Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow English proficiency does not guarantee scientific progress, says PKR MP Zulkifli

English proficiency does not guarantee scientific progress, says PKR MP Zulkifli PDF Print
Saturday, 11 July 2009 23:06

By Sira Habibu, The Star

People in the Philippines are proficient in English, but many landed up only as maids, said controversial Kulim Bandar Bharu MP Zulkifli Noordin.

The Philippines, he said, took pride in their peoples’ ability to speak English but had only succeeded in exporting many maids, whereas Japan has produced many international award-winning scientists who could not even utter a word of English.

Zulkifli of PKR made the comparison in his blog to show his support for the Barisan Nasional Government’s decision to scrap the policy to teach Mathematics and Science in English by 2012.

"In line with the 1Malaysia concept, it is time Bahasa Malaysia is returned as the language of knowledge and medium of instruction in schools," he said.

Zulkifli also took a swipe at former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad for introducing the policy to teach Mathematics and Science in English, which he claimed had adversely affected students in rural areas.

He, however, called on the Government to make English a compulsory subject, adding that English literature should be promoted in schools.

Zulkifli also called on the Government to look into returning the practice of writing Malay in jawi.

"Romanising the Malay language has made the people illiterate in Jawi and in Al-Quran," he said.

He also called on the Government to scrap the non-national schools to promote integration and creation of the Malaysian race.

"Chinese and Tamil can instead be taught as subjects in schools," he said, adding that the existence of vernacular schools further promote racial polarisation.

Comments (84)Add Comment
written by Tlau, July 11, 2009 23:13:12
I wonder why did he go overseas for his tertiary studies? It is no wonder BN dropped their case in court over his nomination paper in order for him to usurp the PR Govt.
written by tkahyap, July 11, 2009 23:16:36
DAP - don't overreact. This ikan bilis is only out to stir up trouble.
written by confuseus, July 11, 2009 23:17:17
Very true, Y Berkhidmat.
What matter most is the implementation which emphasise on
1. Quality of teacher.
2. Quality of facilities

Fix the vital few and the trivial many will fix itself.

http://masliberators2009.********.com
written by AlwaysFair, July 11, 2009 23:25:55
Talking CRAP as usual maybe he just wants to be popular. I think he should just resign and SHUT UP.

Of course english proficiency does not guarantee success but most of the advances in science are from the west whose main medium is English and to go further it is important to know English. On the fact of Phillipino maids it has nothing to so with the language but with the rampant corruption, which may also happen in Malaysia in future, who knows?
written by onnetline, July 11, 2009 23:28:53
"In line with the 1Malaysia concept, it is time Bahasa Malaysia is returned as the language of knowledge and medium of instruction in schools," he said.

Hei Zulkifli,

How can you classify Bahasa Malaysia as the language of knowledge when the language itself is repeatedly borrowing words from other language .... English ?

Where did you hatched out from ?
agree 115
written by asiana888, July 11, 2009 23:31:10
Hi YB Zukifli,

Once you opened your mouth ..... we all know you are Yang Bodoh!

1. Pls don;t compare with Japan. You know the work-rate of your kinsman. Don't put your head into the ground or under the tempurung.

2. Philippines got to this stage is becos of Marcos .... if Malaysia continue with this current administration ... it is a given that we will become like that. Don't blame the in-effectiveness of English in raising the standard of the people.

3. If you have it your way, I know you would want to implement Jawi for ALL subjects in school. We, rakyat, will know what to do..... we will make sure you will not be elected again come GE13. So .... you better go join BN now!

4. No guarantee English will increase the standard of innovation of Malaysian ... but using BM for Maths and Science is a GUARANTEE that there will be NO innovations coming out of Malaysia ... except more clever ways to scre* the rakyats money!

Another BN spy ... in PKR!
disagree 17
agree 119
written by hellosunshine, July 11, 2009 23:32:08
"Romanising the Malay language has made the people illiterate in Jawi and in Al-Quran,"

Wow! This is news to me. I didn't know that when you learn Jawi, you can read and understand the Quran in Arabic. That means I can also read and understand French, Italian, German etc since I can read and understand Romanized letter of the alphabet. Ha ha ha!!! What a stupid joker. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Jan, July 11, 2009 23:32:17
The younger generations Filipinos are now paying for the excesses of the Marcos era, which is synonymous with corruption, abuses of power and plain incompetence. Something very similar to our type of governance.
written by Rohani Hitam, July 11, 2009 23:32:43
Hmmmm...Zimbabweans who speak English also become peasants, robbers, rapists, swindlers and thieves. I think he's roght. Better teach ancient Malay so that we can revive our long gone ancient culture. Or even better learn the extinct Sanskrit and Khmer language that we lost contact with since 700 years ago.
written by colorsinlife, July 11, 2009 23:35:46
This man is the mother of *******s!!!
written by colorsinlife, July 11, 2009 23:36:51
A S S H O L E I D I O T !!
written by pokokmangga, July 11, 2009 23:37:28
Fellow Malaysians,

Let him speak his racist mind. He is merely and UMNOPUTRA in the guise of PKR. In a couple of years, we will boot him out of Parliament. I doubt this racist dares to pru himself forward as a PKR. Go back to UMNO now. Just frog over to the cesspool.
written by Rohani Hitam, July 11, 2009 23:38:02
English proficiency does not guarantee scientific progress. Malay proficiency make Malaysians, especially Malays, to become astranauts, noble physics price winners, rocket sientists, word renown astronomers and space cartoons.
written by cheekhiaw, July 11, 2009 23:38:30
English did not help the Filippinos. May be the reason is something else...like genes.

And if genes is the cause, then Malays should be worried - they are genetically closest to Filippinos, their 'useless' English & religion not withstanding.

With such 'proven' genes, you trust the judgement of that PKR fella?

written by colorsinlife, July 11, 2009 23:40:25
YOU ARE A CURSED MAN ! EVERY WORDS FROM YOUR MOUTH IS POISON!!
written by unclejason, July 11, 2009 23:42:21
Hello mp, most of the english speaking peoples in philippines are in manila. Some people just do not understand that malaysia is a multi races country. Talk is cheap. This mp tought he won the last election because he is better then the opponent. "syiok sendiri and mulut celupar". Most chinese and indians supported him because of Pakatan Rakyat. Let's hope this guy would not be fielded as PR candidate in next coming Ge..
written by BennyG, July 11, 2009 23:43:07
Since he's sure that he's a single term MP, he has to make the most out of it. But then, he only managed to prove not only he's a trojan but also a very dumb one.

written by colorsinlife, July 11, 2009 23:43:43
HEY IDIOT,

WHY NOT WE BAN TOTALLY ENGLISH FROM MALAYSIAN SCHOOL....
BAN ALSO CHINESE AND INDIAN LAMGUAGE

TEACH ONLY BM, JAWI AND ARAB ?

OPEN YOU BIG BLOODY MOUNTH AND SPIT MORE POISON

HAPPY?? BLOODY IDIOT !!!!
written by Rohani Hitam, July 11, 2009 23:46:10
Go and rush to the bookshops. You'll find scientific books written by well known pysicists, astronomers, space scientists, architects and engineers in Malay. Want a new discovery? Learn Malay so that you are kept abreast with latest scientific findings. Want to know what the new scientific terminology is? Pick up the Malay dictionary - its there.
written by Kuku Burung, July 11, 2009 23:48:46
This guy is getting worst each day. Could it be that there is no cure for "otak bereng"? What happen to the disciplinary action against him that PKR leadership has been harping about? Please do not play-play with us, the PR supporters. We want to see what action you are going to take against this guy.
written by T Square, July 11, 2009 23:52:05
How stupid is this MP.
We should make comparison with the best out there if we seek to be the best.
Why don't we compare ourselves with say Singapore or Australia.

It's like saying our local Universities are not too bad when compared to other islamic countries.
written by Ben Nordin, July 11, 2009 23:56:24
"Brilliant" as usual. He's PKR's version of KJ. Stupidity tends to ooze out whenever he opens his mouth. ZN has, in one stroke, insulted Philippines and Japan and supported causes that would freeze our next generation learning potential dead in it's tracks.
written by Daryl, July 12, 2009 00:06:58
This guy is a total dissapointment to PKR. No one will say anything if you acted like u are 100% behind BM but for you to insult other nationality that is low. Do you know how many Filipinos that are in US holding others positions that are not maid? Probably not because you are 'katak di bawah tempurung'. Stop acting like a UMNO politician.
written by Commonsenses, July 12, 2009 00:09:48
This PKR MP is an idiot and an arsehole. TDM knows that b4 english was used to teach Science and maths, he can read the malays mentality well. If u don't forced and change them however long hours devoted to english they just don't learnt. This is evident in the failure of many malays graduates in the last 30 years who could not write simple resume to apply for jobs in the private sectors. How can rural students learnt english in an environment where all subjects are taught in BM? And because the rural students are retarded in english language justify forcing all urban students to learn BM and reversing the english for maths and science policy is like "marah nyamuk kelambu di bakar". The right policy is to spent more time to aid rural students in the provision of english language resources and to dispell the rural myth that english is a language of colonial times and that its the language of the internet age.
written by talk3talk4, July 12, 2009 00:15:05

On the same vein education doesn't guarantee you will be wiser and you are one damn good example.

Hell there's no guarantee for sure. However knowing English is definitely a big plus for acquiring scientific knowledge in our M'sian environment. In case you do not know, there are a lack of scientific materials in BM and definitely almost nothing in Jawi. Maybe this dude will converts all the knowledge in this world to Jawi for us!
written by SotPlug, July 12, 2009 00:33:25
Laws does not guarantee zero crime, so why do we have laws in this country?

I'm not saying we should or should not implement English medium in schools, but please, next time think first before you talk.
written by mowadoha, July 12, 2009 00:34:09
written by Bosan, July 12, 2009 00:43:17
People in the Philippines are proficient in English, but many landed up only as maids

Stupid comment, why don't you compare with Singapore who are also proficient in English and landed up many best doctors ?
written by tenukajaib, July 12, 2009 00:48:38
Go to Lowyat Plaza and ask for discount for a handphone
the chinese salesman wil 'chong cheng chong cheng' with his friends how to trick you
the best thing is they do it in front of your face
and you will end up pay more for refurbish handphone

learn mandarin & cantonese save more money than english
written by onnetline, July 12, 2009 01:45:36
Why is the BN government saying that the rural people are a constant bunch of idiots or stupid fools that cannot excel and needs to be treated as such ? ?
written by apa jadi, July 12, 2009 01:46:08
Zulkifli .. show his support for the Barisan Nasional Government’s decision...
"In line with the 1Malaysia concept, ... he said, adding that the existence of vernacular schools further promote racial polarisation.

Well, this Zul Kera sounds like an UMNO mad cow. Are you sure he is in PKR?

That's the trouble with too much of Malaysian Sejarah in the sejarah carriculum. Zul studied too much of sejarah. He blamed the Fillipinos exporting maids without substatiating why....go and study history of the phillipines. The rate we are going, I won't be suprised if we have manufactured maids of export quality too in decades to come.
written by apa jadi, July 12, 2009 01:53:48
tenukajaib,
the chinese salesman wil ...trick you
... pay more for refurbish handphone

learn mandarin & cantonese save more money than english

Funny and suspecious mentality. Don't go Lawyatt, buy from your own people. No point learning mandarin or cantonese just to get a cheap discount. You will still be conned. The simplest way is to masquerade as a police or custom officer -- you get free. Save you the trouble people overcharging you.
written by mowadoha, July 12, 2009 01:57:36
written by onnetline, July 12, 2009 02:35:46
Yes, we know of Filipinos maids but this Zulkifli fella' is an asstounding Malaysian moron ! !
written by storm62, July 12, 2009 02:58:20
this idiot frog forgot to jump.

people of Kulim voted for PKR NOT you Zulkifli pariah!
written by Rohani Hitam, July 12, 2009 04:23:32
Quick, stop learning English. You may end up becoming a maid. Learn Malay and write Jawi so that you can become "sikit atas", maybe can become postman, delivery man, fireman, policeman, army man, admin clerk or a receptionist at least.
Also tell the whole world to learn Malay. Tell them to stop learning English as they and their children will end up becoming a maid.
written by Rohani Hitam, July 12, 2009 04:33:48
The weakness among PRs' assemblymen are beginning to show. We have frogs, we have wolves and now we have an *******.

I hope LGE, DSAI, LKS, Nik Aziz and Zaid Ibrahim straighten up the brain of these stupid people.
written by Rohani Hitam, July 12, 2009 04:45:10
This Zulkifli is simply BUTA. He doesn't travel much or he travels with MATA BUTA. Go to the Middle East, Singapore and witness how many Phillipinos holding professional jobs. There many nurses in UK, UAE and Singapore.
TETAPI KITA MELAYU TAK LAKU DI-LUAR NEGERI - KERANA CAKAP ORANG PUTIH TERGAGAP-GAGAP. NAK JADI MAID PUN NANTI TAK LAKU. LAKU KAT NEGERI SENDIRI AJA. jAGUH KAMPUNG. NASIB BAIK ADA MINYAK. BESOK BILA HARTA BAWAH TANAH DAH DI-LINGKUP DEK AHLI2 POLITIK BARU-LAH PADAN MUKA.
written by tumbledore, July 12, 2009 05:58:28
Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy! Right... he is suffering from the Mad Cow Disease!
written by Sudahlah tu, July 12, 2009 06:07:46
bahasa itu indah dan boleh memberi ketenangan ilmu hidup ..
apabila otak itu digalakkan ... membaca . menuis dan mengira sahaja ...inilah hasilnya ..
otak rakyat Malaysia tidak pernah digalakaan berfungsi sebagai daya kebolehan berfikir logik .....
kebanyakan otak - otak ini dianjingkan oleh umno dengan janji kekayaan ...
itulah ..kandang kezaliman umno dan hasil modal insan berbangsa melayu kita...
berasuah itu halal dalam kamus umno .. haaa pergilah belajar dengan umno tu..
written by OilMan, July 12, 2009 06:08:34
Where did PKR get this Zulkifli Noordin from? Afghanistan?
written by Horizonline, July 12, 2009 06:13:47
go read history 1st before blurping out nonsense.
written by Bloodhound, July 12, 2009 06:27:38
Zulkifli,

You are only half right or should I say you only spoke of half-truths!

It's true that English proficiency does not guarantee scientific progress but what you did not mentioned is that the resources available to a nation to enable scientific progress is also an important factor. Philippines is not an ideal comparison to benchmark against.

What matters most is that English is not that important only in countries where their language is already matured and comparable to the status of the English language. French, German, Chinese and Japanese languages are well matured and are therefore able to handle or even surpass the English language in their own right. Under such circumstances, English language will no longer play an important role - and rightly so if we are concerned with just Scientific progress....but, when it comes to the commercial world, English still plays a very major role for the simple fact that it has been accepted as the language of preference by the majority of trading nations.

In Malaysia, can we rightly and honestly think that we are in the same league? Let us call a spade, a spade and reap or harvest the benefits of adopting the right formula for our nation to progress. If a language is not well developed, then, the chances of progress will be stifled if we persist on lowering the standards in order that we may feel that we can achieve an illusionary progress. Bahasa Malaysia is no doubt important as the nation's unifying language and rightly so, but, let's not forget that families will have to put bread and butter on the table for the hungry too.......and hunger has been known to have brought down nations!

Reality will bite-in when push comes to sholve because if we are not prepared, no other nations will wait for us, as has been so evidently shown nations such as Vietnam and Indonesia.
written by Ngui, July 12, 2009 08:18:26
Whatever the talk about langauge and nationalism, the simple fact is that this generation is AFRAID. The teachers are afraid because they are not proficient in the langauge. The politicians are the same as they are educated in a different langauge. So the great talk of the nationalism, the Philipines,.....the so and so......
All these are because they are all afraid they will not be able to cope same like the so called people in the Kampung......why not many have succeeded when they had to struggle to learn a foreign langauge. The fact is simple, if you do not know the langauge of knowledge, then you are behind. When the Chinese pride themselves as the civilisation of the world when the foreigners came, they had to swallow very hard when they lose Hong Kong and Macau and etc.......
Don't kid yourselves, we are scared rabbits and the next few years, no amount of show making will be enough to save the way things are going. Can the people afford more now? Are they less in debt now? Is our so called productivity helping the real people?
written by anban, July 12, 2009 08:40:10
Dear Zul,

I'll give u a counter argument, why not compare to Singapore? They are majority chinese, but they did not use Chinese as the major language. Instead they placed english as major language with everyone allowed to learn a secondary language.

Singapore was a Malaysia reject...and today their currency the 2.5 times more worth than us, their universities are envy of the world, they have one of the largest concentration of millionaires, malaysians are flocking and working in singapore, arent we thier "maids" too?

What did Malaysia acheived with BM, pls show me one great technical book originated in Malay without tranlation from English.
written by Stormquest, July 12, 2009 09:06:26

What an insult to the Filipinos! They should roast Zulkifli Noordin’s arse on a spit.

The Philippine economy is a mess thanks to Marcos, amongst many other factors. This has forced many smart, well-educated Filipinos graduates to take positions lower than what they are really qualified for.

Filipino maids are earning an honest living that is sent home to support their families. At least, they are not relying on a NEP-like crutch.

Mind you, Filipino maids earn better than their other counterparts from other countries, simply because they speak “Inggeris” .

And they are a lot smarter than many Malaysians who hire them. At least they can teach Malaysian kids to speak English, and other subjects. This is a far cry from what they may end up learning in typical Malaysian school, which is far below world standards.

Now, here's a list of Filipino scientists and inventors.
http://inventors.about.com/od/filipinoscientists/Filipino_Inventors_and_Filipino_Scientists.htm

Let's take one of them, Eduardo San Juan. This is what is written on him, "Mechanical engineer, Eduardo San Juan (aka The Space Junkman) worked on the team that invented the Lunar Rover or Moon Buggy. Eduardo San Juan is considered the primary designer of the Lunar Rover. San Juan was also the designer for the Articulated Wheel System. Prior, to the Apollo Program, Eduardo San Juan worked on the Intercontinental Ballistic Missile (ICBM)”.

This is a far greater achievement than the space tourist whom Malaysian taxpayers paid to put up in space.
written by densemy, July 12, 2009 10:35:32
Do you need any further proof of the fact that Muslims are incapable of logical thought?
written by rams609, July 12, 2009 10:43:31
written by Rohani Hitam, July 11, 2009 23:38:02
English proficiency does not guarantee scientific progress. Malay proficiency make Malaysians, especially Malays, to become astranauts, noble physics price winners, rocket sientists, word renown astronomers and space cartoons.

yea...one person get to go to space using the people's money is already bad. But an entourage going back and forth to old Russia on the pretext of sending him off is whatcha call it?
written by SiHangChai, July 12, 2009 10:46:02
Racist MP of Kulim. Don't use other countries as comparison. We don't need that as these countries that you use are inferior than Malaysia. Even if you use Japan, Korea atau Taiwan as example, these are not exceptable as the citizens of these countries are all-Chinese-origin which possess greater thinking capabilities, creativity even in copying western ideas and also hardworking society who do not depend on policy as such NEP. What Mahathir wants the Malaysians is to do the best and compete just like small countries with no natural resources like S'pore.

You should quit PKR as MP for Kulim and join UMNO.
written by rams609, July 12, 2009 10:46:21
What are you Densemy? Black, brown or yellow so that I can stereotype your religion too...

written by hckit, July 12, 2009 10:51:07
Philippines maid is the highest paid in the region. This already told how important in English education.
written by Milo, July 12, 2009 11:48:47
English proficiency does not guarantee scientific progress, says PKR MP Zulkifli
------------------------------------------

This is the type of nut case analysis that is getting us down the drain in everything. Being a muslim also does not GUARANTEE that you are a good person or go to heaven, so why are you a muslim? Eating nutritious food everyday does not guarantee you will live long and disease-free, so why bother to balance your diet? Studying does not gurantee you will have a good job, so why study? Look at the best leaders in the country, you will find the bulk of them able to speak and read english well. Look at DSAI, TDM, Najib, KJ, Lim Kit Siang, Karpal Singh, just to name a few, COMMON STRENGTH AMOUNG THEM IS ENGLISH!
written by Milo, July 12, 2009 11:51:09
Without proficiency in english, Malaysia will not be able to even export maids in the future!
written by Old Man, July 12, 2009 11:54:02
Zulklifly, even if you want your children to learn Jawi only it's your right BUT you do not represent every Malaysian!
If you were to compare Dr M and yourself, you're not even fit to clean Dr M's toilet bowl! No need to compare countries...
Not only are you a Racist, you're also a religious extremist! Please do not bother to read, write or speak English...................
written by Milo, July 12, 2009 11:57:19
"Romanising the Malay language has made the people illiterate in Jawi and in Al-Quran," he said.
------------------------------

Another narrow nut case analysis. Vietnam has a set completely romanised Vietnamese language and it has not hindered the bulk of them to be buddhists, of which the original language is Pali.

written by ABU SAYAB, July 12, 2009 12:02:09
ritten by pokokmangga, July 11, 2009 23:37:28
Fellow Malaysians,

Let him speak his racist mind. He is merely and UMNOPUTRA in the guise of PKR.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pokokmangga,

This bloody idiot & racist is a Trojan Horse
written by hellosunshine, July 12, 2009 12:21:50
Aiyah, very simple lah. Ask this donkey Zul if he ever makes the trip to Mekah, what language does he use there or in the Middle East? Melayu or English???? Phfffft!!! smilies/tongue.gif
written by rams609, July 12, 2009 12:37:39
YANG (TIDAK PERLU)DIHORMAT ZULKIFLI NOORDIN,

ONE.
This is it when one lived life 'di bawah tempurung'.Thinking Malaysia is so well ahead compared to the neighbors; that we can and may look down upon others.

TWO.
We used to say Singaporeans are Kiasus, but in actual fact, Malaysians LIKE YOU are NO better, probably worse.

THREE.
The English-speaking Filipinas come to work here as maids because jobs are scarce in the Philippines. Just because they are 'maids', that does not mean they are low down and/or stupid ,silly. Some have Diplomas and Degrees as well, but luck haven't been on their side.

FOUR.
You're blinded by Malaysia's perceived success, thinking you can do no wrong.
Where were we before the anak Kedah became the PM? And after 22 years where are we now after the 2 new ones took over? I always thought Kedahans are a smart lot, but you are different Zul son of Noordin. You are loud, you babble a lot just for the sake of it, but as transparent as it gets, we couldn't see your tiny brains in your thick helmet. And I wondered close to insomnia why the people of Kulim voted you in?!!!!

FIVE.
In your attempt to echo your PKR leader's opinion, you have failed miserably and was not able to stand as your own man. Or maybe, that was just the ceiling of your pea-brain intelligence.

SIX.
You (who hails from the little dot of Kulim) attacked the Filipina maids, but you have NO 'fishing'idea of how many top Filipino executives running big huge corporations and organizations in the region and the world. Compare with the numbers of Malaysians (or proud Kulimers for that matter)doing the same all over, they are probably smarter than 'towering' you and ordinary me.

(TO PART TWO)
written by rams609, July 12, 2009 12:38:13

SEVEN.
In your own world, I'm pretty sure that whenever we mention Indonesia for example,
you see your maids, your sweaty construction workers all living in bamboo-weaved huts like the 'jamban in the greens' of your big kampong house in Kulim huh Kipli? Maybe you should make full use of your Kulim MP allowance to a return Air- Asia ticket to Jakarta. And make use of your so-called Honorable (I wonder) status to get a bit of discount from them. Go and tour Jakarta, and return home well-versed about real life from your study trip.

I've got office boys holding degrees working for me in my Indonesian office, and just because they are office boys, they are are not up to your or my level huh Zul?

The local Degrees or Masters ( as a result of a one national language policy) which they carry means nothing when looking for jobs in big cities. They lose out to guys and gals carrying even Diplomas from Malaysian Universities and colleges; what's more from Australia, the UK or USA.
Soon, even Indonesian students will opt out of your beloved Malaysia. (Becoz why, you onli cakap melayulah...SETUJUUUUUUUUU!)

EIGHT.
I bet if you're sitting on the same table as TDM, you'll be kissing his hands and singing karaokayed praises for him right Zul?
Now that you are the Kulim MP for PKR, you have to do your job praising the PM's 1Malaysia using return to BM for Science and Mathematics, right? DSAI was for it as well, and you'll looked good. That's they way of a good MP, yes!

NINE.
Yeah,the Japs can do it so can you. Have you seen the Japanese in their offices at about 5pm? Have you compared their tables vis-a-vis their Malaysian counterpart say at 4pm? Which one is ready to go, speck and clean?

For every Japanese running anything outside Japan, there will be another voice-box, didn't you know? They need translators to communicate with you and me!
And they'll translate that into Malay you'd think huh?

TEN.
"He, however, called on the Government to make English a compulsory subject, adding that English literature should be promoted in schools."

Were we discussing English literature OR Science and Mathematics here?
Beats me this guy is a yang berhormat who wants to teach others stuff he has not learned.

ELEVEN.
Zulkifli also took a swipe at former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad for introducing the policy to teach Mathematics and Science in English, which he claimed had adversely affected students in rural areas.

Focus Kipli. Make Kulim city as a test area. Bring in the best English teachers available for your rural schools. Very soon, kids from Kulim will and can master English; and take over those Filipino execs in big companies everywhere, and you'll be remembered as THE MP who made the change. Yes, Zul or Kipli the son of Noordin, from Kulim in Kedah!

After all, it's gonna be good for your country, our Malaysia.

TWELVE.
You measure success by how tall your twin tower is, but we the ordinary Malaysians, the normal rakyat measure YOU by how deep your heart is, new city boy.

THIRTEEN.
Zul or Kipli son of Noordin. Wake up and come down to earth... jangan sombong bodohlah, otherwise you'll need that special sticker to be pasted onto the rear of your car, for being a bit mentally retarded we'd think.

DSAI is watching you.
(We know, for that is more important in your mind than we the rakyat watching you).

We'll talk about Jawi next time. I got to go to my already late sunday breakfast(lah!)
written by harryo, July 12, 2009 12:57:01
YB, when you open your mouth filth comes out. Why?
written by Malaysiaputra, July 12, 2009 13:00:14
"Chinese and Tamil can instead be taught as subjects in schools," he said, adding that the existence of vernacular schools further promote racial polarisation.

====

Zulkifli Nordin, why are you such a hypocrite ?, You know deep down that is not true. You also know very well that it is the discrimmination against the non Malays that is the cause of polarisation. Empty vessels like you make the most noise.
written by rams609, July 12, 2009 13:08:44
KULIM MP,

I am ashamed and embarrassed to have a Malaysian with a mentality like you...And worse, I am embarrassed to have a Melayu MP like you...

The only consolation is, lucky I am not from that same little pekan as you.

Me? Just a normal Malaysian and an ordinary Melayu.
written by chiongguo, July 12, 2009 13:15:42
English proficiency does not guarantee scientific progress, says PKR MP Zulkifli

But non-proficiency in english is a guarantee for scientific and engineering backwardness in malaysia. We do not have the scientific and engineering culture nor the know-how.

written by DezMalaysia, July 12, 2009 13:39:58
BODOH IDIOT ZULKIFLI NOORDIN, You are the most "Bodoh"est MP of all !

Please understand that Philipines maids who master very well in English ended up being paid higher wager than your "sejenis" Indonesian maids who know nothing about English !

As for Japanese, they work the hardest comparing to other people around the world to achieve what they are today and they are willing to accept new ideas instead of allowing their brain being locked in a narrow box ! Japanese don't need NEP to screw-up their minds like what we have in MAlaysia ! Zulkifli Noordin's idiocy is the product of failed NEP ! If you're a rubbish, don't make others to follow your stupidity to be rubbish as well !

Philipines maids are paid minimum RM 1000 & above (equivalent) inclusive of holidays around the world.

Indonesian maids are paid between RM 350 - 500 without holidays, and only can go the furtherest Bodohland, Malaysia !
written by Tom n Jerry, July 12, 2009 13:59:50
I am petrified to note we have such low class and ignorant MP*s in our midst;no wonder our economy is going down the drain;insyah Allah cepat bawa dia orang balik ke syurga;sampah masyarakat sahaja;alhamdulilah!
written by junjun40, July 12, 2009 14:29:12
Rams0609,

Hantam kuat kuat ... make sure this idiot disappear from our national platform.

Otak tak betul. Cakap aje, kerja tak dak. Gaji buta.
written by lynn, July 12, 2009 15:08:19
Gosh, another useless idiot from PKR. It's good he showed his true colors before GE13. In fact, it is DAMN BLOODY GOOD all these types plus heehaw & co. showed their true colors now.

From now on, pls stop comparing Bodohland with other pathetic third world countries like Philippines and Indonesia. Let's compare our 'poorly managed' country with developed progressive countries like Singapore, Sweden, can or not?

Zulkifli, you are a bigtime loser. Now we know your fate. A one-term MP. ONE ONLY.
written by lynn, July 12, 2009 15:19:43
The rural areas' pupils are poor in English because they get lousy half-past six teachers.
Can u understand this basic truth, zulkifli?

So apart from a lousy education system, throw in some real unqualified english teachers, wow, double whammy. Of course-lah, their english will be poor. Not to mention, lack of resources such as reading materials, etc.

So having Science & Maths in English to "improve students' command of the English language" is the most retarded statement of the year. Hello, you need to have a good command of the language first, can or not? Don't put the cart before the horse!
written by alarcarte, July 12, 2009 15:40:13
Many Filipina who speak English end up as working as maids, thats true, but just like Malaysia there are also thousands of Filipinos professionals working overseas.

If they (Phillipines) manage to sort out their political and corruption problems they will beat Malaysia hands down.

English or no English, Malaysia is heading the Philippines way if corruptions are not checked.
written by born2reign, July 12, 2009 15:42:02
English proficiency does not guarantee jobs.
Undergraduate degrees do not guarantee jobs and success either.
MBA degree holders are not guaranteed success and riches.

So why are the Malays and UiTM so hung up about university degrees and studying? Go home and baca Jawi lar, tanam jagung, makan jagung.

Leave the rest of us to deal with this no-guarantee business of education. Since English and earning a university degree have no guarantee, sack all these lecturers from public schools. The private sector can make lots of money with this huge demand gap.

Bodoh. Who elected you anyway?
written by truthbespoken, July 12, 2009 16:29:19
Good! Good! This is one good occasion when all Malaysians really unite and get together in MT to screw the hell out of this moron PKR MP Zul! People support PR but not this short-sighted-trouble-maker Zul! He is a no-good Malaysian!
written by mikewang, July 12, 2009 17:36:34
I am willing to bet that this MP will contest the next GE as an UMNO or an UMNO friendly independent, like the other big mouth from Kelantan.
written by sydput, July 12, 2009 18:10:16
Anwar, the backside addict, did not take any action, when this Zul guy from Kulim, forcibly entered, disrupted and threatened all those who were at one interfaith dialogue in KL. PKR should have just sacked the bastard and leave him to rot just to make a statement against violence and racism/religious intolerance.
Anwar is scared to take action because he is more interested in being popular, than being just and righteous.
Now this bastard has come to sodomise anwar and PKR.
Serve PKR right for not doing things right in the first place. I will vote for the english speaking party the next time. Not those who speak from the backside.
written by sydput, July 12, 2009 18:13:36
Liberalise the education system and allow private schools to teach in any language they want.
I bet you, in the urban areas, the school enrolment in sekolah kebangsaan will be zero, except for those children from poor and indonesian immigrants.
written by asguard, July 12, 2009 21:45:49
The only thing...now is malaysia is going the way of indonesia where two thirds of their citizens can't speak even single word of English that's is what i will ten years from now ... what would be of malaysia soon to come!
written by allmenarebrothers, July 12, 2009 21:51:24
He has even lower IQ than a moron or imbecile. This is because his brains had been irreversible damaged.
No wonder he hides the permanent damage to his brains behind a songkok!
written by wildbil, July 12, 2009 22:23:00
Kulim Bandar Bharu was the result of the Malaysia education. So ignorant about the world history.

Kulim Bandar Bharu, please study the Japanese history before the second world war and the Phillipines history during and after Marcos, you will know why they are what they are now.
written by latihanQ, July 13, 2009 01:31:09
An idiotic moron of nincompoop proportions is the kindest words to bestow on this MP from Kulim.
written by malaysian7, July 13, 2009 01:42:09
Zulkifli,

You are making each and everyone being more disappointed with you each and everyday!

Do you know everything happens for a reason? i.e Philippines... does maid issues have something to do with their English? So you are thinking their failure has something to do with English?
written by tino_chan1988, July 13, 2009 09:37:27
Coconut brain idiot. These are the worse possible morons with big mouths and and full of water.
written by Bigjoe99, July 13, 2009 10:00:38
The shame is Filipino are Malay in origin and the man does not know his own cousins. Filipino, especially rural ones that now work as maids, don't have high English proficiency, they speak Tagalog in large part. Its a big issue in Philippines which is trying to reverse the trend of decline in English for some time now and with some success because now they work for BPO operations.. How many Malays work for BPO operations?
written by panca, July 13, 2009 12:20:38
written by colorsinlife, July 11, 2009 23:36:51
A S S H O L E I D I O T !!

At first glance I thought WOW!!! now this YBrainless creep has started his own Malaysian-jawinised brand copycat of FCUK brand! smilies/smiley.gif not name-calling, it's BRANDING that sells...W.T.MORON.FCUK!