Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 8 influential Malaysians back 1Malaysia concept

8 influential Malaysians back 1Malaysia concept PDF Print
Wednesday, 15 July 2009 11:57

(NST) KUALA LUMPUR: Eight influential corporate and non-governmental individuals have teamed up to form Yayasan 1Malaysia, an independent non-profit foundation to realise the 1Malaysia dream of national unity.

They are civil rights activist Dr Chandra Muzaffar; Malaysia Airlines chief executive officer Datuk Seri Idris Jala; AirAsia chief executive officer Datuk Seri Tony Fernandes; Islam Hadhari Institute chairman Datuk Dr Ismail Ibrahim; Mercy Malaysia president Tan Sri Dr Jemilah Mahmood; academic Professor Emeritus Datuk K.J. Ratnam; social activist Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye; and Isis director-general Dr Mahani Zainal Abidin.

Chandra is the chairman of the board of foundation while all eight will act as trustees.

Speaking at the launch yesterday, Chandra said the foundation's role was to develop, support and spearhead activities and programmes that would engage all Malaysians towards embracing the 1Malaysia concept.

"In particular, we plan to work with non-governmental organisations in our endeavour to build and strengthen unity among Malay-sians of all ethnicity and religious belief," he said.

"The board of trustees also represents Malaysia across ethnic, religious, gender and the regional spectra.

"What binds us together is our single-minded and total commitment to convince all that the 1Malaysia concept is worth striving for," Chandra added.

And nothing rammed home the message more than the appearance of business rivals Idris and Fernandes at the launch yesterday.

"The fact that someone like me who hails from a small tribe in Bario can today helm our national carrier is proof that the 1Malaysia concept is possible," said Idris.

Fernandes said if there was one thing both Idris and he could "violently agree on", it would be 1Malaysia.

As part of its mission to promote the concept, Yayasan 1Malaysia has launched an online campaign "My 1Malaysia Story" at www. 1malaysia.org.my where the public can submit ideas on how to realise the dream.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by krising1, July 15, 2009 12:06:39
Chandra has never influenced anything in his life. Only shit comes out of his mouth every time he opens it. Idris Jala presides over the company which has been consistently losing money - a company that does not have right to exist. Anyway I would like these 8 gentlemen to tell us what do they mean by 1Malaysia and how do they reconcile this with UMNO-PAS Malay-Muslim unity talks!
written by temenggong, July 15, 2009 12:12:25
With the intellectual dwarf as chairman, it's not going to go anywhere! Jala is a failure, for he took on a sure-to-fail job. Lee is there to make the quorum. The rest of the boys are in for the ride.
written by densemy, July 15, 2009 12:34:57
Some people will say anything to ingratiate themselves with the Malaysian Government

Isnt there a bit of a problem with Tony Fernandez not paying landing dues ??

More Hypocricy
written by born2reign, July 15, 2009 12:40:00
First thing first. Where is 1Malaysia's Vision and Objectives?

How to measure effectiveness, state your KPI's.

Suggestion:
Free education for all.

Abolish discounts for bumiputera housing, and housing quota.

Freedom of religion for all. Each citizen has a right to choose their religion without fear of being imprisoned.

Limit the authorities of JAKIM. No body snatching and property snatching by JAKIM if muslim-converts failed to notify their spouse. Considered as civil marriage until assets are divided upon proper notification of conversion. If muslim died without notifying spouse then property must be divided under civil law. If a muslim does not act responsibly when he was alive, the law must not make his family suffer.
written by Trueandfair, July 15, 2009 12:49:14
OK, so where and when are we going to see the action and proof of the pudding?so far typical Govt - my experience with them is more and more Govt committees and meetings - notice, how all Malaysian leaders got big fat necks, that is from the thousands of meetings and gorging on kuihs and teh-tarik smilies/grin.gif
written by Sinewy, July 15, 2009 12:53:00
"What binds us together is our single-minded and total commitment to convince all that the 1Malaysia concept is worth striving for"
As a tax paying citizen who strives for fairness and equality for all citizens in this country irrespective of skin colour, I still find it hard to understand the 1Malaysia concept. So can this group of "influential" malaysians enlighten me about the 1Malaysia concept and how it relates to the righteousness in treating all malaysians in a fair and equal manner by the government and its administration and remove all the racist policies?
written by jayenjr, July 15, 2009 13:35:52

-------------------------------------------------------------

Here's a little song i wrote, you might want to sing it note for note, don't worry, be happy ...
written by chiongguo, July 15, 2009 14:05:36
You don't really need to look far to get ideas as to what needed to be done to achieve a harmonious and united malaysia. Just look at all the government policies and all the courses conducted by various ngos related to the government or the government. Recently I had read quite a few blogs mostly on agriculture and what surprised me was non-bumis. These participants were also indoctrinated with ideas that they must fight for their own race and religion.

As this foundation is really a government-linked-ngo (an oxymoron really) I bet you would not be telling the government the policies that are detrimental to the realisation of this ideal of 1Malaysia. As such this government-linked-ngo is nothing more than a lapdog with a lot of bark and no bite.

And btw. all these 8 actually had very little respect on the ground. Many knew of how they had been cronies of some of these people who walked in the corridor of power.
written by rocky, July 15, 2009 14:06:05
chandra,

if my 1malaysia story is true but sad one which shows the negative side of the govt policies, will you publish it? or yayasan 1Malaysia only accepts feel good stories.

Chandra as a leader is mistake number 1 by this group. Just too bad...nila satu titik memang akan rosakkan susu 1malaysia. smilies/tongue.gif
written by sydput, July 15, 2009 14:20:23
Last time I heard, even george bush was fascinated by islam hadhari. Now, even australia is shivering because islam hadhari has landed on its western shores.
written by joeawk, July 15, 2009 14:55:13
Ayoyo, you call them influential. These are bloke who will kiss the PM no matter what the PM smells like. If the PM changes his slogan, they will also support.

Let us put it this way, they are like many, opportunists as well.
written by SCM, July 15, 2009 15:11:54
Chandra Muzaffar as Chairman? Oh my god, what a comedy. It would have been more authentic to have Hee Yit Foong as Chairman. Chandra will do anything Najib instructs him to do. A spineless yes-man.
written by ibabonma, July 15, 2009 15:11:57
Each time Idris Jala is mentioned, it remind me of OJK Japanese Green Tea served on MAS flight and surely it tastes like Umph! from Cameron Highlands ...Boh tea! (Also don't forget the peanuts, roasted at a backyard in Gombak!)

written by kislean, July 15, 2009 15:18:17
Influential Malaysians ???
You've gotta be kidding !!!!
written by mob1900, July 15, 2009 15:39:51
All dubious characters mentioned as '8 influential Malaysians'. POOOR-DAH!

Just because these high-suspicious ppl are not directly 'employed' by Najib and his minions doesn't mean they're not under his payroll. Only idiots will buy their pitch.
written by malaysian7, July 15, 2009 15:43:09
Look, the concept have the good intentions and it is meant for a more multi-racial country to be united. To be fair, we do not deny the goods but we are still eager to see the implementations and how will Datuk Seri Najib can work it out and ensure its success.

Regards
written by Bigjoe99, July 15, 2009 15:57:52
INFLUENTIAL? Do anyone actually listen to these people? I think even their UMNO masters and the PR lackeys that use them don't listen to them either..
written by lamakawan, July 15, 2009 16:08:54
This Chandra is a double headed snake. One minute he was in the opposition fighting agaainst the BN gomen. The next minute he joins the government side and says he is fighting for civil rights?
Please do not lie ,Chandra. You cannot be fighting for civil rights when you are siding the BN government. Your master Najib's character is already in your blood.
Look at the way he dismisses TV newscaster Looi when she conducted an interview with the public concerning his (Najib's) popularity!!!
written by SSC, July 15, 2009 16:13:30
sorry..typo..there is racial quota
written by Fairminded, July 15, 2009 16:19:00
What a farce. All these chappies are government linked or are dependent on the government for handouts and favours to survive or to be in their respective positions. NGOs does not meant that it automatically qualify as independent of governemtn influence. For example, the CEO of MAS owes the BN government his job. How can a CEO who presides over a perpetually money losing airline not be fired? How can Islam Hadhari preach 1Malaysia concept if they have the "Ketuanan Islam" mind set? I have a suspiscion that this foundation is formed mainly to get funds from the government by riding this 1Malaysia rah rah thing. However, let us give them a chance and see results. So dear foundation members, give us a time line and objectives, and we will do what Prime minister Najib proposed, and demand a KPI from you guys to judge you guys.
written by Kathy, July 15, 2009 16:31:53
Support for the 1Malaysia concept from bigwigs counts for nothing. It is the support of the general population that counts. Until such time as we can be treated as Malaysians without the interference of race and/or religion I will give it the thumbs down. smilies/angry.gif
written by Sutha, July 15, 2009 18:24:02
What is so influential about the eight coconuts?

Brown on the outside and think they are helluva white inside. They only have influence of the government hoping for $$$ making opportunities.

The people think these coconuts are nothing but hypocrites.
written by by2020, July 15, 2009 19:46:34
The need to bring out all this outstanding personalities (obviously they are outstanding in one aspect or the other, at least ball licking..) shows that the PM has failed to convince Malaysian what the F**** is 1Malaysia?
written by righttruthspeaks, July 15, 2009 20:14:08
chandra, lee lam thye, fernandes?????....definited doomed to failure.
written by Kuku Burung, July 15, 2009 21:46:04
Are they talking about 8 rats? They are a nuisance.