Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M’s smile turns to a smirk

Dr M’s smile turns to a smirk PDF Print
Saturday, 11 July 2009 23:51

(The Malaysian Insider) - Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s ringing endorsement of Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak as prime minister perhaps came 99 days too early, when he rejoined Umno on April 4.

The beaming smile that Saturday has now turned into a smirk, not quite a good sign from the straight-talking fourth prime minister, who turned 84 yesterday.

For the past few days, he has been irked by the Najib Administration’s decision to scrap teaching science and mathematics in English by 2012, a policy he initiated in his last year of power in 2003.

Dr Mahathir, who has been taciturn about Najib’s performance as prime minister unlike his very public opinion about Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s time at the helm, is now slowly venting steam and spleen over the government’s policy switch.

And the nearly 50,000 votes in his blog show that many think he is right.

He has publicly disagreed with the U-turn, pointing out he never agreed to it, contradicting a statement by Education Minister and Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin’s claim that the grand old man of Malaysan politics understood the reasons for the switch.

The irony is Muhyiddin has been instrumental in getting Dr Mahathir to endorse both Najib as more than an able replacement for the embattled Abdullah, who was hobbled by his predecessor’s criticisms, and Barisan Nasional’s disastrous electoral outing in 2008.

And Muhyiddin was the one who pointed out Dr Mahathir’s presence at the Umno general assembly last March when Abdullah passed the party’s stewardship to Najib, in what some critics said marred Abdullah’s last days as party president and prime minister.

All said and done, it must be grating for Dr Mahathir to see another of his anointed successors march to a different beat and walk another path than the one mapped out by him in his 22 years of power.

READ MORE HERE: http://themalaysianinsider.com/

written by Fart Fart Wah, July 12, 2009 00:59:08
All said and done this is a result of a short sighted view of vision 2020 now going into a blurred vision caused by an incurable cataract started out by him.

22 years ago he should have stamped this as one of his foundation vision.
22 years ago he should have put education as the NO 1 priority for this country instead of Malaysia boleh and the megastructures which by themselves do not mean anything to us. An emphasis in world class education should have been his vision which would have put us now at the same level as some European countries. However he short changed himself and brought the standards lower for political reasons for the Malays to catch up...that is what he said..36 years and they are still catching up.
22 years ago he could have put up 3 or even four public U's in every state making one core university specializing in one subject which would have made it easy for every child..brown, black or yellow to go into the U and study with affordable tuition fees...he did not do.. we had the money..OUR OIL MONEY.
He could have made sure that the deans were of good standing and of good character without any bigotry...no he did not..
22 years ..he had 22 beautiful years..but he wasted it on political wheeling and dealing and made every child who is now 22 years different. He or she does not think Malaysian...he or she thinks..Malay, Chinese or Indian or others.
as he drummed up ketuanan melayu...and vision 2020..faded and is fading away..
2ndly...for a nation to be developed its health care service must be excellant.
...is it??? We are still using the old hospitals for a 10 million population and he has not prepared anything for a vision of 70million people. I am sorry to say even the sewage system is not ready...can you imagine 70 million people shitting everyday and where is it going to...???
in the same way he could have ensured that instead of getting foreign doctors he could have given our brown, yellow and black children the opportunity to be doctors instead of sending them overseas..that is if he had envisoned the need for doctors for 70 million people....you had 22 beautifulyears...
I can go on Dr Mahathir...but even if I had a chance to personally tell you...
the child of 22 years today from your time is as good as gone...you killed the Malaysian I was hoping would have been...and could have been.
So all your raving and huffing and puffing like tired old man is of no use..
you see ...your had a vision..but it went crooked...and everytime we told you..you attacked us...you have an ego that cannot be contained and that is why you are still out there ...huffing and puffing..and I can go on..but I do now want to be sick like you.
written by onnetline, July 12, 2009 02:04:42
This Mamak actually thinks that he can shake Najib like he did with that weakling sleepyhead, BADAKwi !

Time for him to take a back seat lah !
written by Liberian, July 12, 2009 05:45:27
I think Najib should forget about this snile old fool, like what he did to the Tengku our first PM. He is the one who put us in this shit. He is talking about Science and Maths in English, which he made in year early 2000, that means he was thinking his policy on education for the past 15 over years during his period as PM was doing good to the country! Not only that the country is corrupted up to this level is because of him, UMNO is in shit because of him, the public service is 98% bumiputra is also because of him. Our english level went down because of him. The Ketuanan Melayu started by him. If he thinks that he loves the Malays that much why did he adopted 2 kids from Pakistan? Are there no deserving kids from the Malays?
He is telling Najib is still having corrupted ministers, what about his time, to name a few, Diam, Rafidah, Samy Velu,Ling Leong Sik, Khir Toyo, Taib Mahmmud CM Sarawak, infact all in his cabinet were corrupted He also had a rapiest as a CM.
The best is ignore the OLD fool.
written by Sudahlah tu, July 12, 2009 06:44:06
mamak telah menipu bangsa melayu dan umat Allah selam ini
... itu lagi keji dan dosa ...
written by abbey, July 12, 2009 10:53:10
Don't worry Tun M, you may get your crooked bridge after all to let you win a little, but LKY will get his precious sand. Happy sulking!
written by Ocassey, July 12, 2009 11:15:44
If we look closer at all the PMs after the first one, we begin to see the similarity from the second one onward as those in the animal world whenever one emerges as another potential leader.... ONE WOULD "PEE&PEE&PEE" almost every where to mark ones presence over the territory and ONE WOULD "PEE&PEE&PEE" over old pees pissed out by some previous leader or any would-be leader. Therefore the huge but docile RAKYAT have all these years been "WAYANG-KULITTED" /"SANDIWARAED" by each and subsequent following PM. Check it out for yourself to come to the fact that they were no better than low-down animals. The most obvious resemblances that we can point out to are those major policy changes affecting the education system within the nation after every new minister of education emerges... of course the edu. min. has to carry out the decision dished out by the cabinet that had told the components to "DIAM TETAPI DENGAR SAJA SUDARLAH". SO to TDM , for being in the scene for so long and after 22 years as a DICK-TATOR, your pee still smells and it will take more than two follow-up PMs to do get rid of your stench ! I would rather visit the zoo any time!!!
written by Milo, July 12, 2009 12:11:01
folks, we should be fair in our approach. If TDM's views are wrong, we can critise them with all our might. Likewise, if TDM is speaking out what is right for the country, we should not use his past wrongs as a basis not to support them. We need not even agree with his approach to improving english via maths and science as there could be better method. But his base point about the importance of english for the future development of the country should be above reapproach and should be supported.
written by Lembing, July 12, 2009 13:17:07
TDM has a long history of picking PM who he will dislike eventually. In fact, in his opinion, he has always pick the wrong guys for the PM job.

Since he is a damn lousy picker, he should abstain from picking the future PM.
written by malgal, July 12, 2009 15:10:49
smirk when your heart is breaking
smirk even though you're faking
at least dr m dares to smirk...i sense the rest whose next generation is in line to inherit the folly, are either mentally calculating the cost of overseas education or turning the other cheek, plodding on and taking it.
smile or smirk, simper or simmer ... that all we can do, people?
written by mikewang, July 12, 2009 17:29:25
I don't want to talk about his misendeavours as PM of Malaysia.
However, on the issue of teaching of Science and Mathematics in English, I support him 100%.

The government should have put in better effort to ensure its success.
They failed us.
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 13, 2009 13:15:19
Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s ringing endorsement of Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak as prime minister perhaps came 99 days too early, when he rejoined Umno on April 4.

The beaming smile that Saturday has now turned into a smirk, not quite a good sign from the straight-talking fourth prime minister, who turned 84 yesterday.

NOT GOOD SIGN LAH WITH ALL THE DIGIT 4! MEANS SEI OR DIE LAH!!
WE WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOU WHACK THIS PRODIGAL SON OF YOURS.