Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow An Open Letter to a Muslim Journalist “Spy”

An Open Letter to a Muslim Journalist “Spy” PDF Print
Thursday, 16 July 2009 11:10

It is a pity that you have gone through so much trouble to “investigate” under guise what is going on in Catholic Churches or that “Muslim teenagers were being converted to Christianity in Kuala Lumpur's churches every Sunday”. You should have gone directly to the Special Branch, which sends it officers to visit our churches occasionally. Surely they will be able to tell you that you would be only wasting your time!

By Martin Jalleh

Saudara,

I just read that recently you and a friend visited one of the churches that I belong to. I was surprised that you had to do it in disguise. You should have told the Catholic community there that you were coming and we would have given you a grand welcome.

Such was the experience of the MP for Shah Alam, Khalid Abdul Samad from Pas, who was even given a standing ovation when he visited and had a dialogue with the parishioners of the Church of the Divine Mercy in Shah Alam last year.

Some time back I was attending a Mass (Catholic worship) in a Catholic church in Petaling Jaya and was very moved by the presence of a group of Muslim students together with their Muslim professor who had taken them there as part of their “exposure programme”.  None of them were converted.

You see we are not an underground church nor do we function in a clandestine manner. Our hearts are on the holy and not on the hideous. We even pray for Najib the PM, though I feel we do not pray enough for the Opposition. We also pray for people like you who do more harm than good to the name of your religion of peace, tolerance and compassion.

Further, what takes place in Catholic churches is highlighted in our in-house newspaper which was quite unknown to the whole population and whose readers formed an insignificant number – until the Government decided to prevent it from using the word “Allah”. Alas, the Herald should thank the Government for making it so well-known today.  

Religious Misfits

It is a pity that you have gone through so much trouble to “investigate” under guise what is going on in Catholic Churches or that “Muslim teenagers were being converted to Christianity in Kuala Lumpur 's churches every Sunday”. You should have gone directly to the Special Branch, which sends it officers to visit our churches occasionally. Surely they will be able to tell you that you would be only wasting your time!

As for the information that Muslims are being driven in droves into Catholicism (which you have concluded to be “false” in your article) it has been a fallacious and stale rumour for quite some time, spread by those who have an obsession and paranoia or by the increasing number of lower echelon zealots or “Little Mullah Napoleons” running riot with their brand of religion.

In Feb. 2006, the Mufti of Perak, Haji Harussani Haji Zakaria, claimed that 250,000 Muslims (of which 100,000 were Malays) had apostatized themselves, while 100,000 more had submitted applications to do so. Of course he was unable to substantiate his claim because it was false.

In Nov. 2006, about 500 Muslims protested in front of the Catholic Church of Our Lady of Lourdes in Ipoh following a SMS wherein the same Mufti had disclosed that about 600 Muslim students of the Ungku Omar Polytechnic were to be baptized by national mariner Azhar Mansor!

The church was not converting Muslims but instead was holding the First Holy Communion Mass (one of the rites of initiation to the faith) for 98 Catholic children, many of whom were traumatised by the sight of a threatening mob. Imagine the very unfortunate impression the young Catholics would have got of Islam and of Muslims.

The mufti who had proven to be more of a misfit, was not man enough to own up. He blamed it on an SMS sent out by a woman! Why no action was taken against the mufti, and why the authorities remained mute (on both occasions) over his “mischief” remains but a mystery. You must have been motivated by the mufti.

If indeed the Catholic Church has the conversion of Muslims as its hidden agenda, it would surely have started converting hundreds or even thousands of impressionable young Muslims through its Catholic Mission schools which have existed for as long as 100 years, But no such thing has ever happened.

The Muslim classmates and friends that I had in St Michael’s Ipoh are still good and respected Muslims today, and such was their appreciation and respect for the La Salle Brothers that they made sure that their children in turn would attend a La Salle school or a Convent!

Sacrilegious

Sadly, your disrespect knew no bounds. You chose to abandon all human and religious decency with impunity as a journalist and a Muslim. Under pretense of being a Catholic you participated in the church service and even partook of the Holy Communion (a white and sacred wafer) strictly meant only for Catholics.

You consumed the white wafer which Catholics hold as very sacred and treat with utmost reverence,  and both of you spat out the remnants, photographed it and published the picture in an article entitled "Tinjaun Al Islam Dalam Gereja:Mencari Kesahihan Remaja Murtad" which was published in the May 2009 issue of the Al Islam magazine.

I shudder to think of what could happen if the reverse took place -- if for instance two reporters from the Herald were to enter a mosque disguised as Muslims, partake of the rituals and desecrate something which the congregation considers very sacred. 

I can imagine Khairy Jamaluddin leading a group of Umno Youth thugs and burning the effigy of the Catholic Archbishop of Kuala Lumpur and even threatening to set fire to a few churches, and Zulkifli Nordin rousing up a mob and invading the Herald’s office and demanding that it be shut down for good; or certain Muslim NGOs insisting that the two journalists be jailed under the ISA!

It makes me wonder how does a “creature” like you exist in this country?  Are you the product of the educational, social or even religious system or process created by Bolehland’s leaders (also read as “Umno”) over the past 30 years?

How is it possible that you could blatantly trespass into a place of worship, violate its sanctity, insult its adherents, even publish your transgression and completely ignore the implications and consequences (will there be any)? What gives you such audacity?

It all points to the reality of you being a cog in Umno’s machine – a political party that has politicised religion for its survival by creating unfounded insecurities amongst Muslims and a distrust of other religions. Meanwhile it dominates, dictates, decides and even defines what non-Muslims can and cannot discuss, deliberate on, and display in print.  

Najib’s 1Malaysia is really Malaysia in one big mess!

As I join my Catholic brothers and sisters in forgiving you (a Catholic duty we are reminded of!), I also pray that you will feel the full weight of God’s wrath upon you.

I feel sad for the many good Muslims in this country who have a respect for peoples of other faiths, for not only have you insulted Catholics but you have insulted them too. Islam would do well without religious misfits like you!

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by technoboy, July 16, 2009 11:15:54
This is all the results of crooks who has been in power for over 50 years, sudah big headed.
written by *********, July 16, 2009 11:18:15
Najib Must Stop Provocations By Extremist Muslims Against Christians Before All Hell Breaks Loose...More http://*********.********.com/...ns-by.html
written by Msiasky, July 16, 2009 11:18:59
I like this statement very much.

"Islam would do well without religious misfits like you!"

Without people like this, Malaysia will be more harmony.
agree 151
written by babihutan, July 16, 2009 11:31:41
Nowsaday, Nothing good come out from Islam.
Beside killing, bombing, extreme activities.........,
Any muslim can tell me good and beautiful things about Islam??
disagree 26
written by mvivek, July 16, 2009 11:31:43
Journalist, he may be;
Spy, he certainly is;
A Muslim, he can't be and shouldn't be.

If he is anything at all, he is the worst and lowest species of the human kind.
AND.....obviously.....carrying the UMNO tag!!!!
written by Susanna, July 16, 2009 11:32:40
They think they and they only are the rightful agents of God having holier than thou attitudes. Sad to see they cannot see beyond themselves that they make their God so tiny and petty.
written by smeagrooo, July 16, 2009 11:42:34
why did they do it? not becos they lack a brain but becos they hv immunity.

1Malaysia, but dont think it is meant for us to savour.
written by Kunta Kinte, July 16, 2009 11:42:39
The act by this journalist is disgraceful and totally unacceptable. Its is of no surprise that Muslims alike have not come out and condemned this act. Does their silence mean they accept his actions?
written by OilMan, July 16, 2009 12:00:50
I saw a sticker on a friend's car stating 'Fear Allah'. I have nothing against it but Christians would have a sticker saying 'Love God' or 'Love Jesus'. Therefore, God loves us and is all forgiving, and I am sure God will forgive these lost souls for what they have done. However, we humans are at not as strong as God and may not be that forgiving. We do not incite violence but at the very least we still have the right to vote, come the next GE and you will all know whom I will vote for.
written by yellowkingdom, July 16, 2009 12:01:29
I challenge the Muslim authorities and Muslim state religious councils to summon this so-called Muslim journalist, "Spy". Take him to task for partaking in Catholic religious practices and desecrating what Catholics uphold as sacred. Can I lodge a police report on the irresponsible action of this "Spy"? For blatantly trespassing into a place of worship, violate its sanctity, insult its adherents, and publishing such transgressions? If "Spy" could stoop so low to subject the Catholic community to disrespect, one shudders to think what other devious plans he may in future. Will he impersonate a Muslim apostate seeking baptism then having entrapped church members/leaders publicly exposed the story as proof of the Catholic church "actively" proselytizing?
This devil in the person of "Spy" is dangerous and should be kept under surveillance by ISA for causing disunity and inciting religious hatred.
written by Krepot, July 16, 2009 12:01:46
Why do people hate muslims?

Look at this idiots act! He is a muslim!
Look at the people in authority - did they act?! They are mostly muslims!
Look at muslims themselves, did anyone speak up?!

Now you know why people hate muslims?

I feel sad, for the real practicing muslims out there.
written by rocky, July 16, 2009 12:02:38
well said. KJ would have been out on the street and the police would have dragged the 2 out of their house if it was the reverse. Amok would have been the most used word as well if the reverse has had happened. Great that Christians can show maturity.

what these guys did was disgusting and uncalled for. well the mufti has shown the way forward thus there is no need for real proof, just wild rumour is good enough to start a frenzy. Guess some people do not know how to think.
written by san amin, July 16, 2009 12:02:50
CHRISTIANITY IS LIKE 600 YRS OLDER THAN ISLAM...WHY NEED TO SPY? GOD CAN SEE EVERYTHING AND PUNISH ANYONE. GOD DIDNT GIVE U THE RIGHT TO PUNISH THE UNBELIEVERS, THERE IS HELL AND HEAVEN..SO WHAT TO WORRY. JUST CONCENTRATE ON YOURSELF.
written by miwaki, July 16, 2009 12:03:50
These two chaps will be born as " spider" in their next life.It doesn't matter whether they believe it or not,they are 'spiders' for sure.
written by OilMan, July 16, 2009 12:04:30
Many Malaysians settled down and remained overseas because of the religion. Maybe someone can do a survey and find out just how many Muslim Malaysian woman marries an 'orang putih' and converted to another religion - there are of course men also that has converted.
written by wongnoball, July 16, 2009 12:11:51
Islam in Malaysia is like this Corrupted regim UMNO....

Anything Good is SOLD to the High Heavens, anything Bad is covered up 20 feet underground and hope no one see the LUMP above the ground or plant some trees to improve the image, NOT KNOWING ALL MALAYSIAN HAVE SEEN YOUR CRIME.....your Hiprocrasy we don't care, but when you cross the Boundary...we will FIGHT YOU and CONDEMN you to DEATH!! PAS diam aje....mau lagi Perpaduam Ummah dan melayu dengan UMNO??
written by joeawk, July 16, 2009 12:14:44
the mind of a muslim? ayoyo..............What la, keluar dari tempurung la. cari pasal tada sebab. panggil u bodoh, u beramok, nak kata u bodoh, u sikit pun tak. Ayoyo, kerajaan buang duit la, hantar u pi sekolah.
written by whlau, July 16, 2009 12:25:54
I just wonder why the Muslim community and the country's leaders has kept silence over this serious violation. If they continue to keep quiet and not take serious action against these trouble makers, it will only make most non Muslims think of Islam as being creators of most troubles in this world. Do not let this incident reaffirm that notion, and do not let a few of these "stray Muslims" do untold damage to the good name of Islam.

As the writer had said earlier, what if the reverse had took place, not that the non Muslims would ever dare. I can bet you there definitely will be hell to pay!

So please, take action and take it NOW!!!
written by Jan, July 16, 2009 12:50:51
Mawi, I cannot agree with what you said. A church or mosque may be a public place but you can't do what you like in it, just like what these 2 idiots did. Be considerate and be respectful whether in church or mosque and the respect will be returned.
written by hellosunshine, July 16, 2009 12:51:52
"Church, just like a mosque, are public places and are opened to anyone whether its for good or bad intentions."

Thanks for your 2 cents worth, Mawi. Would you, in all fairness, dare to agree that if it had been the other way around, all hell would break loose and Muslims would run amok lead by Zulkifli Nordin, KJ, Harussani and other Talibanic Muslims? smilies/tongue.gif
written by Super Admin, July 16, 2009 12:59:39
Dear mawi, you can't smoke in a mosque. Women can't wear short skirts and sleeveless T-shirts as well. So there are rules, contrary to what you say.
written by Malaysiaputra, July 16, 2009 13:02:32
Be that as it may and leaving morality aside, what they did ias not legally wrong.

===

Mawi, what bullshit you are talking ? . If I has been the otherway round, done to Muslims, would you be talking such ?. You may be one of those calling for blood.

Would you have said the same if an infidel were to smuggle a pig into the Kaaba and slaughter it there ?.
written by cruzeiro, July 16, 2009 13:09:26
Mawi,
There's no law that explicitly states that I cannot piss on your face ...
Care to invite?
written by hiiijack, July 16, 2009 13:09:28
Lord Jesus 'Forgive them o lord for they don't know what they're doing'
written by best4rakyat, July 16, 2009 13:48:59
Repent....
Trust that You both the demons will be judged in the latest day!

1 Corinthians 10:20-22
20: "No, but the sacrifices of pagans are offered to demons, not to God, and I do not want you to be participants with demons.
21: "You cannot drink the cup of the Lord and the cup of demons too; you cannot have a part in both the Lord's table and the table of demons."
22:"Are we trying to arouse the Lord's jealousy? Are we stronger than he?"

Ecclesiastes 5
Stand in Awe of God

1 Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. Go near to listen rather than to offer the sacrifice of fools, who do not know that they do wrong.

Ezekiel 24:14

14 " 'I the LORD have spoken. The time has come for me to act. I will not hold back; I will not have pity, nor will I relent. You will be judged according to your conduct and your actions, declares the Sovereign LORD.' "
written by arazak, July 16, 2009 13:59:04
Mawi, you wrote;
"Church, just like a mosque, are public places and are opened to anyone whether its for good or bad intentions.'
---------------------------------------------

What the hell are you talking about? People go to church, mosque, hindu/budhist temple and other houses of worhip with good intention, i.e., to pray.

Only people going to such places as for example, brothel dens have bad intention! Maybe you go to the mosque with bad intention and go to the brothel with good intention. . ., I dont know? You tell me. . .?
written by cruzeiro, July 16, 2009 14:01:06
We dont need lectures from half baked mindsets.I believe in christ and in his judgment.Who am i to know his ways and what moral authority do i have to question god and his ways.To er is human .. to forgive is divine...
====================

Care to invite all and sundry to piss on you and your divinity?
written by cocomomo, July 16, 2009 14:10:53
what the journalists did and what mawi wrote reflect the mental deterioration of these so called humans. let us have pity on them and forgive them though they may not forgive others if something similar was done in their places of worship. pray for them because they need it more than others.
written by alpha100, July 16, 2009 14:13:58
Will continue to pray that those 2 guys will experience the love and presence of our Lord Jesus Christ! Lord, forgive them for they know not what they were doing!
written by rocky, July 16, 2009 14:29:29
mawi,

it is a public place, can screwing be allowed? sure there are limits la. when one or two non muslim abuse an indonesian maid, the NGOs etc go to town say stop non muslims from hiring muslim maids. when muslims are targeted for security checks due to a few muslim terrorist activities, the muslims say stereotype and Islam phobia. funny how some times things are a one way street in Malaysia. But really come on, if it happened in a mosque, KJ and company will be yelling and screaming for blood and all kind of threats will be made outside the very mosque the incident happened even if it was public place and morally it was wrong, not legally. The newspaper company licence will be pull backed if the other way round.ISA may also be used..oops Syed hamid is not the Home Minister, maybe kerismuddin will come up with something.

lets just agree what was done is wrong be it morally or legally. and our leaders should make very strong statement against these kind of activities. Thus far they are very quiet. 1malaysia? 1silent?
written by cruzeiro, July 16, 2009 14:36:51
First you say:
Who am i to know his ways and what moral authority do i have to question god and his ways.....

Then you get judgemental & say:
shame shame on you cruzeiro.You make christians look so bad in the eyes of others.

So I now repeat your words:
walk the talk man...oh boy you are so full of contradictions.look into yourself before you find fault in others.
written by cruzeiro, July 16, 2009 14:39:47
written by MMhunter, July 16, 2009 14:18:27
and if you still insists you want to piss on me...can you at least do it in person.
======================================

BTW MMhunter,
Is that an invitation to all and sundry to piss on you???
Maybe you should be more polite & direct ....
written by hischildanba, July 16, 2009 14:55:30
1Cor 11:27 - 30 Therefore, whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty of sinning against the body and blood of the Lord.A man ought to examine himself before he eats or the bread and drinks of the cup.For anyone who eats and drinks without recognising the body of the Lord eats and drinks Jugdment on himself. That is why many among you are weak and sick and a number of your have fallen asleep(dead)

To those two journalist, you ought to seek forgiveness from God.
written by cruzeiro, July 16, 2009 15:09:47
Rhan,
I know what you mean, bro ....
However, I believe that you're way off the mark. You're on the wrong thread, I believe.
This thread isn't about evangelizing or conversions, but of sacrilege committed by "journalists" in a house of worship.
written by peter, July 16, 2009 15:43:45
I also pray that you will feel the full weight of God’s wrath upon you.

What wrath are you talking about? Muslims believe that no matter what they do, they will eventually go to heaven.

For their “exposure programme” they will be greatly rewarded not only in the afterlife but also here on earth by the umNO goons.
written by Anti Relon, July 16, 2009 16:09:39
From BBC News 15.7.2009

BBC NEWS
Religious row flares in Malaysia

Police in Malaysia have said they will release nine Christians mistakenly accused of trying to convert Muslim university students to Christianity.

A university security guard wrongly thought they were handing Christian pamphlets to Muslims, police said.

Trying to convert Muslims to another religion is forbidden in Malaysia, though Muslims may proselytise.

Members of religious minorities have complained that their rights are being ignored in Muslim-majority Malaysia.

The nine Christians, five students and four friends from Hong Kong, were arrested late on Tuesday at Universiti Putra Malaysia in Serdang, near Kuala Lumpur.

District police chief Zahedi Ayob said they had been distributing questionnaires to other Christians, not Muslims, as security guards at the university had believed.

Religious disharmony investigation

The arrests followed a controversy last week centring on two journalists who wrote about hiding their Muslim identity in order to receive Communion at a Roman Catholic church.

One of the journalists said they were investigating reports that Muslims had committed apostasy by attending prayers or Communion at the church, but that they found no evidence of this.

A Christian priest complained about the article, published in the Malay-language magazine al-Islam.

Police said officials were investigating whether the two men had caused religious disharmony, a crime punishable by up to five years in prison.

Religious issues are highly sensitive in Malaysia, which has a 60% Muslim population. Christians, Buddhists and Hindus make up most of the rest of the population.

Religious freedom is guaranteed by law, but minority groups have accused the Muslim Malay majority of trying to increase the role of Islam in the country.
Story from BBC NEWS:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/1/hi/world/asia-pacific/8151352.stm

Published: 2009/07/15 09:28:27 GMT

© BBC MMIX
written by Agahdemo, July 16, 2009 18:50:04
"Islam would do well without religious misfits like you!"

These people bring bad name to Islam... they should be stone to death!!!!!!
written by gorshan, July 16, 2009 19:30:37
all it takes is a spark to unleash mob fury.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07...1&ref=asia smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Nice n Simple, July 16, 2009 19:56:42
SOMEONE DREW A PICTURE OF WHAT IS SAID TO BE PHOPHET MUHAMMAD. MUSLIMS AROUND THE WORLD WENT BERSERK.

So, my dear Mawi,

Considering you a sooo liberal, can a Catholic walk into a mosque, draw a picture of the Prophet, spit on it, and then take a photo of the picture and publish it in the Herald, a Catholic newspaper?

It's not illegal either is it? DUMB ASS!!
written by Catharsis, July 16, 2009 20:48:36
" written by Nice n Simple, July 16, 2009 19:56:42

SOMEONE DREW A PICTURE OF WHAT IS SAID TO BE PHOPHET MUHAMMad. MUSLIMS AROUND THE WORLD WENT BERSERK. "

THE DIFFERENCE is...............the teaching

Matthew 5:14-16

You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven

Matthew 5, 43-48

You have heard that it is said, " Love your neighbour and hate your enemies" But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even tax collectors doing that? And if you greet only your brothers, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect

AND IT IS REALLY SAD THAT THEY CAN ACCEPT CHRIST AS ONE OF THE PROPHETS BUT THEY DON'T FOLLOW HIS TEACHINGS.....VERY SAD INDEED
written by areenna, July 17, 2009 00:34:30
SBennit,

I can't really blame you on the wanking part, since Father can't marry, that method is the only source of grown men natural need release mechanicsm they can get. Father also cannot get angry, it against the rule. Please understand Father's emotional supression.

Maybe should ask the journalist aka the spy about the part you are accusing. Spy normally have fantastic gadgets but I don't think these 2 bugger have those. If those two are non-muslim, Martin will call them 'investigative journalism' but since they are Muslim, he use the word 'spying'. 'Spying' sound dirtier than 'investigative journalism'.

Still, that's vey bad of saying those thing to the Catholic Church. Father are sinless. That why they can give forgiveness to others on behalf of God. Even newborn baby are not as sinless as the Father, that why they need to baptized immediately after born.

But don't worry. The Father will surely forgive you. They cannot forgo forgiveness because that is a strong selling point. Attract a lot of sinners. You can sin and then ask for forgiveness. Rinse and repeat.