Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Police probe Selangor exco member's alleged underworld links

Police probe Selangor exco member's alleged underworld links PDF Print
Tuesday, 14 July 2009 11:53

(NST) SHAH ALAM: Calling it a “high profile case”, police yesterday began investigations into allegations that a Selangor state executive councillor had been using his office for meetings with members of the underworld.

Selangor Criminal Investigation Department chief Senior Assistant Commissioner II Datuk Hasnan Hassan confirmed that investigations had begun but declined to elaborate as Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail had already commented on it.

It is, however, learnt that police had contacted several journalists who had reported the allegations to have their statements recorded today.

The allegations of the meetings between a state exco member and the underworld were made by Wangsa Maju member of parliament Wee Choo Keong in his blog in support of fellow Parti Keadilan Rakyat colleague Azmin Mohamed Ali’s call for a reshuffle of the state executive council.

Wee had also said that his allegation was an “open secret” in the state’s administrative office.

Following the allegation, Gani called for an immediate nvestigation as the allegations were serious.

Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim said he had not received any report on the allegations.

“If I do (get a report), I will investigate,” he said. Speaking to reporters at the end of the Selangor state assembly
meeting here yesterday, Khalid was sympathetic to the plight of his exco member in the centre of the controversy, Ronnie Liu.

What Wee (Choo Keong) did was very personal. I sympathise with Ronnie,” he said.

Liu was never named as the errant member but it has been inferred that he was the man referred to by Wee.

Khalid said Wee could have raised the matter at the Pakatan Rakyat monthly meetings.

Asked whether he had ever met any underworld figures, the menteri besar replied: “I hope not. I also don’t know. I
meet 50 to 60 people a day. I can’t ask them where they are from when I meet them.”

Azmin, who is PKR vice-president and Bukit Antarabangsa assemblyman, however, said Wee should be allowed to explain his allegations.

He may have evidence,” he said, adding that he learnt of the allegations from newspaper reports.

Liu, meanwhile, said having had some experience as a journalist, he was taught not to publish rumours.

“Rumours can hurt and kill,” he said, declining further comment on the matter.

Wee, in his latest blog posting said he did not mention the name of the exco member concerned or which political party he or she belonged to.

Liu jumped at the statement inmy blog just like Teresa Kok jumped at Azmin’s speech calling for a reshuffle of the Selangor exco.”

Wee expressed surprise that his posting had touched a raw nerve with Liu.

“In any event, Liu should not be so agitated or angry over my statement because I did not identify him or his party.

“Furthermore, Liu is not the only exco member,” he wrote in his blog, without providing names of the underworld members who had allegedly met the exco member.

“I shall reveal the name of the exco member at the appropriate time,” he added.

Wee also acknowledged that he did not visit the office of that particular exco member but it did not mean that he was totally unaware of what was happening there.

written by Horizonline, July 14, 2009 11:56:00
how about checking your IGP first then? fcuking hypocrite i would say.
written by ibabonma, July 14, 2009 12:12:14
How about checking on Umno, tipu Surau, tipu Pejabat Tanah/MPAJ and tipu Celcom to collect unlawful rental of telecommunication antenna?

What happen to the police report?
written by technoboy, July 14, 2009 12:36:00
Wah, banyak cepat lah! How come no action on allegations against IGP, which is supported with SDs, etc......double standard and so obvious. UMNO/BN crooks be prepared to lose more votes in the next GE.
written by fireduck, July 14, 2009 12:37:29
I shall reveal the name of the exco member at the appropriate time,” he added.

You see, this is one reason why most people HATE politicians. Wee CK is no different. What the hack is an appropriate time? After humongous damage has be done to the 'unnamed but assumed' person? And then, later declares that it was all a misunderstanding?

Damn it, if there are such allegations going around, name them right away, and start the investigations. If the allegations are found to be true, actions must be taken, doesn't matter who the rep is. Stop all these politicking Wee, and be open about it. If you are simply alleging for politics sake, you will have to face the consequences too. And remember, the rakyat expect CAT not just from the PR State Govt, but also from its reps!!!

So damn sick of all these politicians! It's time to have a 3rd Force!
written by T Square, July 14, 2009 13:38:14
Fact is Malaysia is a police state, and the Police are no different from Underworld elements.

The state unleash these undesirable elements from time to time to threathen and intimidate citizens who are a threat to BN.

The motive is crystal clear and the whole investigation is just a setup.

It's a case of desperately staying in power using all state apparatus at BNs disposal.
Seems to me stakes are getting too high now
written by shamadz72, July 14, 2009 14:29:40
What is wrong with this Ronnie Lui & Teresa. Why are these 2 started to act like a spoil child who can't even take any criticism. Besides, Azmin didn't mention any name and in fact, DAP is not the only one in Selangor Exco. There are others PAS and PKR as Selangor exco. Are these 2 chaps has been eating too much chili lately and started to feel the heat?

I used to have a high regards against YB Teresa Kok but I started to lose respect on her the irrational way she handled the fictional cerpen issue on YB J. She started to sound as intolerant as others within BN. The same thing when she was quick to come to support against his comrade, Thomas Su of DAP Kedah who has threaten the existance of PR government over a trivial non-issue. And here she started to show her intolerant attitude towards critisim made by YB Azmin (who wasn't even mentioning who the culprit is). I hope DAP supremo like saudara LKS, LGE and Karpal Singh are able to control this loose cannon before they started to think that they are the untouchables and face the same fate as BN politician come next GE.

If you guys ask me on the performance of PR in general. Yes, I agree that PR state government has done quite a good initiative to reform the state administration but i do believed certainly more is needed to be done. So there is nothing wrong at all if anyone of us can give a constructive comment to enable you guys to improve any further. Remember, rakyat put you in place where you are now and they can surely bring you back to earth if they want to in the next election. So I do hope all these PR MPs or adUNs can be humble enough to accept criticism and strive to improve further.

P/S: A friendly reminder from PR supporter
written by Sphinx, July 14, 2009 18:33:37
Very simple la....MR RONNIE LIU.... PLEASE RESIGN...Cant have smoke without a fire...it smells now...That should be the way and we the rakyat of selangor also want to make money thru a by election.
written by parsona, July 14, 2009 19:14:40
GIVE PROOF OF YOUR ALLEGATIONS! Pakatan is not like BN where even when faced with outright proof they can still sweep it under the carpet, spin it, ignore it, put it under NFA etc. I trust PR will act to ensure that wrongdoers are put to justice. Just give proof or STFU.