Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Tee Keat: I'm under siege

Tee Keat: I'm under siege PDF Print
Thursday, 16 July 2009 14:41

"The steps they take include threats on my personal safety as well as applying internal pressure in an attempt to stop me from disclosing the content of the report."

(By HWN YAUL LEN/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily)

KUALA LUMPUR: Transport minister Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat said there were some forces collaborating in an attempt to stop him from disclosing PricewaterhouseCoopers' audit report on the PKFZ.

He said the forces included the persons involved in the incident themselves, politico-business forces with connection to the persons directly involved in the incident, as well as certain quarters within the ruling coalition.

"The steps they take include threats on my personal safety as well as applying internal pressure in an attempt to stop me from disclosing the content of the report."

During an exclusive interview with Sin Chew Daily, Ong Tee Keat talked of the incidents he had gone through during the process of handling the PKFZ case after taking over the transport portolio last year.

Under threat

He said there were a few forces which collaborated to put him "under siege". These forces include politico-business forces trying to block him before the report was made public, as well as rumours against him from Chinese-based opposition parties after the report was made public.

He even said someone had delivered him a message through some "secret society brothers" saying, "If you're wiped out from this world some day, you should know why this has happened!"

He emphasised that his motive of insisting to commission PWC to investigate the PKFZ case was very simple, as the project had involved a very huge sum of money and he did not want "our children to inherit the massive debt."

He admitted that the PKFZ case was the poison that had killed BN and MCA during the last general elections. He said since he could not delete the incident from the memories of the public simply by evading the issue, why not conduct a thorough investigation and return the truth to the public?

He said the PKFZ incident had instigated the political nerve of MCA, paving the way for politico-business interests to infiltrate into the party, even to vow to stumble him by all means.

He lamented that these forces were trying to protrude a type of moral value: Those investigating the scandal are far more despicable than those directly involved in it; and creating a peaceful and harmonious illusion is way more important than madly pursuing the truth.

He also pointed out that someone had disseminated the message that what he was doing was on his own accord and had not been endorsed by either BN or the Cabinet, and therefore was incompatible with the BN government.

"All the things I have done so far have been carried out according to the procedures. I'm doing all these not to please anyone, or to bank on any external force to consolidate my leadership.

"I only believe that the truth must be disclosed and the solution sought before we can take away the gloom over PKFZ."

Can leave anytime

He also said if what he had done was wrong, had plunged the country in a state of distress, or had put the ruling coalition to shame, he was ready to call it a day if the government could get someone more capable to take over.

"If what I'm doing is contrary to the political culture of BN or MCA, I can go anytime."

"Some of the things are not convenient to be told at this moment!"

Ong Tee Keat took over the transport ministry, as well as the tacky issue of the PKFZ scandal, in the Cabinet reshuffle pursuant to the general elections last year.

The PKFZ issue used to be brought up in the Parliament a number of times, and the persons concerned had also offered some kind of reply. The file was supposed to be "closed."

Nevertheless, Tee Keat insisted to commission an independent audit company to re-examine the case.

Why must he investigate the PKFZ incident? Why must he incur more trouble for the BN government? What are his motives behind all this? Is he trying to play the hero? Or is he targeting someone in doing so?

These are just some of the things people are keen to find out.

By accident Tee Keat came across a phrase in a TV program: "leaving the debt to the descendants."

These few words stimulated his nerves and triggered him, who was himself doubtful about the PKFZ project, to launch a comprehensive investigation.

It took him some time before obtaining the permission from the finance ministry to hire an independent international audit company PricewaterhouseCoopers to conduct a thorough probe on the project.

He also said the audit report would definitely be made public.

However, he incurred public wrath for delaying the disclosure of the audit report after it was completed. And that also made him the target of the opposition's assault.

Meanwhile, there were a few sayings ciruclating around, including his intention of masking the truth by criticising the government, or tampering with the content resulting in the delay of the announcement.

He told Sin Chew Daily that he wouldn't bother about how other people were seeing him. He even disclosed some of the things which have so far been hidden from public knowledge.

As for some of the questions, he said it was not yet convenient to disclose the truth, but said, "Some of these things I'm not going to bring to my grave! No, this is not me!"

Never raised a loan

Q: What has made you investigate the PKFZ case?

A: I took over the transport portfolio after the general elections last March. Prior to that, I'd heard of PKFZ, but never been there.

I went there for the first time early last May, and it was soon followed by a parliamentary inquiry. At that time, I could only refer to whatever information I had in hand, and I needed to digest all this information first.

The port authorities finalised the decisions on 10th of May on all the development works, size, scope and cost evaluation of the entire project. Actually they had made the preliminary decisions in February, but because of the elections and dissolution of the Parliament, the final decision was hammered out only in May.

Accoding to the government proceedings, statutory institutions must not submit the reports directly to the finance minister or PM, but have to do so through their respective ministers.

Under such circumstances, since the port authorities had already finalised the decisions, and the government-appointed surveyors had also formally verified and prepared the budget, all I had to do was to submit the original document to the then prime minister cum finance minister Tun Abdullah.

At the same time, since the amount involved was too big, some RM1.2 billion, I became interested. So I started tracing the case and focusing my attention on the project.

The port authorities were to borrow from the government a massive sum of money to be repaid over 20 years. My first impression was that we must have the ability to repay the sum. The PKFZ must make money and have sufficient profits. Otherwise, the debts would be inherited by our children!

As a matter of fact, some preliminary decisions have been made as early as 2004, but the entire project was only finalised in 2008.

When I took over as the transport minister last year, I just submitted the document to the prime minister, while the loan had been approved by the finance ministry in 2007.

I've not borrowed a single cent myself!

And because of this, I felt there was a need to conduct an independent probe, not internal audit.

I only could make the port authorities commission PWC to launch the probe in October.

Q: Why did it take you so long, from May to October, to decide to let PWC do the audit?

A: That's because we needed to get the permission from the finance ministry.

As an international audit company, PWC would only do things according to the customary regulations which were finalised between themselves and the port authorities. The transport ministry did not have a hand in this matter. ... more to follow

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by rocky, July 16, 2009 15:08:07
we are crying for you la. what a great guy... smilies/tongue.gif
written by parsona, July 16, 2009 15:23:40
Oh puhleez... Everyone and their dog knows that only investigated the PKFZ case due to relentless pressure from Lim Kit Siang. You realized that forever evading his questions will erode your credibility
written by Bigjoe99, July 16, 2009 15:39:40
Please, PKFZ was a factor but it did not really blew up until AFTER 308. What is he talking about? CSL sex scandal was a bigger than PKFZ. It was only because Lim Kit Siang kept hounding on it, it became bigger and bigger.

AND if he is trying to sell the idea he did not have an inkling that PKFZ was a mess before he took over, he might as well tell me is a virgin. Who has been around politics this long cannot smell the rat when Jafzi pulled out? Lim Kit Siang did not keep hounding on PKFZ because he had the facts but he could smell the stink after being in politics for so long.

He tried to play his politics within BN and MCA with this hot potato but he failed so now he is preparing to burn everything down if he is taken down with this potato. He sounds desperate which is a good sign. Everyone that was involved with this deserve to get burn to crisp..
written by loosecannon, July 16, 2009 15:46:06
It goes to show that the MCA is run like the Mafia.
written by mikewang, July 16, 2009 15:46:11
We have to give credit where credit is due.
We have to be thankful to OTK for initiating the audit and releasing the preliminary report.

Basically OKT could just sleep on this over the next 4~5 years and passed the buck over to his successor.
That he was not in the good books of Ling and KT was a well known fact so if there were any leftovers to be glean, TK would not be given a portion.

I think the next step is to wait for the full report and to recommend a commission of inquiry so that the criminal aspects of this scandal may be identified.
On whether the wrong doers would face prosecution, that will probably be the job of the new PR government.
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 16, 2009 16:13:02
Transport minister Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat said there were some forces collaborating in an attempt to stop him from disclosing PricewaterhouseCoopers' audit report on the PKFZ.

He said the forces included the persons involved in the incident themselves, politico-business forces with connection to the persons directly involved in the incident, as well as certain quarters within the ruling coalition.

OH POOR EUNUCH. GO SCREW YRSELF LAH. EXPECT US TO BELIEVE YR SHIT???
written by malsia1206, July 16, 2009 16:31:50
OTK knows fully well if PKFZ is not handled properly, it would spell the final end for MCA. And he also knows fully well if he press the matter for full disclosure, it may mean the end of his political career. Either which way, it's the Party or himself that shall be on the chopping block. At this present time, I hold my view he chose to put himself in the crossfire first. He had deliberately chosen to make himself dispensable, but NOT the Party. That I have to give him due credit. My 2 sen.
written by fireduck, July 16, 2009 16:31:50
Ok, I cut you some slack. Just name all those involved in the cover-up. Who are the ones pressuring you? Important for the rakyat to know.

When I took over as the transport minister last year, I just submitted the document to the prime minister, while the loan had been approved by the finance ministry in 2007

Hmmm ... I'm trying to recall who the Finance Minister is at that time. Let me think ..... smilies/wink.gif
written by Counterpointer, July 16, 2009 16:32:22
written by Old Man, July 16, 2009 16:33:39
OTK, who dares to put you under siege except yourself? You must be dreaming of being a Billionaire within one term as President! Our country is in recession while the prices of food and other essentials for ordinary folks are increasing..... What are you doing about it??? Still barking for more bones???
written by BukitBeruntung, July 16, 2009 16:39:34
Woah, what a mighty sacrifice from "I will reveal all"!

I am totally impress.....NOT.

written by malgal, July 16, 2009 16:54:37
true to prediction, dr ling remembers nothing, selective alzheimer has set in. fluff bag.
written by ultraman, July 16, 2009 17:01:45
Aiya,
BN parties are infiltrated with crooks and corrupt guys. Their mouths are so big that they can swallow an elephant.
I believe Ong Tee keat is threatened by those crooks who might have squandered millions in PKNZ.
Ong, do your job. Have no fear against those crooks
written by Kampong, July 16, 2009 17:09:31
Are we seeing a Chinese Zaid Ibrahim? I surely hope so.

Come on KT, we sorely need a Chinese educated guy who can demonstrate how principles are required of a learned one. No amount of effort would purge BN of its stench, remember how they tried to crucify you for exposing the $10,000 to $1000 scam? PR is where you belong.
written by yuenthiam, July 16, 2009 18:14:41
Credit should be given when it’s due and I think OTK earned it fair and square. He said he would make public the PKFZ report and he kept his promise for whatever’s worth. I may be wrong, but I think no non-UMNO BN leader ever had the courage to do what OTK did.

Did we hear correctly the several letters related to the PKFZ case that were signed by LLSik were only letters of support issued in his capacity as the then Transport Minister? Were those letters intended to deliberately and unfairly influence the decision making process then or were they for the purpose of deceiving the parties concerned that the letters were indeed meant to be letters of guarantee at the material times? I believe we are talking about crooks and liars here!
written by Agahdemo, July 16, 2009 18:16:56
"Some of these things I'm not going to bring to my grave! No, this is not me!"
Ong, its good you keep reminding yourself.....

Don't leave behind a curse that you will regret for generation to come......
written by cllim123, July 16, 2009 18:20:15
OTK has confirmed what i suspected and preached for a long time. That MCA has secret society brothers. "Heng Tai" just like that in the HK film "Infernal Affairs". Just look at the VCD DVD and along kingpins. And Siew Sam Ong connection in the head of Gurney MCA division. When MCA say, the DVD peddlars on Chua Soiled Leg immediately stopped the sale in pasar malam.

So now Ong TK is not reporting those who have interests in PKFZ cover up because it is not convenient? Is he trying to save his own ass from the triad? If so then he has no business in being our leader. We ordinary fellows get chained up like dogs if we do not pay his ahlong Heng Tais.
written by yellowwoman, July 16, 2009 19:32:46
Come on, give the man a break.
You guys just hentam only. Wait and see what he discloses. Give him a chance to speak. He was a decent MCA guy before he became the President. Sometimes when you are at the top, you have to keep quiet on many things because there arejust too many inconvenient truths all around.

There is hope.
written by Hakim Joe, July 16, 2009 19:34:09
Wah...you tai-kor also got people dare to threaten you ah.
They not yet die before meh?

written by Adrian, July 16, 2009 21:44:01
Guys,

this is the man who was instrumental in exposing the PKFZ - you should give me more strength to carry on, not to give him hard time. You may not like MCA for many reasons, but definitely this is not one of them.
written by SiHangChai, July 16, 2009 23:18:55
Balik-lah. Dun talk c0ck, Ong! You are a greater pretender and actor.

I must admire and impress with your speech and discussion when we had dinner together back in 2008. But now, I know it is only politics and fishing for votes.
written by asiana888, July 17, 2009 00:16:50
Talk rubbish! We all waiting for you to just name the names ... stop the wayang-kulit! What have you to say about Mr Teo's untimely death in MACC building?????? Is that also the work of business-politicos forces .... BN members, ah?????
written by storm62, July 17, 2009 01:56:41
tee keat, you're not under siege, you should have been 6 feet under ground!
written by DreamLady, July 17, 2009 10:16:17
Own tea cake, if you are man enough, spill the beans this very minute!! The moment you joined UMNO/BN regime, you are well-protected to the hilt, I doubt anybody has the capacity to do you harm, unless you lie through your teeth, hoping against hope the Chinese in particular shall understand the plight you are in. If you have principle and morality, you would do what is right in the name of truth, to expose the devil, to crush the wrong-doers instead of giving excuses after excuses so that you shall be exempted from revealing the truth!!!

I challenge you: Expose the culprits for the sake of all Malaysians!!!
written by aeromaverick, July 17, 2009 14:01:15
OTK, you MF! Real people are getting tossed out of windows to their untimely sad death! And you MF @$$h@le are worried about what's going to happen to your pretty @$$ due to money you stole in the first place....
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
WTF do you have to say about Teo Beng Hock's unfortunate demise?
WTF do you have to say to his grieving family and fiancee?
Go hang yourself, MF!!