Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Hard on the kids

Hard on the kids PDF Print
Saturday, 11 July 2009 00:00

What about the Chinese community? Having sacrificed a generation of guinea pigs, what are they going to do in the face of the new changes?

By LIM MUN FAH/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily

A dejected former PM Tun Dr Mahathir says even if the policy of teaching science and maths in English cannot be implemented in primary schools, at least it should be implemented in secondary schools.

It has taken Tun Mahathir six years to come to terms with what the Chinese community feels.

But then he is no longer the man in power, and could only stare at the reality helplessly.

Starting 2012, everything will be back to square one. Science and maths will be taught in students' mother tongues and Bahasa in primary and secondary schools respectively.

This decision meets the aspiration of Malay educationists and nationalists.

But they are not going to stop just that. They are still fighting for science and math subjects to be taught in Bahasa in Form 6 or pre-U.

What about the Chinese community? Having sacrificed a generation of guinea pigs, what are they going to do in the face of the new changes?

Stopping all the controversies may not stop us from worrying about the future of our children.

The case study published on Sin Chew Daily's front page could be bone-chilling!

Just take a look: Xiaoli is presently in Standard One, learning science and maths in both Mandarin and English. In 2012, when she will be in Standard Four, she will have to learn these two subjects in Mandarin only.

But when she goes to a national-type secondary school in 2015, she will have to learn science and maths in Bahasa Malaysia. And when she proceeds to Form Six in 2020, she will have to switch to English again for these two subjects.

One moment bilingual, one moment Mandarin, one moment BM and one moment English. Is this kind of learning process normal? Does that go well with our educational philosophy? How could our kids not weep, their parents not worried, and teachers not annoyed?

As if that is not enough, under the new solution, how should Chinese primary schools improve their English standard as Bahasa continues to take the lead?

I have calculated the number of hours for English classes each week in primary schools of different language streams: In stage one: 240 minutes for national schools, 60 minutes for Chinese primary schools. In stage two: 210 minutes for national schools, 90 minutes for Chinese primary schools. The differences between the two are 180 and 120 minutes respectively.

Under the new system, in stage one: 330 minutes for national schools, 120 minutes for Chinese primary schools; in stage two: 300 minutes for national schools, 120 minutes for Chinese primary schools. The differences between the two are 210 and 180 minutes respectively.

Obvious enough, national primary school students' English command should be further enhanced under the new system.

There are approximately 42 weeks in an academic year for primary schools. If we do some simple arithmetic, we should be able to find out how much of English lessons will a Chinese primary school student have to miss over a span of six years.

These students, 90% of whom will proceed to a national-type secondary school in time to come, will have problem adapting to the new curriculum given their relatively poor English command. And then they have yet to encounter a brand new issue of switching to BM for science and maths!

Chinese primary school students will only have a dimmer future ahead of them.

Of course, they have an advantage over their peers: the ability to master three languages.

But that is achieved only with a heavy price: They will have to learn extra hard!

written by sarawakian, July 11, 2009 00:06:05
They will have to learn extra hard!

learn to look at the bright side. the students from chinese medium primary schools will be extra clever if they can make it. sad to say, the children from SK will be very far behind and that is EXACTLY where UMNO wants them to be!!!

poor Bumiputras!!
written by middlepath, July 11, 2009 00:15:58
Dear Malaysian, no matter what race you are. We do not learn the english or malay for fun. We all learn english so that we are competitive and we can make use of our learning capability as most of the Math & Science are in English. Our students, learn english, because our english are not good, Dr M turn the clock so that our english language capability will improve. Yes, we started to learn english for Math & Science for 6 years, our results is not very good yet, and our kid are not comfortable yet. But, we are already good at our mother tongue, we need to learn english, so that our english capability is a competitive advantage when we are in the world stage, in globalize world. We already good in mother tongue, now lets get our kid be good in english too. it is a challenge, it is not easy, that is why we want them to learn. So that we can command and master additional language, and we can learn the math & Science fast too..
We do not take easy route, we must stay the course,
previously, our parents learn english, lots of english, like Dr M, Najib etc,
they even go overseas, and learning more language and more english will not make us less nationalist, we are making our people more marketable, and make them prepare for competitive world and globalize stage......the world is flat now.
previously, Dr M change so that we Malaysia are more united,
yes, we have got past those stage, our malaysia are all very good at their mother tongue and also good in Bahasa Malaysia.
it is time, we take Dr M advice, we must make sure our people are up to the mark,
the english will help us, better to face the world stage, globalize world.
we must be competitive,
we must make sure, we have the english as medium of instruction for math and Science, at least, we give parents and kids a choice,
please do not scrap the program, lets stay the course, lets continue, it is difficult, not very successful yet, but, we should not take the short cut, we should not fear or afraid of bad or louzy results, we must learn from mistake, and improve from it, make it better, fix it, not stay away or shine or chicken or run away,
we must take up the challenge to make our kids multi lingual,
we must have the courage to change to better our kid, make them go thru
hard ship, then, only we can stand the test of the world stage, globalize world.
dont take the short cut........
Please give us the choice, do not just cut us off. Let me and my kidn study math and science in english medium, Please.
we must learn.....multiple language,
written by RumahPanjai, July 11, 2009 00:44:07
In the past decade, the China chinese, Koreans and Japanese are learning the english language in droves. They have come to realise the important of having english to communicate in a global market and in doing so, enhance their economy. Here in Malaysia, we are moving backward, creating more unemployed graduates ....a really sad scenario.
written by tokioRain, July 11, 2009 00:46:53
dear sarawakian, agree with you. on top of that, they cant get admission to local u and jpa loan.
written by asiana888, July 11, 2009 00:55:12
Well ... as usual, our ruling leaders in all their stupidity has did it again! I wonder whether rakyat should demand that all ministers should ahve all their children educated in Malaysia .... and in Bahasa Malaysia? Since they are championing how great and important it is to master Maths and Science in Bahasa Malaysia ... why send their children to overseas to study in English? Hypocrites ... isn;t it? I only pity the rural Malays whose generations will continue to need a crutch from the government for life. Maybe, that's the bigger agenda of BN and some stupid politicians. They just have no place in the global economy - semua BN bagi; jadi come 2012 undilah BN!
written by NSTPravda, July 11, 2009 05:33:41

Aiyah, what you pendatangs complaining about lah? You vote for BN and UMNO and this is your reward for being soooo faithful.

Duit lah Tuanku!
Dollar akbar!
Taat ta'apa, rasuah mesti ada.
written by Sudahlah tu, July 11, 2009 08:29:55
tamak ..itu sahaja.
mamak tua ini cuma berlagak agar dunia politik anaknya dirncang dengan teliti ..
mereka yang mengudi di blog dia tu ..rakyat yang paling bodoh ataupun konco yang dibayar ...
dalam 22tahun kezalimannya...... kesemua kebiakan yang boleh dilaksanakan atas nama pembangunan nilai insan rakyat tidak pernah diutamakan....
pelajaran kreatif dan membina modal insan dipinggirkan kerana tamak mamak ..
pembanguna infrastruktur yang melahirkan sifat berasuah yang begitu ketara menggantikan nilai pembangunan pengetahuan rakyat Malaysia ..
sudahlah tu ... kita diperbodohkan selama ini ...
bertahun - tahun dan penindasan generasi ... kemajuan anak-anak kita disekat dengan perubahan perlembagaan dan ditanam dengan sifat benci kaum ..
banyak anak -anak kita yang dianjingkan di kandang umno ..menjadi jentera kerajaan haram mereka ... diberi jawatan tinggi selagi mereka berjaya lulus dalam ujian penindasan kaum lain .... diberi kesempatan berasuah dan hidup zina bersama perempuan di temapt kerja mereka ..... itu ISLAM ke ????
maruah bangsa melayu yang begitu bernilai dan suci , kita gadaikan ..
kita membiarkan kezaliman umno mwngawal arahan hidup kita sedangkan Ajaran Allah mengharamakan kita dari mula lagi ......
rasuah , maksiat , zina , malas .... tamak diri ..
kezaliman umno bermaharajalela sebab bangsa melayu tidak pernah meninggi nilai moral diri dan mendalami kepercayaan kesucian Islam ...
kita yang menghancurkan masa depan bangsa kita sendiri ..
jangan salahkan orang lain lah .... kalau tidak berani tanggung malu sendiri ..
BODOH dahulu ... sama aje sekarang.
written by anakbuaya, July 11, 2009 09:00:59
The only hope for multi racial malaysians is vote BN out in GE13. The only way n choice we have otherwise our generations to come will suffer more n more. The winner will be Umno gang n family only. MCA, MIC, Gerakan n other BN component parties will die sooner or later during their fighting journey. Take care all MALAYSIANS !!!! God Bless Malaysia.
written by quietguy, July 11, 2009 09:16:03
When are we going to stop arguing about the medium of instruction and actually start to talk about improving the quality of education in our schools?!
written by InEffective, July 11, 2009 10:44:07

don't be a victim of our 3rd class politicians self-interests.

Don't make your child pay and suffer because you are so weak in your mind and courage to stand up for your child's rights.
written by Prince Vincent, July 11, 2009 12:37:09
Mr. Political Secretary to PM [Kian Kok high school, Sabah]. What are you going to say about this? I believe you fully understand that English is VERY important to Math and Science subjects. For the sake of the children, please advise your boss to revert the decision before you will regret the rest of your life.
written by Milo, July 11, 2009 12:38:31
The chinese medium schools have more options as they can choose to adapt to these changes by, say, giving their students the benefit of having tri-language (bahasa-english-chinese) text books on maths and science, while they teach in Bahasa or english. Tough and costly, but it can be done. And if successfully implemented, this step will produce superly educated kids in these schools....the those produce in the SK will be the one who suffers. Another reversal will take place again...perhaps with a new government?
written by C360, July 11, 2009 13:11:40
To mimick a similar phrase .. It's all about marginalisation stupid

.. including their own, to keep themselves in power ..
written by Beng, July 11, 2009 18:20:19
Stupid gomen.

My son (Year 5) are caught in this trap. After studing 5 years Maths and Science in English, he will continue another 4 years in English. When he is in Form 4, everything suddendly changes to BM and he has to answer Maths and Science in BM during his SPM exam. How to sit for exam.

I think, Malay students will also have the same problem because all the terminology changes and they have to learn the new terminology within 2 years for SPM. How to cope?

I don't mind if they start from Year 1 in Primary school and continue to secondary school. But this sudden change is stupid.
written by mikewang, July 12, 2009 17:55:55
One thing is clear with this language switch.
Tuition classes are going to be extremely popular since every parent take education of their children very seriously.