don't know.

How was the deceased when he was giving his statements? Was he under pressure?

He was normal. He is just a witness. He was not the accused. According to Ean Yong, he had appealed to MACC for the deceased to be allowed to leave earlier and return today. This request was denied. We recorded his statements fully.

Did he complain about health problems?

No. He said he wanted to rest.

Did he cooperate during investigations?

He was cooperative. He was supposed to come back with additional documents later today after he slept.

How many officers were present when the deceased was questioned?

One.

How about after?
Our officers were working non-stop last night. Some were sleeping in their respective rooms last night.

Why was he questioned until the wee hours of the morning?

It is normal for MACC to record statements for about eight to nine hours. This is because our questions are very thorough.

Why wasn't he allowed to rest?

When we record statements, if the witness wants a break, we will take a break. We will ask him if he needs a rest. The same goes for any witness. I was informed he did get food and water.

Why was there a probe on the financial allocations?

We receive general information that there were misappropriation of State rep's funds. We are not focusing on any specific State rep. We are not sure who is involved. We are visiting certain areas, checking documents, to see if the allegations are true. - The Malay Mail

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by educationist, July 17, 2009 14:24:40
The MACC is lying.
The very organisation tasked with preventing corruption in Malaysia is itself not honest in its own dealings reaulting in the death of a witness.
You can wriggle as much as you want but the fact remains he was last in your custody before he died.
agree 195
written by fknajib, July 17, 2009 14:25:43
Sounds like a weasel that is making up excuses to cover up something. What happen to the good old tried and proven way of blowing up someone with C4? Did they ran out of C4s? Or sending people overseas like Bala? Ran out of money ? The end is near. I'm not sure if its for BN or Malaysia.
http://fakenajib.********.com
written by Man In Black, July 17, 2009 14:26:56
Bastard..you anf you fcuking family will rot in HELL
agree 149
written by Catharsis, July 17, 2009 14:27:03
".........He said that he was tired and wanted to rest at the settee. He was last seen by one of our officers at 6am, still sleeping...." WHAT HE MEANT WAS MACC IS SO TRUSTING THAT A WITNESS IS LEFT IN THE OFFICE ALL ALONE WITHOUT SUPERVISION TO REST- HOW KIND AND COMPASSIONATE IS OUR MACC- DATUK YOU MUST CERTAINLY THINK WE ARE ALL MORONS TO BELIEVE YOU
agree 117
written by GangisKhan, July 17, 2009 14:27:27
You can try and talk your way out but I will never believe the lie you have just said.. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif Murder Most Foul indeed.
written by Mark C, July 17, 2009 14:28:15
i know we shouldn't judge a book by it's cover, but please, can u trust a person that looks like that?
written by arazak, July 17, 2009 14:30:50
MT Readers,

Do you think this person is lying or telling the truth?

***** "agree", if you think he is lying and, "disagree" if you think he is telling the truth!
agree 356
written by lawa88, July 17, 2009 14:33:39
hey Shukri, dah lah tu. Kau cuma tau siasat atas kenyataan umum. Istana Khir Khinzir tu begitu besar dan nyata di depan mata kenapa tak siasat? Istana Zakaria kenapa tak siasat? Kes Balkis kenapa tak siasat? Mai hisap kot@# siasat lantui. kau cuma ikut telunjuk petualang ameno aje. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
agree 175
written by A MI, July 17, 2009 14:35:28
LIAR LIAR LIAR PANTs ON FIRE hope you and your goons repsonsible for Teo's untimely demise burn in hell
written by Sinewy, July 17, 2009 14:40:04
Did you guys noticed that this joker kept on shaking his leg while answering questions from the reporters...what do you think? A case of tension? Why tension?
written by smeagrooo, July 17, 2009 14:40:13
MACC security like some ghetto. Ppl can basically roam around at linger in the premise at odd hours like 6am. No CCTV. EVen a simple mamak shop has cctv.
written by smeagrooo, July 17, 2009 14:43:01
by hook or by crook now they hv to pin some opposition member down for graft and say TBH committed suicide out of shame.
written by otoole77, July 17, 2009 14:45:02
**** you MACC ... all of you pergi mampus dan masuk neraka !
written by mikewang, July 17, 2009 14:46:57
MACC offices are supposed to be high security areas.
It is most surprising that there is no security cameras in the premise.

Or perhaps it is routinely expected that something untoward will happen so better not to be armed with self incriminating CCTV ?
written by aeromaverick, July 17, 2009 14:53:44
Well, we have a face to the story now!
written by Everbright, July 17, 2009 14:59:24
After releasing him, did you gave Teoh has handphone to allow him to call his fiance or his family or his lawyer? Do you have evidence stating that he was released at 3.45am? Why no CCTV? I think you guys are used to lying through your teeth. You said he was questioned by one person? One person for 10 hours????? It beggers my imagination. What kind of torture methods have you guys done to witnesses under interrogation? Bloody animals! I hope your organization is proud now that you have caused the death of 1 innocent life. May all the guilty parties rot in hell!
written by Everbright, July 17, 2009 15:02:12
"Our officers were working non-stop last night. Some were sleeping in their respective rooms last night."

You mean covering up Teoh's death? Removing evidences? Calling Hisham for help? Calling shafty for help? Cooking up alibis and doing damage control? F*** you guys!
written by budaktapah, July 17, 2009 15:11:02
PAKATAN RAKYAT!!

NOW IS THE TIME TO GO INTO 7TH GEAR. NO MORE JUST TALKING (IN WHICH YOU ARE GOOD AT). ACTION IS NEEDED RIGHT NOW. PR GOR REPS IN PARLIAMENT, REPS IN STATES, PR HAVE THE SUPPORT FROM A LOT OF MALAYSIANS..PLEASE ACT NOW...

P/S - NEED I TO REMIND AGAIN THAT ONE OF OUR COMRadE DIED SUSPICIOUSLY YESTERDAY?? OR YOU WAITING ONLY YOUR WIFE , HUSBAND, SONS, DAUGHTERS ETC TO BE BEATEN OLNLY YOU WILL ACT? HAAA DSAI, LKS, KS, TGAH, TGNA, LGE ??? WHAT KIND OF LEadERS ARE YOU ALL? LETTING DOWN YOUR FOLLOWERS....PLEASE DON'T JUST TALK...ACT NOW. FOR GODSAKE THE GUY WAS ABOUT TO GET MARRIED....

AND DSAI, PLEASE REMEMBER HOW THE RAKYAT STOOD UP FOR YOU DURING THE REFORMASI TIME. ARE YOU UP TO IT TO RE-PAY THE RAKYAT AND STAND UP FOR THE LATE TEOH. IF NOT, PTUIIII..PLEASE RESIGN AND GO BACK TO YOUR LECTURING IN THE U.S.

ACT NOW!
written by Selva, July 17, 2009 15:17:34
The MACC has proved that they have too much powers-instead of going after people who embezzled millions during the last two months prior to the last GE, they are going after those who are trying to help the rakyat- we shd all turn up on Sunday and march to the MACC headquarters in Putrajaya and throwm them out-once and for all-enough is enough there is too much shit coming from this idiots-Malaysians patience is being severely tested-it is time we all put a stop to this nonsense-we have had enoughj of relevant judges, cops and MACC bastards. and where is the head honcho of the MACC-seeking Shafee and Hisham's help in this case i guess or helping his son download some picture.,..
written by sisa, July 17, 2009 15:19:50
Murders then ..now and forever. They have good associate in PDRM.
written by teo siew chin, July 17, 2009 15:53:00
where was his expression of sympathies for this tragic death?
where was his word to order a thorough investigation to eliminate any suspicion of foul play where MACC is concerned?

smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by IbnAbdHalim, July 17, 2009 15:58:41
I don't believe any of his words.
written by bknight, July 17, 2009 16:20:02
fark you! shukri! i dont believe a word u say..you face looks evil too.
written by RBJ, July 17, 2009 16:21:32
MACC GO TO HELL!
Go you son a gun don't bullshit.
You have been doing this for ages....
MACC bloody shit you partner with pdrm and carry out your devious activity against innocent people...ain't taking no shit from you
written by mrbean, July 17, 2009 16:35:38
ppooookkiiii mak kaue...
written by mountainking, July 17, 2009 16:42:14
screw you liar MACC.... MACC should go to grave.

you said you received info and you investigate. from who and source?

ppl complained about ******* Toyol, did MACC investigate? did MACC investigate ******* Ali Rustam? Did MACC investigate Hee, and the 2 screwed frogs in Perak?

how come you don't question the UMNO people in 8 hours?

THIS IS A RACIST TREATMENT BY MACC. PDRM NO EXCEPTION.
written by Jutawan, July 17, 2009 16:44:51
WHERE ARE WEE CHEE KIONG AND OUR NEXT SELANGOR MB AZMIN ALI??
ANYTHING TO SAY???
WHO'S NEXT??
written by CL Lee, July 17, 2009 17:20:35
1) Get a neutral Phatologist to conduct a post mortem to determine the followings :
i) estimated time of death - this will tell whether MACC is lying
ii) causes and patents of injuries - to determine whether he did fall voluntarily or has been pushed out or forced to fall.
iii) the impact of the fall on the body - to determine the height of the fall, this will tell roughly from which floor he fell.

2) Set up an independent investigation team or Royal Investigative Commission to investigate this case (not that we cannot trust PDRM, we cannot affore negative perceptions or chances of cover ups). This team should try to determine :

i)he landed on the roof of the fifth in the next building, this suggest he flew off quite a wide distant (a very far distant in fact for a person leaping from a static position), is it possible for him to jump that far? This has to be investigated.

ii) checked all windows facing the "Death Building" to find if there are any bloodstain, dented frames, broken panes, etc.

iii) view all CCTV recordings of the said building(in any) between 5.00pm & 6.00am, look for images that can lead to TBH's death.

This case can be anything, (suicide looks unlikely for now based on info fromhis family)
Anything to add into the list for investigation, please do so.
Make this a Malaysian Peoples' Investigation not Malaysian police investigation.
Let the witch hunt begin.............
written by Urangsabah, July 17, 2009 17:30:59
Datuk Mohd Shukri Abdul, the dead do not tell lies............but live UMNOed MACC Goons can tell lies to protect their backside........

May the person or persons who are responsible for this suffer even worst fate..............

MACC must be proud taking away the life of a Husband to be/Child/Uncle/Nephew/grandson of someone/s.....

Lrt the Police investigate say DPM........UMNOed Polis has a verdict aready "Sudden Death, NO Proof Of Any Foul Play"......Invetsigate what DPM?
written by Kathy, July 17, 2009 17:33:43
An independent commission should be set up to investigate the MACC. Gerakan and MCA, where are you? You are partners in the coalition. Speak up. Or have you been emasculated by UMNO?
written by Admiral Tojo, July 17, 2009 17:46:01
Look at his face, what do you see? Do you see EVIL? Yes, people remember his face very very well.

written by SCOng, July 17, 2009 18:04:33
What a big joke, MACC left somebody unattended in their office for hours!!!
Somebody, please disqualify all the document and evident collected by MACC.
They must have been tampered with freely by many time, anybody could have done that since people (Non MACC staff can roam freely in their office)

Auditors, shut down MACC operations, they are not fit to carry out their task !!!
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 17, 2009 18:11:18
Is this building monitored through CCTV?

As far as I know there are no CCTV cameras in our office.

HEHEHE. AFTER THE DSAI BLACK EYE FIASCO, NO MORE CCTVS CAN BE INSTALLED IN ALL THEIR TORTURE CHAMBERS LAH. THIS WAY, THE MEDICAL EXAMINER CAN ISSUE A STANDARD VERDICT ON ALL THEIR MEDICAL REPORTS: SUDDEN DEATH. NO FURTHER ACTION.
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 17, 2009 18:13:47
Why was he questioned until the wee hours of the morning?

It is normal for MACC to record statements for about eight to nine hours. This is because our questions are very thorough.

KAYU, IF YOU BLOKES ARE NOT BIASED, WHY NOT JUST HAUL UP TOYOL AND GRILL HIM AND HIS WIFE ON THEIR ISTANA MANSION??? PLS BE OUR GUEST TO STRIP BOTH OF THEM. BLOODY
HIPPOCRITES
written by JJ Kuyong, July 17, 2009 18:57:04
This is a typical answers of a damn evil person. He died at your premise and your are the prime suspect!. If my guess died within my house or premise compound i will be the prime suspect and would be investigated and thoroughly interrogated, therefore, my dear BN and 1Malaysia Government, by all means show to us that you mean business without favouer and fear by hauling those MACC guys to be remanded for interrogation.We Malaysian are watching you closely!
written by Beezee_Beezee, July 17, 2009 19:16:32
Just wondering if MACC would hv proper infrastructure like in the Police Station to held people in a safe manner? There should be a proper place where the sessions like this be held with secured surounding. There are too many complaint about the Authority be it SPRM, MACC ore even PRDM that are not responsible to the safety and livelihood of the people they interogate or kept under custody. If the GOvernment shall not take this seriously how do we the people of Malaysia respect all this authority, legestative and the Justices....Wake-up Malaysian be reasonable to the People livelihood and being......
written by ganbing, July 17, 2009 20:05:49
MACC has become Umno's Gestapo. Go to Hell, MACC! The Devil has a place for all of you. You people are not even human! Why did Teoh's pants tore? You people were holding him by his pants out of the window, weren't you, trying to coerce a false confession out of him.
written by Stupid me, July 17, 2009 20:24:33
This b*****d SUKURI should be sacked immediately. What if the son of the unfit Minister NAZARI or the MOHIDIM were to be killed by anyone? They talk too much.
written by Pakyeh, July 17, 2009 20:30:53
The curse of Allah be on them, the murderers and UMNO/BN ball carriers.
written by noyawns, July 17, 2009 20:39:18
"Why was there a probe on the financial allocations?-
We receive general information that there were misappropriation of State rep's funds. We are not focusing on any specific State rep. We are not sure who is involved. We are visiting certain areas, checking documents, to see if the allegations are true"

This is called "dredging", trying to set up evidence when there is no indication of wrongoing?!

On the other hand, Khir Toyol's palace...no la...Toyol at night busy, will never be interogated till 3.45am??

All of you, MACC, PDRM, Hishamuddin, Nazri and Najib - BLOOD on your hands! So brave: Altantuya, Kugan, Teoh...you all are responsible! God and all Malaysians CURSE u!
written by Sutha, July 17, 2009 22:21:18
MACC, PROVE YOUR INNOCENCE WITH YOUR CCTV!

OTHERWISE YOU ARE BLOODY LIARS BESIDES BEING COLD BLOODED MURDERERS.
written by mowadoha, July 18, 2009 00:59:13
written by asiana888, July 18, 2009 01:19:43
If this 'murder' of Teoh can be covered up .... BN is sending a message to PR leaders. We can cause you 'sudden death' and you better watch it! We are the untouchables.

All PR leaders ... you must do something FAST but never violence. BN is waiting for you to do that.

Let's ACT now. I am 101% sure PR has got better advisors than murderous BN. DO IT NOW!!!!!
written by KM Wong, July 18, 2009 20:32:16
The rakyat should make life difficult for this lying bastard and his cohorts.