Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow The Great Malaysian Brain Drain

The Great Malaysian Brain Drain PDF Print
Saturday, 11 July 2009 23:58

By Koon Yew Yin, CPIAsia.net

There is a boy I know who scored 10 A1s. His mother is a primary school teacher and Andrew has two younger brothers. His father, a civil servant, had already passed on by the time the son sat SPM in 2006.

Armed with his excellent result, Andrew applied for a scholarship to study mechanical engineering. The government rejected his application. Petronas rejected his application too. Can you imagine how disappointed and frustrated he was?

As soon as I learned of Andrew's difficulty, I offered him financial assistance to do accountancy in Utar. He has been scoring top marks in every exam to earn a scholarship from the university. Although Andrew is now exempted from paying fees, I still bank him RM400 a month to cover cost of living.

I have given assistance and allowances to more than 40 poor students to study in Utar in Kampar, Perak. Andrew is typical of their calibre; he prefers to get what is his due on merit, and his university has deservingly waived his fees.

On my part, I expect nothing from those that I've supported except for them in future to help young people in similar circumstances, and to hope that they will all stay back in Malaysia so that they can lend their talents to building up our nation.

Asean (mainly M'sian!) Scholarships: Our brains, their gain

There are others that have deeper pockets who have extended a helping hand to our youngsters. One of them offers the cost of school and exam fees, hostel accommodation, RM5,800 a year for expenses, RM1,200 settling-in allowance, and transport/air ticket. Furthermore, the recipient is not bonded. Or in other words, the giver asks for nothing back.

I'm talking about the pre-university Asean scholarship extended to Malaysians by 'the little red dot' Singapore.

Of course, Singapore is not doing it for purely altruistic reasons. The country is giving these much coveted Asean scholarships to build up her national bank of talent. Some Malaysians accuse them of 'poaching' the creme de la creme of our youngsters. I don’t look at it as poaching. Their far-sighted government is doing it in their national interest.

And why not? Singapore can afford it. It has three times our GDP per capita. On another comparative note, the GDP per capita of Taiwan and South Korea are 2.5 times and double ours respectively. Before the NEP's introduction in 1970, the four countries were at parity.

The big question is why are we surrendering our assets which Malaysian parents have nurtured but the state neglected?

Tens of thousands of young Malaysians have left our shores on the Asean scholarship. I am not sure if Singapore is willing to give out the figure. But I am pretty sure the Malaysian authorities do not give two hoots about this, whatever number they may have arrive at. If they do, there seems to be no policy change to stem the outflow.

Malaysia is optimistically indifferent to the continuous brain drain, little caring that it is detrimental to our aspiration of becoming a developed country (I hate to say this) like Singapore.

Behaving like a failed state

Consider this startling statistic: There are more Sierra Leonean doctors working in hospitals in the city of Chicago than in their own homeland. More Malawian nurses in Manchester than in Malawi. Africa's most significant export to Europe and the United States is trained professionals, not petroleum, gold and diamond.

The educated African migration is definitely retarding the progress of every country in Africa. Today, one in three African university graduates, and 50,000 doctoral holders now live and work outside Africa. Sixty-four percent of Nigerians in the USA has one or more university degrees.

If we carry out a study, we are likely to find a very large number of non-Malay graduates emigrating to Singapore, Australia and other countries that is proportionately similar to the African exodus. However the compulsion is different, seeing as how some African countries are war-torn and famished which is certainly not the case with Malaysia.

The push factors for our own brain drain lie in NEP policy and this needs to be addressed with urgency.

State Ideology: Be grateful you're Malaysian

Try putting yourself in the shoes of an 18-year-old. This young Malaysian born in 1991 is told that Umno was very generous in granting citizenship to his non-Malay forefathers in 1957. Thus as a descendant of an immigrant community – one should be forever grateful and respect the 'social contract'.

READ MORE HERE: http://english.cpiasia.net/

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by Badaksumbu, July 12, 2009 00:14:16
Its soothing to hear a guy like this suppoting young Malaysians, If I'm in the capacity to do it I would do the same. I hope the writer is not implying all those given scholarhip were Malays and Bumiputras-out there many other 'Malays" or 'Buimputras' left out perhaps because their parents are known to people in power not supporting UMNO or BN.
written by arazak, July 12, 2009 00:49:26
Dear Mr. Koon,

You have done a noble thing providing scholarship to Andrew. As to the UMNO/BN regime they'd rather line their pockets with the peoples' money than using that money to finance education for deserving students. They rather use the peoples’ money for their and their families’ holiday overseas rather than sending our bright youngsters to study overseas.

Imagine this also. . ., if we put together the billions of ringgit that have been bled by the UMNO/BN regime with their looting and corruption. . ., what if that money was used instead to finance our deserving bright students to become doctors, architect, engineers, economists and what not? And you know what else? If the looting that they had done on us is not bad enough, the money that they have taken from us was used to finance their own kids’ education instead. I can tell you this for sure. . ., almost all of the ruling regime’s kids studied overseas even though they are as dumb as their . . ., well you know who?

Unlike our half-past six leaders, Singapore leaders are smart in planning future highly skilled human resources. They know the true meaning of "brain gain". What we have here are selfish *******s running our country that do not care about the masses. They only care about looting and lining their pockets. . .!

Don't talk to our leaders about "brain drain". . ., they could not comprehend its meaning and consequences!
written by tumbledore, July 12, 2009 00:58:41
one does'nt know the fates of many youngsters who did'nt make it to establish a livelihood overseas. one, a close friend of mine who could'nt make it here(Europe) due to
his typical Malaysian education and who could'nt stomach the typical Malaysian injustice
at home finally died aged 40 in Australia.
one bitter experience in a Malaysian hospital gave me the final push. I said to myself, if I have to die then let it be elsewhere where the ethnicity of the doctor or me does'nt play a role.
If at all malaysia one day returns to its senses many of us will return to help build up just like Europe after the war. many who can't come back would do all they could from here.

p.s.,
during my short career as engineer in K.L. I was responsible for interviewing electrical
engineering graduates for our company. only then I came to realise that one can have an engineering degree from Manchester without knowing to speak or write English!!.
this feat is unique to Malaysians. maybe we should spell Malaysia as Malaisia (SICK).
written by kclim, July 12, 2009 01:04:15
Brain drain versus brain dead. How do you convince those hot shots that you have elected to government the country that the young talents have to be nurtured?. In other words how do you tell the brain dead leaders that brain drain is happening? You can't because brain dead people only know how to vote for for their own kind. Brain drain happens to brain dead communities only found in unique bolehland,a failed society.
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 12, 2009 01:10:50
22 years he had to change the face of Malays, Chinese and Indians to Malaysians...22 beautiful years...he did not...
The child of 22 years from his time and coming up to today is not fully Malaysian..
...talk to them...take a street survey..and get the real message..
and do not be afraid to face the truth from the mouth of babes...
thanks...KYY...for helping the students...we had BILLIONS OF DOLLARS OF OUR OIL MONEY
AND ONE DAY THEY HAVE TO ANSWER TO GOD FOR ALL THE MESS THIS NATION IS TODAY...
WE HAVE A BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY...COMPLETELY WRECKED AND DIRECTIONLESS BROUGHT ABOUT BY POLITICIANS WHO DID NOT PUT THE COUNTRY FIRST.
The brain drain will continue..and the politicians will say..so what..
and every 22 year old child from Mahathir's time will be different from the time of Tunku's....and boy what a difference...
written by apa jadi, July 12, 2009 01:31:31
Mr. Koon, it is very noble of you to fork out your own money to support a brilliant kid through his tertiary education. But is this the course he is interested or he is just a typical Malaysian without a set career goal?

It is noble of you to think of keeping brilliant students home to help the nation. But the irony is that you cannot even convince your own offsprings to stay back. I don't blame you or your offspring. Each and everyone has their own opinion and goal in life. The country is not providing this to the ambitious.

Foreign investments pour into Penang in the early 70s, while Taiwan and Korea were still a poor nation. Semiconductor technology was started in Penang in the 70s. Yet, Taiwan and Korea overtook Malaysia in the 90s with their own economic reform. They did not have the semiconductor (IC) technology US had, while Penang flourished with semiconductor industry. Today, Korea and Taiwan have their own semiconductor foundaries and computer gaints. Where is our semiconductor foundary and computer manufacturer? Are we lacking talent? Something to ponder.

The world is globalised, there will be no boundary limit for the talented. Home is where you find your niche. If we are still squabbling over nothing productive, we might as well let our offsprings find their talents deployed.
written by Thundercat Pink, July 12, 2009 03:14:59
This is where everyone failed to see the vision of our so call politician. They are right on target to get rid of all these talents and to keep those they can control with their simple minded approach. There will be no more resistance to their policy to keep their bank account full at everyone's expense.

Talented people will question them - I am so glad PR is here. I am so glad Malaysian can come together regardless of race on this (well not all of them, yet). But I hope everyone can put aside their difference and put the nation's interest above all.
written by educationist, July 12, 2009 05:44:48
It shall be too much to expect our PM to respond to the points raised by the writer.
But surely if he is serious about his 1Malaysia initiative, those issues cannot be ignored.
Yet, we all know the answer.
He won't because he can't.
written by OilMan, July 12, 2009 05:56:05
With so much pampering from the government, the Malays are now considered ineffective and not so smart. Not that they are not capable of learning but because they know that they will always be given priority. So a few generations of "not so smart" Malays has been bred by the government. Just go to the majority of engineering consultancy office in KL and see who are the experts in the engineering area. Of course the MD or CEO will always be (>95%) a Malay but basically the Malays role is only as a puppet. So WAKE UP my Malay friends don't let this phenomena continue as BN would want this to ensure that the Malays are not that smart and pampered so that they will continuously be fooled by the evil UMNO.
written by OilMan, July 12, 2009 05:59:48
Dear apasalahku,

'Work ethics' and 'brains' must work together in tandem. You may have the right work ethics but if don't have the brain then you will be in the lower rung of the working class. We call these people the 'work horses' of the working group.
written by Sudahlah tu, July 12, 2009 06:42:50
di mana kita selama ini ?????
di ambang impian yang diwarnakan dengan teliti oelh golongan elit bersama kezaliman umno ....
selepas 513 , golongan elit telah membuat keputusan yang zalim untuk mengekalkan kedudukan mereka dan bekerjasama dengan sindiket antarabangsa untuk mencuri harta ekkayaan bumi Malaysia .. sebab mereka hendak menjadi orang yang paling kaya dii dunia .....
lalu perlembagaan dan rukun negara dilaksanakan untuk mengkongkong rakyat ......
apabila tamak menjadi agenda utama mereka sebab terlalu ghairah hidup bergaya dan ingin dilayan sebagai tuhan di merata dunia .... mereka terpaksa bayar untuk mendapatkan impian ngeri mereka ..
pembangunan minda rakyat hanya akan memusnahkan impian dan istana golongan elit ..
jadi ...bermulalah daripada keinginan mereka untuk terus bertakta hinggalah menjadi orang terkaya di dunia ........... rakyat cuma merupakan angka untuk mereka mendapatkan bantuan bank dunia dan PBB ..pinjaman pembangunan yang terlalu mudah untuk mereka pakai atas nama pembangunan telah menjadikan mereka gila wang ...
Islam digunapakai untuk mengawal bangsa melayu sebab mudah dan membuat mereka itu malas .....
bayangkanlah .... pemegang ijazah cuma bekerja sebagai kakitangan toll ....
itulah kezaliman umno dan tamak golongan elit ....
itulah apa yang dapat bangsa melayu hasilkan ... golongan tidak bermoral dan berasuah..... dengan bertindak menyokong umno dan menyembah golongan elit ..
bangsa melayu haruslah mendalami Ajaran Allah dan mengharungi cabarab kehidupan dengan tabah ..... tamak tetap merugikan ...
written by ampraxius, July 12, 2009 07:15:30
I was rejected by every single IPTAs (UM, UIA, UKM, UPM & UITM)in Malaysia because i didn't have any SPM credits even though i have an IB, IGCSE, GCSE, SAT and high school diploma from Japan. Since i am Malaysian i must have SPM and that was it. Malaysians must have SPM if they do not have it, they are unqualified and must be a total idiot.

I am technically a Bumiputera and yet none of the IPTAs will accept me.

Thankfully i was accepted into Limkokwing (a university founded by a Chinese) and with the help of family and friends i am about to graduate from a Top 10 UK University with First Class Honours.

I AM SO GLAD I WAS REJECTED BY THE IPTAs!

This Malay boy achieved it without any personal favours, NEP or help from the government. It is time we abolish the NEP and reengineer it for all. Because truthfully even the government sponsored students here don't deserve to be in University at all.
written by loosecannon, July 12, 2009 08:16:44
If any one think that the BN government cares about brain drain, you are very much mistaken. They would have done something years ago if they did. As far as the government is concerned, they know that most of tour bright people who left the country are mostly non-bumi. To them it's good riddance because that in itself would give more opportunities for the bumis. Racist policy? You becha!
written by maisur, July 12, 2009 08:24:12
really, this country gives us no hope. it is a matter of time before this country turns into an islamic state with an overwhelming malay majority. non-malays will be reduced to mere minions. it is time to migrate to a greener pasture, and the time is now! DON'T JEOPARDISE OUR KIDS' FUTURE!
written by penangboi, July 12, 2009 08:58:54
The operative word here is 'fairness'.

I have a confession to make, and this confession is going to expose myself to accusations of treachery to the country: I admit that I am not a patriotic Malaysian.

I fight for fairness in my country, get very vocal in criticising the government for NEP policies, and get into all sorts of argument with friends and acquaintances.

But my wife asked me a very soul-searching question yesterday: am I a patriotic Malaysian? Would I be willing to make huge sacrifices for the country. The answer is an emphatic no.

And it is not difficult at all to find the reasons. My biggest grouch is that I have been given a raw deal. If my country does not want me and appreciate who I am why should I reciprocate with any degree of loyalty?

All these talks about 1Malaysia, unity and fellow Malaysians living in peace and harmony by the government is all a smoke screen. It's elusive and as nebulous as smoke too. It's rhetory without substance.

It truly beggars belief that the government is not at all sensitive to and aware of the real cause of disunity in Malaysia. And their pesistence in implementing and adopting logically-flawed policies which clearly divides the country and impoverish the populace is beyond basic logic and comprehension.

I feel more at home living in a land outside my country and I make no apologies for making that decision aeons ago for at least I get a fair go unlike the blatant discrimination practised by the government in Malaysia along racial and religious lines.
written by batsman, July 12, 2009 09:20:51
And there the story stopped. What if it continued? Will the super smart kids upon graduation be able to resist salaries 3x - 5x more than what they are offered in Malaysia? The question whether the brain drain is just delayed or stopped is not answered yet.

This is not even close to a proper analysis of a complex problem.
written by batsman, July 12, 2009 09:45:31
Don't offer us half solutions. People are not stupid. They can see a half solution when presented to them. We cannot educate an elite so that they can migrate for better salaries overseas. If a better FULL solution is not offered, we might as well stick to the old rotten system than to risk anarchy.

The problem must be solved by a cleaning up of the political system, not by trying to "improve" something for the benefit of the elites under a rotten political system.
written by willove, July 12, 2009 10:14:31
I am a qualified professional, top in my industry, achieved much corporate success outside Malaysia. Never given a chance while in Malaysia, even struggle to survive. Can't imagine those who were less fortunate and capable.
My main businesses are now all overseas. I have moved my children out to live and study here. Ironically, we are treated with more respect here as foreigners than when we were in Malaysia as citizens. It's sad, it hurts.
I love Malaysia but I just could not make it there, and now even my children could be following my foot steps. We will be offered permanent resident status soon. Their education will be free of charge, and in some of the best universities in the world!
As far as I know, most of the top Malaysian talents are also moving out en bloc. I can't imagine what will happen to Malaysia when even Indonesian migrants are even being treated better and given the chance to become the Menteri Besar!
The hands that feed the nation are being handcuffed or amputated. The mouths that receive the goodies are being treated as gods. This must be the most idiotic nation in the history of mankind.
But I vow to come back to make my vote count. And you can rest assure that I will make everybody and anybody I know vote against the party that not only created this mayhem but seem to be proud of it.
written by DontPlayGod, July 12, 2009 10:17:44
Mr. Koon, what you are doing is noble and praise-worthy, although I know that you are doing it not to earn praises, but out of the nobleness of your heart.

But I'd like to correct you on one thing though, and that is, UMNO and Malay extremists do not consider the non-Malays leaving this country as brain drain. In fact, they would be delighted if all the non-Malays were to leave, brain or no brain. UMNO fanatics are only saying there is a brain drain because there is also a substantial number of Malays who are not coming back to a future Taliban Malaysia. And that is what they meant by brain-drain.
written by DontPlayGod, July 12, 2009 10:21:40
And Mr. Koon, you can confirm this by the frequent utterances by UMNO, and of late, PAS leaders, who have often challenged MCA and Gerakan to leave BN if they are not happy or disgruntled with BN policies. And that is the reason MCA and Gerakan behave live mice in BN, unlike in PR where every member party can speak up, with fear or favour.
written by Taikohtai, July 12, 2009 10:34:39
I applaud Mr Koon for his noble sacrifices. But BN will still be smirking at his good deeds. The rest of us can contribute our part by helping Malaysia get rid of BN. In this case, Mr Koon's one step forward will not end up with 2 steps backwards due to the current gomen policies.
BN has always been myopic. Alas, what else could it be when BN fails to see beyond the colour of the skin? I totally concur with the assessment that the NEP is the mother of all PONZIs. While the victims of Maddoff are already rich, the victims of NEP are not and the disastrous effect will continue down the next few generations.
It no point to excel just academically. Malaysians need to buck up in other aspects and the most urgent issue now is to procure a gomen that will look after its citizens. BN had 50 years to do the right thing but it has almost wrecked the whole country.
written by gorshan, July 12, 2009 11:23:30
so long as lembus are in charge, brain drain will continue. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by gorshan, July 12, 2009 11:25:06
and Australia will be the future home of my kids. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by yellowwoman, July 12, 2009 11:42:49
Mr Koon, Your article brought tears to my eyes on a cool sunday mid-morning
(wonderfully cool for Malaysian weather). Not because what you wrote is new to
me nor an eye-opener.

It's simply because what you wrote is something ALL of
us know about.

It is sad because most of those who debate and comment on blogs
and online news portals know what they are talking about.

It is sad because
for all we know, none of us can make it right.

I ask my Member of Parliament,
Mr TonyPua, rhetorically what can he, as an MP can do, to address the problem of
teaching Sc & Mths in English? I do not expect an answer but just wanted to
express my helpless and utter despair as a parent whose children's future is
affected.

Should I emigrate? Should I stay on and encourage my children not to
return upon graduating overseas? Should I support politicians and fight so that
we Malaysians will be treated as Malaysians?

Mr Koon, shall we set up
affordable private education for the portion of Malaysians not wanted by their
own country?? Shall we set up homeschool centres offering quality education
modelled on the spore system besides the more available US model?

What can I do???
written by Joe, July 12, 2009 11:49:06
Look at it from a racist ethnic Malay's point of view. Would you rather have lots of intelligent educated non-Malays running the show, or a few intelligent educated Malays running the show?

Weigh the pro and cons. Now tell me what do u need to do to increase the number of intelligent educated Malays and control the number of intelligent educated non-Malays?

And you'll find your answer in the Malay Dilema by Mahathir Mohammad.
written by temenggong, July 12, 2009 13:52:02
Here are some malaysian STPM personally students known to me in Subang Jaya who did not get places in local universities this year.

Geeta Arumugam, 4As
Yu Ting Wei, 2As and 2Bs
Kavita Palanisamy, 1A, 2B, 1C

They are appealing.
written by junjun40, July 12, 2009 14:20:18
written by densemy, July 12, 2009 10:27:27
Excuse me.... BUT why did you offer this young man a position studying Accountancy when his profession of first choice was Mechanical Engineering

Anyone who has had anything to do with tertiary education knows that success is based 90% on motivation and 10% on brains

You have convincingly deprived him of his identity as a human being simply to bolster your own ego

But of course...you know better

---------------------
Densemy,

I qualified as an accountant in the late 70s. I found that accountant qualification cost much less then, as it is of now. Compared to any other courses deemed professional courses. I believe it still holds true today.

With the amount of money contributed by Mr Koon, this boy could still have a decent life as a student.

By the way, I am now a biz man, used to be a high level banker.
written by apa jadi, July 12, 2009 14:22:15
written by ampraxius,
I was rejected by every single IPTAs (UM, UIA, UKM, UPM & UITM)in Malaysia because i didn't have any SPM credits even though i have an IB, IGCSE, GCSE, SAT and high school diploma from Japan...
Thankfully i was accepted into Limkokwing (a university founded by a Chinese) and ... graduate from a Top 10 UK University ..

This Malay boy achieved it without any personal favours, NEP ...

How on earth in the first place you get IB,..etc without a SPM? I guess you must have studied in an International school or overseas. I think you should be grateful to the internation education that has taught you to stand on your own two feet, as compared to your peers who were spoon fed through SPM.

Btw, do you know that there are thousands of bright students barred entry to local u? These are the Chinese Independent School graduates. Most of them have SPM and UEC, but no STPM. They have to do a twinning programme or study outside Malaysia.
written by lynn, July 12, 2009 14:45:23
penangboi,
in our Malaysian experience, patriotism is for fools; pls think of your family's long-term future. Patriotism talk & action are for those who are very well-off and nothing better to do. Get back to reality. If your child fails to get tertiary education today, chances are, he will become "goo" (hokkien for cow). No parent shld compromise on this aspect for their kids.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Those men behind the scenes who decide who gets scholarship & who don't, i bet you a RM100 all had gone for brainwashing at BTN. The year 2009, we still hear and read abt this discrimination against the non-Malays.

This so-called brain-drain policy is deliberate and intended to happen the way it did. Umno govt cannot tolerate so many non-Malays smart, highly educated and so on. Unbearable thought. The only way to cling on to power, to plunder this country's wealth to eternity & kingdom come is, first get rid of the smart ones, second, keep the Malays dumb, uneducated, poor in English, keep them dis-united from the non-Malays via religion (haram to eat with nons...).

I think no matter how many MT websites are set up to educate the masses, there is but only one sure way Malaysia can reform (doubt it will ever happen) - yes, the Malays have to be the ones to push for it. Will they? I seriously doubt it because the moment some bastard from umno comes out to push for Malay unity & talking shit abt Malays losing political power, the Malays will forget their goal. Good luck, Malaysia. You need all the luck you are losing.
written by alarcarte, July 12, 2009 15:31:07
Malaysia is not a failed state yet but heading toward that direction unless something is done, suppressing half the population while waiting for the other half to catch up in an unfair way will do a lot of harm to the country,as we all can see Malaysia is already deteriorating in terms of technologically and economically, other countries are fast catching up.

Quality education is everything in moving the country forward, by lowering the passing marks and thus creating thousands of un-employable graduates just won't cut it in the long term.

As it is now, we all can see that when ever a minister here or a sultan there is sick and needed medical procedure, they choose to go to Singapore or Australia only to be attended to and operated by ex-Malaysian Doctors, what an irony! They don't even have faith in our Doctors here in Malaysia.
written by KBodoh, July 12, 2009 15:49:01
What is the point of talking so much. Umno will never change. To change is to deminised over their control to rules. Malaysian education is in such a shit that even 50% completion of SPM can result in A.
written by latihanQ, July 13, 2009 01:42:21
...why are we surrendering our assets which Malaysian parents have nurtured but the state neglected?

Ans: Less men, more share.