Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow The God Syndrome

The God Syndrome PDF Print
Monday, 13 July 2009 12:29

When a group of people attains a parliamentary position, their collective approval would be automatically translated as law and will be applied accordingly. This gives them the mandate to act as Leaders, not God, but their actions and positions can be considered almost God-like. Can the constant exposure to such lofty statuses be detrimental to the inclinations of these politicians that they start considering themselves as God-personified?

By Hakim Joe

A parliamentarian, if elected to the highest office in the country, is responsible for the denizens of the country in which he or she governs. Similarly, a governor (or in Malaysia’s case, the Menteri Besar or Chief Minister) is responsible for the welfare of the people of the state in which he or she governs together with the executive committee.

One cannot help wondering how many, if not all, elected representative of the people likes playing God. It is easy, and in some instances, almost predictable for an elected civil servant to approach the point in which they begin to play God.

Is this what is actually happening to the Pakatan team governing Selangor and almost all its elected representatives? I believe so. 

No colleague from the same party would go to such lengths as to report to the media unless there is something very wrong (except for the “Moron of the day”) that cannot be settled amicably. Unless it is a case of sheer treachery, I would like to believe that a lot of disagreements are settled internally without the media ever getting to know about it.  

The other reason why a colleague might disclose his or her dissatisfaction to the media might stem from the fact that they could have been intentionally (or unintentionally) ignored (or disregarded) by their leaders and henceforth sees fit to expose it to the media. Is this the case with Azmin Ali and Wee Choo Keong? Once again, I believe so. 

Until the day the readers and commentators have the opportunity to deal with the Pakatan State representatives, many believe the common notion that these elected politicians are ordinary people that are easily accessible. Yes, they might have been before getting elected or after getting elected as an opposition politician but once their party assumes the state government, it is entirely another thing. Now you have to get through the bureaucracy before getting to them and it is not an easy chore. All of these reps have their own offices within their constituencies but half the time they are not there. On the rare occasions when they are in attendance, it might have been for an hour or less (depending on their schedule) and the long queue would send a determined man home for good. 

For those lucky enough to get to meet their elected representative, there is absolutely no certainty that the person sitting across from you is actually listening to you as the phone rings for him or her and the assistants keep popping in and out. Whatever you might be asking, whether it is a petition or request or merely a question, it had better be typewritten on an A4 paper (to be passed to the assistant) with the likely response that he or she will look into it. That’s it. Out you go and “next please!” 

Many Pakatan supporters subscribe to the idea that these state reps are out there fighting for the rights of the common people. Possibly true but the pertinent question remains whether they are serving their constituency or not. I sincerely believe that both the state representatives and the parliamentarians have their respective sphere of responsibilities. State reps should make it their prime objective to serve their constituency whilst parliamentarians have the responsibility to look into the national issues. What is the use of forming a federal government if all states are opposition held? Not likely? Well, it is my impression that Pakatan in Selangor is heading in that direction – too much national issues, not enough of state affairs. Every Tom, Dick, Harry and Jane is looking for national coverage to boost their image. Every state rep aspires to be a parliamentarian. Very God-like indeed! 

Not entirely a bad thing though if these state reps do a good balancing act but are they capable? As far as I am concerned, they are not and that is why we have two Pakatan reps voicing out their concerns. Corruption is corruption and mismanagement is mismanagement no matter what their political inclinations are. 

When a state rep thinks that they should automatically command respect from the people, they have inherited the God Syndrome where they can do no wrong. What’s with this “senior exco” title? Are exco members segregated by seniority? What if one is not even in the executive committee? Will they even be considered as equals? What if one is not even a representative but merely a common peasant. Will these people be considered as human?  

Aren’t we all humans or are these Pakatan state reps too “elevated” that we are considered mere chattels that can be influenced, used and discarded (until the next elections)? Have they assumed the role of God that mere mortals are deemed un-chaste and therefore nowhere fit to be within their holy presence? 

Until the day the Selangor Pakatan state reps adopt a different attitude and until the day when these people stop thinking of themselves as God-personified, only then can Pakatan Rakyat be considered an alternative to BN (no matter how corrupted they are). That’s the reality of things. 

What’s the use of putting one group of despots in power after overthrowing the other?

written by Jan, July 13, 2009 13:03:11
If one lives long enough in this country he will almost believe there are indeed demi-gods residing in our August House. You can easily single them out by their words, actions and demeanour.
written by panca, July 13, 2009 13:04:43
Sitting across the doctor who examined the patient and after the consultation, they had a informal talk.

The Doctor said, "All Politicians Are Crooks"

Patient answered, "All Politicians Are Crooks Until They ARE proven Not"

Straighten things out! Politicians if you want the Rakyat's Support! Pakatan Rakyat Government must to do the Needful to show their sincerity about integrity, period.
written by Oscar Winner, July 13, 2009 13:05:58
There are bound to be one or two bad apples, and these image-spoilers must be kicked out. BN goons think they are god. They collaborate with wrong-doers and offer them pprotection despite protests from the opposition or the rakyat. PR must not emulate BN. I hope there will be a reshuffle if what Wee and Azmin claim is true. We want change, not just change of govt, but change in how the country is managed, and that means no more BN god-like ways
written by storm62, July 13, 2009 13:24:19
good write Hakim Joe, these buggers are NOT GOD, should spell backwards.

D.O.G = Desperately Organised Gangsters
written by DanDan, July 13, 2009 14:00:57
With Zaid now in PKR, Azmin knows his chances of taking over DSAI is over, ie if DSAI is found guity of the pending court case and is jailed. So Azmin is creating some wave in Selangor PR at the same time learning how to jump like a frog. Once he has mastered the fine art of jumping and with juicy carrot dangling infront, he will give a big jump (frog jump off course) and you know where. And this from Wangsa Takmalu will also cling on to Azmin when the latter jump. So PR, just be weary and open your eyes and ears as wide as possible. Don't say I never tell you.
written by SocratesI, July 13, 2009 14:01:41

Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely ! These PR reps are humans too and have human frailties especially those that came from the Utterly Moronic Nazi Org. This is why it is so Imperative that we swing the next GE to the Opposition with a 2/3 majority and then put in place safeguards for a Civil Society based on Justice, Equality, Integrity and Freedom with Responsibility.

At least we hope that if any evil leader takes over, it will take him time to dismantle such safeguards, and once these bastions of our Civil Society is touched, the Rakyat will realize it and come to their senses before permanent damage can be done (unlike during Maha-ShitHead's reign of terror).

written by densemy, July 13, 2009 14:39:59
Malays, no doubt because of their lack of a tangible god to worship, have always revered their politicians. Regardless of how rotten they have been. Just look at the way they have sanitised their PM's set them up as icons to be idolised.

Of course the ultimate demi-god was Mahathir, he realised the people worshipped him and he played on their gullability for all he was worth. And you were gullible...incredibly gullible

There are still many Malaysians of all races who dote on every word that comes from his mouth. Just compare the hits that he gets on his chedet blog and compare that with the blogs of other 'would-be-gods'. Its yet another example of how Malaysians cant tear themselves away from the past and cant think to the future.

Badawi assumed that he would automatically inherit the halo and would have to do nothing to earn it... He did that... exactly nothing and look where that got him

Najib has learnt from Badawi's lesson but is left floundering. Like so many muslims/malays he doesnt know what to do next. In which case its better to do nothing than do something and get it wrong

And that's where Malaysia is at the moment... Having destroyed democracy it thinks its leaders 'should' be gods and lead Malaysians out of the mess they have got themselves into. But those 'leaders', who were always sycophants under the 'great god' Mahathir, now show themselves up as the empty vessels they always were

Unimaginative, afraid of the future, without the courage to initiate change even tho all around them their masters are screaming for action. They know they are doomed to become obsolete at the next general election and that has frozen them into inaction
written by Hakim Joe, July 13, 2009 14:53:09
densemy,

I keep running into you! Anyway, one of the reasons why a lot of people read chedet (myself included) is because TDM can still be regarded as extremely influential in Malaysian politics. If a retiree still possess the capability to remove a sitting PM (without being charged under the ISA), then how we might attempt to influence him can possibly obtain the results we want. One example, do you think the gomen will revert to teaching Science and Maths in BM if TDM keeps pressuring them?

And yes...when the politicians deem us mortals worshiping them, they inherit this trait called the God Syndrome.

written by Oscar Winner, July 13, 2009 15:24:24
densemy and hakim,

It's very simple, the way I look at it. They play god, we all know that. Race = Religion. Mere simple instructions by earthly gods to these simple-minded and confused people to do for the sake of race and religion, and you know the job gets done ultimately, just like that, without asking any questions. Well, why question? Race is happy, God is happy, earthly gods are happy, and there is plenty of money for a job well executed.
written by Anti Relon, July 13, 2009 15:45:14
god is DOG spelled backwards.
A man saw a DOG and suggested they call it god.
That is how god came into being.
written by Kathy, July 13, 2009 15:47:16
A reminder to PR : we, the people, voted you to govern the 5 states (minus one now) and you are answerable to us. Kindly don't forget this. As Hakim Joe said, what's the point of replacing one despot with another? Be warned! You are not above us. You serve us.
written by Tom n Jerry, July 13, 2009 15:59:14
what I am trying to say is words are only concepts;its the ultimate reality that really matters;but most of the time homosapiens are busy fighting over their gods & religion;even bringing it into politics;how pathetic!
written by densemy, July 13, 2009 17:48:17
Hakim... and as long as people like you dote over his blogsite, and as long as the media run to interview him whenever they want a controversial comment... he will keep on making controversial comments

In summary he spent 22 yrs raping Malaysia and its people and now he is rambling on like a senile old fart who is pissed off whenever he cant get his own way

Its all part of Malaysia's backward looking syndrome

But I do agree with you about the shortcomings of idolising individuals... part of that problem arises because there is nothing else to idolise. With the lack of any policy statements what else is there to attract voters. Anwar's facade is beginning to show signs of wear... and where will that leave PKR... a headless empty shell with Islamic overtones

Get rid of the individuals and start promoting policies which offer a future for Malaysia... Then you might have some continuity in your government instead of the ad hoc flip flop administration that Malaysians think is governance
written by densemy, July 13, 2009 17:50:57
... and purleeeese dont go equating dogs with god. Dogs are faithful, reliable, trusting and honest. They arent called man's best friend for nothing
written by AsamLaksa, July 13, 2009 18:20:39
God complex? No, they haven't gone that far. Really. Because when they do wrong you don't have their zealots coming for your heads nor the usual megalomaniac talk which is totally out of touch with reality.

I think expectations are too high. Well, who can blame the public? After all in the case of PR they fanned the expectations by claiming or implying that they would be 100%, no 10,000% better for the public than BN. The reality is that PR lacks large disposable funds and political clout to get things done.

What, you expect things to suddenly get better 100 days, no 1 year or 3 years after PR takes over a few state administration? Be realistic. Same as for Najib, even if he has the best intentions at heart, do you expect ground-breaking changes within 100 days?

What you have here is failure to manage expectations.

Take for example Kg Buah Pala. I sympathise with any disadvantaged persons held powerless against the machinations of the state but how do you expect to solve the problem? Go against the Federal court ruling which conveniently overturned lower court rulings right after PR took over? To oppose a ruling, you can use a different law, sure but what of the consequences?

Would you want large sums of your tax money, who knows allocated for other pursuits like education, utility improvements, etc to be used to buy out the land to give it back to the residents of Kg Buah Pala? If it's a 9 figure sum that could build more housing and be used for more poverty eradication schemes, would you so happily ask the Penang state government to bail out Kg Buah Pala? Is obtaining the land and returning it to the residents the only way out? Is obtaining the land at whatever cost worth it?

Sure I believe that some PR reps are corrupt. As corrupt as BN? Unlikely but PR sure shot themselves in the foot with their holier than thou campaigning.

PR's current problems affecting their popularity cannot be sorted by more public relations exercise such as declassifying documents and attacking BN back. What really caught PR out is their rather non-committal response. Take Kg Buah Pala issue where PR never promised to get the land back for the residence. Their promise for "a solution" which was sufficient as campaign material is not definite enough once they are in power. Their mistake is to let everyone speculate freely on the "solution" and now it has taken a momentum of it's own. Major damage control now. Who cares about the expose of who are the real culprits?

Unresponsive reps? Yeah, blame them for not listening when nothing is done. Hmmmm... but wait, are you bringing your issue to the correct persons? Malaysians have this attitude of over-reliance on others to sort their own problems out. Where are the local activists who are out there pressuring the persons concerned to act? What you have is a confused rabble who can scream about the problems but have no idea how to alleviate it and often direct their attention to the wrong persons.

Justification for Azmin Ali's and Wee Choo Keong's actions? Let me put it this way, if they have evidence or strong suspicions of criminal activity, is the media the best place to get it sorted? They already have the police and MACC which are unsympathetic to PR. So, use media as your personal investigator, judge and jury. (Isn't this like someone who had boxes of evidence on corruption?) And when the powers that be drop the issue because there isn't any convincing evidence, would you scream cover up? Oh, poor former DCM of Penang.

Hakim Joe, I wouldn't call them god complex yet. I would refrain from using such emotive description until they really deserve it where they believe they can do no wrong, above reproach. However I understand your frustrations and that experienced by others but I suggest cooling down because I fear that getting too emotive will not get things done, likely to detract the fight from the real issues and risk blowing things out of proportion. Those are my opinions.
written by Admiral Tojo, July 13, 2009 22:09:46
God is within ALL of us, and so is Satan. You decide who you want to serve, you are in control and not some half baked mullah or priest. Sad to say, most who are in position of apparent power, ends up serving Satan instead. Just look at our Parliament and we can see this clearly.