Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Najib’s plots

Najib’s plots PDF Print
Tuesday, 14 July 2009 01:04

While it is my fervent belief that the ultimate aim of politics is to uplift the community as a whole and to depart from the old politics of race, we must also admit that our opponents have all the resources at their disposal and the street-smartness to play their types of games.

By Liew Chin Tong, The Malaysian Insider

The unexpectedly favourable approval rating for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak is a timely reminder to those who labour hard to see the end of Barisan Nasional rule that public opinion, all the way to the next election, is neither static nor linear. With the resources available to the ruling coalition, it is not impossible that Najib would reverse the currently sliding fortunes of Umno and BN.

In the latest Merdeka Center polls, 65 per cent of Malaysians answered positively to the question “How strongly are you satisfied or dissatisfied with the way Najib Razak is performing his job as the Prime Minister?” Among Malays and Indians, the figure is even higher at 74 per cent while it was 48 per cent among Chinese.

Barely three months ago, 45 per cent answered the same question positively.

Often, leaders in office gain a certain aura and approval rating, but a well-liked leader does not necessarily translate into votes for the party he leads. (I have been informed that the changes in voting pattern tilted in favour of BN minimally.)

And, an opinion poll is just a snapshot of public opinion at a certain point, which is constantly in a flux and changes according to the political actors or other conditions, internal or external to the political system. The poll during the tenure of former Prime Minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is a case in point, which dropped from the nineties to forties in a short period of five years.

While Najib has not achieved much substantially and the state of affairs (whether it be the health of democracy or the integrity of the government) continues to deteriorate, it is clear that, as a political opponent, Najib’s no Pak Lah and no push-over.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 14, 2009 01:53:24
The question lies as to where and who the polls were directed. All polls do not reflect a true picture of the real temperature that is existing. A superficial poll is no poll at all. I think a more accurate poll will be an election.

In the case of Perak the people have not forgotten. Go take a poll there. You might be surprised at the results. go take a poll in Penang.you might get a different picture. As I said the truth lies in election maybe.again I say maybe because Khairy was almost a looser then a funny thing happened and he won.and we have Dr Mahathir screaming.

The real issues is butter and bread. The real issues are education and public health. The real issues are cutting down crime and corruption..In the coming months
there should be some heads rolling.from UMNO and the civil departments.

Otherwise all the big talk about what Najib wants to do is talk and trying to distract us from the main issue.and people will see through.an act.Can Najib rise above skin colour and the NEP?
written by Richfyf, July 14, 2009 02:25:45
We all should take part in the poll and say Najib is doing a good job. We all should try to make it that he gets 90% approval rating. That way Najib and Bn will fell confident and will carry on doing what they are doing without having to worry.

But come Next GE we will make let him be the opposition leader and sit beside Khir Toyo...( if he get elected). For the moment let him think there is ZERO opposition .. just like what the ex selongor MB thinks.

They wont know what hit them
written by InEffective, July 14, 2009 02:33:38
i'd venture that the biases of our state institutions and the state of democracy will never ever be priority to fix as its fundamentally goes against the governance-by-coercers modus operandi.

The broader question (and not polls and approvals) is the judgment of malaysia's citizens in understanding (and ability to distinguish) what is significant and what is cosmetic regarding core issues. And what exactly yields improvements in quality-of-life.

this type of irrelevant polls to test a politicians approval ratings to manage the perceptions of peoples reflects the immaturity of our talking heads.

Help people to learn what is important and critical, and why.
If polls are to be run, force the peoples to examine core issues instead of personalities. Help them see, consider what core issues are NOT being addressed.

Its up to us (rakyat) to compel politicians to reach and deliver higher quality in governance. If we set the bar so low and accept garbage performance in governance, its like dropping the standards of education to pass unworthy students (whereby the measures of performance is purposefully mis-calibrated by cunning politicians).
written by storm62, July 14, 2009 02:50:19
What plot does he have?
written by jayenjr, July 14, 2009 04:07:23
Just in case anyone thot that Najib was abandoning old school style politics, and was getting reform-minded, think again:-

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/108413

Well, so much for our PM's recent "high" approval rating.

See, it's news like this that makes me not too worried bout Najib's percentages.

Cos he ain't changed. It's just gloss.
written by 1351, July 14, 2009 05:03:20
Pekan, stop the press and your make believe poll figures and tell us, where is PI Bala ?

You and wife might be just as sick hearing that question being asked, just as much as many of us are tired from asking. Let's just say, the people that surrounds you and the office of then DPM were foolish to react in the manner they did ie. the swift and sudden disappearance of PI Bala and family, minus pet dog will remain the albatross hanging over your head.

What were you thinking when you sanctioned such a desperate act that had all to do with Altantuya's C4 episode ? And please, don't ever try finding cover behind the Quran like you did when pressed about 'Tuya or the time when your new found pet Saiful Tonggeng swore Anwar buggered him on multiple occasions. Damn, if I were a Muslim, I would have found a broom big enough to smack you silly.

And lastly Mr.PM, consider yourself fortunate the Almighty sometimes reacts indifferently - comes across uncaring, unheard and unseen - but that doesn't dissuade me from hoping you be struck down pronto, together with all sinister people propping you up.

Think of it on the contrary Mr.PM - I would be doing the devil's work if I thought otherwise.

May the Almighty have mercy on you.

written by Tom n Jerry, July 14, 2009 05:58:29
you dont know where they are?Rejoicing in the realms of heavens;either n33 or Tushita;maybe have to check out with Maitreya Buddha;chant *Ohm Maitreya Suahar*;my personal advice to 1351;*Silence is golden*;I smell something fishy;
written by Proarte, July 14, 2009 06:33:45
I think Pakatan for the moment should worry less about Najib than about the enemies within. Pakatan appears to be in 'self-destruct' mode. Don't blame him. All Najib has to do is to sit back and watch the fun.

1)The President of PAS and his deputy flirting with UMNO and making comments which underscores its parochial and racist mindset. This treacherous behaviour somehow is nonchalantly seen by PAS as not underminding Pakatan.

2)The Kedah MB's high handed treatment of DAP which is a minority member of the state government. This is reflected in the deliberate stoking of non-Muslim sense of alienation and insecurity by the crude and undiplomatic handling of the pig abbatoir demolition.

3)Wee Chee Keong the DAP turncoat now a PKR MP openly attacking DAP rivals and accusing them of corrupt practices.

4) The Anwar loyalist and Vice-President of PKR, Azmin undermining the Selangor State government and agitating for a reshuffle of the Exco when it is barely more than a year old.

5)Guan Eng being arrogant initially in his handling of the Kg Buah Pala issue and attacking HINDRAF which DAP courted in the last election, was misjudged and gave the impression that DAP would not lift a finger to help poor Indians. Guan Eng is being been more conciliatory now, but the damage has been done.

The above are examples which Najib cannot be blamed for. It is about time Pakatan does a bit of soul searching and admit that Pakatan is a marriage of convenience of unhappy bedfellows. If they are not willing or unable to resolve their differences, then they are surely headed for 'divorce'.

Pakatan has let the people of Malaysia down. But then again, Pakatan unity was that segment of the Rakyat's distant dream of wanting a new non-racial paradigm based on equality and justice. The opposition parties came together not on ideology but in their quest for power. That is where the fundamental problem lies. Those who have questioned the viability of Pakatan because of its conflicitng ideologies have been shouted down. Well, as the saying goes, the chickens are coming home to roost.

Pakatan should concentrate on making itself viable. There has to be a common ideology. PAS with its Islamic state ideals, racial pre-occupations and treacherous leadership is the odd one out in Pakatan's secular collective ideology. It is impossible to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.

It is better for Malaysia if BN reforms than for BN to remain corrupt and lead us to a failed state. A divided Pakatan will not help BN reform and is equally to be blamed for the sorry state of politics in our beautiful but blighted country.
written by Bigjoe99, July 14, 2009 08:35:40
Ultimately Najib is a screw up and he will. BUT he need to take risk in order to screw up. Those things he has done with economic so-called 'liberalisation' is marginal. Its only when he takes bold step will he screw up.

And he must sooner or later. The UMNO warlords will demand their cake. He has to put money into their pockets somehow. When he does, when he starts to put massive amount of money out there so the warlords can line their war chest for the next GE, then he will screw up.. It is the cycle of UMNO life..
written by asguard, July 14, 2009 10:20:02
Well, that demon can't go that far ...with his demon poison sweets, fumes laced candies which slowly choked people to death!