Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow A Blogger’s analysis of the Manik Urai by-election

A Blogger’s analysis of the Manik Urai by-election PDF Print
Wednesday, 15 July 2009 16:43

The amount of money that changed hands was simply unbelievably high that almost every household can have a one-month holiday to savour their fortune.

You may have noticed that I have been very silent on the issue of the Manik Urai by-election. I did not even offer a prediction of the results like I did in the last few by-elections -- which were quite spot on if I can be allowed to boast a bit here. Basically, what more can I say that I have not already said? It would be just a case of more of the same thing.

Now that the by-election is over, many theories and analysis have come to the surface. The old adage of everyone is an expert on hindsight rings true here. But which of the many ‘findings’ would be considered prudent? Was the Manik Urai by-election a setback for the opposition? Was it a continuation of the losing streak for the ruling coalition? Who actually won and who lost? The jury appears out on this issue and both sides claim victory while declaring the other side the loser.

Sure, it was an almost 50:50 situation. A mere few-vote difference and it would have been a draw. Some would say no one actually won. Some say Umno, yet again, lost. Some say, considering the margin PAS won the last time around, this can be construed as a defeat for PAS.

Some try to analyse why PAS ‘lost’. Was it because of the controversial proposed unity talks with UMNO? Was it because PAS is now divided internally? Was it because of the infighting within the Pakatan Rakyat coalition? Was it a message the voters were sending to the opposition coalition that they are fed up and no longer support Pakatan Rakyat the way they did one year ago?

Many complex formulae are being bandied about. But could it have been just one simple issue, the issue of money? I have seen even ‘giants’ like Hadi Awang and Mustapha Ali brought down by a mere RM50 per voter and a piece of kain batik. And these are the kingpins of PAS mind you. Yet RM50 and a piece of cloth is all it takes to defeat them in the general election.

I do not really want to offer my own analysis of things. To do so would mean I would have to be very critical of the Malays. I would also have to be very critical of the Muslims and declare them hypocrites who do not adhere to true Islamic teachings. Then our Malay readers who say that Malaysia Today is nothing but a Malay-Islam-bashing website and nothing more than that.

But how do I not criticise the Malays? How do I not declare Malays as fake Muslims who talk so much about Islam but do not walk the talk? Has not Manik Urai proven what I have been saying all along?

I have chosen as ‘my analysis’ this piece by Wandering Troubadour called The other side of the story. I feel this best describes what happened in Manik Urai and I have very little to add to this analysis.

The other side of the story
by Wandering Troubadour
http://wandering-troubadour.blogspot.com/

Armchair warriors who wrote comments on the Manik Urai by-election sitting comfortably from their study rooms based on information that they skimmed through the Internet at best hit the outer ring of the target if not missing hitting the board at all! It is interesting to note that many did simply just that -- write from afar basing their opinions on those who make a living on writing news.

I was there smack in the middle of the war, espionages and counter-strikes. And BN has never been dirtier.

The amount of money that changed hands with voters was simply unbelievably high that almost every household can have a one-month holiday to savour their fortune. Only the Almighty knows the extent of their guilt and no mortal soul can claim that what they did was immoral, as nobody knows who voted for whom, at least for most of us that is.

It is amazing what money can buy. Maybe RM50 per voter did not work anymore but RM500 hooked even the very hearts that loathe corruption. They reason in their heads that it was a gift and hence free from any sin whatsoever associated with it. It was a meagre sum to the haves but a windfall to the haves-not. For a household with three voters, they took home a month’s equivalent of a wage.

But in a climate of distrust alternative plans were laid in abundance. Coming from multiple sources, voters were spoilt for bounties. Some walked away with three sets of gifts each giving a person’s take-home present of RM1,500. All one had to do was to wait for the go-between to approach him or her. It was a case of supply outstripping demand.

Keeping people (read voters) at poverty level and on the brink of starvation almost always pays in the end. They can easily be bought. After all it is not often such a by-election comes their way. Opportunity comes-a-knocking, it is a gift from above.

RM500 per voter was at most RM5Million. Considering three sources each armed with RM10Million, a total of RM30Million were spent with RM15Million going directly to voters and the rest as usual fall off the gravy trains into the hands of local warlords.

The majority of the people were veiled by beauty of dough and sweet smell of the ringgit and simply cast aside wafer thin belief in favour of worldly reward. Greed and selfishness are traits of human beings that will inevitably surface when income is scarce and food is hard to come by. BN knows this very well since their very existence and struggle is about nothing but money.

Analysts are coming out with a host of reasons for PAS’s dismal performance or BN’s success in gaining more territories. Some attributed BN’s “success” to Najib’s 11 points reward to people for allowing him to remain up to 100 days in power and also his “contributions” to economic excitement. I want to simply say “Bollocks”. This is what the BN think-tank would like us the public to believe. But if they themselves believe the spin as well, it spells disaster for them comes the 13th general election. We wait patiently for that day to arrive!

PAS and PR as a whole must not buy the argument that BN is gaining ground as a whole. However, the opposition cannot simply brush it aside either. BN has the “Money” part or access to it with little effort. But in the long run, tycoons’ and “taipans’” patience are running thin and coffers are running dry. If the economy that is very much in need of tending were left to roam in the wilderness, come the 13th GE, BN rats will scuttle to hide in their holes.

The best part of this whole episode is that BN still lost despite all these brilliant manoeuvrings. Chinese people say luck is not on BN’s side. The British may call it lady luck chooses an opposing side. But Muslims say that it is an intervention from above, divine and oft-punishing.

BN simply cannot afford to continue this method in a general election or even a state election. Perak will prove to be a situation best kept as it is. By not seeking a fresh mandate BN can sit pretty at least for a little while until the 13th general election. It will bring little harm but it will not remove the bigger problem of impending defeat. A defeat it will be, albeit a delayed one.

BN desperately needs a reversal of fortunes. It is, however, proven to be very elusive. When BN refuses to accept that their way is the wrong way, their struggle is not a genuine struggle, and that the people can no longer be hoodwinked, what choice do they have but to go back to the old drawing board. Again they have to lay another plan. They plan and Allah also plans; and He is the Best of Planner!

http://wandering-troubadour.blogspot.com/2009/07/other-side-of-story.html

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by Kathy, July 15, 2009 16:54:31
Remember in previous by-elections bloggers were advising the electorate concerned to take the money but vote for the Opposition as the money was rightfully theirs? Well, in this instance they took the money and voted for BN. Does this mean that there is a swing in support for BN because of the promised development as happened in Batang Ai, Sarawak? Or does it mean that PAS is split down the middle over the unity govt. proposal?
written by malgal, July 15, 2009 16:57:21

If a person has gone this far to accept a bribe, can he not go further to bite the hand that feeds - by choosing the right candidate and still pocket the dough?

yet a fool and his money are soon parted!
written by Rozlan, July 15, 2009 16:59:19
Hmm..It seem money still talk,if everyhousehold gotten RM500..Hmm that is quite a some
written by malsia1206, July 15, 2009 17:06:13
Why settle for RM500 if you can get more? Ask for RM1K with RM500 to be paid upfront. The balance would be paid should the Barisan candidate wins. And Barisan can afford all the money the voters want. And the voters would still get RM500 each even if Barsian lose. Let the stakes get bigger and bigger. Pakatan can never afford this amount of money. If Barsian wants the seat badly, make them pay big. Actually, what they shall pay the voters is actually from our taxes. So it's our money in the very first place. Or they would just go to spend on more mansions with Balinese-theme gardens costing millions.
written by Wisdom above, July 15, 2009 17:12:09
So this was their ways to sway the POOR & poverty voters ?
Is this a legitimate mandate endorsement from the desperate PEOPLE ?

written by rocky, July 15, 2009 17:13:44
Money can't buy all of us all the time or all of us some of the time. So tough luck for BN. PR needs to refocus and improve on its weakness and build on your strengths.
written by maisur, July 15, 2009 17:14:21
could not agree more with wandering-troubadour.

however, i do feel that most of the voters voted for BN as they were aware that a win for BN does not even dent the PAS-led state government. the whole story will be different altogether if the just concluded election was to decide the new state government of kelantan, then you will see a bigger majority for PAS compared to march 2008

historically, kelantanese tend to vote for BN during by-elections so that they can get some goodies. this was what happened in pengkalan pasir in 2005 and semerak in 1997. the last time PAS won a by-election in kelantan was in 1997 when zulkifli mamat bagged pulai chondong

so, i was quite surprised that BN lost this by-election. this will indeed spell a doom for BN in the next general election
written by Oscar Winner, July 15, 2009 17:20:09

Pas' win by a whisker was probably due to a split within the party, promises by BN and money given out, and undoubtedly because you were not there to campaign. BN lost because the higher amount which was supposed to be given out fell off the gravy trains into the hands of local warlords. Both PAS and UMNO are not happy, except those voters who got the cash, and the warlords who pocketed lots of money, now laughing all the way to bank. Warlords cared not if their candidate lost, as long as they could keep part of the BN ang pow money. Next, they will ask for more to ensure victory, and there goes more tax payers' money. What a sick country!!
written by ibabonma, July 15, 2009 17:23:37
Why did Pas won by a slippery margin? Because MU is a majority Melayu constituency. The slogan of the Malays, the haprak Malayu, most of the times, ... have money will vote. No money no talk.

Way back, I lost in a Malayu area but won the New Villages and the Estates votes, which did not actually help!
written by eeyaw, July 15, 2009 17:26:58
No wonder you have been so unusually quiet lately thinking you could have gone for a holiday in the outbacks or sipping vintage wine around Hunter Valley.
Yes, this scumbag Umno is expert in this type of under hand tactics but least the other 50% Malay Voters steadfast to Muslim beliefs not to be easily bribed so don't despair.
written by Hakim Joe, July 15, 2009 17:49:14
222 parliamentary seats plus 505 state seats equals 727 seats altogether.
RM30 million can't win it.
Try RM40 million next time.
727 times RM40 million equals RM29 billion plus.
51% common majority still means almost RM15 billion.

written by nubie, July 15, 2009 17:55:23
I personally do not see any way around this UMNO problem except for PAS to make a concerted effort to develop Kelantan into a more prosperous state and further improve the access to education for the Kelantan people. Its a long hard process and PAS has to do this while they are still popular enough to push back UMNO with their tactics. I think capable leaders within PAS is currently too busy fighting fires within and without to action the above. Capable people who are doers instead of talkers are few and far between, therin lies the problem hence perpetuating the vicious cycle. smilies/sad.gif
written by densemy, July 15, 2009 18:04:03
Often you can see more clearly from a distance.

RPK, you yourself often bemoan Malaysian's inability to see the Forest for the Trees

The sooner Malaysians realise that the world doesnt start at the Causeway and end at the Thai border... the better off they will be.
written by Loh, July 15, 2009 18:04:10
They are 12 thousand voters and if BN spent 30 million, it is RM 2,500 per voter. For a general election BN may need to buy 4 million, and it would work out to be RM 10 billion. That amount would be a great boost to the economy; it is delivered directly to the people. We should have the GE 13 soon.

99% of the population in MU are Malays. The top two PAS leaders proposed unity talk with UMNO, and they certainly have their followers too. What better show of support to lean against UMNO than to vote for UMNO candidate. UMNO had a reduced loss of 1000 votes, working out to be 500 persons who voted for PAS in 2004 switching over. These are the ardent followers of Hadi Awang and his deputy, amounting to10% among PAS members. The results show that Kelantan voters cannot be bought outright, though a tiny percentage might wrongly felt obliged for having to repay the gift in kind. It took very little efforts to mark the wrong place in the ballot paper.

If MU election is an indication of the support Malays have for UMNO, then the mistrust of their leaders had not gone away yet. The election results were not influenced by the change to the 100-day old administration, but they are by its decision to be generous.
written by Kuku Burung, July 15, 2009 19:09:41
If Wandering's analysis is true, then money is the drawing card. I am saddened and disgusted at the money worshipers. They are willing to sell their future and souls for whatever amount of money. Some people say, "Don't look down on the poor, for their hearts cannot be bought." But, here, the poor are getting poorer in their spirit and heart.
written by krising1, July 15, 2009 19:59:04
Even the best script writer could have written the script the way the elections ended. BN used all the dirty tricks in the bag and their Dirty Tricks Department was very active. The voters took the money which was offered. They gave BN enough votes to make them happy that they have cut down the majority which PAS enjoyed in the last election. They also gave PAS enough votes so that PAS won the seat. BN is happy, PAS is happy. The voters are happy. We are all happy that in the final analysis BN was screwed well and good and they feel good about it.
written by vox populi, July 15, 2009 20:08:08
Since historically PAS would lose a by-election, then even despite PAS's incumbency the Manek Urai win is an upset!

written by shamadz72, July 15, 2009 20:57:53
Kathy,

FYI, BN is getting smarter, one of their tactic is to ask the voter to use their camera phone to take the picture of their voting slip as a proof that the voter did actually 'pangkah dacing'. And I am not surprised they have other trick up their sleeves.
written by me_in, July 15, 2009 21:09:17
Voter in Manik Urai said.

I earn RM20.00 per day as a tapper. If it rains I have no money.
Somebody gives me RM50.00. that is 2 1/2 days salary. I also get free makan at all the ceramah so I vote for him. On the top of it they vist my house and give me rations to last a week.My son gets a bicycle. He has been walking to school all these years.
I dont care who wins. It is not going to change me and my family . We are poor people.
Money is not everything but when they are in need 50.00 means 5000.00
written by shamadz72, July 15, 2009 21:21:10
Nubie,

You sounds as if PAS didn't try their best to bring development to Kelantan. FYI, Kelantan is poor because BN holds the trump card of having the coffer in their hand. Don't forget all revenue (in term of income-tax, levy, petroleum tax etc goes to the Federal Government). The only meager revenue left for state government is via logging concession, water and extration of natural resouces. Even that also BN has been denying the right of Kelantanese for their share of Petroleum royalty. I remember how the BN Federal Government withhold the capitation grant allocation to Kelantan state and paid to them only in December every year, whereas every other states got their shares in January for that particular year.

To add salt to the wound, BN have the cheek to say that they have been generous enough to Kelantan where they are giving the grant much earlier than any other states, whereas the truth is the opposite (i.e Kelantan got their allocation for only in December of that year). For those who don't know what Capitation Grant is, the grant is the money the Federal has to give to allocate to every states within the Federal according to the number of household for that states.

Even with all these limitation, PAS under TGNA and its prudent spending has managed to develop Kelantan and reduce the debt owned (previously accumulated by the BN government) to the Federal Government, in fact the only states in Malaysia that has managed to reduce their debt level compared to other states. And don't tell me you are not surprised with all this handicap imposed by the Federal Government to Kelantanese (as some sorf of punishment to them), the poverty level in Kelantan is much lower than Sabah and Sarawak (where both states is under BN and a strong BN fortress).

Tell me you are not impress with PAS & TGNA smilies/smiley.gif
written by VVijay, July 15, 2009 21:35:35
In recent times, we have seen how low some so-called leaders can go to achieve their vested interests. Offering a new bridge to win an election and to have the audacity to say in the same breadth that if they lose there will be no bridge - is an all time low! All this in the name of democracy! Has someone forgotten where the money for that bridge would have come from? His pocket? The rakyats' money? I shudder to think what our future holds when we are led by such men!

The main stream media - has totally forgotten what journalism is all about. Even propaganda was done in better taste in the days of C T Too. To see the quality of reporting, journalism and broadcasting in NST, Star, RTM, NTV7, Bernama TV and Avani is disgusting to say the least. I wonder how they sleep at night?
written by Kathy, July 15, 2009 22:08:02
shamadz72, is this true? I thought mobile phones had to be switched off in the voting room.
written by shamadz72, July 15, 2009 22:14:23
Kathy,

Have you ever vote? Is there anyone looking behind your back while you are at the voting booth?
written by shamadz72, July 15, 2009 22:23:12
Another methods of cheating used by BN is to ask the 1st voter not to mark anything on the voting slip but instead bring it to the BN booth and they got paid for it, the next voter coming in will be given the 1st voter slip (which is now marked to indicate the voter has choosen BN) and they are requested to place this in the voting booth and bring out the empty voting slip they received from SPR before they were given the bounty. The process is repeated again and again...

written by BUTEK, July 15, 2009 22:24:27
a lot of people still don't realise that KELANTAN IS NOT THE POOREST STATE IN THE COUNTRY..in fact they are in no.5 after SABAH, SARAWAK, PERLIS, TERENGGANU... it's unimaginable how the bastards UMNO leaders dare to cheat the people in thier own controlled state by letting them in poverty even actually they are blessed by god with billion of oil wealth...

by letting them in poverty, UMNO will always has an upper hand in general elaction...what a bastard..
written by raven1958, July 15, 2009 22:52:01
So nwho says Kelantanese cannot be bought....
written by Nick V, July 15, 2009 23:19:31
my take on this? ...

The Malays in the heartlands are generally good and fair people. But they would still rather vote for the party that has the Malay interest at heart (And that would be the same for Chinese or Indians in the interiors). Remember, most of them are not like you and me who surf the net and are trying to see pass race and religion. The read the Malay newspapers, watch and listen to RTM for their news.

So what perception has changed between PAS & UMNO since March 08?

Before March 08 - UMNO was arrogant and not subservient in BN. Today - UMNO has improved and NOT subservient in BN.
Before March 08 - PAS was solid and not subservient to PAKATAN. - Today - PAS appears to be split and NOW subservient in PAKATAN.

The difference is
UMNO - the evil boy yesterday has improved to become UMNO - the bad boy today. This equals to a big improvement plus master to non-Malay parties.
PAS - the good boy yesterday is still good but appears to be PAS - the confuse boy today. This equals to a drop plus appearing to be subservient to non-Malay parties.

I don't like the way it sounds but i think it could be close to this ...

Solution?

PAKATAN or PAS should conduct a survey on 100 people (remember, chances are 50% voted for BN) in Manik Urai and ask them even the difficult questions and let them put it back in a box anonymously. I think you will find a lot of truth and reasons in that box on what happen to lead to PAKATAN's disastrous day at Manik Urai. We may not like the truth but it will help us understand and gradually win over all Malaysians.

written by Ahjamal, July 15, 2009 23:26:48
Snap election may be soon look at the progress on the many extra draws in the 4 Ds.
written by mikewang, July 16, 2009 01:17:48
I cannot understand the logic of mass vote buying.

You mean we have villages who would accept the money and vote for UMNO?
Weren't they advised to keep the money but vote for PAS ?

Unless there is phantom voting where villagers surrender their IC card, I don't see how a trust system can work in a fraud. smilies/smiley.gif
written by nubie, July 16, 2009 01:21:00
Shamadz72

To the contrary, I am actually an admirer of TGNA. I would without a second thought give my vote to PAS if I were to live in Kelantan. I do not deny for a second that PAS has done a lot for Kelantan in the face of obstacles provided by our dearest UMNO. But if you read what I wrote carefully, I am actually espousing/encouraging PAS to be more… how shall I put this –secular minded and think about the economy more. A prosperous state is a contented state and this is proven by the Mahathir administration. With the spiritual side(no problem here!) and economy sorted PAS would have put the final nail on UMNO’s coffin and there would be no need to talk about unity govt and what not especially with the status of a developed state behind your back. Just as well as PAS would be seen as a credible govt in waiting.
The reasons you have given is as valid as ever but I am afraid that will only go so far in explaining to the constituents. At some point they would always look for results and they would vote with their feet. Look at what a few hundred ringgit can do to the Manek Urai elections(assuming the articles are spot on). I was actually expecting PAS to win comfortably but this was a close call.
So to cap off, it’s always going to be the economy and education.
smilies/smiley.gif
written by mikewang, July 16, 2009 01:22:01
Dear shamadz72,

If that is true, we'll probably be seeing a lot of spoilt votes.
ie. voters who needed the money but didn't have the conscience to vote BN.
They'd spoil the ballot paper given to them.
written by 1351, July 16, 2009 01:53:13
The stain from Altantuya's death won't wash away so easily. To the people closes to the PM's office, please be honest and tell him just that and the sooner UMNO realises this, the better its prospects when the next mandate is due.

We have had a series of by-elections with the conduct and manner by which UMNO/BN conducts itself leaves a distaste in the mouths of the general public. Remember, what goes unreported in the main stream press will find its way through other avenues. The government may have control, dictating editorial lines but the truth will find its way to all concerned minds, even those with less inquisitive ears.
What next UMNO after this latest setback ? Make a beeline to Jln Belamy perhaps !

written by Commonsenses, July 16, 2009 01:58:53
well look's like there's another bye election coming up in Gua Musang as the adun from PAS is terminally ill.
written by graha, July 16, 2009 09:06:25
I was there in the war zone. Rustam Ali rode pillion on kapcais in late evenings dishing out cash. Manek Urai folk are not sophisticated city folk, but simple country folk. A makcik came to us with the RM 500.00 dished out to narrate what happened.Identity cards also changed hands for cash. BN's strategy was to just target 100 "fencesitting" voters per Ballot box (Peti Undi). This they accomplished by the RM300.00, RM500.00 and RM1,000.00 "gift". Outstation voters were paid not to come back to vote, which was a success as the fact was that a big majority did not return to vote. Outstation voters were bombarded with SMS's. This is from 1st hand accounts of voters.PAS did not foresee and thus not counter this. 389 PAS sympathizers switched to vote BN. Are they those that money bought or switched allegiance due to the "kerajaan perpaduan" issue? Sort it out yourselfs.
written by takbolehtahan, July 16, 2009 10:56:24
It's true, keep the people poor and you can buy them 'easily'. Kelantan has been under PAS for many years. Question is why is there a high number of people living in 'poverty' there? We're not even talking about possessing flashy cars and mansions for a home. Food, shelter, security and basic amenities, are these provided to a satisfactory level for these people? If not, then umno did what it knows best ... "bribery", if you can call it that, at the most basic level. How can a person living in poverty not accept these 'gifts' if they find difficulty surviving every day? Let's not even bring religion into this.

I thought it was the people of Trengganu who lived in poverty in a 'rich' state, while the Kelantanese lived well in a poor state.

I believe if PR were to 'really' look after the people's interest, instead of bickering on silly issues, the people's support will be strong.
written by amjoem, July 16, 2009 11:12:48
I will not be surprised if the BN wins back the 2/3 majority in the next GE.
PR has to realise that they have to put pressure on Tok Guru to sack Nasharuddin.
Otherwise we will have to rethink boycotting PAS whereever they stand and vote UMNO in its place. Nasharuddin is a racist, hence he is determined to achieve a Malay unity instead of working towards a Malaysian unity. For the PR, "Manek Urai was a defeat in victory"
written by Aria, July 16, 2009 13:44:59
From what I have read and heard, everyone agrees on that PKR has to do better and PKR has to get united. The other thing everyone must also realise is that PKR is keeping UMNO’s behaviour better then it used to be. Everyone has benefitted from it and if UMNO gets back its 2/3 majority we and our country will suffer. The other thing that everyone must realise is that the closer we take UMNO to loosing its power we will get better behaviour from UMNO. We must never give any party total control of our country again unless that party is really good.
written by sydput, July 16, 2009 15:04:48
PR can gain power straight away by offering the post of PM to a sabah or sarawak bumi.
A diverse country like Malaysia cannot be ruled any a of the larger races like malay/chinese or indian.
It can only be ruled justly and righteously, if the power is controlled by none of the majority race, but a tiny minorities like the iban or kadazan, portuguese or siamese.