Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow English and our Education System

English and our Education System PDF Print
Sunday, 12 July 2009 14:55

By batsman 

These days there is a lot of waffle about the deteriorating standards of English among our students. This is a step backward from the complaints about the deteriorating standards in our whole education system, even if some try to link proficiency in English with educational standards. There is altogether also too much emotion about this issue. But then again what can one say? I see the mark of a great seducer in all of this and Malaysians are being seduced in a mightily big way.  A great seducer can turn the emotions on and off almost at will. 

In a way, trying to improve English proficiency in a rotten education system is an exercise in futility. At most it is a half solution whereby the money allocated for education is being eyed greedily by various quarters. 

Some quarters want the money to be spent to educate a super smart elite claiming that if these super smart kids are ignored, it will only constitute a brain drain and /or a loss to the country. In a way they are right, but this is only half the story. A good story must also anticipate the future. 

So what if these super smart kids are educated at the expense of the taxpayer and also at the expense of mediocre kids who cannot compete and fall by the wayside? The dumb kids of course have no future anyway and are fit only to be rubbish collectors. 

What is to guarantee that they will remain loyal to the country that fed and raised them and will not migrate for better opportunities overseas? This question must be answered if any solution proposed is not to be a half solution. 

I don’t think the mediocre students who grow up to be Malaysian adults are that stupid as not to recognize a half solution when they see it. If they see a half solution that favours a small group of elites and super smart Malaysians, will they be so stupid as to accept it wholeheartedly? They might as well stick to a rotten education system rather than risk anarchy or have the goodies cornered by a small group of super smart elites. 

So if people want to offer solutions, they should offer good FULL solutions. That way the whole country can be roughly satisfied. It is not enough to try and copy a great seducer by being half a rotten seducer and proposing rotten half solutions. 

I suggest that the seduction is complete if people strive to improve a small part of “something” within a rotten structure. To me this is an exercise in futility. 

We need a fair and healthy 2 party political structure most of all - one that has a neutral and professional civil service, police and judiciary as well as education system. 

To me anything that suggests an improvement in a small part of a wholly rotten system is an exercise in futility. What do you think? Are you willing to be seduced and accept half solutions?

written by wongnoball, July 12, 2009 15:02:34
What is there to say anymore....when all is said and done the answers to all Malaysia Tak Boleh is Obliterate UMNO-BN. In unity we should all Just withdraw ALL our money from local banks and see the collapse of the Elite's establishment....Change we Must!!
written by Hakim Joe, July 12, 2009 15:14:02
We need a fair and healthy 2 party political structure most of all - one that has a neutral and professional civil service, police and judiciary as well as education system.

batsman,

this is Malaysia you are talking about, right? Only 2 chances this will happen under BN rule - slim or none.
written by onnetline, July 12, 2009 15:16:37
The corrupted and racist(haram) BN-UMNOs elites need to be voted out of the government for a better change of things around us. And it's way overdue !

Calling all Malaysians ............. let's not forget this !
written by Commonsenses, July 12, 2009 15:27:27
Batman missed the whole point on the teaching of science and maths. The DPM explained that the present policy has retarded the standard of english of the rural students and because of that all other students are forced to learn at the level of retards. The rural retards are more proficient in BM as its their mother tongues.This kind of illogical thinking that led to the conversion of all english medium schools after May 13 1969 by the Tun Razak BN government that actually led to the deterioration of the standard of english since then. So the whole purpose of abandoning of english for science and maths are actually politically motivated.
written by truthbespoken, July 12, 2009 15:41:56
The problem is with UMNO! Ever since the 70s, UMNO's leaders have been consistently making short-sighted politically expedient national policies so much so Malaysians are now suffering from the adverse effects!

It's not only the education policy. It's a whole load of other lop-sided and half-baked policies! So long as UMNO is still ruling the country, elitist sectarian interest will come first before national interest! There is no need to talk about bits here and bits there as it will not solve the long term problem experienced by this country!

The problem we are having is UMNO! They had never wanted to solve national problems in a national way, only the sectarian way! Hence, UMNO must first be VOTED OUT if we are to have change for a better Malaysia!
written by hanisma, July 12, 2009 15:52:11
When the whole education system has been politicised to the whims and fancies of the Umno opportunists, that resulted in a rotten and beyond repair system! Only a change in government can remedy the present situation. So, peace-loving Malaysians, do your part in the next 13GE if you want a better future for your children.
written by Commonsenses, July 12, 2009 16:15:52
A teacher wrote to the star and rightly stated the reason foe the failure of the policy "I THINK the basic problem lies with the teachers. There is no sincere effort among them to master the language themselves in order to be able to teach with confidence"
written by AsamLaksa, July 12, 2009 16:42:00
Puan Chella, I agree teachers should take the blame but only to a certain extent. In fact I think the blame should go up higher that the peons that face the students. If there is one target to put most of the blame on, I would choose the poor leadership. Once you sorted out the leadership and there is still problem, only then should the blame be moved downwards.

Why do I say it's more poor leadership than poor teachers? Mainly from observation of the half hearted implementation policies, lack of investment (the policy should be complemented with other projects to encourage uptake and acceptance) and confused understanding of the policy. Go read TDM's blog. He will tell you his reason behind PPSMI and then try and match it with what the politicians in power has to say about it and you will find a big discrepancy.

Teachers are workers. Motivate them, they excel. Why should they do extra when all that is required to keep the job is such as you would describe as poor? I think this is what is lacking because as you say that the deterioration appears across the board and over the years regardless of individual. This would point more towards poor leadership rather than fault of the teachers as a group.

Puan Chella, what is your motivation? Is it personal? Or is the Education Ministry providing you with the main motivation? Has the implementation practices over the years veered towards lassitude? Has actions by the Ministry affected morale and motivation?

I have had my share of teachers good and bad. I have seen a bad teacher improve as well thanks mainly to the sound leadership of a headmaster. It's people management and if you have a bad manager, then good luck.

Anyway, all the best to you, Puan Chella and thank you for contributing to society in a meaningful way.
written by coolandy, July 12, 2009 17:50:33
Where got loose teach Maths and Science in English?

After all, four plus one is same as seven push two.

One step forward and two steps backward = moon walk of 1Malaysia interpreted as moving Malaysia into dreamland.
written by Macrophage, July 12, 2009 18:27:09
We have now come to a stage where we are discovering that it is extremely easy to destroy something but exceptionally difficult to rebuild.

The problem we currently face is one of competition. We are no longer competing amongst ourselves or with our immediate neighbours. Everyone around the world is learning English and hence it is surprising that we are choosing to do otherwise. Could we not have English introduced as a subject in primary school and then get children to learn other subjects in English in secondary school in preparation for university? You need not agree but it is just a suggestion. Of course all this depends on capabilities of the teachers we have today and are projected to produce in the future. This is something for the Ministry of Education to consider very carefully. It is about MoE doing what is in the best interest of the country and hence people vote for them. It should not be that BN needs to win the next GE and hence they must do X or Y.

Learning English as a subject in itself is rather different from learning a technical subject in English. Are there intentions to make BM the language of instruction at university level? What would the incentive be to learn English then if everything from primary to university level was going to be in BM? Learn it merely as a ticket out of Malaysia? If the Malays are merely going to be predominantly monolingual in the future, will the government of the day issue an edict to the world to learn BM so they won’t feel left out? We are a small country and hence we must adapt to what others do and not hope for it to be the other way around.

Feel free to disagree. We are arguing over English today. In years to come we may be arguing over Mandarin. BTW, I am no fan of Mahathir.
written by batsman, July 12, 2009 18:28:38
Something for you guys to think about. India suffers much the same problems as Malaysia in spite of its much touted excellence in English.

http://english.aljazeera.net/f...38966.html

Yet they seem to be able to overcome.
written by mikefonz, July 12, 2009 19:25:39
Maybe the Malaysian Cabinet Ministers ought to use Bahasa Malaysia when
meeting with all foreign officials and our GLCs should also use it in their
foreign investment meetings. Use the interpreters (Mongolian/French) if necessary.
See if any countries want to do business with us ? Kekekkekekkke. Bodoh nya !!!
written by sydput, July 12, 2009 20:36:08
has anyone give a thought about those bumiputra in sabah and sarawak, who speaks malay, which is considered a foreign language to them.
In fact, their local language is dying.
same thing is happening in indonesia, where javanese language is being replaced by malay, even in java, the most populated island.
If DBP and ministry of education can ensure that students end up speaking fluent malay like those spoken in indonesia, then i don't mind. But many times on TV, even malay personalities cannot even phrase a proper malay sentence. it is embarrasing. better watch indonesian drama and learn how to speak proper malay.
written by generalhonest, July 12, 2009 21:40:51
Dreamlander,
Your attempt to sound educated by inserting a couple equations in your argument is pathetic. Let me make it simple for you since you obviously don't have a good grasp of what advanced science is about. It's not the equation that is the issue. It's the interpretation and the concept behind the equation that is the issue. Why don't you try to explain the how E=MC2 was derived and what are the applications for this formula? Try to do so in BM please. I'm sure you know shit about it..but to make your life easier, I'll even attach a link for you as reference. So, all you have to do is just convert it to BM...that is if you can.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mass–energy_equivalence
written by Wisdom above, July 12, 2009 22:03:06
Let's draw out each student's potential & promote it positively !
Just revert back to the English Medium schools and Malay Medium schools of the 1960s' Education Policy?
Study in "English Medium Schools" for those who wish to ENGLISH.
Study in "Malay Medium Schools" for those who wish to MALAY.
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 13, 2009 00:11:45
You failed to see that there is ONE CRUCIAL ELEMENT IN ALL THIS.It is about MY BELOVED COUNTRY CALLED MALAYSIA.

THE JAPS HAD IT. THE GERMANS HAD IT.THE SINGAPOREANS WERE LED TO

WE DO NOT HAVE A SINGLE HEART-BEAT ON THIS ISSUE.

Our heartbeats do not beat like the Japs or the Germans or the Sings to make this country one great country where all 3 races can sit down and see eye to eye on any issue that will not cloud the main issue...THIS IS MY COUNTRY AND I HAVE A RIGHT IN LIVING HERE AND ENJOYING WHATEVER THIS COUNTRY HAS.

the bottom line is this and nothing else. If you have this there will be no brain drain and all the crap the politicians are throwing on us. A two party system even with Anwar is a big question.

The question is ARE THE MALAYS WILLING TO ACCEPT THE CHINESE AND INDIANS AS ONE MALAYSIAN RACE...MINUS THE...NEP....PERIOD.

If you can work on this and maybe get a vote done by the Malays then we can see a clear picture..otherwise we can discuss this issue until the cows come home.
1 malaysia will not work..malaysia boleh will not work...KERANAMU will not work..

As long as there is one big group of people who are born here living here and are being treated as 2nd and 3rd class citizens on race and religion...the rest is a PIPE DREAM...
tHE human reasoning is why should I love this country when some get preferential treatment??? I cannot even get to go to a public u with 16 A's. I cannot be the head of a department in the civil service because I am not a Malay and a Muslim. I cannot be a police chief because I am not a Malay and not a Muslim. I cannot get to a vice chancellor or even a dean in a public U because I am not a Malay and not Muslim...and even though I am much more qualified than a Malay I am still pushed around as no 3 or no 4 and overtaken by another Malay who knows nuts about the job.

You see Batsman 50 years later after Tunku was pushed over the hill by ultra Malays we are here today and a child of 22 to 30 years thinks different from the time of Tunku...a product of Dr Mahathir and UMNO. The school system itself stinks from preschool by subscribing it very clearly to see that Malays are different from the others. Malays are Malays while others are so called citizens living on borrowed land.
And if you continue to play the political game by race and religion you are barking up a tree.....no change will occur. We will continue to have a brain drain. Chinese and Indian children and others will continue to find ways and means of leaving the country...AND ARE YOU EXPECTING THIS COUNTRY TO BE ANOTHER JAPAN, TAIWAN OR S.KOREA
...OUR HEARTS DO NOT BEAT AS ONE....and I do not think even Najib with all his fanciful goodies can change it ...it is just superficial..
Politicians must be able to sit down and see ..MALAYSIA IS OURS..WE ARE IN IT TOGETHER OR WE ARE OUT.... I do not see any politican right now except the ones building 24 Million palaces and the story continues...with many Zakarias in UMNO.

We have to start with getting rid of UMNO...and WILL THE MALAYS DO IT??? and Pas does not have a clear answer to this either. We need to get rid of politics based on religion and race....I AM HAVING PIPE DREAM IN MALAYSIA..

nk.........you can censor this too if you want...........
written by generalhonest, July 13, 2009 09:56:02
Rhan,
I assume you are talking about Tun DrM. What's wrong with giving credit where credit is due? If he is right, then we must agree with him. If he is wrong, then criticize accordingly. You obviously have a very bad judgemental and stereotypical attitude based on a single point experience. We should likewise do the same to the government. When they are right, support them, but criticize when you disagree.

You described the last 7years as if it's complete failure. What you see as glass half empty, to me is glass half full. I have observed may younger children of all races speaking really proficiently, a marked improvement from years ago before PPSMI. Obviously, not all will improve at the same rate due to various reasons. Given time, improvement will surely be there. 6yeaars obviously is too short. Again, it appears the government makes decision too quickly and would rather focus on band-aiding a problem rather than fixing the rootcause. A bandaid like this will eventually lead to bigger problems but they don't care because by then, they already have a lot of money in their pocket to last for a few generations to care.

Finally, to your comment about our failure to really critize years back...well, admittedly most of us are not street demonstrators and many would call that silent majority. Our failure is not because we did not voice up for lack of improvements in the last 6years, but we failed to voice up when the extremists demanded the government to scrap PPSMI and threatened to take the streets. My wish now is the silent majority will now become the loud majority to shake the government down.
written by truthbespoken, July 13, 2009 10:51:51
Fart Fart Wah and generalhonest, you are two honest dudes who clearly see and express situations as there are. I only hope more good Malaysians will share your views.
written by ekt tan, July 13, 2009 17:00:03
UMNOputra will continue to erode the importance of the Englih language locally but will continue to send their children to master English overseas. Those who are financialy able will fund their children to study overseas and apply for permanent residency in the oveseas country upon graduation in English speaking western countries. UMNOputras wants to divide our society, They know that if one has a good command of English they will command better pay when they enter the workforce. Those who speak only BM is good for kuli work. Ask any politian whether they have children who do not speak or write English and you'll find that virtually all of them have good command of the language and have secured plum jobs and have studied oveseas. This is the double standard we face in practise in Bolehland.