Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysia arrests 9 Christians on conversion claim

Malaysia arrests 9 Christians on conversion claim PDF Print
Wednesday, 15 July 2009 16:18

KUALA LUMPUR (AP) — Malaysian police have arrested nine Christians accused of trying to convert Muslim university students — a serious crime punishable by prison in this Muslim-majority country, a lawyer said Wednesday.

The suspects have denied the allegation, which could aggravate complaints by religious minorities that authorities are increasingly ignoring their rights in favor of Islam.

Proselytizing of Muslims by members of other religions is forbidden in Malaysia, though the reverse is allowed. Muslims, who comprise nearly two-thirds of Malaysia's 28 million people, are also not legally permitted to change religion.

Police detained the nine in a hostel room at the Universiti Putra Malaysia near Kuala Lumpur late Tuesday, said Annou Xavier, a lawyer who is handling their cases and is a specialist in religion issues. He spoke to The Associated Press by phone from the police station where the nine are being held.

They claimed they were visiting friends, but a Muslim student apparently filed a police complaint accusing them of trying to convert Muslims, Xavier said.

"These allegations are baseless and untrue," Xavier said.

The identities of the nine were not immediately clear. The Malaysian Insider independent news Web site said they were students belonging to a Malaysian Christian organization.

Zahedi Ayob, the police chief of Sepang district near Kuala Lumpur, said he could not immediately confirm the arrests.

Cases of non-Muslims preaching to Muslims are rare in Malaysia. Penalties differ for various states, but most provide for prison terms of at least two years. One northern state also prescribes a punishment of six lashes with a rattan cane.

Malaysia's Constitution guarantees freedom of worship for minorities, who include Christians, Buddhists and Hindus. But Muslims who try to convert are often sent by Islamic authorities for counseling and rehabilitation, and some have also been imprisoned for apostasy for up to three years.

There was no indication that Tuesday's arrests were linked to a separate religious dispute involving Roman Catholics who complained about two Muslim men who posed as Christians and took Communion at a church service.

The men were researching a magazine article about unsubstantiated rumors that churches were converting Muslim teenagers. Police said Tuesday they were investigating whether the men had caused religious disharmony — a crime that carries a prison term of up to five years.

Minorities say their right to practice religion freely has been increasingly threatened by Muslim authorities in recent years. The government denies any discrimination.

Other ongoing problems include a court battle between the Catholic church and the government over a 2007 order banning non-Muslims from translating God as "Allah" in their literature. The government says its use would confuse Muslims, but Christians say the ban is unconstitutional.

Minorities also complain about the occasional demolition of their places of worships. In a separate case Wednesday, the High Court ruled that Islamic authorities in northern Kelantan state unlawfully destroyed a church in 2007.

State officials had said the church was illegally built, but the court ruled that the Christian villagers there should receive financial compensation.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by Ken Liew, July 15, 2009 16:27:50
ok... try not to get someone killed in the lockup. Mr Polis....

written by JJays, July 15, 2009 16:30:20
The police should arrest the 2 magazine reporter first for creating trouble and embrassing christian's for the holy communion. It's also insult to spit out after taking it.

Maybe, the Goverment will give them Datuk ship for their bravement. This is Bolehland, new 1M'sia concept.
written by Kathy, July 15, 2009 16:37:08
We have a one-way street here. Non-muslims can convert to Islam, but not vice versa. I thought in a country where there is religious freedom one can adopt whichever religion one chooses? smilies/tongue.gif
written by Wisdom above, July 15, 2009 16:42:20
Forgive them,& BLESS them all !
Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace & Tranquility to prevail.
written by mansel, July 15, 2009 16:44:14
oh man i pity that 9 people in the lock up now, i hope they will be safe
im sure the vatican would be interested in this story...

the gov is being very stupid by doing this, now all the sunday mass will be about politics in malaysia and god and whatnot..

great work,, keep it up and please don't kill those fellows and what happen to Kugan's case ? sudah tutup kes ka ? haha
written by chrisyong, July 15, 2009 16:51:14
A place in Malaysia is hard to live. It is so easy for a Malay to fix a Christian up or threaten a non-Muslim. Just tell them that if you don't do this or that for me, I will make police report to say you try to convert me to Christian! Haha, I think the Government has nothing else to do but to punish ppl this way. What abt if Muslim try to convert non-Muslim, nothing happens
written by peace, July 15, 2009 16:53:37
May Almighty Jesus wipe out all the evildoer in Malaysia. The righteous one will prevail.
written by alpha100, July 15, 2009 16:56:35
Dispite all the unfair practise, let us remain strong in faith! Jesus is Lord of the Heaven and Earth!
written by Richfyf, July 15, 2009 17:06:42
Law is law. You can't go around converting a malay to another religion. FULL STOP.

If for any reason any malays wants to renounce their religion let them do it on their own accord. Helping malays to convert to other religion will just casue disharmony in the country. For those who thinks that god will send them to heaven by converting others to their religion of for what ever reason they please be smart enough to follow the law.

We do not need another racial incident in this country. Its bad enough that we have to face the global economic crisis and the flip flop education policy.

To the police please ensure that what people complain is the truth before arresting. Dont be too hasty in arresting students just because of some hear say. This is not the 1st incident of police jumping the gun. We have seen that even our MP YB Teressa Kok being arrested because of hearsay !!
written by mountainking, July 15, 2009 17:10:23
mawi

are you another Zulkifli Nordin? mawi, if your youth are not interested to listen and nobody is also bothered to talk to them about christianity, then they can choose not to listen. no one takes a gun to point at them to force them to listen and convert.

what if the stupid 5 youngsters who complained actually overheard other people's conversation and they deemed as if they are being preached too and report police?

what kind of logic is this? malaysia is chaotic because of mawi like you.

because of some malay muslims are behaving irrational have painted such bad pictures on Islam as a whole. go and pray and repent lah mawi.

seek your god before you start to strap yourself with explosives and start blowing up innocent people.
written by Dominic, July 15, 2009 17:11:36
If one is strong and steadfast in one own religion,why worry about someone who talked and preached another religion. Are you so dumb that you simply follow the crowd ? Thats what a half baked is all about !
written by Malaysiaputra, July 15, 2009 17:23:16
Huh, smells a rat here. Resembles what I have read of muslims doing to Christians in Pakistan to get them into trouble with false accusations. Now seems like we have half bakes like those in Malaysia apeing their counterpart in Pakistan.

I frequently engage on religious discussion with my muslim friends does that mean I can also be accused of trying to convert them and get arrested ?.

Oh Muslims, how weak is your faith ?.
written by alarcarte, July 15, 2009 17:50:20
Tangkap dulu baru cerita, this is how our police/UMNO treated the minorities, if you have the wrong skin colour then may be "hentam dia dulu"

Why the Muslims have no faith in themselves and think that they can easily be converted to other religion? and that only the Police can protect them from conversion?

Those Christians walk from house to house and tried to talk Jesus to my mother who was uneducated and she also know how to ask them to leave her alone, if my mother can chase the Christians away without resorting to calling the Police then why not you the supposedly intelligent ones in the University?

Why not find out the root cause of why some Muslims want to convert to Christianity or to become free thinkers and take remedial actions rather than blaming Christians outright? A couple of Malay Muslims friends did tell me that Religion is bullshit and they don't believe in Allah, they are Muslim by default but don't care two hood about religion.

written by Sutha, July 15, 2009 18:17:38
This is islamic sense of justice.

You can convert Non-mohammedans to become Mohammedans but not the otherway around. Wierd justice. Discarded babies found at doorsteps, toilets and even rubbish bins are taken to the jabatan kebajikan masyarakat and registered as muslims, immaterial whether they are chinese, malays, indians or others. Non muslims wanting to marry a muslim (malay or others) need to convert first, as if otherwise, the organs won't fit in well.

Non muslims working in a malay environment are told to convert before promotions can considered.

Corpse are snatched by even with fake documents.

It is ok to offer monetary benefits, land, and job to the convertees but not right for malays to even go to churches?

If the Chief Terrrorist (@ paedophile) 1400 years ago was a straight decent person, things will be straight today!
disagree 19
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 15, 2009 18:47:39
Dear Najib,

When the Christians complain of muslims desecrating their place of worship no one is arrested even with ample proof.
When a muslim says someone is trying to covert them you arrest 9 people.
IS THIS JUSTICE IN 1 MALAYSIA.
CAN I ADVISE ALL CHRISTIANS NOT TO TALK TO MUSLIMS IN CASE ANOTHER MAD MUSLIM FEELS MAY SAY THAT THEY ARE TRYING TO COVERT HIM??

I can never understand a Malay Muslim.What is it with you all that you are so frightened about...If you do not want to listen walk away. Is your faith so weak that just by one talk you all can be converted??? or are you all trying to cause unneccessary trouble using religion again just like in Iraq, Afghanistan and all over the world. This is a peaceful country..and if any trouble starts why must it start with the Muslims????
written by cruzeiro, July 15, 2009 19:20:23
mawi,
There are those that go around circulating lies that some Christians have a church specially made for Malay converts in Jalan Gasing. Apparently they give these imaginary guys some "black holy water", so that they cannot hear Islamic scriptures or the Azan.
I'll tell you something - if this story were true, the perpetrators of this "crime" could make a killing by just putting up this "black holy water" on sale, and many non-muslims who stay near mosques would pay a premium price for such a thing!

You've got it all twisted, mawi.
The articles on MT say that many bad Muslims don't give Islam a good image, and makes Islam look bad. Period.
You on the other hand choose to try to walk the high-horse of morality, claim to "defend Islam" and unwittingly give Islam a not so sweet image by these baseless allegations.

If what you claim is true, I challenge you to make a police report - without that you got nothing, and it would be fair to say that you lie.
You lie not just to the public online, but also to yourself- that you defend Islam.

Don't come around pretending to be a defender of Islam when you do damage, mawi.
Islam doesn't need you to defend it - it is good on its own, just as God is.
written by Anti Relon, July 15, 2009 20:00:46
If Muslims can convert people of others religions to Islam, then the right must be given for other religions to convert Muslims to their religions.
Or is it that Muslims feel that their religion is superior.
These dickheads must realise that relgions are man made.
It is as if mr god said to these so-called god-men, 'be my agent o earth.'
No fecking religion is superior to another. It is might that make one religion superior to another. And the muslims use might.
written by BinderofDemons, July 15, 2009 20:23:53
Hey Sutha,

You are free to believe anything, nobody is stopping you. However, calling the Prophet a paedophile is absolutely unacceptable. Going by your logic, then every Indian who had a child bride (5 to 9 years of age in India in 40s and 50s and also in Malaysia) and was acceptable in the Indian culture are basically all paedophiles.

YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED 1400 years ago. Reading a few websites or articles does not make you an expert on the subject. However, if you want know more real paedophiles you should be reading the Talmud.

Just as there are bad Hindus, there are equally bad Muslims, Christian, Buddhists, etc. PEOPLE ARE BAD, PERIOD. Get off you high horse and do some research. Obviously you are not a Hindu because if you were you would have known the Hindu puranas mentions the imminent arrival of the Prophet for the meat-eating Arabs. The Prophet was supposed to have been a siddhi.
written by hamid, July 15, 2009 20:54:38
WE ARE IN THE TALIBAN REGIME smilies/angry.gif
written by cruzeiro, July 15, 2009 21:01:10
Sutha,
This is echo BoD's sentiments .... please don't make such insulting comments - it's offensive and hurtful.
written by hamid, July 15, 2009 21:14:59
then we have every right to defend our generration from straying away from the truth,

Dear Mawi, How you can prove, only Islam is a true religion???? Pls enlighten me, You can mail me at nordimah28 at yahoo.com.

I am waiting for your explanation.

Regards
Hamid
written by aryn, July 15, 2009 21:34:32
Christians are not afraid of anyone trying to preach other religion to them.

Why? Because they are not afraid of the truth. The bottomline here is faith.

Release the nine people. They've not commit any crime.

Let's pray for the release of the nine and the muslim person who wronged them. Amen.
written by hamid, July 15, 2009 21:41:04
Going by your logic, then every Indian who had a child bride (5 to 9 years of age in India in 40s and 50s and also in Malaysia) and was acceptable in the Indian culture are basically all paedophiles.

Dear BinderofDemons, in India child bride are comment because both Bride and Groom are almost same age or the Groom few year older, not in Muhammad case. Muhammad was 52 and Aisyah was 6 years old child. Muhammad consume the marriage when Aisyah was 8 years old which she still play with dolls. Want to engage with me in debate? mail me nordimah28 at yahoo.com
written by hamid, July 15, 2009 21:44:27
Christians are not afraid of anyone trying to preach other religion to them.

Why? Because they are not afraid of the truth. The bottomline here is faith.

Dear aryn, Nothing is true in this universe. Stop your preach.

Regards
written by sandokan, July 15, 2009 22:48:22
Religion should be an individual matter. Once somebody are eligible to vote, they should also have the right to choose which religion they want to worship. Period.
written by AsamLaksa, July 15, 2009 23:54:55
The bottom line is the lack of religious freedom among Muslims. The laws are in place to punish and prevent apostasy. That's what it's all about. The trouble with laws regulating religion is that the individual is sidelined, who cares what the individual really feels?

Anyway, giving aid in expectation of winning converts is also not on. Mawi, next time talk to them and inform them of their folly.

I don't see this nonsense of "protecting the sanctity" of Islam by preventing apostasy. Each individual's spiritual journey is unique. It's like raising children, you provide them with all basic needs and more, and also life skills so that they can live their own lives. End of the day there is only so much that you can dictate for the rest of their lives.
written by JaguhKampung, July 16, 2009 00:01:34
mawi wrote:
...then we have every right to defend our generration from straying away from the truth, care less whether you are not in line with how we see what truth is.

Dear Mawi, be careful with what you say.

Other could say this : I couldn't care less what you or your religion see as the truth. As far as I am concerned, your religion is not the truth. I am doing my part to save these poor souls on the streets asking for food from a fake religion that snatches dead body and kills people who wanted to get out.

How does that sounds to you mawi? Where will this end? What do you mean by religious tolerance? To most, if not all other religion in the world, this kind of activities does not warrant an arrest. Only in your religion. I do not know if there is any country in this world where majority is non muslims put such a law on Muslims or other faiths a one way street. This one way street only happens in Malaysia. Even Indonesia, the biggest Muslim country in the world does not have this one way street law.

If you are strong in your faith, no amount of proselytizing could convert you into other faith. This is UMNO propaganda to control and maintain their grip on power. As long as the Malays become more and more backward in their thinking, it is easier for UMNO to control the majority in this country to deliver the votes for them to stay in power.

If what UMNO preaches you is true, all the Malays in Singapore could have been converted to other religions by now. But the fact is not like that. The Malays in Singapore is getting stronger because they are less protected compared to Malays in Malaysia.

Think about it Mawi. I know it is difficult for you to accept. Put yourself in the the other side's shoes. How would you feel? If you couldn't care less how other feel, you can't blame them to have the same attitude towards you. This is a mirror reaction.

written by ssathia, July 16, 2009 00:51:39
It is time to pass a new law that any conversion of religion is punishable by law, just like the protection Muslims have. This is especially needed for the minority groups such as Orang Asli and Hindu Indians as they are the most affected through conversions to other religions. These minority groups run the risk of being culturally obliterated through conversion as what happened 500 hundred years ago when Hindu Malays were made to convert to the extent that there are no more Hindu Malays left in the country. All records on achievements and glory of Hindu Malays are no longer available. Even the temples and statues of Hindu Gods made by Hindu Malays seem to have vanished. In any democracy, an elected government owes a moral and legal duty to protect the minority.
written by hamid, July 16, 2009 01:58:38
written by BinderofDemons, July 15, 2009 22:42:50

No, Hamid. I am not talking about child marriages. I am talking about fully adult Indian males marrying children. I have a few members of my family who have married child brides from India. So, there 2 entirely different things.

fully adult Indian males marrying children.

Can you provide prove? Oh.. one more thing, are they prophet???
written by hamid, July 16, 2009 02:03:34
I have a few members of my family who have married child brides from India
You must be a Muslim, so there is nothing to shock. Muslims practice this because of they're prophet.
written by BinderofDemons, July 16, 2009 02:31:34
Hamid,

Are you by any chance Sutha’s alter…mmm

I said members of my family not some dogdy character. Shouldn’t that be proof enough. My father’s stepfather married a child bride. Another one of my father’s uncles married a child bride and few others that I know of personally. Mind you all these happened in the 50s here in good ol’ Malaysia. Just watching Tamil movies won’t give the whole picture. It was practised in India. Go ahead do some research.

My boy, do some reading it helps. Quoting from one hadith is not proof enough. If you go about reading all that is said about The Prophet marrying Aishah you can by deduction actually calculate her approximate age. You are buying into the Western garbage.

And you are so, so wrong. I am a Hindu. All of the above I mentioned were Hindus.
written by gorshan, July 16, 2009 09:23:48
a true christian would have turned the other cheek and in the name of Christ forgiven these two idiots journalist for their ill planned misadventures.and these two idiotic journalist should waste no time in offering apologies for showing disrespect for the communion whether preplanned or unintended and the authorities should step in fast and check whether any laws has been breached by these two journalist. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by gorshan, July 16, 2009 09:32:27
written by mawi, July 15, 2009 16:45:35
I had an opportunity to chat with a desperate Malay Muslim youth at Central Market one morning and apparently, a christian group at Klang bus stand in KL would offer free breakfast and hot coffee with dough nuts and sometimes even pocket money for these youngsters during certain morning on certain days. However, before getting all these, these youngster must first sing songs that praises Jesus and other christian songs. These christian groups target only Malay youth and the most vulnerable are those that that lived on the streets and runaways. Without any exception to gender, this place is now a sort of a sanctuary for these youth to get food for the day. .

dear mawi,what is your own religious authority doing to help these homeless kids? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif