Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Catholics lodge report against Al Islam

Catholics lodge report against Al Islam PDF Print
Friday, 10 July 2009 22:47

By Deborah Loh, The Nut Graph

The two Catholics who lodged a police report against the Al Islam magazine over an article in which the journalist took the holy communion wafer out of his mouth and photographed it, have started a peaceful protest campaign against the magazine.

Joachim Francis Xavier and Sundhagaran Stanley, from Penang, are asking Catholics to make individual police reports and to express dissatisfaction with the magazine's publisher through telephone calls or faxes.

"We are resolved not to allow anger to guide our actions and instead pray that these ignorant will be forgiven by Allah," they said.

magazine thumbnails       magazine thumbnails
Click both thumbnails to see full-sized scans of magazine article

The two lodged a police report on 8 July 2009 at the Patani Road police station in Penang over the article "Tinjauan Al Islam Dalam Gereja: Mencari Kesahihan Remaja Murtad" which was published in the May 2009 issue of Al Islam. The magazine is published by Utusan Karya Sdn Bhd.

In the article, the Muslim journalist, accompanied by another person, went to two Catholic churches in Kuala Lumpur on an investigative mission to find out if allegations that young Muslims were being converted to Christianity were true.

The journalist, whose by-line in the article was Muhd Ridhwan Abdul Jalil, described the holy communion ritual as "upacara makan roti putih" and wrote about how he was given the wafer by the priest. The article also carried a photograph of the wafer with a caption that identified it as the wafer that was placed in his mouth.

scan of communion spat out onto the ground
Communion spat out and photographed for the article
(scan from Al Islam)

Xavier and Stanley in a press statement said they were "outraged that these Muslim men consumed it [the communion] only to spit it out later, have it photographed, and have its image published".

The two Catholics said it was "total disrespect" for what Catholics regard as sacred. "It strikes deeps into our hearts and invokes much anger," they said. Catholics believe that the wafer is the actual flesh of Christ who, according to doctrine, died to remove the sins of people.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by Malaysiaputra, July 10, 2009 23:03:32
I pray that God will forgive these two sick journalist. Its not funny to make fun of other people's religion. How would muslims feel if a non Muslim were to go on a Haj and come back and show pictures of himself at Mecca "performing " the Haj ?.
written by macakmy, July 11, 2009 00:29:41
These two self-appointed religious bigots do not portray the rest of the Muslims. They are the sad by-product of the distorted religious teachings and practices from the Malay "Tuans".
written by RumahPanjai, July 11, 2009 00:32:51
How do you expect anyone to respect the official religion when some of their kinds are making a mockery of others religion in the media? Had it been the otherway round it would have caused a riot. What is the home minister doing about it? Close case again?
written by 1six5, July 11, 2009 01:57:49
m'siaputra...macakmy...rumahpanjai....u forgot to remind everyone that UTUSAN bastards are behind these schemes.

One fine day frens all over...GE13 let us hang-on with the racist barrage from cibai UTUSAN n all other MSM...bring them down...i beg of you all. And readers, please tell it to ur families n frens don't let UMNO/BN overthrow us with this really cocked-up crap. Poison from snakes are from the HEADS.
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 11, 2009 02:15:29
an old priest from the old testament said today said...

just like the two who were struck dead for holding the ark..

their days are numbered......
written by AsamLaksa, July 11, 2009 05:55:14
What really got me about the article is that the writers are ignorant and disrespectful. They came in with an agenda. Best to ignore them. Don't bother with any police report. The more you try to pick a fight, they more mileage they gain. There will always be fools and bigots. A police report doesn't solve the problem.
written by temanmu, July 11, 2009 07:09:19
The article may perk Muslims' interests in the goings-on in a church and more may go visit out of curiosity.

All are welcome!

Thank you!

written by Sabahfan, July 11, 2009 22:40:03
if I had entered the mosque and photograph all their arrses while they pray, sure all the moslem leaders in malaysia will cry "JIHAK"..

yET their moslem fanatic reporters can enter a christian church just to write articles making fun of other religion..

well, these two idiots may have spat the holy body of Christ, doesnot matter, because your tongue and saliva already tasted it... "roti putih" or whatever you call it.

As far as i am concern, we did not sinned. THOSE WHO SINNED ARE THESE TWO STUPID MOSLEM JOURNALIST BECAUSE BY PUTTING INTO THEIR MOUTH SOMETHING THAT IS HARAM TO THEM... not forced by us... THEN LET THE HARAM CURSE BE UPON THEM... THESE TWO WILL HAVE STOMACHACHES EVERY SUNDAY FOR THE REST OF THEIR LIVES FOR TASTING SOMETHING HARAM... HA HA HA HA HA