Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow It’s not about 100 days, it’s about the generations to come – Tengku Razaleigh

It’s not about 100 days, it’s about the generations to come – Tengku Razaleigh PDF Print
Saturday, 11 July 2009 10:38

I don’t know about you. I am embarrassed that after 50 years of independence, we are still talking about bringing Malaysians together. I would have wished that by now, and here tonight, we could be talking about how we can conquer new challenges together.

THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

You have asked me to talk about Najib’s First 100 Days, and this lecture is in a series called Straight Talk. I shall indeed speak plainly and directly.

Let me begin by disappointing you. I am not going to talk about Najib’s First 100 Days because it makes little sense to do so. Our governments are brought to power for five-year terms through general elections.

The present government was constituted after March 8, 2008 and Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s tenure as Prime Minister resulted from a so-called “smooth transfer of power” between the previous Prime Minister and himself that took a somewhat unsmooth twelve months to carry out.

During those months, Najib took on the de facto leadership role domestically while Abdullah warmed our international ties. The first 100 days of this government went by unremarked sometime in June last year.

Not only is it somewhat meaningless to talk about Najib’s First 100 days, such talk buys into a kind of political silliness that we are already too prone to.  It has us imagine that the present government started work on April 2 and forget that it commenced work on March 8 last year and must be accountable for all that has been done or not done since then.

It would have us forget that in our system of parliamentary, constitutional democracy, governments are brought to power at general elections and must be held accountable for promises made at these elections.

It leads us to forget that these promises, set out in election manifestos, are undertaken by political parties, not individuals, and are not trifles to be forgotten when there is a change of individual.

It is important that we remember these things, cultivate a more critical recollection of them, and learn to hold our leaders accountable to them, so that we are not perpetually chasing the slogan of the day, whether this be Vision 2020, Islam Hadhari or 1 Malaysia.

Slogans without substance undermine trust. That substance is made up of policies that have been thought through and are followed through. That substance is concrete and provided by results we can measure.

Whether or not some of our leaders are ready for it, we are maturing as a democracy. We are beginning to evaluate our governments more by the results they deliver over time than by their rhetoric.

As our increasingly well-educated and well-travelled citizens apply this standard, they force our politicians to think before they speak, and deliver before they speak again.

As thinking Malaysians we should look for the policies, if any, behind the slogans. What policies are still in place and which have we abandoned? What counts as policy and who is consulted when it is made? How is a proposal formulated and specified and approved before it becomes policy, and by whom? What are the roles of party, cabinet, King and Parliament in this process?

Must we know what it means before it is instituted or do we have to piece it together with guesswork? Do we even have a policy process?

READ MORE HERE: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by allangan2006, July 11, 2009 10:47:53
The world promotes 1-America concept, so does the Barisan Nasional's 1-Malaysia. The world sings 100-day Barrack Obama in the White House, so does the Barisan Nasional pouring praises for the under-performed Najib.
written by Zapper, July 11, 2009 10:49:44
I agree with Ku Li. The racial relations among all major races in our country is not getting any better. We see more polarization now then when I was a kid. If you have children, ask them how many friends that they have that are of different rsces. Believe me, you will be shocked by thier answers. Now the question is...what has gone wrong. I would put the blame entirely on most of our shallow thinking politicians.

Our leaders are famous for slogans and they think that these slogans will create miracles...this is shallow thinking. If we ant our country to be great, will these leaders be willing to be color blind and put the best Malaysians for the job. I will think NOT.
written by rams609, July 11, 2009 11:03:17
Vision 2020, Islam Hadari, 1 Malaysia.

Which one says about tomorrow, has a set vision; a set objective for the nation?

That's the one with weight for us to fight, struggle and scramble for the betterment of our country.

The latter two, just plain writing on the skies above....

Slogans with substance. I agree with Ku Li.
written by lamakawan, July 11, 2009 11:15:10
The BN government is treating the people of Malaysia as fools or silly or stupid human beings.
They conduct royal commissions on the police and the judiciary just to please the people who demanded of them.
After spending millions on the investigations, including follow up scrutinies and all that, they say they will adopt certain recommendations here and there.
After a while when the public forgets about them, they will put all those recommendations into cold storage.
This has been the general rule they adopt to not only recommendations or investigations or complains from the public.
In a nutshell, the BN government believes the general public is very naive and can be easily fooled or toyed around psychologically.
We must not let the BN government perpetuate such practices for ever. We must put a stop to all these irresponsible " inactions " ( no actions )
We must say 52 years is long enough for they to enjoy the fruits of ordinary folks like you and me. We struggled to earn a living and they the cronies of BN will enjoy all the luxuries from the corrupt money they squandered from government agencies and the like.
written by densemy, July 11, 2009 11:34:25
Anyone would think that Najib was the new leader of the opposition who came out of nowhere and needed time to adjust to his new role

He has been DPM and PM for close to six years ... and still he doesnt know what to do. Oh, we have to have a Committee of Enquiry on this and a post mortem on that and we need to get the Consultants into review that situation and yet more and even more committees populated by dullards with no outlook and no plans for the future

If he really meant what he says about corruption and crime and education and democracy he could have gone bam-bam-bam-bam and in one week reversed all the most odious aspects of what makes Malaysia such a rotten country to live in.

You dont need a committee to decide what society has been screaming for you to do for the last six years

In short he has NO INTENTION of doing anything that would improve this nation... and that makes me wonder ( yet again) who is running this country???
written by truthbespoken, July 11, 2009 12:12:36
Yes TRH, we are all embarrassed and sorry that after 50 years we are still talking about bringing Malaysians together. The real reason is the extended rule of the corrupt, arrogant and racist UMNO! With hindsight, one can easily tell that UMNO's policies are FAILED policies! That's why Tengku, better you expedite the process of national recovery by leaving the failed party promptly!
written by clarity, July 11, 2009 12:33:20
Ku Li is of course correct in his generalisation of the current administration. But the latest regarding teachin maths and science in english is really a bad decision. I just cannot understand why the subjects cannot in both languages where everybody can make their own choice. Few years later everybody can see which medium of instruction is more productive. Then parents will surely put their kids in the m0re successful medium. All this U turns reflect badly on the govt. This is why foreign investors don't come. The govt. keeps changing their policies.
written by Kampong, July 11, 2009 12:56:21
densemy,

It is wrong to blame Islam alone for our problem. In fact, ALL organized religions share the blame, because religions are by definition illogical. The Americans founding fathers many of whom were religious, realized this a couple of centruries ago and put in clear language in their constitution to bar religion from politics.

Nowadays,you look around at ALL the theocracies, and you see a who's who list of screwed up countries. As I always say, organized religion is bad for your health, mental and otherwise.
written by C360, July 11, 2009 13:08:56
I share Ku Li's sentiments, and as far as i am concerned, the umno/bn it's failures in this aspect .. and the Agencies whose oaths (no need to mention their violation of it) must be revamped and cleaned out and restored to it's rightful function ..
written by rams609, July 11, 2009 13:17:21
Densemy,

That's hitting below the belt and uncalled for. Hate Umno, BN, Pas or whatever for all I care. It's the people behind it that makes the difference.
That was like calling your dad son of a bitch to produce another you know.
Keep your hate focussed.
If it's the party you are after , then go for it you angel-like devillish person.
But don't ever touch my religion, Islam.
written by cheemengwong, July 11, 2009 13:54:14
100 days Najib as a PM...notable things he did but not necessary profitable for the Raayat.

a. Walk around Petaling Street, Brickfields and a Kampong in KL. Create a lot of traffic jam.

b. Freed 15 ISA detainees which in the first place should not have been arrested. Created a lot of heartache for the detainees loved ones specifically and the Raayat generally. Also resulted in a lot of unnecessary placard gatherings by the populace, wasting time and effort.

c. Trying to get rid of the 30 % bumi equity in public listed company but introduce another bumi dana/equity fund. Who is he trying to fool?

d. Reversing PPSMI and thus flip flopping previous adminstration's decision thereby wasting all the time and effort by Dr. M and his ministers. The Raayat will be worse off 5 -10 years from now. Most will not be able to speak and write acceptable level of English to compete in the global arena.

e. Najib's lips are now glossier than ever. Wasting of Raayat's money to buy lip gloss.

written by Hakim Joe, July 11, 2009 13:57:55
The integration of all races into a truly Bangsa Malaysia can only be instituted if everyone were treated in the same manner and subjected to the same laws. If the current gomen insist on using the race card to promote their own existence, then the eventuality of a Bangsa Malaysia will never materialize. It is as simple as that.

written by InEffective, July 11, 2009 17:51:35

The strategy now is big moves on small issues, small/no moves on big issues.
(then use the subservient leeches of the MSM to 'magnify' the so called 'contributions' - all for perception management.

first arrest our killer-cops and their criminal bosses.
(then maybe we think you actually want to change)
written by Kathy, July 11, 2009 18:12:59
A politician of calibre, a voice of moderation and progress, and a voice of unity shunned by his own party, UMNO. This reflects badly on UMNO and its membership who behaved like sheep during their internal elections. Obviously the doors to UMNO leadership are now firmly closed to him, a man who still has a lot to offer the country. If he carries on writing in this vein he too, like Zaid Ibrahim, will be sacked from UMNO. I wonder if the Opposition leaders are wooing him? Such a shame to see a politician of quality not put to full use by his own party.
written by Sabahfan, July 11, 2009 22:30:05
then tunku rajaleih.... leave umno, DESTROY UMNO...

if U start another party now, it might be more successful.... not like your ole semangat 46.

dont help UMNO regime to ruin our country... resign from the regime if you are a real prince

written by AlwaysFair, July 11, 2009 23:19:56
You are absolutely right. The whole rotten system have produced and kept in power people who are substandard, cannot run the country well and gotten rid of the good ones. They are busy serving their pockets rather than the rakyat.

Policies implemented are piecemeal and popularist but don't really transform and stengthen the rule of law and constitution. They are only COSMETIC TOUCH-UPS and superficial.
written by Pakyeh, July 13, 2009 19:48:37
Dear Mr Ku Li. You are wasting you breath and life by being in UMNO/BN. You are obviously not the "pegang bara biar sampai jadi abu". In other wourd you are a coward, someone who can be bought by Dr Mahathief. If you have anymore fighting spirit, you would and should fight from outside UMNO/BN. Maybe then Allah would bless your perjuangan.

Join me in our perjuangan Revolution at..

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by takbolehtahan, July 13, 2009 22:02:37
Enough of talk already Ku Li. You been saying all the right things, but actions speak louder than words. Surely by now you know that what you say about umno carries no weight at all. You should be fighting from outside of umno if you truly believe in helping the rakyat and the country. All talk and no action is completely a waste of time. I am actually quite sick of hearing you say all these bad things about poor policies and yet you do nothing, since you're in the very party that created all these problems and rubbish to begin with. For goodness sake, leave umno, if you still have anymore respect for yourself.
written by T Square, July 14, 2009 13:44:20
Everything is related to Corruption or Rasuah.

Eliminate CORRUPTION and you just about eliminate the roots to all Malaysia's problem.

It is so deeply entrenched in our culture now .......