Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Chua Jui Meng to join PKR

Chua Jui Meng to join PKR PDF Print
Wednesday, 15 July 2009 18:42

(Malaysian Mirror) - A group of former senior MCA leaders from Johore including a former minister will soon join the opposition PKR.

Reliable sources connected to former health minister and defeated MCA presidential candidate Chua Jui Meng confirmed the move will involve former Senator David Yeoh and several other former senatormca-to-pkr.pngs from the party.

They are expected to announce their decision to leave the party and apply to join PKR on July 18 (Saturday) in Kuala Lumpur.

Many are Anwar's old friends

The sources said the group met Anwar Ibrahim's aides to convey their wish to support PKR as they have lost confidence in the Barisan Nasional.

The sources did not say whether they have already met the PKR advisor and parliamentary opposition leader. But Anwar is said to have accepted their decision and open the PKR's door to the former MCA leaders, many who are his old friends.

“Anwar is more than happy to welcome his old friends into PKR. All of them will have a role to play in the party,” a PKR leader in Kuala Lumpur said.

However, a check with a senior party leader in the PKR headquarters in Petaling Jaya drew a blank.

“I have no idea about this. Maybe it is true, maybe it isn’t”, was all he would say when reached on the phone.

Apparently, party staff have been asked to keep such matters under wraps but that is not going to prevent a leakage.

PKR sources in Sarawak, however, are more open about unhappy BN ‘big guns’ joining their party.

Major morale booster

“Chua Jui Meng’s entry into PKR will be a major morale booster for PKR and Pakatan Rakyat. Wait for Sunday. Chua and his group will join PKR,” one state PKR leader said confidently.

tan-yew-kew.pngtan-tee-kwong-2.pngAnwar is expected to be present at the press conference this weekend where the formal announcement on their decision to leave MCA and join PKR will be made.

Chua is following the footsteps of other Chinese politicians in MCA and Gerakan who had joined PKR since the party’s good showing in the 2008 general election. MCA’s former deputy Wanita leader Dr Tan Yew Kew (left) and former Gerakan veep Dr Tan Tee Kwong (right) are now in the PKR fold. Both are considered relatively ‘big guns’ in the BN as they had previously served in the Cabinet.

Malaysian Mirror understands the Chinese group decided to join PKR because of its multi-racial character and policies, although the party is led by a Malay.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by savemalaysia, July 15, 2009 19:00:43
Datuk Chua, a very smart and timely move, as this rotten BN boat will definitely in 2013. Cheers!
agree 134
written by StevenO, July 15, 2009 19:07:37
Just watch out for double crossing opportunistic snakes. Remember Perak power grab???
written by justice, July 15, 2009 19:09:06
Dr.Chua Soi Lek, what are you waiting for?

agree 184
written by OilMan, July 15, 2009 19:11:00
I guess CJM has no choice after loosing in the MCA election. I don't mind him joining PKR but I can only hope that it is a sincere move for the Rakyat and not for his political survival.
agree 108
written by panca, July 15, 2009 19:29:23
written by OilMan, July 15, 2009 19:11:00
I guess CJM has no choice after loosing in the MCA election. I don't mind him joining PKR but I can only hope that it is a sincere move for the Rakyat and not for his political survival.

Me too, I certainly hope so but I am afraid my hope is elusive! Prove me wrong, CJM.
written by righttruthspeaks, July 15, 2009 20:12:02
chua jui ming???Then chua soi lek???? there goes the neighbourhood!
written by Ayoyo, July 15, 2009 20:46:06
CJM should have left MCA after he became a born again Christian. Don't know why he stayed on after that. Can never be a real christian in MCA - it's racial politics
written by storm62, July 15, 2009 20:54:32
Anyway, my advise to PR leaders is to screen this guy thoroughly, never trust any of those Malaysian Criminals Association (MCA) guys.
written by raven1958, July 15, 2009 20:54:45
If this is true....PR would have gained a valuable asset......
written by johanssm, July 15, 2009 21:44:53
It is perfectly okay for any of them to join PKR .
It is good news that former ministers will join the Pakatan.
However do let them know that PKR is totally against any form corrupted practices and they must abandon their previous bn culture of bribing.
Hopefully none of them will use PKR or Pakatan rakyat as their bargaining chip like the 3 stooges from Perak and behaves like the president and deputy from the PAS.
written by DanDan, July 15, 2009 21:50:14
Is he joining to fight for PKR's cause or is he joining because he lost the battle in MCA? Is he an opportunist? What took him so long to decide? Why waited until the MCA election was over and not before or immediately after the 12GE. Is he using PKR as a stepping stone or springboard to jump back to MCA once he secure a DUN seat or a Parliament seat? BUT if he is really sincere, then good for PKR/PR. DSAI will know what is best for PKR/PR, right?
written by aisyalam, July 15, 2009 21:54:13
VOTE THE BLOOD SUCKER BN OUT...VOTE BN OUT...VOTE BN OUT
written by by2020, July 15, 2009 22:38:49
Remember, these veteran politician are no saint. They are very much a part of the BN robbers! Now that they see the other site of the fence has more to harvest! PR supporter should judge this group's action objectively!
written by kent chong, July 15, 2009 22:50:48
Im Happy to hear this news... but i hope it;s not BN trojan horse and spy to purposely to stir up PR team.
written by JaguhKampung, July 15, 2009 22:51:05
PKR must be really careful in screening members joining their party. It is the quality that matters. If PKR is to become another BN, rakyat is not going to be very impressed.
written by billykbk, July 15, 2009 23:25:44
Of all the past & present BN's cabinet ministers, I have respect for this guy, Chua Jui Meng only. Why? I honestly think he is a humble chap.

About 10 years ago, I had a chanced encounter with him in Penang Airport. He was supposed to leave on a flight back to KL and had just entered the departure lounge. My thought then was, "Aiya, this good-for-nothing BN minister". But then, this Chua guy suddenly turned around and approached someone near the car he embarked from moments ago. I soon found that he had forgotten to thank the driver who sent him there.

My reservations about him soon dispelled. What a humble man!
written by toorikakari, July 15, 2009 23:45:23
PKR certainly needs infusion of new blood. In particular those with the sincerity to serve and have experience.

As at present, PKR lack MPs / State Assemblymen who holds the credentials as well as a strategic mind. Candidates, namely Chua Jui Meng and Dr Chua Soi Lek who has constantly performed and they would strengthen PKR.

On the otherhand, in my perosnal opinion, PKR seems to be plague with candidates from BN who seems to have their own agendas. PKR must filter this groups out. This will mitigate corruption, party hopping from being enticed over and God knows what more. The candidates must have integrity and principle.
written by othman hitam, July 15, 2009 23:59:59
When he was Health Minister, this character claimed that Anwar's cell at Sg Buloh prison was equipped with first class facilities. This was, certainly, not the case. And now, after being side-lined, he wants to join this struggle?
written by panca, July 16, 2009 00:48:41
HE.....a humble guy? sheesh! eat humble pie!

I remembered vividly once what was told to me about a threatening remark that left the plaintiff of claims in shock...."Black or white I can do" was said to the person and he who related to me about what happened to him has already passed away. We even went to consult LKS then in Malacca but to no avail.

Billykbk, I CAN NEVER FORGET THAT and tears still well in my eyes as if it were only yesterday. He might have changed his religion or himself for the better but surely that cannot change what a deserving man that had asked for which was to be rightfully his but lost, he died without justice serve to him. He was very depressed for many years before he passed away. NO way will one forget a humble victim that died. I have no grudge against anyone but there is pain for him because I still miss him.
written by lobster, July 16, 2009 08:26:12
PKR, please. You are making the line between PR and BN real blurry.
written by mikewang, July 16, 2009 08:34:32
Datuk Chua found peace with God after his fall out with MCA previously.
If he leaves MCA for PKR, I would like to commend him for the thoughtful switch !
written by Old Man, July 16, 2009 09:15:19
Whether CJM is a born again Christian or whatever, please DO NOT mixed politics with religion.
A politician will always be a politician and their profession is to talk while we ordinary people are slogging to have sufficient food on our table...
written by e LION, July 16, 2009 10:04:46
guess CJM has no choice after loosing in the MCA election. I don't mind him joining PKR but I can only hope that it is a sincere move for the Rakyat and not for his political survival.

I too agree with Panca.
A good example is Perak.
If he is sincere, I welcome him gladly.
If he's not, then the PKR will rock and roll .

A dangerous and expensive gamble. A.I !!!
written by by2020, July 16, 2009 14:28:32
Billykbk, Please hear this from someone from his constituency when he was the MP. The first question he asked anybody walking into his office was: Are you BN component party member? Are you supporting BN? Why majority in your area voted for the opposition?
I once heard from one poor student who visited him for a support letter, he refused to provide unless the student can prove that his family supported BN, and I knew the poor student certainly deserved assistance!
So you think this guy is saint? You must be naive and ignorant!