Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ean Yong’s political secretary dead at MACC HQ

Ean Yong’s political secretary dead at MACC HQ PDF Print
Thursday, 16 July 2009 19:52
By Neville Spykerman, The Malaysian Insider

The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission’s (MACC) controversial probe into several DAP assemblymen’s activities was thrown into more turmoil today with the death of political aide Teoh Beng Hock at the anti-graft authority’s Selangor headquarters.

The 30-year-old’s death will put more pressure on the MACC, which has been accused by the opposition of conducting selective investigations.

Teoh, the political secretary of Seri Kembangan assemblyman Ean Yong Hian Wah,  was taken in for questioning by the MACC yesterday at its 14th floor office in Plaza Masalam in Shah Alam.

MACC said he was freed but his body was later found sprawled on the roof of a five-storey building next door.

It is unclear if Teoh, a former journalist with Chinese daily Sin Chew Jit Poh, fell or jumped from the MACC office.

Ean Yong and several other DAP lawmakers are at the scene now, including M. Manoharan, Gan Pei Nee and Teresa Kok.

DAP’s Ronnie Liu said the police has confirmed that the body is that of Teoh. He added that he does not understand how this could have happened.

Forensic investigators examine the body of Teoh Boon Hock for clues. Teoh was found dead next to the MACC’s office today, after being taken in for questioning yesterday.

At a press conference, the MACC director of investigations Datuk Mohd Shukri Abdul said Teoh was questioned from 5pm yesterday to 3.45am and was released soon after.

However, Teoh apparently said he was tired and so he rested on a settee in the lobby. He was seen sleeping on the settee at 6am.

At about 1.30pm, Shukri said, they heard that a body had been found on the 5th floor of the adjacent building and when one of the MACC officers went to investigate, he realised it was one of their witnesses.

Shukri said Teoh was not a suspect but was questioned as part of their investigations into the misuse of state allocations.

Selangor police chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar said the deceased was found lying in a pool of blood clad in a white shirt, black pants and jacket.

Police have not allowed anyone to view Teoh’s body, which has still not been removed at 6.30pm, when his brother was at the scene.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by malsia1206, July 16, 2009 19:58:25
Deaths in Police Stations' toilets are so common. The deceaded died when they slipped and fell on their heads. MACC may just be following the same direction. Except their toilets are cleaner and the deceaded fell out of the building completely. The common denominator is strange and coincidental - they all fell to their deaths. NO FURTHER ACTION (NFA).
written by my2cents, July 16, 2009 19:59:28
Hmmm... everything looks very fishy but before that, my condolence to the family. We are with you at this moment.
written by Anti Relon, July 16, 2009 19:59:44
WHAT IS THE COUNTRY COMING TO???
written by Stupid me, July 16, 2009 19:59:50
'At a press conference, the MACC director of investigations Datuk Mohd Shukri Abdul said Teoh was questioned from 5pm yesterday to 3.45am and was released soon after.'
Is there no rule about questioning of a person under whatever laws.
written by Sudahlah tu, July 16, 2009 20:01:50
kayalah ....si anjing kesihatan kandang umno itu ..
dapat komisyen banyak .kali ini lebih banyak daripda menutup kes Kugan tu ..
faham ajelah ..sudah dapat pangkat tan sri ..
kini ..lagi tutp kes ini ..
anjing jalanan umno ini ... jenis kacukan ini lebih matang dan berani menipu dan berdosa ... dia itu tidak pernah berpegang kepada kepercayaan Allah ..
dia itu kini bergelar seekor nabi umno yang telah berjasa besar menipu umat Allah.
written by PRman, July 16, 2009 20:05:58
Please check CCTV asap! Get a hold of the footage by PR, please! The person was not a suspect, yet he could be questioned until 3am? Where is the justice?

My condolences to the family!
written by mrbean, July 16, 2009 20:06:59
firstly, why is there a need to question him up to 3.45 am...
answer this question first!
very clear that there is something fishy going on
written by Stupid me, July 16, 2009 20:21:21
The head of the MACC must go. No two ways about things.
written by mansel, July 16, 2009 20:25:38
Selangor police chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar said the deceased was found lying in a pool of blood clad in a white shirt, black pants and jacket.

we have color blind police chief..

my condolences to the family
written by Wolzard, July 16, 2009 20:29:43
the truth is, the bottomline line is that TEOH WAS MURDERED!
to anybody that says this is suicide, please book your one-way ticket straight to HELL!
written by Mark C, July 16, 2009 20:33:02
my heart aches and my hands trembled when i read this piece of news.

Our beloved country has truly join the ranks of Zimbabwe, Somalia and those countries that has not law, not sense of decency and humanity.

I shudder to think what will my infant son face in the next decade? Something needs to be done and it's not some other day, and it's not tomorrow...Action need to be taken NOW.

written by max_crazy, July 16, 2009 20:36:50
not you...ean,the first jump it must be toyo.
written by JUST, July 16, 2009 20:44:06
It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!

< Mahatma Gandhi >
written by SocratesI, July 16, 2009 20:44:59

"fell or jumped from the MACC office" should read,"was pushed or thrown from the MACC office" ... so obvious ... so Somalian, Sierra Leonian, Zimbabwean ! Obviously, Najis Rosak and UMNO and Barisan Najis at their wits end, having lost every by (buy)- election so far, they have finally succumbed to their base instincts and come out with a plan to murder and kill off Oposition voters one by one, so that they can win the GE13 in 2013.

written by johanssm, July 16, 2009 21:03:30
Dear all , please join hands and take part in the coming soon Anti -ISA rally.
This time it is not all about Anti - ISA.
This round will be Anti-umno , Anti Polis brutality , Anti WhatEver which you deems fit.
We cannot let innocent people dies and sit back doing nothing.
We cannot be sitting on our chair condemning such actions in other people's blog .
The coming Anti-ISA rally will be my second major rally to attend.
The first was BERSIH.
Do something worthwhile for Altantuya, Kugan, Teoh ,YM Raja Petra , Menteri Besar Nizam , Perak and many more.
Are the HINDRAF people still sitting out there bickering over Indians issues?
Are the Sabahans and Sarawakians thinks this is not there problems too?
Make this up coming Anti-ISA rally big.
Big enough to make Barrack Obama to calls up.
What do you think?
written by shamadz72, July 16, 2009 21:04:38
I have told you guys before, Najib ascending to throne spell doom to this country. he and his evil wife (perempuan puaka) surely going to bring bad luck to the people of this country.

written by A MI, July 16, 2009 21:16:53
this is outrageous!
written by Captain, July 16, 2009 21:34:30
Murdered! In custody. Another Kugan?
written by Ahjamal, July 16, 2009 21:42:28
Najis should be held responsible He just proudly proclaimed that UN call him to look into Burma. This is joke for UN or
Najis is a liar. Come very soon this liar will tell us ALLAH called him and ask him to be the new AGONG for Malaysia.
written by Prem, July 16, 2009 22:00:59
We have lost another innocent soul! Cover ups are nothing new in our Malaysia Bolehland.What amazes one is that our "honourable MACC" is BLIND,DEAF,MUTE when there is 'GREAT ROBBERY BY BN'going on daily doses,eg.PKFZ,KHIR TOYO's 24million ringgit Indonesian 'village',Kg.Buah Pala landscam,Tourism's Million dollar Todt etc.Instead the Macc goes for cars,cows and rented bunglows!!!!! Don't test the Rakyat's intelligence,for goodness sake.
written by JUST, July 16, 2009 22:05:33
GOD spares no evils! The truth will prevail!
Justice will be served...... one way or another!
Evils will subject to eternity of God’s retribution!

GOD Bless All!
written by Mirage, July 16, 2009 22:09:02
We will see in this case whether Najib manage to bring the Police and MACC together as friends rather than foe in his course to eliminate opposition.
written by wood, July 16, 2009 22:10:53
We Malaysians must be so "proud" we have such hardworking govt staff from the MACC conducting round the clock investigation on only a witness, mind you from 5pm to 3.45 am the following morning. Such dedication shown must be "rewarded" by the govt ! However is this necessary ??????????????????????????????????????
smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Mirage, July 16, 2009 22:13:28
Pls Malaysian wake up to the dawn of killing spree by the Fed Govt. We could not do anything abt Altantuya, Bala and the rest of the SD presented and hence they are getting bolder.
written by Mirage, July 16, 2009 22:20:43
Najib is a failure !!! Again and again and again
written by fireduck, July 16, 2009 22:46:25
Teoh must not die in vain. If the MACC persists in the blatant abuse of powers, we rakyat must react. We should lodge reports of all corruption that we know that has happened under the UMNO(BN) govts, past and present, and flood MACC offices with them. And post a copy of each report online for all to see and monitor. I'm very sure the amount of abuses by UMNO(BN) is enough to inundate and keep them busy forever.

Otherwise, disband the MACC and have a real independent body structured like Hong Kong's ICAC. But first, haul in the MACC Selangor chief and charge him for whatever as he is the primary cause of this whole unnecessary sad episode.

And damn it, INVESTIGATE KHIR TOYO!
written by ez24get, July 16, 2009 22:53:18
Very strange circumstances:
1. a person to be married tomorrow and is not even the accused committed suicide?
2. interrogated until 4.00am and allowed to loiter in MACC office where all the sensitive documents on politicians, underworld figures and ministers are kept? Tell that to a kid.
3. he did not want to go home even he has his own car downstairs? Is MACC that cozy and comfortable until a person who has been interrogated for a straight 8 hours to the wee morning hours that he doesn't want to go home. Tomorrow was his wedding day and he doesn't want to go home to make preparations for the big day?
4. why was his clothing torn?
5. why was he on the opposite block of building when he died? If anything happens in MACC building would be too obvious isn't it? So he was brought to the next block of building and pushed down.

It is very obvious that the MACC is the prosecution tools of the powers that be. Small amounts pertaining to the oppositions are investigated with haste while the big sharks are left to roam the country. Why the MACC are not investigating the allocations of the previous selangor government when they squandered all within two months!

After this incident who would be safe if they cooperate with the MACC? The opposition should now adopt civil disobedience by not cooperating with the MACC as they cannot guarantee their safety. What ever they ask, don't give. Whenever they require to go to their office don't go. Let them haul you to court. Go to jail if required. Can the MACC succeed if thousands of people refuse to cooperate? Why cooperate with a farcical body to give it any form of credence?
written by Sabahfan, July 16, 2009 22:54:06
UMNO really is proving to be a regime...

they have to resort to killing political secretaries to wrest control of power in PKR held states.... hoiiiii UMNO regime... go to hell

FIRST IT WAS ALTANTUYA,

THEN POLITICAL SECRETARIES.. WHOS NEXT???
written by mowadoha, July 16, 2009 23:14:09
written by Hakim Joe, July 16, 2009 23:40:28
Look at the bleary photo!!! How come only the pants was torn?
Could it be where the assailants grabbed him and threw him out the window?
And how is it possible that there are no CCTV in MACC?