Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Do we need a referendum?

Do we need a referendum? PDF Print
Tuesday, 14 July 2009 19:43

By Mahaletchemy

I SHARE the concerns expressed in “Students caught out” (July 10) as my son will also face this predicament when he reaches Form 3. After learning maths and science in English from Year 1, he has to adjust to learning it in Bahasa Malaysia for three years in Secondary 3, and then revert to English when he goes to college at 18.

Having studied in Singapore, where English is the medium of instruction, I am proud to use my Bahasa Malaysia as our national language. Our second prime minister, Tun Abdul Razak, had the vision of uniting all races through the national school, and “satu bahasa dan satu bangsa” concept. Bahasa Malaysia has come a long way. You can communicate with anyone in any part of Malaysia in the language and feel comfortable and accepted as a Malaysian.

Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak must surely share what his father had initiated, in his vision of 1Malaysia. Congratulations Mr Prime Minister.

But we have too many schools, ie the national school, the Chinese, Tamil, and even Punjabi schools; the religious schools; the vision and cluster schools; the elite schools; and an increasing number of international schools. How do we build 1Malaysia?

However, while Bahasa Malaysia has developed immensely in the subjects related to the Arts (language, literature, history, etc), it has found it difficult to keep pace with the rapid developments in science and technology and ICT.

Can translations by Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka keep pace with this global pace of development?

I remember helping my son on his science assignment on hard and soft stem plants, and the numerous websites we discovered (99% of which were in English) and how quickly he learnt from the Internet. We worked on another assignment on Rumah-rumah di Malaysia, where he looked for information from the Bahasa Malaysia websites for a scrapbook. There was so little to source from and much of the material was identical to text books.

I do not deny that the rural children will be comfortable in their mother tongue in Year 1, but are we really helping them or are we depriving them of the benefits of globalisation? Numerous rural parents and students have voiced their interest in learning science and maths in English? We only want the best for our children. Do we need a referendum to confirm this?

I rely on the national school system. I cannot afford international schools or education overseas. I too believe in the Vision of 1Malaysia. Let us strive for it through a futuristic national school, that incorporates the mother-tongue of all races and develops the individual intellectually, physically, spiritually and emotionally.

written by panca, July 14, 2009 19:57:05
They would shamelessly say we have consulted our panel of expertise before we decided to keep the language for the two subjects, all in the interest of the Kampung folks. The kampung is suffering because too much has been depended on such disregard for referendum to reach a positive outcome. They would swear about their intelligence too.

Should conduct a poll for a referendum to be introduced too?

Just see how short-sighted such leaders are! STEWED!
written by Oscar Winner, July 14, 2009 20:02:33
We do need a referendum, and very badly. Not just on this issue, but many more. But it can never happen for as long as we have a system which allows a PM to be determined by warlords. Meaning: the warlords decide our fate. Any referendum will be shot down. Any PM from UMNO who even suggests a referendum will be forced to quit. Even if the warlords approve a referendum, it will be a sandiwara only coz the results will very likely be rigged by pro-BN bodies. Until we attain a civil and mature society, it doesn't seem likely you will get it now.
written by alarcarte, July 14, 2009 20:59:04
Bloody stupid! They can't even plan in such a way that those who study the two subjects in English be allowed to do so until after SPM.

written by Hakim Joe, July 14, 2009 22:55:49
The question is not whether we need a referendum or not but whether we can have one!

written by non conformist, July 14, 2009 23:30:25
Now the MAJORITY of the nation's student know without a doubt that the UMNO leaders and their lackeys in BN who made the stupid decision are STUPID INDEED.
written by non conformist, July 14, 2009 23:34:40
Now the MAJORITY of the nation's student know without a doubt that the UMNO leaders and their lackeys in BN who made the stupid decision are STUPID INDEED.

===== Yes, just bloody and shockingly and brainlessly STUPID.

SO bloody and shamelessly stupid that they DON'T have the slightest respect for the students left... treating the students with such disrespect... treating them like pawns to be kicked around.

May the wise God of heaven cursed all such despicable leaders with incurable madness for messing around with the precious lives of the students of this nation.
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 15, 2009 02:02:53
Can translations by Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka keep pace with this global pace of development?

Mahaletchumy...when you walk the streets it is a different story. You get batbricks thrown at Muhiddin. It is the most stupid thing that politics enters education. It stifles growth.

Yesterday I did mention the problem of Dewan Bahasa and Pustaka. and by the time the new term is got and reaches the student with the newly printed book ..we are aledy 6 to 12 moonths behind take and give a month two. yet we have people still burying their head in the sand.. I also commented this is another way of fast tracking a brain drain....and mass migration...the rumbles are on the streets..
written by Fairminded, July 15, 2009 16:29:31
Learning Bahasa Malaysia and English need not be mutually exclusive. It is not a zero sum game. Why not learn both? Afterall, languages is a tool in this globalized world. Everyday thousands and even millions of research papers and technical bulletins are published in most European languages (English is just one of them) not to mention in Chinese, Japanese and Korean. I dont think Dewan Pustaka can ever catch up. If you can find the people with the language skill they probably do not have the scientific knowledge to tranlate properly, not to mention that most of the technical terms are not in the Malay lexicon. You would have the Malay language interspersed with more and more non Malay words that it becomes a confusion whether it is an English Scientific paper with some Malay words or a Malay Scientific paper with some English words. So encourage students not to be language chauvinists. Learn more languages. It will not make a Malay less Malay or a Chinese less chinese if they learn another language other than their mother tongue. If you look at the UMNO ministers, being smart people, 90% of them send their children overseas and usually to an English speaking country to study.
written by Sutha, July 15, 2009 18:29:03
Shows what kind of morons the cabinet is made up of!