Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow AsamLaksa’s Kampung Buah Pala Proposal

AsamLaksa’s Kampung Buah Pala Proposal PDF Print
Monday, 13 July 2009 20:42

By AsamLaksa

I, AsamLaksa son of Penang Laksa, would like to propose the following suggestions to be taken into consideration in line with the spirit of finding a solution to the problems facing the residents of Kampung Buah Pala. I propose a new strategy. 

1. Establishment of Kampung Buah Pala Heritage Committee to oversee and undertake steps to create and secure the historical and cultural significance of the locality for future generations. Projects should include a museum on colonial plantation with the focus on the Brown family.  

2. Seek state and national legislation which may provide relief from development at Kampung Buah Pala with the aim of preserving and promoting historical and cultural heritage.  

3. Seek support for protection from development at Kampung Buah Pala in light of historical and cultural significance. It would help if the Committee existed and has a proposal to develop the site for potential tourist revenue.  

4. If there is no state legislation protecting contentious land in light of potential historical and cultural heritage, why not? A system for careful study needs to be created. Also note that if Kampung Buah Pala is deemed not to have historical and cultural value worth preserving, then there is no claim.  

The strategy requires that the stakeholders in the current dispute take more active lateral actions to show a reasonable reason for preserving and developing Kampung Buah Pala. If the fight is solely about eviction of local residents then sadly the case has been settled in the Federal courts and in most cases developer wins because they have the land title. As to state acquisition of the land, you would do better to convince everyone as to the overwhelming benefit of such an act as to cover ‘public interest’ in a wider sense. If things look difficult, I suggest working with social groups or even with local state leaders (they want your vote). As some guy used to say, God helps those who help themselves. There’s more than one way to serve nutmeg. Use whatever delay tactics out there to win more ground.  

Disclaimer: I am not a legal expert and not a resident of Kampung Buah Pala. The above should not be taken literally as the spirit of the suggestion is more important than the exact implementation. I will not take direct action mainly because due to my overly sour past and that I am not stakeholder.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by DanDan, July 13, 2009 21:02:09
Kampong Buah Pala is not worth an inch of High Chaparal. There is not much green for the cows to feed on. What the cowherds did was to lead the cows out to the main road and subsequently to the housing areas to feed the cows. Even that, you do not see much green except for some roadside trees. Instead of the cows feeding on the grass or hay, the cows will chew on whatever leaves from the trees.

Along the way, on those small and narrow roads, the cows will excrete their waste, only to be trampled by vehicles or human beings. Also, each time the herd of cows strolled by, all traffic came to a standstill. Can you imagine the stench created?

Is this the 21st century High Chaparal we want for our developing Penang? Is Utha and Mbooty willing to come and settle around the housing areas near to Kg Buah Pala to experience 1st hand the above mentioned condition??? Come and rub shoulders with the cows, ok??? Ask me how I know, because I live around there.
written by arazak, July 13, 2009 21:36:38
I, Asam Pedas son of Asam Tumis, seconded Asam Laksa son of Penang Laksa's proposal to solve the problems facing the residents of Kampung Buah Pala as stipulated from paragraph 1 to 4 above.
written by AsamLaksa, July 13, 2009 22:12:42
Well, that's the challenge, isn't it, DanDan? If there is nothing worth conserving, then so be it. If it's simply about people becoming homeless unjustly, then it's about rehousing which should not matter if it's somewhere else.
written by hopman, July 13, 2009 22:31:56
Dear Assam laksa,

Since I was born, I have lived in Penang for more than 40 years. I have not heard of this kampung buah pala before this political episode took place.I thought I was naive about the situation and so I started to ask my friends and colleagues whether thay know this place. To my surprise, I found that nine out of ten people does not even know this place. Nobody even know the name "tamil high chaparrel" before then. So if these place have cultural values then I guess a lot of places in penang also have cutural values too. Even my great great grand father grave in penang have cultural value. So please don't make a mountain out of a mole hill from this issue. The issue at hand here is about some squatters staying in TOL state land in penang island. Yes. they have some rights to this piece of land as they have stayed in this land for some period of time. Their ancestors have not even bought the land that they have been staying.
So to the residents of the kampung buah pala, I would like to suggest to strike the best deal you can get and move on with your life. The lesson to learn from here is not to trust any politicians and the next time if you meet Mr Koh Tsu Khoon, please spit on him on the face for all the shit he have given you. That the reality of life. You guys just have to move on and leave this ugly episode behind.
written by AsamLaksa, July 13, 2009 23:33:40
Hopman, like you, I have never heard of Kg Buah Pala ever since birth in Penang.

Nevertheless just because you or me have not heard about that place before, we should not quickly dismiss it. There are many places of interest lying dormant before someone with some bright ideas 'rediscover' it and show the rest of us their significance. Some people also fought for preserving traditional Chinese gravesites. However in the case of Kg Buah Pala, if they want to make a claim of cultural and historical heritage, then I say let them.

Prove their case before they attempt to drag everyone into their wrangle. Just because some guy from HINDRAF gets into the act does not buy any legitimacy from me.

Take them to task. If there is nothing there, then so be it. Move on, as you say.

If you are wrong, then as Penang kias, we should pool resources to preserve our heritage.

Fair enough?

On personal observation, I currently think the Kg Buah Pala residents are on the losing side because they lack credible strategy in solving their problems. There's a lot of emotion involved and little facts to back up their claims. Just because a wrong has been done before does not mean that the sale of the land is revocable.
written by tumbledore, July 14, 2009 01:51:48
as an outsider reading these articles and comments I tend to think that there are only few commentors who are really neutral.
the rest, are they speculaters, imminent flat buyers or just racists?? only God knows! I also hope and pray that I'm wrong.
if these people have lived on this land for so long, let them fight for their rights and please help them.
to the buyers and developers of this land, possessing a stolen good is against the law; it's as simple as that.
building highrise flats is not necessarily progress. the developed countries are regretting this as this brings only social problems.
everyone wants to buy a flat and rent it out to have an income; am I wrong?

in 50 years every town in Malaysia will look the same. how NICE!!?

written by mikewang, July 14, 2009 10:03:59
Dear Dan Dan,

I agree with you.
High Chaparral is no paradise.
One is reminded of its presence because of large herd of cows roaming into nearby fields, play grounds, roads and housing estates, driven by their owners in search of food and littering their paths with huge droppings of poos.

My plead to those villagers.
Please take the compensation and move on, perhaps to the mainland where there exist more food for your herds without hindrance from MPPP officials who occasionally chased after and took away your beef.
Be considerate to your neighbourhood.