Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Hadi and Nasharuddin ‘sanction resumption of unity talks’

Hadi and Nasharuddin ‘sanction resumption of unity talks’ PDF Print
Saturday, 11 July 2009 10:45

(The Star) - Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin has claimed that PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang and his deputy Nasharuddin Mat Isa have sanc-tioned the resumption of unity talks.

He said if the top two leaders of the party had agreed to discussions with Umno, other members would follow suit.

However, he added that there was now dissent in PAS over the proposal and this was disturbing the party’s grassroots.

Khairy said he was also informed by insiders that state PAS leaders had banned Nasharuddin from making an appearance last Monday for the Manek Urai by-election nominations.

“There were reports that he would come today, but why didn’t the deputy president come in the first place?” Khairy asked at the Barisan Nasional Youth ceramah in Peria here.

“This by-election is important. If Barisan wins, it shows the voters support the push for unity in the country.

“If PAS wins, it means we are back to square one and the excessive politicking which is tearing our social fabric apart will remain unabated,” he said.

He claimed many PAS Youth members in Manek Urai have realised this and through a middleman, have conveyed their intention to support Bari-san candidate Tuan Aziz Tuan Mat.

Khairy said Umno was receptive to working with PAS on issues of common interests but rejected working with DAP and PKR, adding that they were hardliners intent on confusing the nation.

He also alleged that PAS Youth did not participate in the by-election as a gesture that they were ready to engage Umno in discussions about unity among the Malays and Muslims.

“Kelantan PAS leaders have to think. Should they continue to put up with insults from DAP and PKR? They have an alternative here and we want them to talk to us,” he said.

Meanwhile, PKR elections director Saifuddin Nasution Ismail said Khairy’s move to “divide and rule” voters would backfire in Manek Urai.

“Voters know that the Pakatan Rakyat alliance is stronger and more united than the proposed national unity project mooted by Khairy,” he said here yesterday.

written by Rock, July 11, 2009 11:21:42
He should understand the strength of PR unity. It rallies on the idea of a siege mentality. More you attack, the more stronger its bond will be! Before you seek unity why not you start with steps like show of non confrontational attitudes, good-wills, cooperation etc etc. That indicates a form of your sincerity... e.g. give Kelantan state its dues
written by karpi77, July 11, 2009 11:52:22
hey! UMNO boys dont fool rakyat again in this issue (unity govt)find another way lah bastards!!!! UMNO always fool rakyat forever!!!
written by Urangsabah, July 11, 2009 11:54:24
If you read what the UMNOed MSM are higlighting abou KJ, it seem he is as flip flop as his FIL. One minute he say he is for Malaysian, the next he is defeneding Katuan Malayu, against all non Malay.

Another thing you can note is he is trying his level best to get into Najip good book..as you know, his defeated opponent MM is a is Deputy Minister who seem to be more powderful than his minister, whereas KJ the UMNO Mat Rempit Head is noway...

KJ spin KJ spin.........You must have learnt this from your Ox Fart time....(can buy want ah)
written by shiokguy, July 11, 2009 12:19:55
KJ spin? Surely it is. But when is the two joker PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang and his deputy Nasharuddin Mat Isa? Are you coming out and openly put everything to rest?
written by GoMalaysian.********.Com, July 11, 2009 13:15:15

http://gomalaysian.********.com/
written by magickriver, July 11, 2009 13:18:26
Ha ha, I can actually hear KJ hisssssssss as he utters those words! What a venomous scumbag punk, playing the no-win zero-sum Agama Bangsa game, another wasted life.
written by Heaven8402, July 11, 2009 13:39:56
The most stupidest thing PAS can do now is to have any talks with the "monkeys" youth club.
Kera Jantan is just taking care of his ass he has no whatsoever intention of rakyats interest. I'm just praying that he won't be our next PM!
written by Hakim Joe, July 11, 2009 13:51:10
Hey Kerbau from Rembau,

Do you seriously think that all these posturing will elevate your position within the UMNO hierarchy? Trying to talk yourself into a ministerial position, eh? Pathetic! Why, no more FIL to pave the way now, right? Tell you what, grovelling will do you no good. You are "excess baggage" in the eyes of the people who runs UMNO now.

written by Jan, July 11, 2009 14:06:11
It's pretty obvious this Rembau fella is trying to poke fire in Pakatan Rakyat. Let's all ignore this monyet.
written by joeawk, July 11, 2009 14:17:45
They are no fools. They just want money and this is another time when PAS youth are taken for another political ride.
]
Like it is said, Kampung people are easily manipulated. Buy them teh tarik and they say you are nice and they will ikut you masuk lubang jamban.

written by ssathia, July 11, 2009 14:33:04
It appears that the idea pursued by K and N will happen for certain if not now, but latest by 2020. The idea of UMNO-PAS alliance based on the powerful factors of race and religion coated with sweeteners such as special rights appeal a lot to the Malay ego although a few of the Malays may not openly acknowledge.

This quest for one race to secure Malaysia for itself is feasible and has been steadily in progress since 1957. UMNO has the muscle to do so by getting help from Immigration, Military and Police Depts to import claimants of Malay race from other countries, push through the necessary gerrymandering and have the money and propaganda machinery to buy allegience of doubting thomases.

If K and N persist through all these with their heads above water, K will be PM and N will be DPM.

The only thing that might get in their way is others with the same idea and are in greater hurry.
written by clarity, July 11, 2009 15:08:04
Show your sincerity for unity talks by withdrawing from Manek Urai, All this bullshit is not going to fool anyone. Come ceramah time before the state election, you will see how bad they will be talking about PAS. True or not? And if so, why so keen to talk to PAS? What a load of crap!
written by chiongguo, July 11, 2009 19:31:40
“Kelantan PAS leaders have to think. Should they continue to put up with insults from DAP and PKR? They have an alternative here and we want them to talk to us,” he said.

This very suggestion itself is an insult and an affront to every good men and women of good will fighting the good fight against the corrupt ways of umno. Such stoking of fire to achieve your political agenda is one good example of the corruption of the spirit.