Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow NOW SUARA KEADILAN SPINS LIKE UMNO IN KG BUAH PALA ISSUE

NOW SUARA KEADILAN SPINS LIKE UMNO IN KG BUAH PALA ISSUE PDF Print
Tuesday, 14 July 2009 13:01

By Tan Mei Ling

I am a Malaysian from a middle class family. I have been following this issue on Kg Buah Pala and see the injustice that has happened to them.

I didn’t even know about the existence of Kg Buah Pala and the trouble they were in until HINDRAF highlighted the whole issue and I am sure many Malaysians too. Thereafter, I have been following various sites and blogs to uncover what actually happened to this fellow Malaysians of ours.

There are many write ups by people from different parts of the society and when I see the comments written by Malaysians, I am actually shocked. Here, until about two weeks ago many did not even have an opinion until the whole thing was brought to light by HINDRAF and today everyone is a loyar buruk.

Some of the comments are so pathetic that it runs down on racial lines and condemns HINDRAF and even those residents of Kg Buah Pala of being selfish, arrogant and hostile against the state government.

For them it is either viewing HINDRAF as racist or jumping boat or the Kg Buah Pala people are so insignificant but never the fault of the beloved DAP government although the truth is the state government screwed up in this matter.

I fail to see why our views are so narrow and side tracked, when you all know that DAP had screwed themselves so badly in this Kg Bala issue. Everything about Kg Buah Pala is revolved with an obsession that the state government never faulted in handling this matter but it is HINDRAF and Kg Buah Pala residents who are at fault for their own benefits and of course the previous government. 

I wonder how liberated is our mind in Malaysia when obsession with half truth overrides the truth and the inaction on the part of the government for the spin created by the Penang state government to sweep it under the carpet. Isn’t this the same thing that BN has been doing for the last 52 years and it appears the role has reversed itself in Penang with DAP?

Nobody seems to take the trouble to understand the truth but continue to make assumption that this must be  because Lim Guan Eng says so. Lim Guan Eng must be the Mahathir of Penang, because for 22 years, nobody did anything about him nor questioned him and even if you were to do that you will be totally squashed or his spin masters will do the job for him.

The latest spin by Suara Keadilan is a classic tale of the forgotten truth but a spin that is so biased and self reflective of the similar mold that resembles our very own BN. Sadly our Malaysians will continue to fall prey to this tactics when the truth is highlighted by HINDRAF on the plight of the Kg Buah Pala residents, they would rather blindly run into a conclusion without a thought for the truth but how rightful the mighty state government have been in playing the spinmaster’s role. I guess we deserve the government that we chose.

Sure, go ahead, I must be from the other side trying to stir the pot, being paid off, offered a position, maybe a Datukship, all for money even if I were to tell you that I am just a normal, average person who sees the truth. Malaysians “Mah”. So sure, so real, so correct always, never wrong, always just and fair just like Lim Guan Eng with the Kg Buah Pala residents.       

Comments (46)Add Comment
written by *********, July 14, 2009 13:06:10
Najib planning Perak style coup d'etat in Selangor and Kedah...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by MMhunter, July 14, 2009 13:06:29
spot on...thats the Malaysian spirit.
written by righttruthspeaks, July 14, 2009 13:22:43
Hee the Jelapang slut must be your idol.Why don'tyou just join malaysian criminals association and shut up. Sure you have to sell yourself cheap unlike hee, but i think you will get at least rm5.00 from a bangla.
disagree 47
written by renoir, July 14, 2009 13:23:19
Besides the bad grammar and an obsession with screwing, no specific example of "spin" and other allegations concerning prejudicial attitudes of Malaysians are given anywhere in the article. Typical product of our education "system."

disagree 23
written by Urangsabah, July 14, 2009 13:24:43
UMNOed Tan, fight aso for these people.UMNO Goboment in Sabah burniong houses not just rite good ingerris

more at http://www.dailyexpress.com.my...wsID=45106
written by mick_err_stan, July 14, 2009 13:26:39
So what is the truth ? Please enlighten.
written by avj, July 14, 2009 13:33:52
Tan Mei Ling since people are so screwed up in their judgement and you are soooo sanctimonious and pure,why don't do us all a big favour and tell us the truth as we are so ignorant and unable to draw the right conclusions.Otherwise just shut up as we are quite capable of differentiating between who is screwing who and who is being screwed
disagree 20
written by ylcc, July 14, 2009 13:37:55
Who is being pathetic here? I live in Penang. We are happily going around doing our chores in this peaceful island. The problem was created by Gerakan. Sure, let the present government give any assistance they can within their means - legal, administrative, dialogues, relocation, etc. Just do not touch taxpayers' money to bail anyone out. Penang badly need money to spur the economy for the Penangites. If Hindraf is raising funds, I shall certainly chip in. I am ever willing to help anyone who first helps himself.
written by ganbing, July 14, 2009 13:52:04
Since Tan Mei Ling is so sure that Hindraf is SOOOO right and the negative comments against Hindraf are SOOOO wrong, let's hear some points instead of sanctimonious generalities.
How does she (gender inferred) knows that Hindraf speaks the TRUTH instead of playing on the issue for political gains? Is Hindraf so pure and wholesome like fresh sliced bread? In her long and repetitive diatribe, I've not seen one point to back her "superior knowledge" other than sanctimonious spin.
disagree 18
written by CSum, July 14, 2009 14:03:59
hi Mei Ling,

I agree with mick_err_stan. May be you wanna tell us what really happened together with supporting evidence as well as the source of your information. Your post is not impressive enough to convince others of the actual fact. Not even close.
written by Sinewy, July 14, 2009 14:06:27
Sure Tan Mei Ling, the PR state government, like the UMNO/BN government, has screwed the Penangites for one year, and it is painful right? Since you don't like to be screwed by the PR government, then by all means make sure that you and your cohorts will get rid of this useless PR state government and bring back the UMNO/BN government so that they can screw the Penangites for another 50 years... have fun
written by quietguy, July 14, 2009 14:08:25
I read through Hindraf's 18 point memorandum and do you know how many points address the Kg Buah Pala issue? A grand total of ZERO! Even in point 10 Hindraf wants the govt to stop demolition of Hindu temples, crematoriums and burial sites, but no mention of stopping demolition of homes. So to Hindraf, Hindu temples, crematoriums and burial sites were more important than people's homes! Why now all of a sudden the Kg Buah Pala issue becomes the top most important issue, more important than everything else?! Something smells really funny here.
written by Wisdom above, July 14, 2009 14:19:22
" Where are your positive solutions "from the legal perspectives under the Land Acqusition Act and the State Planning Act?

How do U propose to divert Funds ( without upsetting the 99% Penang Taxpayers) from State Treasury to pay these POOR squatters to acquire the land for them?
U want Federal PAC and MACC to investigate Penang State Government for abuse of power to use state funds to SAVE these squatters ?

Take note, this Federal Land already Alienated is still a Federal Matter.
Professional Town Planner know this is a very difficult equation to solve.
written by Taikohtai, July 14, 2009 14:31:32
and today everyone is a loyar buruk

All I know is that it takes a bigger loyar buruk to recognise one. If Tan represents the so called middle class Malaysian, I think Malaysia has a long, long way to go before one understands his/her democratic rights enshrined in the constitution. By then again, Tan must be one of those products of BN who thinks BN is the next best thing since sliced bread.
written by technoboy, July 14, 2009 14:41:57
Tan, tell us how to differentiate one spin from another. Unless you are personally there to witness and feel the ground, how can you preach that what you are writing is gospel truth, lest that you didn't even know about this Kg until recently? Doesn't sound very convincing lah? Another spin?
written by Counterpointer, July 14, 2009 15:00:14
This Tan person sounds like your typical fence sitter who would probably be very easily swayed to vote for BN based on his/her warped sense of perception that PR is probably like BN and not worth voting for and would prefer to let things remain status quo and continue to let the country be led and raped by a murder suspect.

Not much hope for change in M'sia if many are like this person.
written by mikewang, July 14, 2009 15:04:36
Dear Ms Tan,

Your article is pretty screwed up because I fail to see your point.
Can you please put numbers on the points you raised so that we can follow your argument ?
written by hellosunshine, July 14, 2009 15:05:12
With so much screwing around, I can bet you that this Tan Mei Ling is a guy or a poofter. Yeah Mei Ling, like the rest of the guys here in MT, we are dying to hear your version of the truth which you had absentmindedly omitted in your tirade above. smilies/grin.gif
written by ibabonma, July 14, 2009 15:18:55
Tan Mei Ling, you never elaborated on the subject. What are you trying to say? Are you a Hindraf?
written by Urangsabah, July 14, 2009 15:30:32
Another classical case of a pure racialist bigot in the class of A Money safe of Utusan.
$12.5 billion of rakyat money wipe out by UMNO & UMNOed Goons (BN) is ok for Ms Mei Ling and this UMNOed person.not sure what is their concept of justice.if you got, why not admit u are writing for UMNOed/UMNOed Gerakan or UMNOed MCA.
written by Trigem, July 14, 2009 15:40:57
oneofthesedays,

I find your post hard to mean what you claimed. Please justify each criticism you made such as "blind allegiance to race and money is their game." I can't believe that the clause that is more aptly be applied to UMNO/BN pirates had been labeled to PR or DAP. Where is your sense of justice and righteousness for the country?

Until you back up your claims, I am going to tell you to go to hell with your selfish behavior. Condemning good people and supporting evil is an act against humanity.
written by Bloodhound, July 14, 2009 15:43:08
TML,

I refer to a few of your statements and would comment accordingly:
"I am a Malaysian from a middle class.........."
Good on ya! Perhaps a little higher expectations of you could be warranted since you are not the lowly class of people!

"I didn’t even know about the existence of Kg Buah Pala and the trouble they were in until HINDRAF highlighted the whole issue and I am sure many Malaysians too. Thereafter, I have been following various sites and blogs to uncover what actually happened to this fellow Malaysians of ours........."
So, by just reading about HINDRAF's messages and reading from various sites and blogs would magically turned you into an expert enabling you to make sweeping comments?? Have you been down to the site and spoke with the people or perhaps that doesn't matter??? Suddenly, you became an expert able to dish out abuses and the right intellectual write-ups about the matter in such crucial matters!

"There are many write ups by people from different parts of the society and when I see the comments written by Malaysians, I am actually shocked. Here, until about two weeks ago many did not even have an opinion until the whole thing was brought to light by HINDRAF and today everyone is a loyar buruk............."
AHEM!the same goes to you!or doesn't that applies to you just because you are, as you had so proudly announced,middle class? Look at your own backyard first before foaming in the mouth - please!

"I fail to see why our views are so narrow and side tracked, when you all know that DAP had screwed themselves so badly.........."
Well, you said it all with your statement ".....when you all know that.....". Did you say views are so narrow and side tracked? How about arrogant? What about ignorant or ranting? Need I say more?

"Nobody seems to take the trouble to understand the truth but continue to make assumption that this must be because..........."
This statement must take the cake! Did you make any honest attempt to understand the truth? Did you know that the residents of Kg Buah Pala had actually apologised to LGE? There you go, running on empty again! Empty vessels always makes the loudest noise. The only consolation about empty vessels is that their ignorance is only noticed when they try to make noise! What say you, TML?

Oh, by the way, I do not subscribe to any political party affiliations but I always try my best to expose those who tries to be what they are not and claims not to be what they are!
written by Hakim Joe, July 14, 2009 16:21:56
Tan Mei Ling aka Hindraf Supporter

Have you by any chance read Hindraf's 18 point Memorandum?
If not, please do so.

written by thor, July 14, 2009 16:51:42
I am a Malaysian from a middle class family. I have been following this issue on Kg Buah Pala and see the injustice that has happened to them.

Guess u r lucky as those in Kampong Pala not from middle class and at the same time got the wrong end of the stick from Ameno and its Insignificant Others in Be End. U see a certain previous CM who happens to be a dentist can afford a more than RM200k Balinese gate whereas this kampong folk who r part of our Malaysian Family got the wrong end of the stick.

Imagine the type of documents which can be declassified once PR have a say to declassified or not to declassified documents at the national level. Let's hope nothing are kept from the RAKYAT to see how the RAKYAT hve been played by those in power for the past 40 years.
written by Concerned Malaysian, July 14, 2009 16:58:17
just to add...DAP during their GE12 speeches said " Over our dead body will they take Kg.Pala"......it was an election speech nothing more......those of you do not know shit about Kg.Pala....piss off
disagree 16
written by Hakim Joe, July 14, 2009 17:07:05
Concerned Malaysian Hindraf Lover

Alamak! Of course we do not know shit about Kg. Pala - cos we don't know you.
As for pissing off, well... which part of Kg. Pala should we piss off on?
Do tell..

written by Old Man, July 14, 2009 17:07:07
Mei Ling, if you want to be screwed please DO NOT involved your family and/or surname TAN.The leader of HINDRAF is a lawyer and these days the Public have a good perception about lawyers.The last paragraph of your article only confirmed your hidden agenda."The words coming out of the horse mouth" You probably three horse screws?
written by Mark C, July 14, 2009 17:30:26
whoever says this is a racial issue is playing to the tune of UMNO's propaganda. It has never been a racial issue. Uninformed people like Tan Me Ling is but a mere mouthpiece of the Ameno and the Barang Naik gomen. TML's name is so generic and it wouldn't be ridiculous to imagine it is not the author's real name nor ethnicity.

DAP has never been a race based party and it will never will be. It happens to have a chinese majority helming the party leadership, similarly most of the PR coalition hasn't a race based affiliation.

Be gone with those shiet stirring, race biting posts. We are not longer immature and misinformed as to be sucked into this chasm of the same game plan.
written by carribeanking7, July 14, 2009 17:48:45
Tan Mei Ling, you are a very good satire writer.
written by ganbing, July 14, 2009 18:20:01
Temenggong talks about professional ethics and balance. Being a rabidly pro-Hindraf supporter he should be the last person to preach about ethics and balance. Look in the mirror and tell us where is your own balance. Or is he a Hindraf leader in disguise?
written by mikewang, July 14, 2009 18:42:07
Dear Concerned Malaysian,

In a news report, YAB Lim already denied that he had ever make such an election promise because he had not been to that area during their last election campaign.

Can you please enlighten us as to which DAP candidate who claimed "over my dead body ...." ?
written by latihanQ, July 14, 2009 19:13:47
The only spinning seems only from Tan Mei Ling. From top to bottom, nothing! Screwing seems the only word Tan Mei Ling understands. This piece is nothing but distructive propaganda from BN. Wasted my time reading it.
written by chiongguo, July 14, 2009 19:18:05
Tan Mei Ling is not a chinese. It is one of hindraf's devious means. They had used another chinese name to write another letter that was widely circulated.

TML is one of those shit-stirrer from hindraf or perhaps a bn-turned-hindraf. It is a dirty ploy.

written by petestop, July 14, 2009 19:19:08
Been following this issue as well.

What I don't understand is that why the personal attack on the CM ?

If you have an issue, attack the issue and get help.
Not screw the people who is trying to help you.

In which case, fat chance, even good Samaritan will turn away.

Buy that piece of land, using whose money ??

It is all the Rakyat's money, just to maintain this piece of land for the few household ??

In Penang, land is extremely precious, everyone pays a premium to buy property here.

What abt these Kg Buah Pala folks ?? Just want to have free handouts from govt ??

If the issue is with the hanky-panky done by the previous Gerakan govt, then
attack the issue.

Not many are saint, and I expect the CM is also human, if you keep biting the
helping hand, don't expect them to keep holding it out.

written by Old Man, July 14, 2009 19:22:12
Correction, with apologies
Mei Ling..... these days the Public DO NOT have a good perception about lawyers!.... You probably need three horses to screw you at the same time!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by vox populi, July 14, 2009 20:00:53
Mei Ling,
Your name is a common female Chinese name but your writing style betrays the hand of a male. Out with the truth, man!!!!

You claimed to have visited many sites and blogs but your insight was so pathetic. What a waste of your time. Your comments were so one-sided and devoid of any facts. If you had been truthful, even to yourself, you would have a better grasp of the issue and not come out with such bland, stupid comments. Talking about spinning, a job is waiting for you in UMNO/BN.

written by temenggong, July 14, 2009 20:56:35
Buah Pala sure has riled up the folks. The scary part is so many disclosed that they have no sense of justice or humanism, but the blame game and money. A kiasu attitude.

DAP does not seem to have factored neither law nor electoral politics, and Guan Eng has shown himself to be a political novice for falling for Sugumaran's apology.

If it comes to demolishing the homes of the villagers and humiliate a community, then so be it. But DAP should know that the next CM of Penang will be from PKR.

But I think DAP will step away from the brink.

People should work out the electoral mathematics in this convoluted nation and know for certain that the chinese too do not have what it takes to have political power. That rests with those who stand for 'people first'.

written by temanmu, July 14, 2009 22:59:09
Please offer practical solutions ... anyone can complain!

Now what do you propose? If it is practical, we will surely support it!
written by garfunky, July 15, 2009 08:24:36
Just because we have an opinion does not make us "love" DAP or "love" Hindraf.

Your article makes you seem like a tool. It sheds no light on the issue nor ways to remedy it, but you merely try to group everyone with an opinion into categories.

There are people here who have followed the issue closely too, it's not just you, you know. And yes, LGE might have handled this whole thing better, but the situation is not clear cut with an easy solution. and yes the villagers were demanding and aggressive, but they have taken the high road and apologized.

So looks like things are going in the right direction, why are you trying to stir up shit here?