Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Wangsa Maju MP tells of ‘underground’ complaints against exco member

Wangsa Maju MP tells of ‘underground’ complaints against exco member PDF Print
Sunday, 12 July 2009 11:19

(The Star) - PKR MP Wee Choo Keong supports the call by Gombak MP Azmin Ali for a reshuffle in the Selangor Government, saying he has received complaints about a certain state executive council member.

Wee said he had personally received grouses from Pakatan Rakyat members and the business community in Selangor claiming that the office of a certain council member was used as a meeting place for people connected with “underground business activities”.

“This is an open secret within the state’s administrative office. This is most unhealthy as it will give the impression that the exco members support the ‘underground business activities’,” the Wangsa Maju MP wrote in his blog (www.weechookeong.wordpress.com) yesterday.

He defended Azmin’s move to speak up at the state assembly as Azmin was conveying the public’s concern and protecting the well-being of the Pakatan government in Selangor.

Wee also described the response from senior state exco member Teresa Kok in asking for the removal of Azmin as the Backbenchers Club president as “bad attitude and sheer arrogance”.

“I would have expected Kok to have taken some time to examine the call by Azmin, and investigate whether there was any substance in what he had said instead of reacting like a typical greenhorn would do,” he said.

Wee said that in the interest of the party’s image as a whole, Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim should seriously consider reshuffling the state exco.

written by fireduck, July 12, 2009 11:49:09
This is directed at ALL Pakatan reps. Well, you guys better revisit the purpose of your coming together prior to March 08, 2008. All these squabbling is not doing you guys any good. Do not make any unnecessary public statements if you have not had a chat with the person(s) concerned first. That is the basic mutual respect we all, as individuals, expect. So, too you politicians should call up each other and talk it out first. Words spoken, be it spur of the moment or otherwise, will be difficult to retrieve. Damage once done, will require twice the efforts to repair. So, think carefully before you speak up, especially in public.

And one more thing. focus on what is right, not who is right or wrong. Support the right thing, not support who is on your side only. Because ultimately, looking after the interests of the rakyat is the RIGHT thing to do.
written by onnetline, July 12, 2009 11:54:50
don't believe that this lady ' KOK ' is any greenhorn at all !
written by Ocassey, July 12, 2009 11:55:33
The office used was better than his own residence as a meeting place as it would be considered as carrying out an official duty whether clandestine or not is left to be proven. Remember the sick are the ones who need the physicians.Due to human devilishness Mary Magdelene inadvertently put Jesus in a sensitive situation that gave his critics a field day. So there are proper channels to go to before giving BN the materials to turn into amunition.... Soon Jibby will be having NUCLEAR weapons at his disposals. So no sudden outbursts in public to turn the paparazees into a feeding frenzy,please.
written by Hakim Joe, July 12, 2009 12:04:19
I disagree with fireduck. What Azmin did was absolutely correct. How many times have the supporters of Pakatan complained about their PR MPs? Was there anything done about it? Was there even any acknowledgment that such complaints will be investigated? NO!!! These people are always protecting themselves and these complaints are ignored. Unless it is brought to the attention of the media, it will be all swept under the carpet.

Good on you, Azmin! Expose those within Pakatan that is merely using up space.

written by maisur, July 12, 2009 12:25:19
DAP, you better discipline your clowns in selangor.

emulate tok guru nik aziz... 19 years of untainted administration. everyone knows the story that tok guru nik aziz has 2 pens in his pocket... one belongs to him and another one belongs to the rakyat. he will use the one belong to him for personal tasks and the one belong to the rakyat for official tasks.

i guess PAS need to do a crash course for DAP on how to manage people's trust, as DAP is losing it very fast.
written by IbnAbdHalim, July 12, 2009 13:13:27
Just sweep it under the carpet and follow the footsteps of UMNO/BN and come GE 13 we'll be back to the square one. Isn't PR any better than UMNO/BN?
written by Blackgiring, July 12, 2009 13:51:34
...now all PR leaders and supporters has become a confused lot!!!...and the rakyat was even more confused looking at them.......
written by axppin, July 12, 2009 13:57:07
Tak kan PR dah pandai nak sorok and sweep things under the carpet kot? Live up to the spirit of transparency and accountability that you have promised. If after one year of being in power you have already forgotten all your promises then we can only imagine what will happen if PR got a second term. Is PR fast becoming like BN, the very people you accused of many wrong doings? Is this what you call better alternative? Condemning others but you do the same thing?

written by Hakim Joe, July 12, 2009 14:37:35
maisur,

I totally agree with your views! DAP has got to control and discipline their bunch of [beep] clowns in Selangor, especially the State reps, especially the 1st term [beep] Selangor state [beep][beep] reps who has gotten too proud (EXCLUDING Hannah Yeoh) and too high and mighty.

written by fireduck, July 12, 2009 15:37:27
Hakim Joe, nothing to disagree on. I'm actually in cosonance with your viewpoints too. My statement is actually a very neutral grounded one. But I sometimes wonder whether these politicians ever bother to bring the issues up to the person(s) concerned and to hear it from 'the horse's mouth'. If they have done so, and there are no positive response of progress from then on, by all means bring it out into the open especially if it is for the interests of the rakyat.

So, if YB Azmin has done so, and yet the persons have not responded positively then I also applaud him for calling a spade a spade.

Same thing goes with YB Teresa Kok, if she's been quoted correctly. What was the call for Azmin to step down as the Backbenchers Club presidency for? Really uncalled for. Has she talked to YB Azmin first prior to making the statement? Are there any grounds for him making the public statement? If so, then what are YB Teresa's grounds for calling for his removal of the BBC presidency? It doesn't seem to be a well-thought out reaction. Unless there are more to what meets the eye.

And these will go on. So, I was just calling for the reps to revisit the purpose of their coming together, and to recall what they (and the rakyat)abhor, and hopefully, these bickering will be unnecessary as all the Pakatan reps remained focused and true to their stated lofty objectives of CAT governance.
written by Hakim Joe, July 12, 2009 16:15:18
Fireduck,

There are double standards within the PR ranks. Look at our “moron of the day” espousing radical Taliban views for such a long time and nobody dared criticize him?
Suddenly Azmin says what is really happening this cock woman calls for him to step down as the BBC president.

Look at DSAI as well. Supporting the gomen in changing the language both Maths and Science is being taught (again)? Look at TDM's blog. At present, 86% wants these subjects to be taught in English. Is this the actions of a man who is "conscious" of the Rakyat's needs?

Unless someone starts to say something about it, PR is just going to be the same as UMNO.

written by maisur, July 12, 2009 17:09:53
hakim joe
TDM's 86% supporting science and maths to be taught in english is grossly misleading.

if you read malay-based blogs eg kedah lanie, tranungkite etc, you will find that the poll results are exactly opposite.

my personal experience chatting to semi-rural and rural folks revealed that the children simply could not cope learning science and maths in english. consequently, their performance was far worse than when those subjects were taught in BM.

TDM announced this multi-billion dollars program few years back to enrich his cronies. his intention was never sincere from the beginning. his cronies got the contracts to print new english textbooks etc but he never emphasise on how to improve the teachers' command on the language.

the end result is what you see now.

i prefer science and maths to be taught in english but reality-wise, semi-rural and rural children/teachers are not prepared for that.

the teaching must revert to BM
written by InEffective, July 12, 2009 17:30:54

no one should be spared - surface the culprits.
written by Wisdom above, July 12, 2009 21:15:24
Better get accurate facts to better understand why Azmin Ali suddenly show his tantrums ? In her blog,
..."Kok said Azmin’s outburst was triggered by his unhappiness over Local Government, Study and Research Committee chairman Ronnie Liu’s decision to announce the list of councillors last Monday." Read her blog for more details ?

Beware of MSM MEDIA SPIN to distort and confuse ?
The MSM Media Spin just love to SPIN & SPIN.

Let's fast and pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace & Tranquility to prevail.
written by Hakim Joe, July 12, 2009 23:17:23
maisur,

you are one of the lucky few who is able to read both the English and the Malay blogs. How many of those who voted in the Malay blogs are capable of reading the English blogs?

As you have mentioned, the rural children are not as yet prepared for it. Can you tell me when they are ever going to be ready for it if Science and Maths are reverted back to being taught in Malay?

Look, it has got to start sometime and why not continue when it has been started? Next thing you know the next PM will say that this Najib was wrong and out goes BM and in comes English again. You want that?

written by Khan, July 12, 2009 23:47:51
If Teresa Kok is not willing to listen to constructive criticisms, then there is no difference between her and BN crooks. Make sure that power do not corrupt you Teresa. I would say Azmin is right in calling for Pakatan excos to buck up and hope they take this constructively and not live in denial.

Way to go Azmin and Wee Cho Kiang!
written by chastity thedamned, July 13, 2009 11:30:22
There is a lot of talk about TDM making money from this PPSMI but no one has actual proof that he is making money from it. I think we should refrain from simply over-generalizing matters without hard evidence.
written by chiongguo, July 13, 2009 12:02:01
I posted the comments below in Wee's blog. In the blog there seem to be an orgy of condemnation of some of the YBs. Wee and Azmin have reasons to be mean and doing it in public only reflected on them badly. Let's see how Wee untangle himself. Personally I find it incredulous that people from the underworld would use the state secretariat for meeting. What do I know ?

The most educational and socialising tool in kindergarten is the sandbox. This is where most children learned the rules of engagement with others in their young formative years. These lessons remain with them their entire life - no kidding. Notion of waiting your turn, fairness, kindness, sharing, support etc. were all moulded into their psyche at that tender age.

It would seemed that PR YB's hadn't played in such a sandbox. Perhaps it is about time DSAI create a huge sandpit in parliament house.

All the complaining and hurling of insults seem to indicate that we as a people is not ready for democracy. Democracy is not about voting once every few years. It is about participating in the development of the community and country. If the traffic woes exist in a place first see if we ourselves can come up with a solution. If for example the politician changed the traffic flow in one junction and your problems are solved. I can almost guarantee you that the jam will resurface somewhere else. All of life is connected in obvious and subtle ways. Finding quick fixes are easy but to work on a long term solution requires a lot of thinking and study. And this is where the rakyat can help.

Instead of asking what your YBs can do for you think of what you yourself can do for the community. Until and unless you are willing to do this you have not earned the right to demand your YB solve your problem. Because at the end of the day the YB also have to think of the interests of the others that they serve.