Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow In Malaysia, English Ban Raises Fears for Future

In Malaysia, English Ban Raises Fears for Future PDF Print
Saturday, 11 July 2009 10:19

“Fewer and fewer of our professors can now write in English,” he said. “We used to lead Asia in terms of English, and now we have allowed ourselves to slip below other Asian countries.”

By Liz Gooch, The New York Times

P.S. Han, a teacher in Kuala Lumpur, has been using English to teach math and physics to 17-year-olds for the past six years.

From 2012, he will be forced to return to using the national language, Bahasa Malaysia, after the government decided to abandon English for the two subjects in a decision some consider to be motivated by politics rather than education.

“English has been used as the language of science for 300 years,” said Mr. Han, a teacher at St. John’s Institution. “You cannot really convey the scientific concepts to the students in Bahasa Malaysia at a very high level.”

“We have to face the fact that science knowledge is in English.”

The announcement on Wednesday, which came after months of lobbying by Malay nationalists, has raised concerns about whether English standards in the former British colony will slide and whether Malaysia’s competitiveness as a destination for multinational companies may suffer.

English has been the language of instruction for math and science in Malaysia since 2003, when former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad introduced the policy amid concerns that poor English skills were hindering students’ job opportunities.

Mr. Mahathir expressed sadness over the decision to revert to Bahasa Malaysia, saying that the decision would adversely affect children and make it difficult for them to keep abreast of scientific developments, the national news agency Bernama quoted him as saying.

The government cited a decline in students’ math and science grades, particularly in rural areas, as one of the reasons behind the switch.

However, Khoo Kay Kim, emeritus professor of Malaysian history at the University of Malaysia, said that teachers had not been adequately trained before the policy was introduced.

He described Malaysia’s English standards as “pathetic.”

“Fewer and fewer of our professors can now write in English,” he said. “We used to lead Asia in terms of English, and now we have allowed ourselves to slip below other Asian countries.”

Mr. Khoo said it was a “national shame” that the country’s oldest university, the University of Malaysia, had fallen behind other Asian universities in international rankings, a trend he attributed to declining English standards.

He also raised concerns that poor English standards may affect Malaysia’s international competitiveness, saying that multinational companies may struggle to find graduates with good English.

“If less and less Malaysians know English, how are multinational companies going to come into this country?” he said. “If we don’t have the workforce who can fit into multinational companies, how are they going to come here?”

Malaysia’s business community has long been concerned about the reported decline in English standards in schools. “The business community feels that English is imperative for Malaysia’s international competitiveness,” said Michael Yeoh, chief executive the Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute, an independent research organization.

Mr. Yeoh said that more needed to be done to improve English standards, but questions remained over whether teaching science and math in English was the best method.

“We don’t really know exactly how this could impede on the study of English,” he said.

The Malaysian International Chamber of Commerce and Industry welcomed the government’s decision to increase the number of English teachers and teaching hours.

Its executive director, Stewart Forbes, said that the need to emphasize English must continue to be part of the government’s policy.

“Private sector companies in Malaysia continue to complain about graduates’ communication skills in general, and English skills in particular, and the government’s efforts to raise the level of English expertise are very worthwhile,” he said.

Some educators from Malaysia’s two largest minority groups, the Chinese and Indian communities, welcomed the decision to revert to using Chinese and Tamil for science and math in vernacular schools, local media reported.

However, many parents and the National Union of the Teaching Profession have expressed concern over the decision to scrap English.

Shazlin Aidani, a mother of three, said she wanted her children to learn math and science in English.

“When they graduate and go to work everything will be in English, not Bahasa,” she said.

written by mick_err_stan, July 11, 2009 10:29:15
With the NEP the Dah Sampai have no ambition to excel. They rather have a kampung education, graduate and work for the government. I say let those who wants to learn maths and science in Bahasa do so. But there must be an option for those who prefer English. However I think this government will not allow non malay to be smarter. So they set a blanket ruling to make all less knowledgeable to at par with the Dah Sampai.
written by Macrophage, July 11, 2009 10:35:29
This is ridiculous. When the Malays slip even further behind in the economic totem pole because of this, we know who to blame. I am NOT voting for BN in the next GE. Only the UMNOputras will benefit from this. They don't have children in government schools.
written by Romp, July 11, 2009 10:42:09
Machaohaidin has started his reign of terror! This is a government plot to deprive us Malaysian the right to knowledge. "It is so much easier to cover your shit from a stupid Malaysian than from a smart Malaysian". This is the MOE's moto of the century. The people will revolt!
written by HEADACHE, July 11, 2009 10:43:20
China is a big country with enough population to sustain its own economy, but is putting a lot of effort for its people to learn the English language.

Malaysia relies so much on FDI, and has a vision to being a developed country by 2020. It is now 2009, and I think that Malaysia will be proud of the national language and nothing much else come 2020.

Maths and Science in the primary school may help some students understand more, but if the Education Minister claims that so much effort will be put in for the English language, these students would have no problem learning Maths and Science in English at secondary school level.

Just do not kid ourselves. All major science articles are in English, and science evolves daily. We can have our own Bahasa Malaysia version, but there are so many new things churning out daily.

I suggest that all cabinet ministers are NOT allowed to send their children overseas to study. When they think for the sake of their own children, they will make better decisions.
written by raven1958, July 11, 2009 10:54:17
Well you see...Muhyuddin thought what the heck about the parents in TTDI, Subang Jaya, Bangsar, those suckers in Ipoh, Penang, Seremban, JB, etc....

I will give a leg up to that poor underpriveleged bumi kid in Parit Sulong, Penor and Manek Urai....and give them a leg up by keeping everything in BM.....their paents and teachers will vote for me and and the bonus is I get to keep them dumb.....

Mr Muhyuddin Sir....I think you just dug your grave...
written by InEffective, July 11, 2009 11:04:25

When the politicians have sufficient quantum of malays not flourishing and held back because of lack of english in the workforce, they get to continue justifying their highly lucrative expropriating NEP racist policies .

So ask youself who wins and who loses here ?
written by Tom n Jerry, July 11, 2009 11:11:25
there is a saying *no man is an island*but it seems BN politicians are creating this *island *concept by reverting to BM for
maths &science;in this modern world of cyber andindustrialization,I am surprised to note there are still people willing to move backwards;how pathetic;might as well revert to *stone age*where *survival of the fittest*applies smilies/angry.gif
written by alarcarte, July 11, 2009 12:10:20
Is there anybody out there willing to compile a list of the children of the B.N. ministers and the type of school their children go to?

We the common rakyat should demand our children deserve the same type of schools these B.N. Politicians' Children go to or to demand their children be enrolled in our Sekolah Menengah Blah Blah Blah.. that our children attend.

written by Dragon888, July 11, 2009 12:27:17
The elites and rich, especially the Bumis send their children and overseas to study. They know exactly what is good for their children, i.e. master the English language. All the older politicians studied English and even went overseas. One of the exception was M2T who pretended that he did not know English and shamefully became the Information Minister. I saw him in the Brisbane answering questions in English. It was pigeon but understandable.
So don't blame anyone or anything except for the govt for the very bad implementation of this policy. You need to train the teachers first or hire qualified one. Learning English is a long process and cannot be done over night when most teachers do no have the incentive to do so. To be able to teach is even more arduous. Pay those that can teach English 50% more. Then you can see the clamour to master English...

Batu Pahat HS student 1958
written by fencesitter, July 11, 2009 12:37:05
Everyone knows Najib's childrens studied at Garden International School, Bukit Kiara before sending them overseas. For a start, Najib should ensure all cabinet ministers and top govt officials must send their childrens to local schools & those who do not toe the line be severely reprimanded & demoted.

That goes the same for Anwar. Lead by example.
written by shiokguy, July 11, 2009 12:42:49
It about control, When you are behaving like idiot, someone is control your by making you like an idiot.

written by Wisdom above, July 11, 2009 13:12:52
Shazlin Aidani, a mother of three, said she wanted her children to learn math and science in English.
“When they graduate and go to work everything will be in English, not Bahasa,” she said.

I did not know The BeEnd Government also ignored the MOTHERS !
Very shameful and embarrassing !
written by garfunky, July 11, 2009 13:43:47
This whole thing is just dumb. Personally I was always against reverting back to BM, and am dissapointed that PR supported such a move. A huge step backwards in terms of progress.

Now where is the part where "English will still be emphasized"? all government scholarships whether local or international must have a pre-requisite of an A1 in SPM English. I don't trust interviews as it can be used as a gateway for nepotism, cronysm and racism. Make it a black and white requirement.
written by HamChak, July 11, 2009 13:51:22
Why are you guys complaining so much for?
We are just making sure that Malaysians are
worthy of our BODOHLAND. No English la, better
we only study and speak BODOHLAND language. I am
very happy. Well done BodohLand !!!
written by penangboi, July 11, 2009 14:09:21
It goes to prove that we have wimps for leaders in Malaysia.
When it is 'too hard' it's easier to abandon and stop trying.
But on another note like most of UMNO's tactic of divide-and-rule, language now joins the bandwagon of race and religion.
It does not matter what language we common folks are subject to so long as the UMNOputras can send their kids overseas and to private schools where they are taught in English.
Who cares about kampung folks. By maintaining English as a language for the elite in the country UMNOputras who can have their children tutored in English can then have a strangle-hold over the rest of the rakyat.
UMNOputras have been toying with the rakyat with NEP and religion to divide us, but this latest decision made involves the future of our children. And when it comes to our children there is absolutely no compromise.
Wake up wake up. Come next GE13 let's kick them out of government.
written by Hakim Joe, July 11, 2009 14:28:33
Sometimes you wonder whether this is one of the tactics that the gomen uses to keep the people ignorant and to ensure that the NEP goal will never be attained and hence the legality to keep promoting it.

written by onnetline, July 11, 2009 18:54:17
What can we expect when we have a political and corrupted ' lembu ' or MOOhyiddin as a Minister ?

Both the racist sleepyhead ex-PM and the 1Malaysia crook, Najis C4 can go to hell too !
written by onnetline, July 11, 2009 19:01:58
These UMNOs 'sonsofbitches' will send their children to International schools to stay ahead of the general population, as usual !
written by asiana888, July 11, 2009 23:36:26
This BN government wants to make sure that the rural folks (99% Malay) will continue to depend on them (govt) for their livelihood. By making BM the medium of teaching ... these folks will NEVER be able to compete globally and know what is going on outside the country. In the next 50 yrs, these rurl generation will be like North Koreans (maybe I exaggerate .... more likely like Myanmarese!). This is actually what the BN govt wants.

Don;t believe me ... just check which school they send their own children to???
written by Apache3, July 12, 2009 01:54:05
asiana888 I agree with you 100%.

"The government cited a decline in students’ math and science grades, particularly in rural areas, as one of the reasons behind the switch."
The reason these people agreed to switch the teaching of Maths and Science from English to BM is silly. These people must be brain dead.
Just revert to pre 1970 and reintroduce the four medium of education that is Malay,English,Chinese and Tamil.
LET THE PARENTS CHOOSE OR DECIDE WHICH MEDIUM THEY PREFER FOR THEIR CHILDREN.
written by oneofthesedays, July 12, 2009 19:10:47
"Some educators from Malaysia’s two largest minority groups, the Chinese and Indian communities, welcomed the decision to revert to using Chinese and Tamil for science and math in vernacular schools, local media reported."

What isn't reported is that Chinese Schools already teach Science in English too besides Mandarin. SO they aren't that affected.

The Malay elites are all internationally educated.

SO looks like the Indians are the idiots again. Hope you idiots who were campaigning for Science and Math in Tamil are proud of yourselves. You just f**ked your kids futures. smilies/grin.gif