Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Theologian slams Al Islam publication

Theologian slams Al Islam publication PDF Print
Wednesday, 15 July 2009 18:50

(MySinchew) - A theologian Wednesday took Al Islam to task for what he claims are sacrilegious acts by its journalists sent to spy on a church but took part in its communion service meant only for believers.

Posting on his blog Religious Liberty Watch, Dr Ng Kam Weng, research director of a Christian think tank, said," I have just been asked what I think of the recent event in which two journalists from Al Islam surreptitiously joined a worship service in a Catholic church, supposedly to verify if there are Malay Christians in the church. "

"In general I have no problem with Muslims coming to churches to spy on us. Indeed, we Christians welcome all visitors and that includes spies who harbor ill feelings and mischievous intent towards us. After all, it is only when people hear the good news being preached that they then realize the need to receive freely God’s healing grace and salvation. Hopefully, even spies may be positively impressed and return the good will that should be evident in an ambience filled with Christian love and fellowship."

He said, "We need however, to note that the act in which the two Muslims took communion and spit off the host (bread) is not acceptable to Catholics. Catholics will be offended by such an act of sacrilege (given their doctrine of transubstantiation). Hmm – I wonder whether they managed to spit out the wine served in the communion."

Dr Ng said the question is whether these Muslims acted out of ignorance or out of malice. By malice he meant an act intended to belittle or insult Catholic worship or incite prejudice or hatred from their readers.

"We can make a conclusion on their motive based on how they report it in Al Islam."

If they acted out of ignorance, he said, it is reasonable that the Catholic Church demands an apology from these Muslims. If the journalists from Al Islam admit that they have acted out of ignorance, the Church will accept their apology.

"But if their reportorial piece shows evidence of malice – a deliberate insult, belittling an object deemed holy by the Catholics – that is disseminated in the media with no hint of regret, then I think it is fair that a police report be made with expectations that the authorities bring these people to task. A deed (however awful) done in private and kept in private may be addressed in private. But a deed done in public and publicised as such demands a public response," he added.

"I am confident that the Church remains open to any sign of regret from Al Islam and will be magnanimous enough accept any apology that is conveyed with an assurance that such a deed will not be repeated in future."

Two Catholics in Penang have since made a police report against Al Islam and its journalists for alleged sacrilege.

"There is no need to demand a legally entitled pound of flesh even though the Penal Code allows for it. As the STAR (13/07/2009) reports, 'It is learnt police have classified the case under Section 298A (1) of the Penal Code for causing disharmony, disunity or feelings of enmity, hatred or ill will, or prejudicing harmony or unity on religious grounds. If convicted the duo could be jailed from between two years and five years.'”

Dr said many disagreed with the severe punishment introduced when the Penal Code was amended in the mid-1980s since the provisions can easily be abused by authorities to suppress freedom of religion based on all sort of vague notions about acts “causing disharmony, disunity of feelings or enmity etc”. Indeed, the Penal Code can even be used against reformers within different religions who speak up against abuse of power by incumbent authorities within their own religious tradition.

"In short, the Penal Code as it stands denies believers of all religions of their liberty of conscience. However, this is a different matter from what Al Islam seems to be doing when it publicizes the covert activities of its journalists," he said.

written by Fart Fart Wah, July 15, 2009 19:00:00
Well written Dr Ng Kam Weng,
However the Catholic church I believe does not serve wine at all services.

But the mischief if done intentionally calls for the judgement of the prophet Mohammed on his followers who I believe does not approve of such underhand and dirty tactics to incite hatred. If it is so I believe they are already cursed as they say it themselves...by Allah.
written by Catharsis, July 15, 2009 20:23:04
Matthew 5:14-16

You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven

Matthew 5, 43-48

You have heard that it is said, " Love your neighbour and hate your enemies" But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even tax collectors doing that? And if you greet only your brothers, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect
written by storm62, July 15, 2009 21:17:16
hey people just becareful and don't fall into their trap!!!

they might want to cause religious and racial tension on us. just becareful!

politically they are loosing out...they might use religion again and thats their last hope to retain power Malaysia!!!
written by VVijay, July 15, 2009 21:17:21
Malaysians have been arrested for wearing black clothes, for gathering in groups of five or more, for lighting candles. Even for presenting a birthday cake! In recent times we have seen the Sedition Act and the ISA being used for convenient political purposes. How do we continue to have faith in the the capability and conviction of our law enforcement agencies, our judicial system and our system of law and order? Let us pray!
written by alarcarte, July 15, 2009 21:19:00
If these two Al Islam guy do not apologize to the Catholic Church and be punished by the law of the land, then all Catholics should deem these guys being supported by the UMNOputras and thus all Catholic voters must vote for any opposition parties except B.N. in the next G.E or in any by election even the Gomen act as Santa Claus and handout goodies to the rakyat.

For all you Muslims out there, you are more than welcome to the Church to participate in their services or to check if there are Muslim Malays being converted, but you are forbidden in taking part in the Holy Communion ritual.

For all Muslim fanatics out there, I would like to inform that the Catholic Church do not convert non Christians to Catholic on a weekly basis, the Church only perform baptism for the newly convert during Easter, its only a waste of time if you want to see if any Malay got converted during a regular Sunday Church service.

May Allah bless all of you.

written by alpha100, July 15, 2009 21:38:13
Will continue to pray that those two Al-Islam guy will due to circumstancees in their life experience the presence and love of our Lord Jesus Christ. Our Lord on cruxific said of his accuser "Forgive them for they know not what they are doing!"
written by *********, July 15, 2009 22:28:35
PM Najib Razak is going around talking about his 1Malaysia when non Muslim Malaysians are having to put up with body snatching, forced conversions to Islam and now acts of sacrilege against non Muslim religions in Malaysia. From the on going Talibanization of Christian Mission Schools to the creeping Islamization of the civil service, schools and public higher education institutions, the two faced BN/Umno regime seems to be supporting such aggression on minorities in this country by Muslim zealots aligned to Umno. One thing is for sure, what these so-called Muslims are doing are actually against the teachings of Islam...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by temanmu, July 16, 2009 00:21:31
Theologian slams Al Islam publication ???

The title does not reflect the content of the article! The writer is practical & measured, even forgiving... as Christians should be.

BTW, some churches serve ribena but some serve real wine! I am sure they welcome all visitors! Ha!!

written by Nice n Simple, July 16, 2009 04:04:58
BACK IN THOSE DAYS, THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN AN 'ACT OF WAR'.

Muslims, Buddhists, Hindus, etc...

1. ..entering a Catholic church and sitting, observing and learning it's worship methods and sermon sessions - No Problem.

2. ..taking a bite at the Holy Communion - Big Problem. (It's Sacrilegious)

3. ..spitting it out and photographing it - Big Big Problem (Catholics will be very very annoyed).

4. ..publishing and distributing the article and photo - Now that's so stupid, even Allah will deny creating them.

5. ..How did they DISPOSE OF THE 'HOLY COMMUNION' AFTER TAKING THE PHOTO? - Oh, this is really going to piss off the Catholic Community, in Malaysia and abroad.

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE 2 MUSLIM MEN! You have, in one swoop, demostrated how ignorant, insensitive, disrespectful and arrogant Malaysian Muslims can be. And I dare say Muslim because you both committed this disgraceful act in the name of the Muslim religion. If I were a Muslim, I myself will kill you for bringing dishonour to the Muslim Community and the name of Allah.
written by wongnoball, July 16, 2009 05:57:58
Time for Churches to have CCTV and then U-Tube their Face, feature......on the Internet. We will deal with them on our time...never know they could be SB or UTK out to create Chaos!! then it will be a bonus!!
written by Old Man, July 16, 2009 08:41:45
Those two guys might be both ignorant and/or mischievious and/or with ill intentions. Please FORGIVE them! They'll reap what they sow.
Politics of race and religions are bad enough, please do not make it worse...
written by zachary, July 16, 2009 09:06:51
When Jesus was on the show trial, was He not abused, whipped, slapped, spat on, cursed, and subjected to total humiliation. Even as He hung on the cross, did He not plea to the Father "for forgiveness for they know not what they do?"
Do not be judgmental of others for Jesus the Son said even He will not judge but God the Father Himself will judge.
Our redeemed lives are not our own but to be lived to the glory of God in witnessing His love, grace and mercy to this world.
We certainly do not need to help God for He is more than able as nothing is impossible with Him.
The Holy Communion, no doubt must be partaken with utmost reverence but it is the Christians themselves that should fear His retribution if they count His blood for nothing by being unrepentant and unforgiving.
Shalom.